First Class

Outside Agents

275 reviews
Send Message Bookmark Share Copied page’s address to clipboard!
Send Message Bookmark Share Copied page’s address to clipboard!

All Reviews

275 reviews
  • 5 stars
  • 4 stars
  • 3 stars
  • 2 stars
  • 1 star

Top Review

January 15, 2017
After decades in the travel industry, I left to pursue other interests, but continued to have former clients ask me advice. I decided to go back into travel on a very part time basis, and help a few of my clients who couldn't get the service they were used to, when planning their complex custom trips. I signed with another agency who charged a hefty monthly fee, and were difficult to reach. After about a year, I left that host agency and signed with Outside Agents. There are a few cons, but having been in the business for as long as I have, they're not out of the ordinary. The requirement to change the Revelex password every so often (I rarely use it, so it turns out I need to change it every time I log in, at which time I've forgotten it anyway), that time my account was suspended accidentally because I was mistaken for someone else (it was reinstated immediately when I emailed to ask why), and when you work for yourself, your only coworker is the cat (and she is never going to grab lunch for me). The pros, however, are countless. When I have an issue, I can look on the website and find the person who can help me. They email me back within the hour (during business hours), and after hours, the owners give their cell phone numbers, so help is available virtually any time. Who does that? I don't even give my cell phone number to my own family! That accessibility is everything. Then, the commission structure. I am no longer a high volume agent, since I now do this very part time. They don't care how much business I do, and treat me like I'm the most important agent in the company. In spite of this, I get the benefit of the override commissions of the agency as a whole. A small brick and mortar might get 10% with a vendor, yet a home agent with a low volume could get 16% or 18% with that same vendor. The E&O insurance is included with the lower priced premium package. That's a big deal. When I need access to a vendor booking system that I haven't used before (that doesn't have self registration), I get a login super fast (during business hours). Even when I worked IN a travel office, I would often have to ask repeatedly for logins before the right person would be found, promising to do it "after lunch" and I'd end up spending a week on the phone with the vendor, booking and altering that reservation, and playing phone tag with the client. Outside Agents really gets it. They know how agents work, and they want to make sure we can function in the ways that make sense. Commissions are paid twice monthly, and are easy to track with the new system. I can see what vendor has paid, which ones haven't, and then I know which ones to shake down for payment. My client management system is easy to use (with provided training) and I'm not using my rolodex anymore. The start up fee was low (and refunded after my first booking, a single hotel night) and the monthly is so low, compared to other host agencies. On demand training, recorded webinars, and continuing education. They really do have it all.
January 24, 2018

I am about to complete 5 years with Outside Agents. I have found them to be very supportive and offer every opportunity to help make your business a success. The online education is top notch. Even though I work independently, I feel I have a huge network that is there in case I need any help.
I am very happy I made the decision to join this agency!!!!

January 24, 2018

I joined Outside Agents almost 2 years ago. Before that I was with another agency, was brand new, and they gave very little training. I went to a convention and started asking everyone what host agency they were with and everyone I spoke to with Outside Agents encouraged me to join them. They all were extremely happy with the commission and the great training. I couldn't be happier. They have trainings in their facility and other places, which have taught me so much, live webinars, and on demand trainings. You can call and get your questions answered and any information that you need.

January 24, 2018

Outside Agents is hands down the best host agency in the world. I have never had a problem getting my money. I am often paid my commission quickly, and I have the best support system. I love the fact that my host agency answers the phone and responds to my trouble tickets quickly. I did not have this level of service with agencies that I belonged to in the past. I am so thankful that I found Outside Agents in a popular travel magazine over 2 years ago. My business has grown exponentially since then, and I know that it will continue to grow.

January 21, 2018

I am a part-time agent, but I have all the tools of a full-time travel agency through Outside Agents. When I first started looking at different host agencies, one of the things that impressed me most was the ability to talk directly with Chad, one of the owners.

