All Reviews

355 reviews
  • 5 stars
  • 4 stars
  • 3 stars
  • 2 stars
  • 1 star

Top Review

March 7, 2021
I was very new to the industry when I started in 2017 and was researching Host Agencies here. I was impressed with the reviews that OA received and started looking at their requirements and terms. The monthly cost and training reviews/awards really sold me, as a beginner agent. After looking at a few more agencies, I decided to join OA and I've never regretted that decision. The training I've received, both online and in person, has been integral to my staying in business for the last 4 years, including through a pandemic year. My biggest issue is finding the time to start all the training that is offered to us. It's always updating, with new topics or improvements on previous ones. It's a credit to the staff to keep things fresh and relevant. On that note, I love the technology used by OA for their training, agent websites, CRM, and booking tools. They are integrated so that information from booking tools can be automatically loaded into the CRM, which is such a time saver. The CRM also has a lot of automation and tasks for bookings, as well as the ability to market using their email campaigns. While I do love the technology, there are some things I would have on my "wish list" for the future. However, I am more than happy with what I have for the small price I'm paying for it. As far as support, I cannot express how impressed I am at how connected staff is with the agents. It could be a holiday weekend and there is bound to be someone who responds to your request for assistance. On the off chance they aren't available, there are a plenty of your peers to reach out to when you have a question. With so many agents under the OA umbrella, you're bound to find someone who specializes in or has been through the issue you have encountered, who will offer help. While I don't think there is a PERFECT host agency, I think this is the agency that is close enough to perfect for me and my business. If you're on the fence, give the OA family a try!
October 10, 2018
Old Review

I have been a Travel Advisor for 4 years. I first started with a different host agency and struggled for the first two years with them. My commission split with them was significantly low because I was just starting and that level was supposed to include some “hand holding”. I did not receive the help I needed and found the other host agency unhelpful. I joined Outside Agents two years ago and started with a considerable jump in my commission split starting out. They also provide a large amount of training that is consistently being updated. The technology they are providing is fantastic, something I wouldn’t be able to afford on my own and have not seen offered with other host agencies.
Outside Agents have been very responsive to my questions and I have access to a mentor. I have recently had an issue with my business (an issue not involving Outside Agents) and Chad Burt, one of the owners, has been working with me over the last two weeks helping me to resolve it. He has been responsive on the weekends as well. I appreciate his guidance and the support he has given me and I know I am with a great host agency.

October 7, 2018
Old Review

I booked several travel engagements through Outside Agent. I was able to confirm that Outside Agent received payment/commissions for my bookings. They refused to bay the me several hundreds of dollars in commission stating I didn't complete a form correctly. I emailed/faxes the commission forms several time. Each time there was some excuse as to why it wasn't processed. The bottom line is THEY WILL RIP YOU OFF AND NOT PAY YOU!

Teresa Adams

Host Agency Response
October 18, 2018

Dear Ms. Adams,

I've had my staff search extensively for any record of a Teresa Adams having been an agent with us. We can find no such record.

In addition, you mention that you emailed/faxed the reservations to us. We haven't processed bookings by email in years. I'm concerned that you may have us confused with another host.

Regardless, we have a 99.97% success rate in paying agents correctly over the past decade. Those errors are corrected within a few days with a little help from the agent and vendor.

Please feel free to reach out to us if you were in fact hosted with us and we'll be happy to research any problems.

Chad Burt
Co-Owner
OutsideAgents.com

September 28, 2018
Old Review

Not a good experience at all. I jumped right in and did their training, reached out to several of the staff with questions. Booked approximately $20k worth of travel in my first three months. Was hopeful, but now discouraged after a series of short, curt email responses to questions from their staff. Chad said one thing right in response to a previous reviewer - speaking about his company he said, "We’re one of the largest hosts in America and pride ourselves on our support." It's true, they are one of the largest, but big isn't always better. How he can they pride themselves in support baffles me... maybe support for the million dollar travel sellers, but for someone like me who jumped in with both feet and had a commitment to work hard, I certainly feel the support lacks greatly. Saddened by my experiences with Outside Agents!

Host Agency Response
October 2, 2018

I apologize that we failed to meet your expectations. I've called twice and sent two emails as I'd love to speak with you regarding the specific areas in which we can improve.

We're deeply committed to all of our agents, especially those that show the initiative and commitment to work hard. Please give me a call to discuss. I'd love to speak with you. You can call my office or my cell.

Sincerely,

Chad Burt
Co-Owner
OutsideAgents.com

August 27, 2018
Old Review

My daughter and I decided to start a home-based agency together. We spent many months researching the best host agency to work with. (Thank you HAR for all the great information!) After creating many spreadsheets, contacting various hosts, webinars, etc. we selected OA and we are glad we did.

First, it is very cost-effective. We are at the most expensive level (with a sub-agent). The fee includes a high quality website, CRM, and most of all, LOTS of training. Their contract allows you drop at any time. There are no big upfront fees like with many other hosts. The commission structure is much better than many other agencies.

