All Reviews

405 reviews
  • 5 stars
  • 4 stars
  • 3 stars
  • 2 stars
  • 1 star

Top Review

June 13, 2023
I began my journey with Avoya about 6 months ago. The training was excellent. It is online so you can move at your own pace. There is live support every step of the way. The trainers have a great deal of expertise and are very patient. About five months ago I began with my first client. The excellent support continued with Avoya's Early Success program. They offer outstanding workshops conducted by experts in the field. Upon completion of their Early Success program, the support continues. With every question I've had or challenge I've encountered, the Avoya team has been there with timely responses. Their platform for booking and managing travel is excellent. It's user friendly! Lastly, I credit my success, over $900,000 is sales in less than 5 months time, with the training and support I've received from the Avoya team.
June 30, 2023

I have been working with Avoya starting at the end of 2022. On top of the continous training they provide. Their Early Success Team and Brand Specialist team are top notch and always their to help if/When needed. They are constantly providing new marketing campaigns for their IA's. To be honest their really isn't anything bad I have to say.

Host Agency Response
December 7, 2023

Hi Joshua,

We have loved watching you learn and succeed this year! We can't wait to see what you accomplish next.

Best regards,
The Avoya Travel Network

June 13, 2023

I am very happy to have chosen Avoya Travel as my host agency. From the first conversation, they have supported me on my way and their team of knowledgeable and experienced professionals was always there to assist me at every step of my journey. They provide comprehensive training and resources to enhance your skills which is especially helpful at the beginning when everything can be overwhelming. Their lead system was another major aspect for me since it is again very helpful when starting your business. If you are seeking a host agency that genuinely cares about your growth and provides exceptional support, I wholeheartedly recommend joining them.

Host Agency Response
December 7, 2023

Hi Dorothee,

Thank you for your feedback! We are so happy you're a part of the Avoya family. We have loved watching you succeed this year. Keep up the great work!

Best regards,
The Avoya Travel Network

June 13, 2023

I began my journey with Avoya about 6 months ago. The training was excellent. It is online so you can move at your own pace. There is live support every step of the way. The trainers have a great deal of expertise and are very patient. About five months ago I began with my first client. The excellent support continued with Avoya's Early Success program. They offer outstanding workshops conducted by experts in the field. Upon completion of their Early Success program, the support continues. With every question I've had or challenge I've encountered, the Avoya team has been there with timely responses. Their platform for booking and managing travel is excellent. It's user friendly! Lastly, I credit my success, over $900,000 is sales in less than 5 months time, with the training and support I've received from the Avoya team.

Host Agency Response
December 7, 2023

Hi Jeffrey,

We can't believe it's almost been a whole year since you started! You have accomplished so much and we're very proud of you. We love watching you succeed.

Best regards,
The Avoya Travel Network

June 9, 2023
Verified Review

I had high hopes when I started wit Avoya, did all my research - but there were some things they did not tell you - and some things which I guess as a new agent we learn

First, they left AmEx and are in transition this year with TLN. That means many times contracts have not been completed and commission payment are delayed 30-60 days. They do tell you this if you read their supplier resources - but as a large company they should be paying the commissions out while resolving contract and accounting issues with the vendors and partners.

Second, we are Independent Agents, and they do try to help us over the hump. But at the same time, there is a lack of best practices and they isolate us away from each other - so it is hard to share successes or be mentored by other IAs in the company.

The tech is an issue - their scripted email cannot be formatted (plain text only) and you need to use their webmail system, which is limited. You are overwhelmed with emails and webinars that are not filtered out or pertinent when starting up. Basically, the onboarding team is great, the onboarding support behind the scenes not so great. The newer modules and search engines do not have all the features of the basic ones - yes, they look pretty, but you can't search for St Lucia as a port on a cruise on the pretty search engine.

Leads are generally stale - most or 3-5 days old by the time they are offered to us. Either they have too many leads, or not enough IAs - either way the tech engaged means we do not get leads for a long time.

While probably the same at other agencies, at a 30% commission split on a 16% cruise lead means your net commission is 4.8%. Get in, get the high end specialties because you losing money on most of the leads (probable the same at other host agencies too).

If you complain, you are asked to leave. If you have issues that are not resoled, you are asked to leave. The management can be very defensive - open arms to get you to sign up, but don't make waves once onboard.

This is just my opinion, but I wish there was better IA mentoring and coaching from others, and a repository of the most successful best practices from other agencies to review.

I didn't know what I didn't know before I joined up, gotten a lot more knowledge now. Unsure if leaving the grass is any greener elsewhere, so will see what develops.

Host Agency Response
June 12, 2023

This reviewer may not have signed his name but he is not anonymous to us.

Avoya did not "leave" American Express. American Express chose to close out their Retail Travel Network and this is what prompted Avoya Travel to partner with Travel Leaders Network (TLN). Honestly, TLN is way more committed to the retail travel network, so we don't view this change as a negative.

The comments on tech are more an expression of the users' lack of knowledge and experience with the system; then of any lacking in technology. If only he had asked how to search for St. Lucia as a port, we could have easily explained how to do so in our advanced cruise search in our proprietary system, Agent Power.

We have many agencies claiming Avoya leads that are earning six-figure incomes. They are not focused on the commission share, but on their direct deposits each week. But no one is required to claim Avoya Live Leads, you are just as welcome to invest in your own marketing to find your own clients that come with higher commission split.

