All Reviews

316 reviews
  • 5 stars
  • 4 stars
  • 3 stars
  • 2 stars
  • 1 star

Top Review

January 15, 2017
After decades in the travel industry, I left to pursue other interests, but continued to have former clients ask me advice. I decided to go back into travel on a very part time basis, and help a few of my clients who couldn't get the service they were used to, when planning their complex custom trips. I signed with another agency who charged a hefty monthly fee, and were difficult to reach. After about a year, I left that host agency and signed with Outside Agents. There are a few cons, but having been in the business for as long as I have, they're not out of the ordinary. The requirement to change the Revelex password every so often (I rarely use it, so it turns out I need to change it every time I log in, at which time I've forgotten it anyway), that time my account was suspended accidentally because I was mistaken for someone else (it was reinstated immediately when I emailed to ask why), and when you work for yourself, your only coworker is the cat (and she is never going to grab lunch for me). The pros, however, are countless. When I have an issue, I can look on the website and find the person who can help me. They email me back within the hour (during business hours), and after hours, the owners give their cell phone numbers, so help is available virtually any time. Who does that? I don't even give my cell phone number to my own family! That accessibility is everything. Then, the commission structure. I am no longer a high volume agent, since I now do this very part time. They don't care how much business I do, and treat me like I'm the most important agent in the company. In spite of this, I get the benefit of the override commissions of the agency as a whole. A small brick and mortar might get 10% with a vendor, yet a home agent with a low volume could get 16% or 18% with that same vendor. The E&O insurance is included with the lower priced premium package. That's a big deal. When I need access to a vendor booking system that I haven't used before (that doesn't have self registration), I get a login super fast (during business hours). Even when I worked IN a travel office, I would often have to ask repeatedly for logins before the right person would be found, promising to do it "after lunch" and I'd end up spending a week on the phone with the vendor, booking and altering that reservation, and playing phone tag with the client. Outside Agents really gets it. They know how agents work, and they want to make sure we can function in the ways that make sense. Commissions are paid twice monthly, and are easy to track with the new system. I can see what vendor has paid, which ones haven't, and then I know which ones to shake down for payment. My client management system is easy to use (with provided training) and I'm not using my rolodex anymore. The start up fee was low (and refunded after my first booking, a single hotel night) and the monthly is so low, compared to other host agencies. On demand training, recorded webinars, and continuing education. They really do have it all.
June 26, 2019

I can't say enough about OA! I went from another established agency to starting my own agency from my home office. The support from all of the staff at OA has been incredible! They are there for you and want you to succeed! There is no pressure from anyone and they provide you with all of the training you could dream of! Everything is well organized and easy to find online. And to sweeten the deal...you not only get the best host team out there, but you get a whole community of colleagues to bounce ideas off, ask questions to, or generally just chat with!

Making the decision to go with Outside Agents was the best decision I could have made!!

June 24, 2019

I have been in the Travel Industry for many years and new to Outside Agents. I researched host agencies and Outside Agents was highly recommended by all. I can see why... their whole team is amazing and truly are
there to help you succeed. I signed up and started learning their program and I was fortunate to attend the New Agent Boot Camp with Dan. I just cannot say enough about how wonderful they all are. If you are looking for a host agency that will help you succeed.... this is the place for you!

June 20, 2019

When I found Outside Agents, I was wondering if they were too good to be true. But guess what. They aren't. They are the real deal, and I count my lucky stars every day that I found them.

Someone is always available to help me or to guide me and keep me from making mega mistakes. Plus it just gets better and better with everything that is available to help me market and grow my business. My web site, my CRM, my automatic email marketing, and much more. It doesn't get any better. And another thing...I don't wonder if I'm going to get paid. that's something that I've heard a lot about from agents with other hosts. The Owners of Outside Agents are true hard working people who want you to succeed, and I know I'll get paid. And if I have a question, I can call them anytime. And if I have to leave a message, they always get right back to me. So look no further. You've found the right Host Agency right here with Outside Agents.

June 18, 2019

Is the best decision I ever made. The staff in all Departments are very dedicated and organized. They resolve any issues promptly and with top urgency. Great mentors and their travel platform is so perfect for low-large volume of sales. All the features and resources they have created for us are very user friendly. A+++ rating.

