All Reviews

322 reviews
  • 5 stars
  • 4 stars
  • 3 stars
  • 2 stars
  • 1 star

Top Review

January 15, 2017
After decades in the travel industry, I left to pursue other interests, but continued to have former clients ask me advice. I decided to go back into travel on a very part time basis, and help a few of my clients who couldn't get the service they were used to, when planning their complex custom trips. I signed with another agency who charged a hefty monthly fee, and were difficult to reach. After about a year, I left that host agency and signed with Outside Agents. There are a few cons, but having been in the business for as long as I have, they're not out of the ordinary. The requirement to change the Revelex password every so often (I rarely use it, so it turns out I need to change it every time I log in, at which time I've forgotten it anyway), that time my account was suspended accidentally because I was mistaken for someone else (it was reinstated immediately when I emailed to ask why), and when you work for yourself, your only coworker is the cat (and she is never going to grab lunch for me). The pros, however, are countless. When I have an issue, I can look on the website and find the person who can help me. They email me back within the hour (during business hours), and after hours, the owners give their cell phone numbers, so help is available virtually any time. Who does that? I don't even give my cell phone number to my own family! That accessibility is everything. Then, the commission structure. I am no longer a high volume agent, since I now do this very part time. They don't care how much business I do, and treat me like I'm the most important agent in the company. In spite of this, I get the benefit of the override commissions of the agency as a whole. A small brick and mortar might get 10% with a vendor, yet a home agent with a low volume could get 16% or 18% with that same vendor. The E&O insurance is included with the lower priced premium package. That's a big deal. When I need access to a vendor booking system that I haven't used before (that doesn't have self registration), I get a login super fast (during business hours). Even when I worked IN a travel office, I would often have to ask repeatedly for logins before the right person would be found, promising to do it "after lunch" and I'd end up spending a week on the phone with the vendor, booking and altering that reservation, and playing phone tag with the client. Outside Agents really gets it. They know how agents work, and they want to make sure we can function in the ways that make sense. Commissions are paid twice monthly, and are easy to track with the new system. I can see what vendor has paid, which ones haven't, and then I know which ones to shake down for payment. My client management system is easy to use (with provided training) and I'm not using my rolodex anymore. The start up fee was low (and refunded after my first booking, a single hotel night) and the monthly is so low, compared to other host agencies. On demand training, recorded webinars, and continuing education. They really do have it all.
May 6, 2019

I have been with Outside Agents for 3 years. I was new to the business. They have great training and support. Whenever I have a question or a problem, they promptly give me the help I need. They have all kinds of trainings on their website. i have gone to Jacksonville serveral times for trainings. I have met other agents who support each other. I couldn't imagine doing this business without them.

April 17, 2019

I have been with Outside Agents since 2015. Having been with a different host before this time, I realize how lucky I was to run into Chad at a trade show. I asked someone from my old host why I should stay with them and not go to a different host (I was actually where I was at the time) I was told that if I was looking I would be leaving. This made me think that they did not care or were not as good as I thought.

OA has been completely different. They listen and care about their people. If you want to just book your own travel or spend time just chatting, this is probably not the place for you, but if you want to run a business you won't find a better place.
Issues are fixed quickly, payments are quick and accurate. They give you exactly what they promise and more. In house training is wonderful. You will not be disappointed.

April 15, 2019

I have been with Outside Agents for 3 years, they are outstanding! Training, assistance, response to questions, everything is top notch!

April 15, 2019

I have been with Outside Agents since 2016. I have been with other hosts previously, and while each was good in it's own way, Outside Agents is the right host for me. They are very responsive to any questions and problems. I had a problem with a supplier that could have led to loss of my group, but OA recommended a course of action and put me in contact the appropriate BDM. Everything was resolved. The technology provided is comprehensive and they constantly work to upgrade the capabilities offered to us. When I've asked for custom reports, they have always provided them very quickly. The commission split is stellar. I can run my business my way and still comply with their rules (not a lot of rules, but ones that are important). We have access to the BDMs. The training is excellent. I also find it very beneficial to be associated with Travel Leaders Network as part of this hosts' offering. I am very pleased.

April 15, 2019

I have been a home-based travel agent since 1992. I was working the business part-time up until 2014, which is when I sold my Orthodontic practice, retired from dentistry, and took on the travel business on a more full-time basis. I joined OutsideAgents in 2014 and have been extremely happy with that decision. Although I had been operating my own travel business for over 20 years when I joined OA, I have learned so much more about the travel business thanks to Steve, Chad & Dan at OA. The owners, Steve and Chad, are very accessible and helpful. Dan is our Sales Manager, and he provides unending opportunities for training for both newbies and old-timers, like me! The whole staff feels like family, and I have truly enjoyed getting to know them and the other agents that are members of the OutsideAgents. For me, joining OutsideAgents was the best decision I have made during my travel career!!

April 15, 2019

I have been with Outside Agents for almost 8 years. I love this agency as there is so much information available to their agents. Plus you can reach out anytime for help or just for some answers. They are very responsive. And more than that caring and very friendly to all. My experience with them as my Host Agency is 100% a positive experience. Thank you OA for everything.

April 13, 2019

I started with OA because I was very green and needed a host agency that was affordable for me. I have watched as the company has grown, and I have always been happy with what the agency offers. They just keep getting better and better! The preferred companies I can present to my guests are very reputable, and I have always had a great selection to choose from. I have never felt like I was left stranded and without any help. I love OA and am very grateful to be a part!

April 13, 2019

The training, assistance and staff have been essential in the growth of my agency. I have been with Outside Agents(OA) since mid 2017 and my business is constantly growing. I was overwhelmed by the host agency options initially. OA began to stand out for multiple reasons. The staff's investment in our success is unparalleled. The training and knowledge is available to us, all we have to do is engage and apply it! If you want a host agency that is truly invested I would highly recommend joining OA!!

April 11, 2019

After several days of reviewing options I chose Outside Agents and I have never been disappointed with the choice. They work very hard to help new agents succeed. training, mentors, peer forums and so much more. The staff is friendly, but are not afraid to let you know your chasing your tail.
The training is outstanding with hour and hours of video training on nearly every aspect to running a Travel Agency Business. If you can make it to one of the live training programs, do it! It's worth much more than the price of admission and whatever it costs to get there.
I have recommended them to others I know, and will do so again, and again and again.

April 10, 2019

I’m into my sixth year with Outside Agents, and I couldn’t have chosen a better host agency. After starting with another host two years prior, I was looking for more support, more control over my own bookings, and a better commission split. I found all that and much more. OA provides its agents with all the tools necessary to get your business started, beginning with training on their state-of-the-art booking and technology tools, CRM, and website. Training options are plentiful, with virtual sales calls with suppliers, webinars, videos, FAMs, seminars and more. Optional “Boot camps” for new and seasoned agents at their FL home office help agents start their business or take it to the next level. Agent support is the best, and help is just an email, phone call or “help” ticket away. Owners Chad and Steve run a well-oiled machine, and Dan, our sales manager, is always ready and willing to help agents get the sale. Compared to my previous host with a mere 50% commission split, OA starts new agents with a generous 80%. With hard work and perseverance, agents are rewarded with a higher split, up to 95%. I find their fee structure to be fair, allowing agents to choose the plan that works for them. Best of all, there is a whole network of fellow agents to lean on when the going gets rough, when you need quick answers, or just need to vent.

Sign up for a free account to submit reviews.