All Reviews

317 reviews
  • 5 stars
  • 4 stars
  • 3 stars
  • 2 stars
  • 1 star

Top Review

January 15, 2017
After decades in the travel industry, I left to pursue other interests, but continued to have former clients ask me advice. I decided to go back into travel on a very part time basis, and help a few of my clients who couldn't get the service they were used to, when planning their complex custom trips. I signed with another agency who charged a hefty monthly fee, and were difficult to reach. After about a year, I left that host agency and signed with Outside Agents. There are a few cons, but having been in the business for as long as I have, they're not out of the ordinary. The requirement to change the Revelex password every so often (I rarely use it, so it turns out I need to change it every time I log in, at which time I've forgotten it anyway), that time my account was suspended accidentally because I was mistaken for someone else (it was reinstated immediately when I emailed to ask why), and when you work for yourself, your only coworker is the cat (and she is never going to grab lunch for me). The pros, however, are countless. When I have an issue, I can look on the website and find the person who can help me. They email me back within the hour (during business hours), and after hours, the owners give their cell phone numbers, so help is available virtually any time. Who does that? I don't even give my cell phone number to my own family! That accessibility is everything. Then, the commission structure. I am no longer a high volume agent, since I now do this very part time. They don't care how much business I do, and treat me like I'm the most important agent in the company. In spite of this, I get the benefit of the override commissions of the agency as a whole. A small brick and mortar might get 10% with a vendor, yet a home agent with a low volume could get 16% or 18% with that same vendor. The E&O insurance is included with the lower priced premium package. That's a big deal. When I need access to a vendor booking system that I haven't used before (that doesn't have self registration), I get a login super fast (during business hours). Even when I worked IN a travel office, I would often have to ask repeatedly for logins before the right person would be found, promising to do it "after lunch" and I'd end up spending a week on the phone with the vendor, booking and altering that reservation, and playing phone tag with the client. Outside Agents really gets it. They know how agents work, and they want to make sure we can function in the ways that make sense. Commissions are paid twice monthly, and are easy to track with the new system. I can see what vendor has paid, which ones haven't, and then I know which ones to shake down for payment. My client management system is easy to use (with provided training) and I'm not using my rolodex anymore. The start up fee was low (and refunded after my first booking, a single hotel night) and the monthly is so low, compared to other host agencies. On demand training, recorded webinars, and continuing education. They really do have it all.
June 20, 2020

I started looking into agencies in January. I took my time and talked to a couple. I finally choice Outside Agents because I thought, if I don't like it I can just cancel and move on. There is no commitment. I LOVE IT!!! I signed up on 1-30-2020 and dove right into my on-line classes and was really ready to start selling at the end of February. I had don a lot of fake quotes to my family etc.
Then hits COVID... Traveling Feet Vacations and never gotten off the ground except for all of the training that I have gotten. I have continued to communicate with potential customers, honestly about the situation. Outside Agent has not decreased but INCREASED out commission and have never closed there doors. They are always there to help me out with what ever silly question or not so silly question I may have. I have a full website, can send my own custom emails and they send an email a week to all of my clients that I have been collecting on Facebook. When "the powers that be" decide that this virus is over, I will have built at least a relationship with a lot of people thanks to the support of O/A. I can even get on the Discussion Board and just state that I'm frustrated and don't know what I'm doing wrong and 16 people will pop up and say nothing, just keep swimming.
When you choice a host agency do not get stuck in a contract or a high pressure situation where you must produce because this is not easy and right now, starting when I did. I would have failed for sure, if it was not for O/A and their supportive emails, posts on discussion boards and other agents saying that they are in the same boat.
Happy Traveling!
Julie Carite
Traveling Feet Vacations

March 24, 2020

This is my second time around with this company (I left due to issues of my own not the company). Although there is a lot of information to get through at once as a new agent the staff is very responsive to my questions or concerns. Even during the COVID-19 situation the company has taken measures to help agents by adding to the commission. I think this is remarkable!! I do believe this is a company that stands behind the agents and help with your success as long as you do your part !

March 20, 2020

Outside Agents is my second host agency. My first was fine, but Outside Agents feels more like a family - a family that actually likes and takes care of each other. They have a wonderful marketing platform, an easy to use CRM, offer a free website, E&O insurance, and the list goes on.