Outside Agents allows you to grow your business at your pace with numerous options available to you based on your budget. However, even the entry level equips you with high-powered technology and all the tools you need to launch a professional and successful travel agency -- your growth and volume really depend on your drive and commitment.

January 21, 2018

I am new to selling Travel and I must say that I chose a great host agency. I love the "Family" atmosphere that Chad, Steve, Dan and staff have created.....they never make you feel like you are bothering them with "dumb" questions or like you are just a number. I believe they truly do care if their Agents succeed or not. (It's not like they HAVE to care about each and every one of us. They have thousands of Agents after all!) The best thing I have ever done besides choosing OA as my host agency is attending the Destination Wedding training that Dan put on. Thanks to those 3 days, I have found a Niche that I LOVE and am so good at! Keep on Keepin on guys, you are awesome!
I totally recommend Outside Agents!

January 21, 2018

I've been affiliated with a few other host agencies and Outside Agents is by far the best host agency I've worked with. There are no startup cost, low monthly fee, an excellent CRM and agency tools, high commission, weekly payments, regular training, great support and much, much more.

I'm so happy I made the decision to make OA my host agency and have never regretted my decision.

January 20, 2018

I recently put out a forum request because i felt as long as I had been with OA I should not still be struggling. I got very interesting responses and unfortunately they were either condescending or outright nasty from the white people and all the Black people reached out to me on Facebook and explained that the6 too had the problem and explained how to handle it!
They have this so CALLED poster child who just told me that I was not'CUT OUT'to be an Agent yet she didn't take the time to see what could be hindering me!
Now, I had been with another Host agency before this one and funny but I made money with them! EVEN Dan took almost a week to respond and it was very weak. So, maybe its because my niche is with Blacks, africa, Meditarrain and The Near East that I get no help. They only cater to people who want to go on safaris, and tour Israel, Egypt, Rome and Greece....etc. But there are many black people interested in their cultural and spiritual roots also. I get no help from OA, while they praise their pets! Thid is a business not A PETTING ZOO!!!

Host Agency Response
February 23, 2018

Dear Ms. Mileon,

My name is Chad Burt. I'm one of the owners of OutsideAgents.com.

I carefully reviewed each and every one of your posts in our agent forum, interactions with my crew, support requests, and mentoring requests. I'd like to address each of the assertions in your review as they are wholly erroneous as supported by the following facts:

1 - You assert that you made a forum post and the "...responses were...nasty from the white people and all the Black people reached out to me..." This is interesting as one of your final posts on December 25, 2017, just 7 days after your original post, was "THANKS, EVERYONE SO MUCH FOR ALL YOUR HELP!!! I am going to leave this up so other people can use it also. I am sure there are others that need this information. All of you have made some great suggestions, especially for the Newbies! I am getting ready to start on all of your suggestions!"

2 - You claim that one of our top agents posted the you were 'not CUT OUT to be an agent' (your quote and your caps from your review above). Her actual reply was "Melinda – I am sad for you, too. It sounds like you have done everything you needed to do – except get clients. As much as you may want this career for yourself, this industry isn’t for everyone, and believe it or not I have had MANY friends try it and end up in the same boat as you – no clients. I wish I had an easy fix for you!" While her reply may have not been what you wanted to hear, it sounds to me like she was empathizing with you, not belittling you.

3 – You mention that Dan, our National Sales Director took a week to reply. This is true but out of context. Our forum is an open environment. Our staff does not monitor every post. We have support channels and direct access to our entire staff to help you. We could not possibly monitor every post for help requests. You made no attempts to reach out to us through our established channels during this time. In addition, your original post was made the week before Christmas and the week that Dan had eye surgery. He responded to your post the day after Christmas, just a few days after his surgery, by offering his personal help.

4 – You assert “...maybe it’s because my niche is with Blacks, africa, Meditarrain (sic) and The Near East that I get no help.” We choose not to dignify such a baseless and offensive allegation with a reply.

