All Reviews

322 reviews
  • 5 stars
  • 4 stars
  • 3 stars
  • 2 stars
  • 1 star

Top Review

January 15, 2017
After decades in the travel industry, I left to pursue other interests, but continued to have former clients ask me advice. I decided to go back into travel on a very part time basis, and help a few of my clients who couldn't get the service they were used to, when planning their complex custom trips. I signed with another agency who charged a hefty monthly fee, and were difficult to reach. After about a year, I left that host agency and signed with Outside Agents. There are a few cons, but having been in the business for as long as I have, they're not out of the ordinary. The requirement to change the Revelex password every so often (I rarely use it, so it turns out I need to change it every time I log in, at which time I've forgotten it anyway), that time my account was suspended accidentally because I was mistaken for someone else (it was reinstated immediately when I emailed to ask why), and when you work for yourself, your only coworker is the cat (and she is never going to grab lunch for me). The pros, however, are countless. When I have an issue, I can look on the website and find the person who can help me. They email me back within the hour (during business hours), and after hours, the owners give their cell phone numbers, so help is available virtually any time. Who does that? I don't even give my cell phone number to my own family! That accessibility is everything. Then, the commission structure. I am no longer a high volume agent, since I now do this very part time. They don't care how much business I do, and treat me like I'm the most important agent in the company. In spite of this, I get the benefit of the override commissions of the agency as a whole. A small brick and mortar might get 10% with a vendor, yet a home agent with a low volume could get 16% or 18% with that same vendor. The E&O insurance is included with the lower priced premium package. That's a big deal. When I need access to a vendor booking system that I haven't used before (that doesn't have self registration), I get a login super fast (during business hours). Even when I worked IN a travel office, I would often have to ask repeatedly for logins before the right person would be found, promising to do it "after lunch" and I'd end up spending a week on the phone with the vendor, booking and altering that reservation, and playing phone tag with the client. Outside Agents really gets it. They know how agents work, and they want to make sure we can function in the ways that make sense. Commissions are paid twice monthly, and are easy to track with the new system. I can see what vendor has paid, which ones haven't, and then I know which ones to shake down for payment. My client management system is easy to use (with provided training) and I'm not using my rolodex anymore. The start up fee was low (and refunded after my first booking, a single hotel night) and the monthly is so low, compared to other host agencies. On demand training, recorded webinars, and continuing education. They really do have it all.
May 4, 2016

Mary @ Host Agency Reviews recommended Outside Agents to me because I didn't have much money to start up my company and all the other agencies I looked at required a start up, and/or, monthly fee that I couldn't afford. I signed up with them and Chad was VERY helpful when I first called them about signing up!!! There is so much you can learn from them. The other agents in the chat room and forum are very helpful. Lots of vendors to choose from, plenty of webinars to attend (never had to so many scheduled at one time) and lots of training!! I could go on and on about them. I'm glad I signed up! Thanks Mary!!

March 15, 2016

I joined Outside Agents more than 2 years ago, and they've been a great Host Agency! They give you the tools and support to get your business going! Thank you OA!

October 1, 2015

I am so glad that a friend of a friend recommended OA when I was searching this site looking for the right host. When I met this woman through a mutual friend and found out she was an agent I asked what host she used, as I had struggled over a month researching to find the perfect host. She told me she used OA, that it was free except for the set up fee of under $40 and there was plenty of training and she was doing great. I let that comment end my hunt, and signed up with OA. Its been almost a year and I have never looked back. There's all the training you can do, and everyone from the owners on down all care about your success. The other agents help you every step of the way and are not cut throat. Its a fabulous "warm and fuzzy" company of people who care.

I recently met someone in my neighborhood who was in the same spot i was a year ago, stressing over which host was right for her. She has 7 years experience or a large company but never worked on her own. I told her my OA story, and it ended her search. She has now signed up and called to thank me for the recommendation. Give them a try! You won't be sorry!

September 27, 2015

I been in the business for over a year now and $500.00 later I still am on the nest trying to fine the fit for me as a hosting agent that will work for me. I look at Outside and never got on board. BOY i wish I had of . but no i gone a different host agency. and now I built the nest and got my eggs in a row and am on the nest wanting to fly. and am not getting any help from my hosting agency. so that bring me to where am at now. After reading all and i mean all the reviews and looking at the site. I know i was wrong in not starting with you in the first place. so am all in and you guys are it so. help me get off this nest and get me flying like the eagle that i know i can be.

September 12, 2015

I researched Host Agencies for about 4 months. I kept coming back to Outside Agents. I joined today and have already completed several levels of the training to get started. The ease of signing up, getting started and accessing the training was phenomenal. I like to jump in and learn, and Outside Agents has allowed me to hit the ground running. I have spoken to several people at the office, and all of them were welcoming and helpful. I am thrilled about the helpful tools and the abundance of information available for me to learn. Unlike other Host Agencies, there are no hidden fees, no monthly fees. This makes them very eager to make you successful. It feels great knowing that I made the right choice! I can't wait to start making people's vacation dreams a reality!

May 2, 2015

I signed up for with OutsideAgents.com and Cruises & Tours Unlimited
paid for $39 fee set up, and i wrote to chad@iwantacruise.com (the owner)to cancel the service right away due to the fact that I was out of the States & wasn’t ready yet so I wrote him to cancel the service. No reply, instead I got the welcome message?!