The thing that brought me to HAR to review them today is the email I just received. In light of the Coronavirus' impact on the travel industry, they are giving all bookings for the next 30 days a 2% commission bonus. In a world with employers that are laying off and struggling to survive, Outside Agents is giving its agents a hand up. I could not be more in awe of their business decision to take care of their agents. Some might say it's not much, but this is the first positive effect I have felt from this virus. It's loud and clear that I'm not alone as one of their agents, and I cannot rave about them hard enough. Thank you, Outside Agents!

March 18, 2020

When selecting a Host Agency, I was looking for a company that would train new starters, provide optimal technology solutions and support, and offer a fair commission structure and access to the world's leading suppliers. Outside Agents ticked all those boxes, and 9 years later I have averaged 100 - 200% higher sales year over year consistently. They are a family-run with combined decades of travel experience, and have modern, user-friendly and client-facing technology solutions and services including web-based agent portal, CRM and client portals available to their agents, with a tiered pricing structure that facilitates start up for the cost of a monthly night at the movies. The only way you cannot succeed with Outside Agents is by not trying! I would never consider anyone else

March 18, 2020

I can never say enough wonderful things about Outside Agents. I would give it 6 starts if I could. The training and support is the best in the business. The owners and staff care about every IC and are always available to help and support us. The best part about OA is the community. Other agents are always willing to help and share their knowledge. I've actually made some of my best friends here and am so thankful for them. You can stop your researching now because you couldn't find a best home for your business than OA.

March 14, 2020

I was having trouble with a bad host when I found Outside Agents. They were patient with me . They have been the best help with wonderful courses to teach me all I need to know beside what I had already learned to help make me a better agent. I started out with another company many years ago that wasn't right for me and I didn't earn hardly anything. I have been through several since then until I found Outside Agents which I finally found my place. They are very helpful and have the best agents working with them that all work together. Great host, great agents all working as a wonderful team. Thanks guys.

February 18, 2020

I started in the travel industry a little over 3 years ago, with no prior experience or knowledge I began my search for a host agency. It was an overwhelming process with so many options available, after hours of research and thought I selected Outside Agents - and what a great choice! Within hours of signing up I was off and running - excellent communication, support and training. Not only was I able to find everything needed for my training online, they also offer a wonderful “mentor” program allowing you access to someone who takes the time to listen to you and offer advise on industry questions and helps you grow your business they way you want to grow. By taking advantage of the onsite training programs offered I also quickly learned that OA personally invests in their agents, offering one on one time and training and being only a phone call away when needed. Over the years I have on many occasions picked up the phone with questions or to ask for assistance - always getting directly to who is needed for help. OA is a large host agency - but that being said how many organizations of this size have the Owners offering their personal cell phone number to agents and always available to help? I truly feel they are invested in my success.

I am a full time agent and have experienced great growth and success with the help of OA over the past years. I chose this career because after being in the corporate world for years I wanted to finally find a career I was passionate about. That being said, I have learned working in the travel industry is definitely not “easy” - it takes alot of time, training, dedication and self motivation to succeed and having OA as a partner makes it a much more enjoyable ride.

January 4, 2020

I have been in the industry for over 10 years. The first five years were with another host agency. When I switched to Outside Agents, my life changed for the better. Their training is superb, their automated systems are incredible, their reputation with major travel suppliers is outstanding, they pay commissions at the highest rate I know of in the industry, and they pay commissions promptly without any hassle, and you can even reach the owners directly. They treat the Travel Agents as valued customers!! I can't think of one shortcoming. I am soo glad I made the move to Outside Agents!!

January 2, 2020

I joined Outside Agents (OA) as a new travel consultant and I’m quite pleased with the support and resources they provide. OA is perfect for new agents as well as agents with many years in the industry. The learning experiences OA offers agents and the marketing experiences and resources for clients are top notch.

January 2, 2020

I wish I could rate Outside Agents higher than 5 stars. I can't even begin to say how thankful I am to be apart of this company/family. The amount of time and resources that OA puts into training their agents for success is incredible. They have wonderful resources online, and the in person trainings have completely changed my business and set me up for success. I would not be where I am today without OA. I plan to NEVER leave! Steve, Chad & Dan are wonderful as is the entire staff in the main office! You couldn't pick a better host agency.

Sign up for a free account to submit reviews.