Send Message Bookmark Share Copied page’s address to clipboard!
Send Message Bookmark Share Copied page’s address to clipboard!

All Reviews

295 reviews
  • 5 stars
  • 4 stars
  • 3 stars
  • 2 stars
  • 1 star

Top Review

January 15, 2017
After decades in the travel industry, I left to pursue other interests, but continued to have former clients ask me advice. I decided to go back into travel on a very part time basis, and help a few of my clients who couldn't get the service they were used to, when planning their complex custom trips. I signed with another agency who charged a hefty monthly fee, and were difficult to reach. After about a year, I left that host agency and signed with Outside Agents. There are a few cons, but having been in the business for as long as I have, they're not out of the ordinary. The requirement to change the Revelex password every so often (I rarely use it, so it turns out I need to change it every time I log in, at which time I've forgotten it anyway), that time my account was suspended accidentally because I was mistaken for someone else (it was reinstated immediately when I emailed to ask why), and when you work for yourself, your only coworker is the cat (and she is never going to grab lunch for me). The pros, however, are countless. When I have an issue, I can look on the website and find the person who can help me. They email me back within the hour (during business hours), and after hours, the owners give their cell phone numbers, so help is available virtually any time. Who does that? I don't even give my cell phone number to my own family! That accessibility is everything. Then, the commission structure. I am no longer a high volume agent, since I now do this very part time. They don't care how much business I do, and treat me like I'm the most important agent in the company. In spite of this, I get the benefit of the override commissions of the agency as a whole. A small brick and mortar might get 10% with a vendor, yet a home agent with a low volume could get 16% or 18% with that same vendor. The E&O insurance is included with the lower priced premium package. That's a big deal. When I need access to a vendor booking system that I haven't used before (that doesn't have self registration), I get a login super fast (during business hours). Even when I worked IN a travel office, I would often have to ask repeatedly for logins before the right person would be found, promising to do it "after lunch" and I'd end up spending a week on the phone with the vendor, booking and altering that reservation, and playing phone tag with the client. Outside Agents really gets it. They know how agents work, and they want to make sure we can function in the ways that make sense. Commissions are paid twice monthly, and are easy to track with the new system. I can see what vendor has paid, which ones haven't, and then I know which ones to shake down for payment. My client management system is easy to use (with provided training) and I'm not using my rolodex anymore. The start up fee was low (and refunded after my first booking, a single hotel night) and the monthly is so low, compared to other host agencies. On demand training, recorded webinars, and continuing education. They really do have it all.
June 14, 2019

I have been with Outside Agents for only 3 months, and this is my first gig in the travel industry. I have booked trips for years for my friends and family, and had always wanted to be a travel agent. I researched host agencies for about 4 months before I chose them- and to be honest, until the second that my log-in worked and my technology was suddenly available, I had doubts! "What if they're a scam or multilevel marketing scheme? Are there hidden costs, and why do they cost so much less than everyone else? What if I can't understand what to do? What if I hate it?" The truth is that you will get strong support from the moment you sign up, you will start training, you will build your website, and you will take responsibility as a business owner to learn and grow, but you won't do it alone. I've attended two live trainings, which were invaluable, because once you get into the systems, you will have questions. I have met the owners, managers, sales support, and the ANGELS who take care of us, the "circle of knowledge" ladies! This is a family owned business, and it's obvious if you visit that everyone has a great deal of love and respect for one another. I always feel as if I'm treated fairly, even when I goof. If you immerse yourself in the business of "learning the business", you will be successful. I just passed my three month anniversary, and my next sale will take me over the $100,000 in sales mark, and I realize now how much I still have to learn! It's not easy, but if you work at it, you will be so happy that you joined OA. The potential is huge, you will not regret this step!

June 11, 2019

I started my Travel Adviser career in Nov 2018. Originally I signed up with another Host Group. They told me they had training and mentoring. Sounded like a good deal. I wasted/lost 4 months with them. There was no training or mentoring and agent tools were outdated. I wasn't the only one that couldn't figure out how to start, I saw many FB posts from other newbies asking the same questions. After further research I decided to switch to Outside Agents. WOW, what a difference. I knew within the first 15 minutes that I had made the right decision to switch. It has now been about 4 months and I am still very happy. The training, communication and agent tools are great.

June 7, 2019

It has been two years and what a great two years it has been! I do this part time and I really enjoy it. Support, help, training.....it's all there for the taking. I love the suppliers available and feel confident in my ability to help my clients.

May 28, 2019

I have been with Outside Agents for almost 5 years now and feel like I made the right choice from the beginning. This site is the reason I chose Outside Agents and I want to share my experience with others. I have a successful travel business going. I have access to tons of On Demand training, Live Webinars and On Site hands on training. There is only an extra charge for the On Site training and the cost is always reasonable. Steve and Chad are very responsive and helpful and connect personally with their agents. Dan is an excellent resource for groups and linking in BDMs as needed should any problems arise for your clients. The rest of the OA home office team are helpful and supportive as well. Having a home office that has your back gives me confidence in the services and products I provide to my clients. Their CRM is excellent and both the CRM and website are included in your monthly technology package which is only around $10 for the basic. They operate under the premise that it is truly your business and you grow it under your own direction. They listen to the feedback from their agents. You are not locked into any exclusive contracts and there are no non-compete clauses to agree to. You own the clients you cultivate 100%. They have some basic policies in place for the protection of the client and to make sure that agents are truly travel agents. This is not a MLM opportunity - so if you want that go somewhere else. True travel professionals work under Outside Agents and Outside Agents maintains that integrity. I am at the highest commission level with them and going strong. Commissions ranges are 80-95%, some of the highest in the industry. Way to go Outside Agents and thanks for the opportunities you have allowed me!

