All Reviews

297 reviews
  • 5 stars
  • 4 stars
  • 3 stars
  • 2 stars
  • 1 star

Top Review

December 22, 2018
I have been with Avoya Travel since July of 2016 and thus far it has been the best decision! The database is user-friendly, the professional development and assistance is quite abundant, and there always leads available. It is important to bare in mind that owning and running your own travel agency is no joke! It certainly is not for everyone as it requires a lot of dedication, self-discipline, and a strong work ethic. My only "issue" with Avoya is regarding repeat leads. I completely understand and agree that when I take a lead from Avoya my commission should be at a lower rate (30%); however, I wish that once this customer becomes a dedicated repeat client of mine, the commission percentage would be adjusted. I agree I shouldn't receive the full 80% that I do for my personal clients, but it would be nice if repeat Avoya clients increased to 50% after 2 or 3 booked trips; I've earned their trust, loyalty, and am keeping them within the Avoya network. Just my suggestion!
October 23, 2018

They are very Knowledgeable about keeping you up to date with all the travel industry. Have lots of webinars.

October 22, 2018

About a year and a half ago the reviews on this website were key in my choice of a host agency, so I think it is only fair to also leave one for others.
I was close to spending a significant amount of money on a cruise franchise, when luckily someone who had been in the business suggested I check out Host Agencies. A google search led me to this website. After my research and with the help of the information on this site, I narrowed it down to about 4 or 5 and spoke personally with representatives from all of those.
Although I had sales experience I had no travel industry experience.
All around I am extremely happy with my decision to join Avoya. Great "professional development" (they don't call it training), great support, and commissions are paid quickly. My mother had worked in the business before with another company and it was always a battle for her to get her commissions. This is not the case with Avoya. When Avoya gets paid, I get paid quickly and correctly.
There are more leads through the Avoya live lead system than I have time to take ( or work effectively.)
Most importantly to me is through Avoya, I can often get my clients great deals and exclusive promotions.
I have no reservation recommending Avoya to others.

October 15, 2018

Avoya University professional development courses and the advice from Avoya staff via webinars is amazing!

October 15, 2018

In this company it's all about moving up as long as you put in your work. And they are all about helping you succeed. Because we don't treat this like a business we treat it like family and in return we get those customers coming back because they know they can trust we will get the job done and take very good care of them.

