All Reviews

308 reviews
  • 5 stars
  • 4 stars
  • 3 stars
  • 2 stars
  • 1 star

Top Review

December 22, 2018
I have been with Avoya Travel since July of 2016 and thus far it has been the best decision! The database is user-friendly, the professional development and assistance is quite abundant, and there always leads available. It is important to bare in mind that owning and running your own travel agency is no joke! It certainly is not for everyone as it requires a lot of dedication, self-discipline, and a strong work ethic. My only "issue" with Avoya is regarding repeat leads. I completely understand and agree that when I take a lead from Avoya my commission should be at a lower rate (30%); however, I wish that once this customer becomes a dedicated repeat client of mine, the commission percentage would be adjusted. I agree I shouldn't receive the full 80% that I do for my personal clients, but it would be nice if repeat Avoya clients increased to 50% after 2 or 3 booked trips; I've earned their trust, loyalty, and am keeping them within the Avoya network. Just my suggestion!
July 26, 2018

The support for conducting your own business on your terms is why Avoya hits a homerun all the time. It takes time and patience to develop a clientele but once you get going, everything comes into place.

July 26, 2018

Overall a wonderful group of people both other agents and staff...... with a terrific administrative team, the best support staff as well as all of the educational opportunities offered everyone each and every day. Live leads of course are the main draw to first working with Avoya as a host agency, but once you are learn the ropes, it almost becomes secondary to the opportunities offered. I feel as if I am part of a great family of friends and that holds great weight when you work most of your time compared to leisure time. Simply said, I love Avoya for many reasons.

July 26, 2018

Your score: 10
Your feedback:

This is a very good host agency that really is moving along with technology and moving as fast as the world is moving . You can always call someone if you are in need of a answer of a question that you may not know. There is always someone in the forum that would help.

July 3, 2018

It has been an absolute pleasure being affiliated with Avoya Travel.

It's so evident that everyone wants to help the "newbies" succeed every step of the way.

When I first started the business, I was not too sure of myself, as far as being able "to do it"! I guess that's normal, as I had no previous experience in the industry.

From the call center agents who so nicely ask if I'll take a lead, to the tech support agents who ALWAYS help, and optional Mastermind leaders who really stand behind you, because they WANT you to succeed....I always know that someone has my back.I don't feel like I did at the beginning.. This is the start of something brand new to me...and look forward to every day as a new adventure.

I am very optimistic that I will do well selling cruises, and know that I will always have the support of Avoya Travel.

Katie Alonzo

Great Escapes Cruises

June 19, 2018

I was planning to sign up with Avoya. After going through the required CLIA courses and doing all the prelims to start the business, I was provided the IA agreement to sign. Upon review of the agreement, there were several terms in the contract that were completely different and/or very vague in favor of the host agency:
1. The agreement states that Avoya "encourages" it's agents to obtain E&O insurance. There is no verbiage stating it's mandatory, nor are there limits set. Before the agreement could be finalized, I received an email stating that they REQUIRE E&O with Avoya also listed on policy, with minimum coverage of $500k. When I pointed out that their contract stated otherwise, I was told "you have to do it" if you want to work with us.
I was also told, verbally, that you can't participate in their Live Leads program without the E&O insurance, again there is nothing in their contract that states this condition regarding live leads. I have worked in other industries that require E&O, but always had the company cover the agent, not the other way around.
2. You have to include a credit card number on the agreement for charges and fees. The wording is "including, but not limited to" monthly fees etc. I was certainly not comfortable with this, as they could charge any amount for any reason and I would have no legal recourse. Again, they refused to change this clause.
Once I had initially inquired about joining, the were quite aggressive in pushing me to complete everything. I would be very wary of signing up with this company. Clearly a legal agreement is not binding to them and they feel they can make up requirements on the fly. This is not the was I do business, and decided to sign up with another host agency.

Host Agency Response
July 5, 2018

Hi Karin,

Thank you for your feedback. We take all reviews and feedback very seriously in our ongoing efforts to improve the Avoya Travel Network™.

Avoya has a well-earned and long-standing reputation as THE host agency that’s all about Integrity and Professionalism™, THE host agency with the highest support levels and THE host agency with the most successful Independent Agencies.

I’m very sorry that, in spite of our best efforts to be clear and upfront in all our communications with you, there were still some areas you did not think were clear enough. For example, while you say it was not clear to you that your independent agency would need to get an E&O policy with at least $500K we think it was made very clear, and here’s why.

On March 15, 2018, very early on in our efforts to determine if Avoya was a good fit for you and if your independent agency was qualified to join the Avoya Network, we sent you an email summarizing several important terms of our potential future relationship. One of these was regarding the need to obtain E&O insurance where we made it clear that a “minimum coverage of the E&O is $500,000”. We received a reply from you the same day, with no questions, stating “yes i acknowledge”. E&O was also discussed with you over several phone calls. I don’t know how the need for a $500K E&O insurance policy could have been made clearer.

You mention that in “other industries” the “agent” is provided E&O by the company. That may be true when the “agent” is really just an employee and not the owner and manager of their own business, but it’s not the case at Avoya. Independent Agencies in the Avoya Network are not just “agents”, they are truly independent business owners and, as such, pay their own expenses like all other real independent businesses.

Finally, you bring up our ability to charge your credit card for “monthly fees” and others, and that we could charge your credit card for “any amount for any reason and I would have no legal recourse”. That’s simply not true, nor is the claim that “a legal agreement is not binding to them”. Remember, our reputation as THE host agency known for Integrity and Professionalism has been earned by always “doing the right thing”.

We’ve refunded 100% of what you paid Avoya and wish you the best with your new host agency.

Steve Hirshan
Senior Vice President of Sales Support
Avoya Travel
Steve.Hirshan@AvoyaTravel.com

June 19, 2018

After extensive research, I chose Avoya as my host agency because of the requirements involved in order to join. Avoya ensures that you are educated about their company, the companies they partner with and the travel industry. I've been with them for a few months now and I know I made the right choice. I've gotten one on one mentoring, opportunities for continued learning and the marketing Avoya provides is amazing. I get leads every single day. I couldn't ask for a better Host company than Avoya!

June 3, 2018

The support that I get from Avoya cannot be beat by any competitor. It has been a slow start for me but every time I had a question or problem, it was taken care of immediately. When I call a vendor and say I am with the Avoya Travel Network, things go a lot fastr and smoother. I would encourage all my friends to join Avoya. I thank you for your support and encouragement.

June 1, 2018

Avoya has everything I need built in. I just have to know where to look or who to ask. The community forum is great. I just discovered it and it was very helpful. I now know I am not alone. There is a support system. Being new to the industry I have so much to learn and I have access to everything I need to be successful.

May 22, 2018

The ongoing support provided. The feeling of "in-it together" is very real.

May 13, 2018

Avoya does every thing it can to help make us successful

Review Avoya Travel, an American Express Travel Representative

Sign up for a free account to submit reviews.