All Reviews

310 reviews
  • 5 stars
  • 4 stars
  • 3 stars
  • 2 stars
  • 1 star

Top Review

January 15, 2017
After decades in the travel industry, I left to pursue other interests, but continued to have former clients ask me advice. I decided to go back into travel on a very part time basis, and help a few of my clients who couldn't get the service they were used to, when planning their complex custom trips. I signed with another agency who charged a hefty monthly fee, and were difficult to reach. After about a year, I left that host agency and signed with Outside Agents. There are a few cons, but having been in the business for as long as I have, they're not out of the ordinary. The requirement to change the Revelex password every so often (I rarely use it, so it turns out I need to change it every time I log in, at which time I've forgotten it anyway), that time my account was suspended accidentally because I was mistaken for someone else (it was reinstated immediately when I emailed to ask why), and when you work for yourself, your only coworker is the cat (and she is never going to grab lunch for me). The pros, however, are countless. When I have an issue, I can look on the website and find the person who can help me. They email me back within the hour (during business hours), and after hours, the owners give their cell phone numbers, so help is available virtually any time. Who does that? I don't even give my cell phone number to my own family! That accessibility is everything. Then, the commission structure. I am no longer a high volume agent, since I now do this very part time. They don't care how much business I do, and treat me like I'm the most important agent in the company. In spite of this, I get the benefit of the override commissions of the agency as a whole. A small brick and mortar might get 10% with a vendor, yet a home agent with a low volume could get 16% or 18% with that same vendor. The E&O insurance is included with the lower priced premium package. That's a big deal. When I need access to a vendor booking system that I haven't used before (that doesn't have self registration), I get a login super fast (during business hours). Even when I worked IN a travel office, I would often have to ask repeatedly for logins before the right person would be found, promising to do it "after lunch" and I'd end up spending a week on the phone with the vendor, booking and altering that reservation, and playing phone tag with the client. Outside Agents really gets it. They know how agents work, and they want to make sure we can function in the ways that make sense. Commissions are paid twice monthly, and are easy to track with the new system. I can see what vendor has paid, which ones haven't, and then I know which ones to shake down for payment. My client management system is easy to use (with provided training) and I'm not using my rolodex anymore. The start up fee was low (and refunded after my first booking, a single hotel night) and the monthly is so low, compared to other host agencies. On demand training, recorded webinars, and continuing education. They really do have it all.
January 4, 2020

I have been in the industry for over 10 years. The first five years were with another host agency. When I switched to Outside Agents, my life changed for the better. Their training is superb, their automated systems are incredible, their reputation with major travel suppliers is outstanding, they pay commissions at the highest rate I know of in the industry, and they pay commissions promptly without any hassle, and you can even reach the owners directly. They treat the Travel Agents as valued customers!! I can't think of one shortcoming. I am soo glad I made the move to Outside Agents!!

January 2, 2020

I joined Outside Agents (OA) as a new travel consultant and I’m quite pleased with the support and resources they provide. OA is perfect for new agents as well as agents with many years in the industry. The learning experiences OA offers agents and the marketing experiences and resources for clients are top notch.

January 2, 2020

I wish I could rate Outside Agents higher than 5 stars. I can't even begin to say how thankful I am to be apart of this company/family. The amount of time and resources that OA puts into training their agents for success is incredible. They have wonderful resources online, and the in person trainings have completely changed my business and set me up for success. I would not be where I am today without OA. I plan to NEVER leave! Steve, Chad & Dan are wonderful as is the entire staff in the main office! You couldn't pick a better host agency.

January 2, 2020

After much research I choose Outside Agents as my host agency. I am pleased to report that they have been a great fit for me. I have received education and support that has allowed me to have a successful home-based business. I look forward to many years working as an Outside Agent and highly recommend them if you are looking for a host agency.

December 20, 2019

Outside agents has a great web based training system. I was able to set up my home-based agency with ease. There is also one-on-one mentoring available and resources to help with marketing and sales. I would definitely recommend.

December 19, 2019

I researched before deciding on a Host Agency and Outside Agents seemed to be not only the best fit for me but the best company all around. i have not regreted one time going with them. I started with them in 2015 and have been happy with their response time when I need somehting and they have continued to work on and upgrade their system to make it more user friendly and easier for their agents. I can't imangine working with anyone else.

December 19, 2019

Outside Agents has excellent agent support: up-to-date tech systems, new agent & continuing agent training program, responsive back support, a wide network of popular travel suppliers; and friendly staff. If you are a new agent, OA is one of your best gateways to a new career in travel. I'm glad to be a part of this organization.

December 19, 2019

OutsideAgents is a wonderful host. No huge fees, always supportive, provides excellent training opportunities, and love their technology!

December 19, 2019

I started with Outside Agents 01/01/19. Formerly with ECSC for two years. Full time agent. The day I started with Outside Agents I got a 30% raise, and I had a good split with ECSC. OA's splits are very good, even at the lowest levels. I shopped around before I made the move to OA. I looked at ECSC, Dream Vacations and Cruise Planners Franchise opportunities. Checked out Avoya, and a couple other Host Agencies, before I pulled the trigger with OA. However, I wanted to brand, and build my own company and these other companies were too difficult to work with on this point. In the end, it was the accessibility to the owners, and the friendly staff that made the difference. Their tech is easy to use, so no big deal to transition over. Support is there if you need it, but not micromanaging like some other franchises. They direct deposit your commissions super fast. They are a big enough agency where they carry some weight with the suppliers, if you need to get something done. It's been a great move for me. Sales are up 50% this year, and with the additional split %, that equates to a lot more money in my pocket. Looking forward to 2020!

December 19, 2019

Outside Agents is a premier host agency with very a budget friendly fee, but a knowledge and training program out of this world! Not only online training, but onsite hands on training. Every leader and staff member at OA is truly dedicated to make make its agents successful. The OA community members are tight knit and love to help any agent in need that is willing to strive to be the best agent they can be. Staff at OA are a pleasure to work with and NEVER disregard even the simplest questions. They are a phone call or email away and answer promptly. Commission structure is fantastic. OA all day!

Sign up for a free account to submit reviews.