First Class

Avoya Travel, an American Express Travel Representative

281 reviews
Send Message Bookmark Share Copied page’s address to clipboard!
Send Message Bookmark Share Copied page’s address to clipboard!

All Reviews

281 reviews
  • 5 stars
  • 4 stars
  • 3 stars
  • 2 stars
  • 1 star

Top Review

April 6, 2017
I am going to keep this relatively short which would be unusual for me so I wouldn't advise anyone to take bets on that! My team partner Tim Orlowski signed up with Avoya 7 years ago this past February. Tim was trained by me and also SABRE and CLIA back in 1990 when we opened a "brick and mortar" travel agency in San Antonio Texas named Anchors Aweigh Cruises and Tours. When he signed up he asked me if I would be interested in partnering with him and I wasn't wild about the idea of leaping back into the Travel Industry again. I started writing airline tickets for my Moms agency for allowance when I was a teen back in the early 1970s and then went on to get a degree in Hotel Administration with a concentration on Tourism and Travel so this is not new for me. Tim was working a full time job as an accountant in the Bay area and he was getting over surgery for cancer on his vocal chords so his voice was very raspy and he wasn't able to speak for long periods of time on the phone. I had just recently sold a business so I was kicking back and just doing real estate sales now and then. We both did the training of the system for 3 days back then and since Tim was working Monday to Friday, I figured I would try it since it was from home so nothing ventured nothing gained. We came into Avoya with quite a few of our own leads but I found clicking on the live leads was like being in a casino so I thought this could be fun. Well, from the hesitant player, I ended up working 8-10 hours a day. Tim would come home and find me at the computer on the phone. For anyone that says this cannot be done, just contact me or contact Avoya and they will share my success. We hit the 1 million mark easily in the first year. We stated the second year out so busy, that Tim quit his job as an accountant and started full time with Avoya with me. We went to our first Avoya Conference in June of the year we began and found out that we were "Rising Star". We won lots of awards and met so many fantastic people. I always say, if all of these amazing agents lived in my city, when I would have a dinner party, I would have to invite at least 100 people over . We have become true family. I grew up in this business and anyone that thinks that you will get a lead and sell that one and every other one you get, does not know this business. When we had our walk in travel agency, you won some and you lost some. That's the story of all businesses. The secret is persistence and talking with clients to get to know them ,their story and their wishes for a great vacation. Once you listen, then they will listen to your expertise and you will not only have a client for many years but many times a new friend. Every company has positives and negatives but I have to say, I get much inner joy working with this organization. The owners of the company are people that I can truly invite to dinner at my home and we would all enjoy each other and they would enjoy my cooking!!! If they didn't like it, they are too kind to tell me. Anyway, my guidance to anyone looking to join a host agency would be , whoever you choose to work with, don't blame them for your failures. Look within yourself and ask yourself if you put in 150% to clients and if you do, you will truly be a success. Looking forward to many more years with this fine organization. Stephen Solomon/ Travel by Tim and Steve
August 9, 2018

I love and appreciate everything Avoya stands for. They are upfront and honest. Easy to work with. Plenty of leads to work with and I am now at a point, 5+ years, where my repeat business is around 75% of my overall business. I love the buddy system and overall support.

August 6, 2018

I have been with Avoya a little over 8 years and have no intention on going anywhere else. The reason I give a 10 is because you have the total package, You have the Leads, The Booking Engine, the Marketing, the Support System, the ability to work as much or as little as you want and make as much or as little as you want. You also have the feeling of family. You can work from anywhere. There is a Buddy System. I could go on and on.

August 2, 2018

Update Oct. 5th, 2018:
There are alot of host agency out there but NON compare to Avoya Network!
The support and integrity of this company is by far the most professional in the industry!
Everyone is SO knowledgeable and helpful, from the training staff to the support staff… is’t an amazing company that truly wants you to succeed!
I really feel blessed to be apart of this organization!

Sincerely,
Jackie
_______________________________________________________________________________________

I have been with Avoya Network for a few months and I am SUPER EXCITED to have found this company!
Every single employee is SO professional and full of Integrity!
I truly feel blessed to have made this choice to be apart of such an amazing team!
I look forward to working with them for many years to come!
Jackie

July 30, 2018

Every single Avoya member are always making sure to follow up with me, as their are all extremely friendly and professional

July 27, 2018

I am currently an independent agent in the Avoya Network. I am new to the travel industry and researched several host agencies before joining Avoya. I am extremely pleased with my decision for the following key reasons:

1. the Avoya technology platform is easy to learn and provides great support for my business
2. the team of Avoya employees backing up the independent agencies are professional, friendly and provide responsive and timely technical support when needed
3. Avoya's long-standing relationships with travel vendors provides a competitive advantage when closing sales
4. The Avoya live lead system provides a boost to your business aside from pounding the pavement to generate your own personal business.

My business continues to grow with Avoya, and I am proud to be part of the Avoya Network.

July 27, 2018

The main reason would be the leads.

I was only in the business for 2 years prior to joining Avoya, and those 2 years had me to the point of failure, due to no source of leads.

It's not easy, but you can grow and succeed in this group. I could not do it in Expedia Cruiseship Centers, my initial host.

Also, I like the group rates we sometimes have, especially with Celebrity and Royal Caribbean.

When you hit on a good group rate, you have a great advantage.

Thirdly, the AvEx's (Avoya Extras). When we have PPGs or good OBCs, it also puts us at advantage.

Most leads are shoppers, at least to some extent, and if we don't have something extra to offer, we have much less chance of winning the lead.

Best,

Mark

July 26, 2018

The support for conducting your own business on your terms is why Avoya hits a homerun all the time. It takes time and patience to develop a clientele but once you get going, everything comes into place.

July 26, 2018

Overall a wonderful group of people both other agents and staff...... with a terrific administrative team, the best support staff as well as all of the educational opportunities offered everyone each and every day. Live leads of course are the main draw to first working with Avoya as a host agency, but once you are learn the ropes, it almost becomes secondary to the opportunities offered. I feel as if I am part of a great family of friends and that holds great weight when you work most of your time compared to leisure time. Simply said, I love Avoya for many reasons.

July 26, 2018

Your score: 10
Your feedback:

This is a very good host agency that really is moving along with technology and moving as fast as the world is moving . You can always call someone if you are in need of a answer of a question that you may not know. There is always someone in the forum that would help.

July 3, 2018

It has been an absolute pleasure being affiliated with Avoya Travel.

It's so evident that everyone wants to help the "newbies" succeed every step of the way.

When I first started the business, I was not too sure of myself, as far as being able "to do it"! I guess that's normal, as I had no previous experience in the industry.

From the call center agents who so nicely ask if I'll take a lead, to the tech support agents who ALWAYS help, and optional Mastermind leaders who really stand behind you, because they WANT you to succeed....I always know that someone has my back.I don't feel like I did at the beginning.. This is the start of something brand new to me...and look forward to every day as a new adventure.

I am very optimistic that I will do well selling cruises, and know that I will always have the support of Avoya Travel.

Katie Alonzo

Great Escapes Cruises

Review Avoya Travel, an American Express Travel Representative

Sign up for a free account to submit reviews.