First Class

Avoya Travel, an American Express Travel Representative

292 reviews
Send Message Bookmark Share Copied page’s address to clipboard!
Send Message Bookmark Share Copied page’s address to clipboard!

All Reviews

292 reviews
  • 5 stars
  • 4 stars
  • 3 stars
  • 2 stars
  • 1 star

Top Review

April 6, 2017
I am going to keep this relatively short which would be unusual for me so I wouldn't advise anyone to take bets on that! My team partner Tim Orlowski signed up with Avoya 7 years ago this past February. Tim was trained by me and also SABRE and CLIA back in 1990 when we opened a "brick and mortar" travel agency in San Antonio Texas named Anchors Aweigh Cruises and Tours. When he signed up he asked me if I would be interested in partnering with him and I wasn't wild about the idea of leaping back into the Travel Industry again. I started writing airline tickets for my Moms agency for allowance when I was a teen back in the early 1970s and then went on to get a degree in Hotel Administration with a concentration on Tourism and Travel so this is not new for me. Tim was working a full time job as an accountant in the Bay area and he was getting over surgery for cancer on his vocal chords so his voice was very raspy and he wasn't able to speak for long periods of time on the phone. I had just recently sold a business so I was kicking back and just doing real estate sales now and then. We both did the training of the system for 3 days back then and since Tim was working Monday to Friday, I figured I would try it since it was from home so nothing ventured nothing gained. We came into Avoya with quite a few of our own leads but I found clicking on the live leads was like being in a casino so I thought this could be fun. Well, from the hesitant player, I ended up working 8-10 hours a day. Tim would come home and find me at the computer on the phone. For anyone that says this cannot be done, just contact me or contact Avoya and they will share my success. We hit the 1 million mark easily in the first year. We stated the second year out so busy, that Tim quit his job as an accountant and started full time with Avoya with me. We went to our first Avoya Conference in June of the year we began and found out that we were "Rising Star". We won lots of awards and met so many fantastic people. I always say, if all of these amazing agents lived in my city, when I would have a dinner party, I would have to invite at least 100 people over . We have become true family. I grew up in this business and anyone that thinks that you will get a lead and sell that one and every other one you get, does not know this business. When we had our walk in travel agency, you won some and you lost some. That's the story of all businesses. The secret is persistence and talking with clients to get to know them ,their story and their wishes for a great vacation. Once you listen, then they will listen to your expertise and you will not only have a client for many years but many times a new friend. Every company has positives and negatives but I have to say, I get much inner joy working with this organization. The owners of the company are people that I can truly invite to dinner at my home and we would all enjoy each other and they would enjoy my cooking!!! If they didn't like it, they are too kind to tell me. Anyway, my guidance to anyone looking to join a host agency would be , whoever you choose to work with, don't blame them for your failures. Look within yourself and ask yourself if you put in 150% to clients and if you do, you will truly be a success. Looking forward to many more years with this fine organization. Stephen Solomon/ Travel by Tim and Steve
April 4, 2019

From the outset, I received excellent education in all aspects of the travel industry, how Avoya operates, incredible resources and support mechanisms and after I began the Mastermind Program, which I still participate in. Needless, to say having preferred relationships with the finest travel suppliers in the world makes my work a delight. I have referred others to join the Avoya Network.

March 5, 2019

Avoya is a wonderful company to work for. Everyone is very knowledgeable. Avoya allows you to work at your own pace an offers all the training and support one may need or want. Thanks Avoya!
- Sandra Taylor

March 4, 2019

When I decided I wanted to start my own travel agency, I turned to host agency reviews and did extensive research. I started the recruiting process with Avoya Travel. I was impressed with the reviews and the fact that they are affiliated with American Express. Throughout the onboarding process, I became more and more impressed with what they had to offer.

Any time I had questions, my recruiter responded. At one point, the Vice President of the company called to welcome me aboard. I immediately went through the courses with CLIA, and then began Avoya University where I learned best practices for using their system and working with live leads.

The live leads are an amazing part of their system. No more marketing, buying facebook ads or bothering your friends. I have met people from all over the world who I never would have had the opportunity to sell to without our leads.

I have been with Avoya for about 60 days now. I set high goals for my first 30 days and using the system and the offered live leads I sold twice as much as I thought I would. I am brand new to travel and because I am with Avoya and do everything they suggest, I know I will meet or surpass my goals for the year. I cannot say enough good things about the support and tools with this company.

February 26, 2019

I love working with Avoya. They are always there to help. Avoya University is great and will teach you everything you need to know. Live leads are wonderful and great for someone who is homebased Agent. I wouldn't trade them for anyone else. Most important, they have great reputation among Vendors!

February 26, 2019

The supports and the leads we get are crucial to me having a successful business. Leads can sometimes be a lot of looking and not booking but I am still new so I just keep moving forward. It really is not a race for me but a process to learn my clients and have them become customers that will return time and time again.

February 12, 2019

Avoya is a company with integrity and I appreciate Avoya's support team to its agents!

February 11, 2019

I started with Avoya in March of 2018. When I first started with Avoya everything was great, the support was amazing. However as time progressed the support became very minimal. I left the company and advised them I had leads that needed to be taken care of and they left the clients hanging with no contact, I had let me clients no I was no longer part of the Avoya team. When I reached out to them they advised me everything would be taken care of. Nothing was done. They left the customers hanging and their agent support team is extremely rude, and does not help. If you want the support I would definitely no go to Avoya.

Host Agency Response
February 15, 2019

Caitlin,

Thank you for your feedback. We take all reviews and feedback very seriously in our efforts to continually improve the Avoya Travel Network™.

Everyone at Avoya is very proud of our top-rated support and so we were surprised to read you feel the support at Avoya is less than outstanding. We were surprised because, in checking, while your independent agency was in the Avoya Network you voiced your appreciation for the support you received and further, until you posted your review, we were unaware of your concerns. Caitlin we are confident the customers you were working with during your departure were handled professionally by Avoya and other Independent Agencies in the Avoya Network.

Let me close with two factoids:

1) Independent Agencies in the Avoya Network continue to rate support as their number one reason for satisfaction in the Avoya Network, and
2) Avoya was again, for the 5th consecutive year, awarded Best Host Agency at the 2019 Travvys.

Avoya is known in the industry for Integrity and Professionalism™, but we always know there is room for improvement so again, thank you for your feedback.

We wish you the best of luck, whether in returning to the travel industry or on a new path. If you would like me to setup a call with you to discuss your experience in detail please contact me directly.

Steve Hirshan
Senior Vice President of Sales Support
Avoya Travel
Steve.Hirshan@AvoyaTravel.com

February 11, 2019

I’ve been very happy with Avoya since the day I first contacted them. The resources they have available are excellent and they provide all the support you need to get up to speed in the first 60 days. The LiveLead program has been a game-changer and has convinced me that I can make this a highly successful venture in a relatively short period of time. Avoya Travel has my strongest recommendation. Come and join us and you’ll see!

January 23, 2019

Love Avoya's technology and support system.

January 22, 2019

I have been with Avoya for several years and everyone that works with Avoya is always helpful even other agents are always willing to help. Makes you feel as part of a family not just another number.

Sincerely,
Elaine Bernier
Over 25 years of Travel experience

Review Avoya Travel, an American Express Travel Representative

Sign up for a free account to submit reviews.