No one is asked to leave because they complain. We are not perfect; and we appreciate valid feedback. But people who are unprofessional or worse, abusive to Avoya employees, will be asked to leave or not have their agency's agreements renewed because the only rule we have for our Network is that they act with professionalism and integrity. Life is too short; if a business relationship is not working for either side or both, move on.

May 22, 2023
Updated Review

Another two years and our independent agency continues to benefit greatly from its relationship with Avoya. Foremost in our success story is the partnership for shared success; this is where Avoya truly excels. And thanks to our new consortia Travel Leaders Network and major investment by our co-presidents Avoya is powering forward.

Host Agency Response
December 13, 2023

Hi,

We're glad you're a part of the Avoya family. Keep up the great work!

Best regards,
The Avoya Travel Network

May 22, 2021
Previous Review

Avoya has been home to me for six years now. The engaged, knowledgeable team of experts provide a huge lift for my 4-agent independent agency.

March 24, 2023
Updated Review

Review of Laura Burk and the Early Success Team (Melissa, Ed, Mandy) at Avoya Travel. This is an email I sent the team. If anyone is considering Avoya and are concerned if there is enough training for a new agency owner / travel advisor, I can assure you there is. There is so much available it is overwhelming, but the Early Success Team is AWESOME and helps you every step of the way.

Laura,
Seriously, you and your team may get tired over answering the same questions over and over again, especially when the information is available to... r e a d! Each of these sessions that you create and present moves us one step closer to the "light bulb" flipping on and feeling empowered to "do this" and knowing we can find what we need. I couldn't imagine doing this without the steps laid out by Avoya. I certainly don't feel as lost and overwhelmed as I did in the beginning of this journey to change my entire life and start a business in my 50's! That is because of all of education, support, and constant attentiveness from our host agency. When I start to think, I don't need another webinar about a specific subject, that's when I learn the most or things start coming together so I am grateful!

-Dawn

Host Agency Response
December 13, 2023

Hi Dawn,

We're happy to hear how much you appreciate our Early Success team. We've loved watching you learn and grow!

Best regards,
The Avoya Travel Network

January 6, 2023
Previous Review

I'm brand new and this is all I know regarding host agencies; however, I did a considerable amount of research before joining Avoya. My only concern is that it would only be cruise based but it is not. I have had great guidance and support while going through Avoya University and now the early success team is awesome. I will continue with new Travel Agent Education program soon. I feel as though the support from Avoya is for the long haul and if I'm successful, Avoya's successful and they are making sure I have the tools I need to build a very successful and profitable business with lifelong clientele.

January 3, 2023
Verified Review

I have worked with Avoya for a year now and the quality of the leads are remarkable. They are very good at generating clients for my agency. I never thought I would ever sell 2 million again in my lifetime. After 2008 I thought well it's over for me! With Avoya I know that I will continue to get leads and the support I need for another great year!

Host Agency Response
December 13, 2023

Hi Beth,

Watching you succeed has been so much fun. Keep up the great work!

Best regards,
The Avoya Travel Network

January 3, 2023
Updated Review

I celebrate 14 years with Avoya Travel this month. I have been in the cruise industry for 40+ years, as District Sales Manager for Ocean Cruise Line and Princess Cruises, then opening my first cruise specialty agency in 1988. I never thought I would join a host agency, as I was doing very well independently. Yet, when the economy crashed in 2008, I felt it was time to consider. Knowing Steve Hirshan throughout my career, and seeing he was with Avoya Travel, I knew that was the place for me! I have never looked back. I came with a fair degree of personal clients, and was able to fill in the gaps with Avoya's amazing Live Lead program. The quality of leads, tremendous support, and unrivaled promotions are just a few of the many reasons I would highly recommend Avoya Travel to anyone desiring to be successful in the travel industry. Since I joined Avoya, I have exceeded $1 million in sales, consistently, every year, and exceeded $2 million in 2022. It's the best business decision I've ever made.

Host Agency Response
December 13, 2023

Hi Susan,

We're honored to have industry experts like you in the Avoya family! Here's to celebrating another year of shared success.

Best regards,
The Avoya Travel Network

January 2, 2019
Previous Review

I would highly recommend Avoya Travel to anyone wanting to succeed in the travel industry. The professionalism and integrity of the company combined with state of the art booking tools, support and optimum commissions.

December 12, 2022

When I was in the researching phase of whether I would start a travel agency or not, I came across Avoya Network. I'm so glad that I chose them! From training and patience with becoming a new agent, to mentorship to help me grow as an agent, the staff of Avoya Travel have been absolutely amazing. On top of that, there is a whole network of travel agents that, yes, have a friendly competition and want to beat each other, but really want to see each other succeed and grown. I highly recommend Avoya.

December 12, 2022

I have been with Avoya since 2019, and I absolutely love it! I was with a different host agency before I came to Avoya, and let me tell you....it was the best decision I've made in a very long time.

There are so many resources! Training, support, and friendships! My favorite thing about working with Avoya is the reception you get from suppliers. Avoya has been around a long time, and the name is synonymous with INTEGRITY. That goes a long way if you are an at-home agent really trying to "get the deal".

The Live Leads offered have really elevated my business. I'm from a very small town. It's extremely difficult to build a serious clientele quickly based on my personal connections. Having the leads has elevated my business to a new level. Yes, there will be some of those leads that are just "browsing", but it's up to YOU to put in the work to convert that browser to a booker.

If you are considering a new host agency, please, look no further. You won't regret it. So many opportunities to grow your business, be part of a team, and learn the travel industry the right way!

Sign up for a free account to submit reviews.