Then I tried it again but sent to Heather email heather@iwantacruise.com, no reply.. although i couldn’t even be able to get into the member site!!!!
https://agents.outsideagents.com/page/outsideagents-com-agent-services-directory.

said that “this is not a valid account.If you have an existing account and need assistance to recover your password contact customer service”.

4 days later, I was billed $39 for the service I have never been able to use. No communication and very irresponsible company.

In my opinion, I’m so disappointed and I won’t recommend anyone.

Host Agency Response
May 19, 2015

Dear Ms. Natkritta Suracupt,

First, let me apologize that you found our sign-up process to be confusing.

Next, let me expression my confusion as to your assertion that you’ve never been able to access our system as, in your post, you reference information on a page that is only accessible to members.

Regardless, our records indicate that you signed up on 4/26/15 at 12:26am. We sent you a notice on 4/27/15 at 8:10am indicating that you hadn’t selected a password and we provided a link to do so. You followed the link, completed your registration, we approved you, we sent you a welcome email with all the necessary information to get started, and you accessed the site that same day. On Friday, 5/1/15 at 7:27pm, you emailed requesting a refund as you were “unable to use your service at this time.” As it was a weekend, I replied on 5/4/15 reiterating the terms, to which you had agreed, under which a refund was available – you simply needed to book anything through us in your first 30 days. Unfortunately, you did not meet those terms. We did, however, refund your set up fee, as a courtesy due to your circumstances, on your first request on 4/30/15. Here’s your reply:

"I don't understand your system at all. What make it so hard to figure the new member out! It's over than a week after I signed up and feel so disappointed with your system VERY MUCH.
It's not because of my regret of paying for set up but because of your poor system that never let me sign in that screw up everything and I think this is RIP OFF! period!!!
I won't be able to play this game of booking within 30 days anymore because I will be in the camp next week until the end of this month. Meaning that I won't be able to use any of your stupid setup RIP OFF fee at all."

My key take away from your final email, sent well after you had full access to our systems, was that you didn’t have time pursue a travel business at the time. As I explained, due to the cost of approximately $38/agent to set up a new account, we were not obligated to refund your set up fee. We did it anyway.

Finally, I regret that you assert that we never communicated with you as, in addition to a confirmation email for your refund, I have a trail of at least 6 emails to the contrary. It’s unfortunate that, for whatever reason, you were not in receipt of those emails.

I sincerely regret you were unable to participate in our program when you signed up. As a courtesy, I have left your account open, so you can access it at your leisure to take advantage of our award winning training, technology, and support.

As always, just let us know if there is anything we can do to help you build your travel business.

April 23, 2015

I am not a full time travel agent but one day want to retire and supplement my income as a travel professional - outside agents is a great host agency, great training and great support - one day I hope to make the top ten list

March 9, 2015

I have been with OA for more than a year and I cannot imagine being with any other host. The positive comments they've received here really are true. The support in place is outstanding (from fellow agents to OA staff) and opportunities for training and development are as numerous as the time you're willing to put the work in and learn. They encourage you to grow your business and offer insight on how to do so. Questions are often easily answered in the agent forum or by direct contact to OA staff members. This is not a "card mill" but if you put in the work you will certainly see rewards (through your business growth, training certifications, increased commission levels, etc). This is an amazing host with great knowledge and guidance to help you be the best you can in the travel industry. I would certainly suggest them to anyone seeking to begin working as a travel specialist.

January 23, 2015

Outsides Agents gets five stars for their program but the get negative 4 stars for their lack of communications. What they don't tell you is if you don't make x number of sales per year you are dropped with no warning. No explaination. Nothing. This shows a lack of respect on the part of Outside Agents for their agents.

Host Agency Response
January 26, 2015

Hi Robert,

As always, we appreciate feedback from our agents as we are always looking to improve.

First, I want to thank you for your 5 star rating of our program and to express my regret that you felt our communications fell short of that mark.

Let me address, this, the most important point you raised, a lack of respect for our agents. The fact is that every single one of our agents have direct access to the Owner's of the company, including their personal cell number. With 3100+, why would we do that? Because we're absolutely committed to our agents. We're their business partner and we're here to help.

Next, let me address the catalyst of your disappointment. The sales requirement of selling something, anything, every six months to someone other than yourself is clearly stated on our website, in our contract, and on the welcome email that was sent to you. We make no effort whatsoever to hide the fact that we want agents that, at the very least, sell something more than once each year.

To be clear, this requirement is one of the reasons that we're receiving industry accolades for our training. We want new agents to succeed. All they need to do is take advantage of all that we offer.

Finally, let me just say that, prior to hitting the 6 month mark or even posting this review, I wish you had called me. I could have helped. Heck, give me a call anytime. I'm still eager to help.

December 12, 2014

This is my first host agency and I have to say, thank goodness I picked the best the first time around. The forums are the best and their On Demand training library is awesome.

I had no experience in the travel industry before this and everyone has been great helping answer my questions and pointing me in the right direction.

You may not have live leads like with some hosts, but OA gives you the tools and the confidence to go out and find your own bookings. Other members will give you tricks and tips of the industry. If you don't make it with OA, you have nobody to blame with yourself, because the tools and support are provided.

Sign up for a free account to submit reviews.