Second,the owners and staff are available. They have a good system for submitting questions and concerns--I usually get a response within hours. (once was on a Sunday from one of the owners!)

Third, Learning.There is a robust community of agents helping one another. There are a zillion hours of training on-line. There are reasonably priced face-to-face training. They have a mentor program.

Fourth, technology. Their CRM is easy to learn. The free website is beautiful and customizable. They have a great free group and booking genie option. They have a weekly email promotion program that you can choose to have sent to your clients (or not. They are continually updating and upgrading--a new online booking engine is coming soon.

Many new people like us feel overwhelmed at first--there is so much. But don't plan to make much, if any, money at first. It takes time. Plug away at learning and building relationships. There are some great posts in their forums from veteran successful agents.

We are extremely happy we chose OA.

June 25, 2018
Old Review

I have been with OA for a short 8 months and it has been business changing! I have been with other agencies with little to no support and having to fight for commission on every booking. To this day my previous host owes me a significant amount of commission.
I researched for several months before making the leap to OA and when I say it was business changing I am not kidding. I met my 2018 Goal in the first 5 months and had to re-assess those goals.
I just returned from a life and again business changing week of training. When I say they have your back they are not kidding. I was struggling with a few features in the CRM and those were resolved within minutes of asking for personal help.
I have spoken to the owners Steve and Chad and the Sales manager Dan on multiple occations via email or phone prior to my training event with them. Dan has responded to emails at 11:30pm on a couple of instances, you can't beat that kind of support!
I wish I had made this change years ago! Thank you OA for being real and wanting each person under your host to succeed!

June 14, 2018
Old Review

I had another host agency early on in my career and it was not a good experience at all for me.

I am so happy that a couple of months ago I decided to give the host agency route another try. I can not praise OA highly enough.

When I needed some "coaching" on how to go about making a group "work" (since it was my first cruise group that I had booked after being with OA), I reached out to Dan Crutchfield via email and he called me the same day, spending quite some time on the phone with me helping me understand the details of making this group work the way I needed it to. I never felt rushed or got the sense that he had better things to do (even though I'm sure he had a million other things he needed to be doing!)

Their training is above and beyond anything I ever expected. They are so much more than "just a host agency".
I truly feel that I have a partnership with OA, and I feel like a valued partner.

April 12, 2018
Old Review

The experience I had in the past has always been positive. I was frustrated last week when I went to reactivate and was told no. I have spoken to one of the owners Steve today and there was some miscommunication on both sides. I am happy that they reached out to me and we got everything straightened out. I have some upcoming trips and really needed a host agency and since I never had any issues before with OA, I reactivated and am excited to move forward and book through OA.

March 29, 2018
Old Review

As a travel agent with over 20 years of experience I am thrilled to be working with OA. I moved over about 4 years ago and its been a great relationship. The team at OA is constantly improving processes and technologies. It seems like my CRM wishlist just keeps materializing. They pay commissions promptly, answer questions on a dime and are always very pleasant to work with. I highly recommend signing up with OA! Looking forward to many more years!

March 28, 2018
Old Review

I have been a Travel Agent for 5 years now and since signing up with Outside Agents a little over a year ago my business has doubled. They are a wonderful, supportive agency offering top commission & assistance for your business. Their technology is top of the line & gives you more time to focus on selling & marketing. The owners are very responsive & hands on; my emails are always addressed very quickly. The entire agency is wonderful & I'm lucky to be a part of the team. Although they are a large agency, I always feel important & respected.

March 14, 2018
Old Review

While my rating is not related to the quality of platform offered I feel that I need to share my story. I signed up for a $21/month membership but shortly I realized it was not what I was looking for. In less than 2 hours after I signed up, I sent an email and requested the membership cancellation and asked my card not to be charged. The transaction was already pending (of course)
The charge was made on my CC and no confirmation of the receipt of my request was ever sent to me. i called today spoke with Kaitlin and asked why my card was still charged --- she said they need 30 days notice in advance for cancellation. While I totally understand the cancellation policy, I know that with any other business if you send cancellation request within the first 24 hours you can cancel any agreement. Even a car lease can be cancelled within the first 24 hours!!!!!

Host Agency Response
March 16, 2018

Hi,

I'm sorry to hear that your experience wasn't what you wanted.

To be clear, you replied within 24 hours, not 2 hours. Regardless, let me explain why we don't offer a refund if an agent cancels within 24 hours.

When an agent signs up with us, automation kicks in so that we can get the agent up and running quickly. Part of this automation is the setup of 3rd party services for which we are billed automatically and for which we cannot get a refund even if we canceled within seconds. In fact, it costs us $39.80 to set up every agent that signs up.

So, clearly we invest in the opportunity to partner with our agents. It should also be equally clear as to why we cannot offer refunds as we state on our website during your registration process.

I hope this clears the matter for you.

As always, if you need anything at all, please don't hesitate to reach out.

Sign up for a free account to submit reviews.