First Class

Avoya Travel, an American Express Travel Representative

291 reviews
Send Message Bookmark Share Copied page’s address to clipboard!
Send Message Bookmark Share Copied page’s address to clipboard!

All Reviews

291 reviews
  • 5 stars
  • 4 stars
  • 3 stars
  • 2 stars
  • 1 star

Top Review

April 6, 2017
I am going to keep this relatively short which would be unusual for me so I wouldn't advise anyone to take bets on that! My team partner Tim Orlowski signed up with Avoya 7 years ago this past February. Tim was trained by me and also SABRE and CLIA back in 1990 when we opened a "brick and mortar" travel agency in San Antonio Texas named Anchors Aweigh Cruises and Tours. When he signed up he asked me if I would be interested in partnering with him and I wasn't wild about the idea of leaping back into the Travel Industry again. I started writing airline tickets for my Moms agency for allowance when I was a teen back in the early 1970s and then went on to get a degree in Hotel Administration with a concentration on Tourism and Travel so this is not new for me. Tim was working a full time job as an accountant in the Bay area and he was getting over surgery for cancer on his vocal chords so his voice was very raspy and he wasn't able to speak for long periods of time on the phone. I had just recently sold a business so I was kicking back and just doing real estate sales now and then. We both did the training of the system for 3 days back then and since Tim was working Monday to Friday, I figured I would try it since it was from home so nothing ventured nothing gained. We came into Avoya with quite a few of our own leads but I found clicking on the live leads was like being in a casino so I thought this could be fun. Well, from the hesitant player, I ended up working 8-10 hours a day. Tim would come home and find me at the computer on the phone. For anyone that says this cannot be done, just contact me or contact Avoya and they will share my success. We hit the 1 million mark easily in the first year. We stated the second year out so busy, that Tim quit his job as an accountant and started full time with Avoya with me. We went to our first Avoya Conference in June of the year we began and found out that we were "Rising Star". We won lots of awards and met so many fantastic people. I always say, if all of these amazing agents lived in my city, when I would have a dinner party, I would have to invite at least 100 people over . We have become true family. I grew up in this business and anyone that thinks that you will get a lead and sell that one and every other one you get, does not know this business. When we had our walk in travel agency, you won some and you lost some. That's the story of all businesses. The secret is persistence and talking with clients to get to know them ,their story and their wishes for a great vacation. Once you listen, then they will listen to your expertise and you will not only have a client for many years but many times a new friend. Every company has positives and negatives but I have to say, I get much inner joy working with this organization. The owners of the company are people that I can truly invite to dinner at my home and we would all enjoy each other and they would enjoy my cooking!!! If they didn't like it, they are too kind to tell me. Anyway, my guidance to anyone looking to join a host agency would be , whoever you choose to work with, don't blame them for your failures. Look within yourself and ask yourself if you put in 150% to clients and if you do, you will truly be a success. Looking forward to many more years with this fine organization. Stephen Solomon/ Travel by Tim and Steve
January 16, 2019

With AP everything is right out in front of you. I do not use "Live Leads" (as you know), but think that someone new to the industry would find the feature invaluable. I've been around for a long time and have rarely been disappointed! I especially like that I am permitted to "do my own thing!"

January 7, 2019

The Live call-in leads almost priceless, web registered leads great. Most important part of biz resolved, no marketing, social media or investment required to generate quality leads. Avoya does a great job and I love their specialty leads.
Avoya Mastermind, academies at sea and support excellent. Staff wonderful. Once I understood their software system I realized how good it is, but it was a little overwhelming in the beginning. Just know it is NOT easy going in the beginning. It takes time to close the leads and build a book of business. If you can hang in there it is very worth it. Love working from home. Would rather work 80 hours a week from home than 40 hours a week in an office. Just love everything Avoya. There simply is no other host agencies out there like Avoya, and if everyone knew about Avoya there would be very few other host agencies staying in business. It is the perfect opportunity for first times in the trav biz as well as seasoned agents. I feel very lucky I found Avoya amongst all of the other host agencies.

January 2, 2019

I would highly recommend Avoya Travel to anyone wanting to succeed in the travel industry. The professionalism and integrity of the company combined with state of the art booking tools, support and optimum commissions.