May 21, 2019

Five months in here is an open and honest review of Outside Agents
.
1. Access to vendors: 5 out of 5
2. Technology: 3
3. Support: 4
4. Price: 5
5. Value: 4
6. Overall Impression: 4

Access to vendors; With TLN as its consortium, almost all the vendors are there at good commission point. If they aren't, they've negotiated with OA so you're clear.

Technology: Slow loading is its main issue. The other big one is customization of website. I had a website review done by the Small Business Council of Wyoming. It was a nightmare report, and none of it was fixable by me. Everything is locked down on the homepage, and the header cannot be customized. Metadata is not accessible, so SEO cannot be completed.

Support: When it can be fixed, they fix it. If it can't be, well, support goes out the door. Main issue: My webpage throws a "Bad Gateway" error on Firefox. The solution: Use Chrome. Great for me, but what about my clients?

Price: $51 a month for two agents (my partner and me). No setup fees. Includes your E&O as well. You can also go in for $21, but that doesn't include customizing your website. (See above before you count that as a minus)

Value: Get the website issues fixed, and this goes to a 5. You get more than you pay for as is right now.

Overall Impression: Outside Agents is great if you're not looking to do an elaborate website. It's low entry price makes joining affordable. It has great vendor training and good business training.

May 19, 2019

I joined Outside Agents 1 year ago and my only regret is I did not do it years ago. I have been in the travel industry for 10 years and prior to Outside Agents, I worked for another host who did very little on training compared to the training thats available with Outside Agents. Now, I feel like I actually own my own business rather than working for someone else and I make a lot more money. One of the things I was most impressed about was how quickly OA pays out commissions, with the other company I worked with sometimes it would be a couple months after a trip before I would see a dime. I have more control over my bookings now and the opportunities and training offered is unlimited. You also receive much support from other Agents who work for OA thru Social Media. Don't short change yourself if you are serious about this industry and being successful.... contact Outside Agents today.

May 11, 2019

I've been with Outside Agents now for about a year and half and it's been a wonderful experience. I was previously with another host for about 6 months that wasn't the right fit for me. After speaking to some friends in the industry, I took the time to study the different hosts and what they had to offer. I chose OA because it had everything I wanted. I've never regretted that decision. After attending my first boot camp training session, I felt so energized and ready for what lied ahead. One month later, I made the top 50 list of agents (we have about 5000 agents) They give you the tools to be successful. It's like being part of a family . The owner's Steve an Chad are there for you if and when you need them. Dan does an excellent job organizing great training events for us. The whole office staff is very helpful. I wouldn't want to be anywhere else.

May 7, 2019

I have been with Outside Agents for less than one year and I am happy that the Lord led me this way. They are super helpful and I have gotten so much support. I don't have another agency to compare them with as I am a new travel consultant, but I am very pleased with the service that I have received so far. They are very affordable and for new agents, that is very important as you normally can't afford much overhead in the beginning stages of your business. OA makes it affordable for the beginner and gives you so much in return. I am very pleased and I hope that it stays this way as I continue my travel consulting journey being a entrepreneur in the Travel Industry. They really seem to want you to succeed as a business owner and it is not all about them. We are in this together and they treat you as such at least my contact with them thru cyberspace as I have not met any staff in person yet; however all my internet and phone contact have be super. May OA continue to one of the premier Host out there. Again, I am glad that I was led to join their team.

Host Agency Response
May 7, 2019

Wow...just Wow. Yes, you totally get us. We actually want our agent to succeed. At the end of the day, this is how we all win. Thank-you, from the bottom of our hearts, Mennie, for your thoughts and feedback.

May 6, 2019

I have been with Outside Agents for 3 years. I was new to the business. They have great training and support. Whenever I have a question or a problem, they promptly give me the help I need. They have all kinds of trainings on their website. i have gone to Jacksonville serveral times for trainings. I have met other agents who support each other. I couldn't imagine doing this business without them.

April 17, 2019

I have been with Outside Agents since 2015. Having been with a different host before this time, I realize how lucky I was to run into Chad at a trade show. I asked someone from my old host why I should stay with them and not go to a different host (I was actually where I was at the time) I was told that if I was looking I would be leaving. This made me think that they did not care or were not as good as I thought.

OA has been completely different. They listen and care about their people. If you want to just book your own travel or spend time just chatting, this is probably not the place for you, but if you want to run a business you won't find a better place.
Issues are fixed quickly, payments are quick and accurate. They give you exactly what they promise and more. In house training is wonderful. You will not be disappointed.

Review Outside Agents

Sign up for a free account to submit reviews.