All Reviews

322 reviews
  • 5 stars
  • 4 stars
  • 3 stars
  • 2 stars
  • 1 star

Top Review

January 15, 2017
After decades in the travel industry, I left to pursue other interests, but continued to have former clients ask me advice. I decided to go back into travel on a very part time basis, and help a few of my clients who couldn't get the service they were used to, when planning their complex custom trips. I signed with another agency who charged a hefty monthly fee, and were difficult to reach. After about a year, I left that host agency and signed with Outside Agents. There are a few cons, but having been in the business for as long as I have, they're not out of the ordinary. The requirement to change the Revelex password every so often (I rarely use it, so it turns out I need to change it every time I log in, at which time I've forgotten it anyway), that time my account was suspended accidentally because I was mistaken for someone else (it was reinstated immediately when I emailed to ask why), and when you work for yourself, your only coworker is the cat (and she is never going to grab lunch for me). The pros, however, are countless. When I have an issue, I can look on the website and find the person who can help me. They email me back within the hour (during business hours), and after hours, the owners give their cell phone numbers, so help is available virtually any time. Who does that? I don't even give my cell phone number to my own family! That accessibility is everything. Then, the commission structure. I am no longer a high volume agent, since I now do this very part time. They don't care how much business I do, and treat me like I'm the most important agent in the company. In spite of this, I get the benefit of the override commissions of the agency as a whole. A small brick and mortar might get 10% with a vendor, yet a home agent with a low volume could get 16% or 18% with that same vendor. The E&O insurance is included with the lower priced premium package. That's a big deal. When I need access to a vendor booking system that I haven't used before (that doesn't have self registration), I get a login super fast (during business hours). Even when I worked IN a travel office, I would often have to ask repeatedly for logins before the right person would be found, promising to do it "after lunch" and I'd end up spending a week on the phone with the vendor, booking and altering that reservation, and playing phone tag with the client. Outside Agents really gets it. They know how agents work, and they want to make sure we can function in the ways that make sense. Commissions are paid twice monthly, and are easy to track with the new system. I can see what vendor has paid, which ones haven't, and then I know which ones to shake down for payment. My client management system is easy to use (with provided training) and I'm not using my rolodex anymore. The start up fee was low (and refunded after my first booking, a single hotel night) and the monthly is so low, compared to other host agencies. On demand training, recorded webinars, and continuing education. They really do have it all.
December 19, 2019

I started with Outside Agents 01/01/19. Formerly with ECSC for two years. Full time agent. The day I started with Outside Agents I got a 30% raise, and I had a good split with ECSC. OA's splits are very good, even at the lowest levels. I shopped around before I made the move to OA. I looked at ECSC, Dream Vacations and Cruise Planners Franchise opportunities. Checked out Avoya, and a couple other Host Agencies, before I pulled the trigger with OA. However, I wanted to brand, and build my own company and these other companies were too difficult to work with on this point. In the end, it was the accessibility to the owners, and the friendly staff that made the difference. Their tech is easy to use, so no big deal to transition over. Support is there if you need it, but not micromanaging like some other franchises. They direct deposit your commissions super fast. They are a big enough agency where they carry some weight with the suppliers, if you need to get something done. It's been a great move for me. Sales are up 50% this year, and with the additional split %, that equates to a lot more money in my pocket. Looking forward to 2020!

December 19, 2019

Outside Agents is a premier host agency with very a budget friendly fee, but a knowledge and training program out of this world! Not only online training, but onsite hands on training. Every leader and staff member at OA is truly dedicated to make make its agents successful. The OA community members are tight knit and love to help any agent in need that is willing to strive to be the best agent they can be. Staff at OA are a pleasure to work with and NEVER disregard even the simplest questions. They are a phone call or email away and answer promptly. Commission structure is fantastic. OA all day!