5 – You claim “I get no help from OA…” This concerns us deeply. After careful review, I see no instance in which we failed to reply to any request for help. I’m happy to document this. In fact, our National Sales Director reached out to you personally and you have had the direct numbers for the owners of OutsideAgents.com, including my personal cell number, since the day you joined. I deeply wish you would have called us if you felt adrift.

In closing, let me frame this in light of your original post in which you wrote “I am so sad, as now my bills are piling up and I just got my phone cut off and my Car may be repossessed in a minute.” It’s my sincerest hope that this review reflects what must be a truly trying time for you rather than what you honestly think. Regardless, we wish you all the best. If there’s anything we can ever do for you, please feel free to reach out to us. We're here to help.

January 20, 2018

I started in this business with Outside Agents and am very grateful that I picked them as my host agency. The training, support, and technology are more than I ever anticipated receiving. Any question or concern the staff replies immediately to help. They also encourage support between fellow agents which has been invaluable. I had no idea what to expect when I started in this business but thanks to OA my business has grown steadily every year. Could not be happier.

January 20, 2018

I have been with Outside Agents for almost 6 months and I am very impressed with their dedication, services, and overall platform of software included in their membership.

I had no IDEA what I was doing when I decided to start my own travel business (which was less than 6 months ago, in September '17). I came across Outside Agents and based on the reviews decided to sign up with them. They give you absolutely everything you need to be successful in this industry; the experience, the knowledge, the continuing education, the software, marketing tips/supplies, etc. I mean seriously, EVERYTHING. I have been so pleased with Outside Agents.

You may be wondering why I didn't give them 5 stars if I am so happy with them. I won't go into detail but I will give you a brief explanation as to why. Just this week I had a huge issue arise for a group booking I was working on. This was the first time since I had started my business that I had to contact them directly regarding any issue. I was pleasantly surprised to call the phone number on the website and be sent directly to one of the top managers in the company. After explaining my issue, the manager immediately walked me thru what to do and made me feel assured that the issue would be resolved. I followed the steps provided to me and unfortunately it wasn't resolved. The manager then took it upon himself to work on the issue with the vendor directly. I believe that the manager took the better half of his entire day to look into this for me. Unfortunately, he wasn't able to get it resolved to my satisfaction and I had to continue to work on it on my own to eventually get the issue resolved. However, I truly applaud the time and effort spent on this by the managing office and it was something I had never expected to receive. The level of service and dedication you get from Outside Agents has to be above all else.

I have no other host company to compare them to so my review may be biased. However, I am so happy with the direction my company is now headed simply by utilizing their services, that I never intend to have another company to compare them to because I don't plan on ever leaving.

There are things, I myself, never even considered while starting my business that Outside Agents completely trains you on. The cost of this service is worth EVERY. SINGLE. PENNY.

I can't recommend them enough!

January 20, 2018

When I entered this Industry about 4 years ago I honestly knew nothing more than I wanted a change, I loved to travel and that this was something I had wanted to do most of my life. Additionally, I knew I needed help to get started, lots of it. I found OA through a site very similar to this, I read the reviews of OA and many others, but went with my gut and picked Outside Agents. I have never, not for one moment regretted my decision.

I decided to start very slowly and ultimately I wanted as much training as I could find, because I knew if I wanted to do this I wanted to do it well. The training is there, the support is there, the caring and encouragement is there. OA gives you every single tool you need to succeed at your pace!

I'm still not one of their highest sellers, though I do aim to be someday, but I do not think I am treated any differently than those who sell 10x more than I do. It has become a second family to me, one I can count on to answer my silly and not so silly questions.

I am so very happy I made the decision to join Outside Agents, it has literally changed my life in the most positive way possible. I love getting up and heading to my office to start my day and that is so very important!

Review Outside Agents

Sign up for a free account to submit reviews.