December 23, 2018

Love the Live Lead program. All of the staff at Avoya are very friendly and QUICK to respond.

December 22, 2018

I have been with Avoya Travel since July of 2016 and thus far it has been the best decision! The database is user-friendly, the professional development and assistance is quite abundant, and there always leads available.

It is important to bare in mind that owning and running your own travel agency is no joke! It certainly is not for everyone as it requires a lot of dedication, self-discipline, and a strong work ethic.

My only "issue" with Avoya is regarding repeat leads. I completely understand and agree that when I take a lead from Avoya my commission should be at a lower rate (30%); however, I wish that once this customer becomes a dedicated repeat client of mine, the commission percentage would be adjusted. I agree I shouldn't receive the full 80% that I do for my personal clients, but it would be nice if repeat Avoya clients increased to 50% after 2 or 3 booked trips; I've earned their trust, loyalty, and am keeping them within the Avoya network. Just my suggestion!

December 21, 2018

Avoya Travel provides their agents with an extraordinary feel of extended family, and everything needed to succeed with superb support and all tools needed!

December 20, 2018

I have had a wonderful experience with Avoya since I affiliated with them almost 6 years ago. The support, professional development, marketing and staff are great. They respond quickly, are professional but down to earth. I loved that you could claim leads at no charge. Their AP6 software we use is fantastic. This really helped me grow my business to now, where I have a large personal business supplemented by leads and repeat business. We can work at our own speed with no pressure to do more than we can handle. I highly recommend Avoya.

December 5, 2018

Avoya Travel is a joke. I invested money and time in setting up a corporation, buying business insurance, attending regionals, etc. Then they sent me an email saying my agreement would be renewed but then terminated my agreement without warning. How do I know it was without warning? Because I had my Avoya email set up on my iPhone so I would get emails as soon as they came in. I made repeated attempts to speak to the main decision maker Steve, and he never responded to me. This is incredibly disappointing - considering I had just attended the regional conference and picked up tips I planned to implement to grow my business. They don’t really communicate well here. And most of the leads they speak so highly of are garbage.

Host Agency Response
December 7, 2018

Dear Anonymous,

We take all feedback very seriously in our efforts to continually improve the Avoya Travel Network™, but unfortunately without knowing who you are, we’re unable to specifically and directly address your review post.

Avoya is committed to the success of Independent Agencies in the Avoya Network, which can be seen by the level and quality of support, marketing, education, technology, and more, that we offer. Reading the hundreds of top rated reviews on this site and others, it’s clear why we’ve been voted “Best Host Agency” by travel professionals year after year, and why we’ve been known for years as the Host Agency that’s all about Integrity and Professionalism™.

If you would like me to setup a call with you to discuss your experience in detail please contact me directly. We truly wish you all the best.

Thank you,
Steve Hirshan
Senior Vice President of Sales Support
Avoya Travel
Steve.Hirshan@AvoyaTravel.com

November 30, 2018

I just started with Avoya and i am new to the industry, i have to say that i was nervous but the support that avoya has offered me has been amazing. They guide me and are very patient. I am happy to be part of Avoya.

November 29, 2018

I'm about to complete 3 years with Avoya Travel, and I couldn't be happier with the production of my business. I was new to the industry, and Avoya and their immense training opportunities were helpful to get me started. My business produced over $1M each year for the last 2 years, and a big part is due to the Live Leads system.

Marketing to find customers can be very expensive and time consuming. Having customers ready to talk about vacations is great for me. Some reviews talk like the leads are not quality leads, but you cannot expect any company to have leads with credit cards ready to throw at you. You have to sell and show them what you will do for their vacation and the value you add. Any business requires you to work hard, and this is no different. It's unfair to expect Avoya to do all the work and you just process.

The rewards are amazing... sell what you want, work the hours that make sense for you, help customers' travel dreams come true and fulfill the entrepreneur calling in your soul.

Avoya is the best partner I could imagine for this business, and their reputation is 2nd to none!

Review Avoya Travel, an American Express Travel Representative

Sign up for a free account to submit reviews.