December 19, 2019

Outside Agents is the best host agency I have had the pleasure working for! I started in this business back in 1998 after completing Sarasota Travel (which is no longer in business) but it definitely gave me the basics in what I needed to know to get started in this business! I have always loved to travel and thought what better way to learn more about traveling than to start helping others make their dreams come true and see the places they most desired to experience! So, after working in "store fronts" for several years I got a chance to work in Alaska(which is one of my favorite destinations) I decided to work outside the office, still using that company as my "host" agency!
Then I moved to Tennessee from Florida(born and raised in Florida) 4 years ago. The company at the time paid 50/50 always promising to up my commission but that never happened so I started some research on other "host" agencies and found Outside Agents! After talking with Steve and he was so nice, informative and when he told me the commission structure starting at 80%, all I could think was if only had know about them years ago!! Signed on immediately! Not for just the money but the support from them(Steve, Chad and everyone I've spoke with since I started with them! They are all there to help when needed to keep my business going strong! I highly recommend Outside Agents to ANYONE who is interested in getting in this business!!
The training, the ability to see your sales and getting paid weekly when our commission has been paid is amazing! And so many other features that they are implementing regularly is beyond anything I've ever seen!
I can't thank them enough for always being there when needed either by phone or email!
This is not just a job/career for me, it's my passion and being with them has made it so much better than any other travel company I've experienced! The opportunities for growth of my business and support is truly the BEST ever!

December 18, 2019

Great host agency. Lots of training available, help with my business with a mentor, outstanding customer service

December 18, 2019

I had originally signed with a Disney Earmarked Agency who charged a hefty yearly fee, didn't offer training or support and commissions not paid in a timely fashion. After about a year, I left that host agency, researched many different host agencies and made the decision to sign with Outside Agents. This was the best decision I have ever made! I have been blown away by the amount of training and support Outside Agents provides. The owners make themselves available to help answer any questions you may have. Outside Agents not only provide in-depth training and support, but provide the best technology to help you succeed in the travel industry. Commissions are paid every Tuesday with 80/20 split when you first start with levels reaching a 95/5 split. My sales have reached levels I never imagined and I give the credit to Outside Agents, their technology, training and advice they give their agents. I wish I had found them when I first started in this career.

December 18, 2019

I have doubled my business after starting with OA in September of 2018. The support, training and opportunities that are given to home based agents is amazing. You never feel like you're "going it alone" with OA, the staff are great to deal with and are always patient and willing to help with even the simplest questions.

December 18, 2019

I have been a home based agent since 2008. For the first 10 years,I was with another agency and eventually knew it wasn't the right fit for me. I did some serious researching and decided on Outside Agents. I am so glad I did. They are so supportive and helpful with any and all questions I may have. Never have to wait very long for help.
They offer live workshops and training.Their website is amazing .I have learned so much more in the past year and half with them,then I had in my 10 years with the other host.
My only regret?? I wish I joined on with them many years sooner.

I highly recommend them to anyone looking for a host agency.

December 18, 2019

After my first 2 years as a travel agent with a small, local agency I decided to look for ways to create my own identity and establish business that saw me at "the agent", not my former agency. Discovered OUTSIDE AGENTS at CLIA's Cruise360 event in 2018 and, after comparing them to several other hosts represented there, decided to give them a try. I signed up a few days later and have never looked back. The resources and personal networking provided by OA are superior and help me grow in my business efforts. The support tools provided are excellent and have already made my work more professional and efficient. My business sales have grown (over 200% since joining OA) and I fully attribute that to the quality of assistance OA provides. I'm a home-based agent, with cruise travel making 99% of my business and I use OA resources almost every day. Without the experience of the owners, support personnel and fellow agents, I would not be where I am today.

December 18, 2019

I highly recommend Outside Agents as a host agency! I was with another at first but it wasn't the right fit and as soon as I signed up with OA it was like night and day! I had a group to set up the first week with them and they walked me through it-being a new agent, this was so helpful! I truly feel like they all care and I am not just a number. Everyone I've dealt with is helpful and genuine! Training has been invaluable and anytime I need help or advice as a still newer agent, they are there to help. I feel like I really started my business once I signed on with Outside Agents. I've learned so much! I'm glad my path brought me to OA and I plan to be with them for many years to come!

December 18, 2019

I have been with Outside Agents since September of this year. The reason I chose them is the training. The training is laid out in a way for you to succeed. The team and the community are outstanding and very helpful. I am so glad I made the decision to go with Outside Agents!!

Sign up for a free account to submit reviews.