October 11, 2018

I will try to be as simple as possible. The Avoya Network is great or at least has been for me... why??? for my surprise after I joined the network I was able to book not 1 but multiple cruises per day (when connected to live phone leads) to the point I still have reservations all the way to 2020, of course I should give credit to myself as I guess I may be a good sales man..??? well, I don't consider myself a sales man at all and don't want to be, however, I do strongly believe that if you love what you do your customers can feel it so there you go... the result.. the sale (I do have 20 yrs of customer service experience and I am a world cruiser). When I signed up with Avoya I was aware of the 70/30 commission rule which was ok for me (this is not my main income) as they do a lot of marketing to get those leads... however... here is the issue and please pay attention. When a customer books a vacation with you they will call you back and want to talk to you and so do you, right??? That customer normally will have questions and may need to make changes, special requests, etc .. of what I call a "Maintenance Call" to their reservation... here we go....at this point by the time you are done and customer go in their Vac... that 30% becomes like making $1.00 an hr or less sometimes as if you know this industry you can spend hours on the phone with the Vendors. Avoya call center does not help you at all with maintenance calls.... and WAIT... don't you dare to be unavailable... because if you are multiple times... let me tell you... DRAMA, DRAMA, DRAMA.... the call center/customer service line are instructed to open a "CSE" (Customer Service Event) to the agencies in the network and those CSE are bad for you... in my case and at this point I can say... the call center/customer service dept are in my "I don't like them"... they have opened on me so many CSE for even stupid minor things that don't even make sense...let me give you an example: Customer comes back from their cruise calls back to complain about their onboard acct....ONBOARD ACCT... that has nothing to do with the agency... guess what.. I got CSE... the other day... I claimed a live lead... I picked up the line.. couldnt hear the call center agent...she didnt call back.. there you go another CSE.... why is the call center doing all these..???? the answer is very easy management.... and the name of the manager is Steve Hirshan a very prepotent man and extremely PROPERLY RUDE... when I say properly rude.. I mean... he writes very nice but you can feel how prepotent he is by the way he expresses himself in writing.. you can actually even find replies from him in these reviews in which he uses caps on when replying to negative reviews (remember he is manager). I have never met Steve Hirshan neither never spoken with him on the phone and I have no desire to ever meet him or speak with him. Again, Avoya travel is great because of their leads but not because how it is managed, they have so much room for improvements. I was accused by Steve Hirshan that I booked an Avoya Customer with another company as I am affiliated with several major big companies (as I disclosed this since day 1). I explained to him that I did not book that customer, however, his reply once again as prepotent as he is... "yes you did... no confusion .. it is fact and I have no intention of offering you any further Avoya clients". One thing Steve Hirshan doesn't know is I am actually a network myself... and I did not book the customer in question but again... Steve Hirshan (God) is the manager so he has spoken. I really think in order for new agencies to keep making the Avoya Network as great as it is... Avoya Travel needs to get rid of Steve Hirshan... Avoya Travel/Netwwork is great because of their leads NOT because the way it is managed... leads generate income.. that's the bottom line so Steve Hirshan is not doing anything for those customers to call Avoya... the affiliated agencies are the ones who are performing the sale and with Steve Hirshan's management style is really a nightmare/road block to be within the Avoya Network. Avoya Travel/Network needs to revise their rules in commission and the call center/customer service should at least provide a little assistance to the agencies in the network, like taking payments or simple minor things which at the end help the affiliated agency and the customer. I am aware that we are Independent Agencies and that the call center doesn't work for us as I am sure that's what the prepotent Steve Hirshan will reply to this review... HOWEVER, Steve Hirshan.. our affiliation is no free of charge.. and the bottom line the one who will benefit the most on this is the Customer. Thank you!

Host Agency Response
October 15, 2018

Alex,

Thanks for your feedback. We take all feedback very seriously in our ongoing efforts to improve the Avoya Travel Network™.

Avoya has a well-earned and long-standing reputation as THE host agency that’s all about Integrity and Professionalism™, THE host agency with the highest support levels and THE host agency with the most successful Independent Agencies. Even so, we’re not the ideal host agency for every independent agency and I think it’s fair to say from your comments that the Avoya Travel Network may not be a good fit for you and your independent agency.

Rather than address your claims detail by detail, I will instead point out that hundreds of other Independent Agencies who’ve posted their 5 Star reviews on this site have had an entirely different and very positive experience in the Avoya Travel Network.

If you would like me to setup a call with you, me and our Co-Founder, Van Anderson, to discuss your experience in detail please let me know.

Thank you,

Steve Hirshan
Senior Vice President of Sales Support
Avoya Travel
Steve.Hirshan@AvoyaTravel.com

October 9, 2018

Excellent host agency, with incredible people supporting you and the best program for booking and invoicing. Prompt payment to agents.

October 5, 2018

The people I've worked with at Avoya are fantastic. It's a very team friendly environment. I feel like everyone I've dealt with really is pulling for my success, which is incredibly comforting, supportive, and inspiring. This has been for every step along the way. I have already referred one agent and will be bringing additional folks onboard to my own agency. Many thanks to all the wonderful people that have been part of this journey so far!

October 5, 2018

There are alot of host agency out there but NON compare to Avoya Network!
The support and integrity of this company is by far the most professional in the industry!
Everyone is SO knowledgeable and helpful, from the training staff to the support staff... is't an amazing company that truly wants you to succeed!
I really feel blessed to be apart of this organization!

Sincerely,
Jackie

October 4, 2018

There is so much to learn in the business of selling travel and Avoya University has provided me with a firm foundation on which to build my ever increasing knowledge of not only cruising but travel itself. I would recommend Avoya Travel Network for any newbie getting into the travel business.

October 3, 2018

I've been affiliated with Avoya for almost 10 years.
Avoya offers amazing support to the travel agents. Promotions are clear and easy to understand. The system is friendly and we can always reach out different departments if help is needed.

Review Avoya Travel, an American Express Travel Representative

Sign up for a free account to submit reviews.