June 17, 2019

I worked with a small agency for about four years before starting to think about opening my own agency. I did TONS of research and realized that going with a host was the best option for me. Over the course of three months, I did tons of research online, called hosts directly, and got in touch with agents with different business models to get advice. I was very nervous about leaving the agency I was with and branching out.

I chose Outside Agents because I was most impressed with their customer service, and because they had a great commission split. It wasn't until after I made the change that I really started seeing the benefits though.

They have an excellent training system on all sorts of destinations. It's so easy and great to look up any preferred supplier and contact a BDM or get training on their website. Membership with OA includes a great CRM that automates so much of my job. The commission rate with suppliers is pretty much always maxed out because of the volume of sales, so I'm making a lot more money than I was with a small agency. There's tons of support, and everyone is so genuine and dedicated to helping you excel professionally. This was one of the best professional decisions I have ever made!

June 14, 2019

Signing up with Outside Agents is one of the best business decisions I've made for my young travel company. As I transitioned from my former career to becoming a home-based agent, I realized how important it was/is to have the right training, education and back office support. Outside Agents not only provided these essentials but their responsiveness in resolving issues is outstanding. And when it comes to systems & technology, I just love how OA keeps it current, up-to-date and user-friendly.

June 14, 2019

I have been with Outside Agents for only 3 months, and this is my first gig in the travel industry. I have booked trips for years for my friends and family, and had always wanted to be a travel agent. I researched host agencies for about 4 months before I chose them- and to be honest, until the second that my log-in worked and my technology was suddenly available, I had doubts! "What if they're a scam or multilevel marketing scheme? Are there hidden costs, and why do they cost so much less than everyone else? What if I can't understand what to do? What if I hate it?" The truth is that you will get strong support from the moment you sign up, you will start training, you will build your website, and you will take responsibility as a business owner to learn and grow, but you won't do it alone. I've attended two live trainings, which were invaluable, because once you get into the systems, you will have questions. I have met the owners, managers, sales support, and the ANGELS who take care of us, the "circle of knowledge" ladies! This is a family owned business, and it's obvious if you visit that everyone has a great deal of love and respect for one another. I always feel as if I'm treated fairly, even when I goof. If you immerse yourself in the business of "learning the business", you will be successful. I just passed my three month anniversary, and my next sale will take me over the $100,000 in sales mark, and I realize now how much I still have to learn! It's not easy, but if you work at it, you will be so happy that you joined OA. The potential is huge, you will not regret this step!

June 11, 2019

I started my Travel Adviser career in Nov 2018. Originally I signed up with another Host Group. They told me they had training and mentoring. Sounded like a good deal. I wasted/lost 4 months with them. There was no training or mentoring and agent tools were outdated. I wasn't the only one that couldn't figure out how to start, I saw many FB posts from other newbies asking the same questions. After further research I decided to switch to Outside Agents. WOW, what a difference. I knew within the first 15 minutes that I had made the right decision to switch. It has now been about 4 months and I am still very happy. The training, communication and agent tools are great.

June 8, 2019

It has been two years and what a great two years it has been! I do this part time and I really enjoy it. Support, help, training.....it's all there for the taking. I love the suppliers available and feel confident in my ability to help my clients.

May 28, 2019

I have been with Outside Agents for almost 5 years now and feel like I made the right choice from the beginning. This site is the reason I chose Outside Agents and I want to share my experience with others. I have a successful travel business going. I have access to tons of On Demand training, Live Webinars and On Site hands on training. There is only an extra charge for the On Site training and the cost is always reasonable. Steve and Chad are very responsive and helpful and connect personally with their agents. Dan is an excellent resource for groups and linking in BDMs as needed should any problems arise for your clients. The rest of the OA home office team are helpful and supportive as well. Having a home office that has your back gives me confidence in the services and products I provide to my clients. Their CRM is excellent and both the CRM and website are included in your monthly technology package which is only around $10 for the basic. They operate under the premise that it is truly your business and you grow it under your own direction. They listen to the feedback from their agents. You are not locked into any exclusive contracts and there are no non-compete clauses to agree to. You own the clients you cultivate 100%. They have some basic policies in place for the protection of the client and to make sure that agents are truly travel agents. This is not a MLM opportunity - so if you want that go somewhere else. True travel professionals work under Outside Agents and Outside Agents maintains that integrity. I am at the highest commission level with them and going strong. Commissions ranges are 80-95%, some of the highest in the industry. Way to go Outside Agents and thanks for the opportunities you have allowed me!

Sign up for a free account to submit reviews.