First Class

Avoya Travel, an American Express Travel Representative

292 reviews
Send Message Bookmark Share Copied page’s address to clipboard!
Send Message Bookmark Share Copied page’s address to clipboard!

All Reviews

292 reviews
  • 5 stars
  • 4 stars
  • 3 stars
  • 2 stars
  • 1 star

Top Review

April 6, 2017
I am going to keep this relatively short which would be unusual for me so I wouldn't advise anyone to take bets on that! My team partner Tim Orlowski signed up with Avoya 7 years ago this past February. Tim was trained by me and also SABRE and CLIA back in 1990 when we opened a "brick and mortar" travel agency in San Antonio Texas named Anchors Aweigh Cruises and Tours. When he signed up he asked me if I would be interested in partnering with him and I wasn't wild about the idea of leaping back into the Travel Industry again. I started writing airline tickets for my Moms agency for allowance when I was a teen back in the early 1970s and then went on to get a degree in Hotel Administration with a concentration on Tourism and Travel so this is not new for me. Tim was working a full time job as an accountant in the Bay area and he was getting over surgery for cancer on his vocal chords so his voice was very raspy and he wasn't able to speak for long periods of time on the phone. I had just recently sold a business so I was kicking back and just doing real estate sales now and then. We both did the training of the system for 3 days back then and since Tim was working Monday to Friday, I figured I would try it since it was from home so nothing ventured nothing gained. We came into Avoya with quite a few of our own leads but I found clicking on the live leads was like being in a casino so I thought this could be fun. Well, from the hesitant player, I ended up working 8-10 hours a day. Tim would come home and find me at the computer on the phone. For anyone that says this cannot be done, just contact me or contact Avoya and they will share my success. We hit the 1 million mark easily in the first year. We stated the second year out so busy, that Tim quit his job as an accountant and started full time with Avoya with me. We went to our first Avoya Conference in June of the year we began and found out that we were "Rising Star". We won lots of awards and met so many fantastic people. I always say, if all of these amazing agents lived in my city, when I would have a dinner party, I would have to invite at least 100 people over . We have become true family. I grew up in this business and anyone that thinks that you will get a lead and sell that one and every other one you get, does not know this business. When we had our walk in travel agency, you won some and you lost some. That's the story of all businesses. The secret is persistence and talking with clients to get to know them ,their story and their wishes for a great vacation. Once you listen, then they will listen to your expertise and you will not only have a client for many years but many times a new friend. Every company has positives and negatives but I have to say, I get much inner joy working with this organization. The owners of the company are people that I can truly invite to dinner at my home and we would all enjoy each other and they would enjoy my cooking!!! If they didn't like it, they are too kind to tell me. Anyway, my guidance to anyone looking to join a host agency would be , whoever you choose to work with, don't blame them for your failures. Look within yourself and ask yourself if you put in 150% to clients and if you do, you will truly be a success. Looking forward to many more years with this fine organization. Stephen Solomon/ Travel by Tim and Steve
July 13, 2012

As an agent with over 20 years in the travel industry, having worked for a lot of large corporations, AAA, Carlson Wagonlit, and American Express, I can honestly say joining Avoya Travel was one of the best decisions that I have ever made!

I have made more money and enjoy the flexibility that I am afforded by associating my business with Avoya Travel.

The technology and support is one of a kind, top notch and ever evolving for the enrichment of everyone.

I had a serious health issue in the fall of 2011. The peace of mind and kindness that was extended to me will never be forgotten. I was able to work when I was up to it and still make money to support my family. For the last 3 years, I have been a top producer even with the illness, thanks to Avoya's Live Lead program.

I hope to continue to be well and look forward to a long and productive relationship with Avoya Travel.

July 13, 2012

I have been with Avoya for 2 years.

I first decided to affiliate my independent business with Avoya Travel because of their Live Leads™ program and the low financial investment. Getting new clients delivered directly to me based on my specialties seemed like all I needed to make my business successful.

Once I experienced Avoya Travel's excellent sales support, motivating webinars, cutting-edge Agent Power™ technology, and more, I realized how far my host agency had exceeded my expectations.

I've taken full advantage of Avoya's many training opportunities and my sales and commissions have soared!! In my 2nd year I received the "Best of the Best" award from Avoya Travel and over 90% of my customers came from leads they provided.

Avoya Travel is highly respected in the travel industry and I am very proud to be affiliated with Avoya Travel.

July 13, 2012

I was drawn to Avoya Travel mostly because of its reputation as being a long-time representative agency of American Express. I wanted to be affiliated with a company that I know my clients can trust and respect. By providing us with specialist programs, almost daily trainings, webinars, and more, Avoya Travel offers my home-based agency unbelievable education. They keep us up-to-date with the travel industry, which is very important to a home-based agent.

The support that we recieve is the BEST 24/7 if you need something they are there for you. The owners of this company are hands on and will always take time out of their busy day to spend time with an IA that is needing help or just wants to talk.

We also have a National Conference that is the BEST. Not only do we learn so much, get to meet the supplies face to face but it's fun.

I would also have to say that our lead problem is the BEST - so if you are coming in with a book of clients are just starting over, Avoya is the place to join.

Beth Leonardt
An Independent Affiliate of Avoya Travel Since 2010

July 13, 2012

I have been in the travel industry for over 40 years and have managed many large travel branches in addition to being in charge of the Canadian federal government travel office. Before I made the decision to branch out on my own three years ago, I researched thoroughly all host agencies for the best fit for me. I found Avoya to be far and above so much better than any other host out there. One of the main reasons is their "leads" program which allows you a vast client base you would be hard pressed to find on your own.

Now there are many kinds of "independent" travel agents looking to get into the industry. If you plan on working casually a few hours a week and not make it your primary source of income then this is not for you. Avoya is best for serious experienced agents who want to work full time and have their income primarily derive from booking travel. Their technology and support system is next to none and the online office and booking engine you have access to is extraordinary. One important aspect of this host agency is that it is highly respected by industry suppliers and they have won so many awards with the top cruise lines, which makes it a huge benefit to your business reputation.

System wise you log in every day and in one area you have email, your own private website, leads, all your files at your fingertips, your calendar etc.....it is amazing, not to mention the affiliation with the trusted American Express brand.

You can log in and work from anywhere at anytime which makes working so much more fun. If you are serious about working full-time and want to make great money using the best technology in the business then don't hesitate to come onboard..... Avoya is the only way to go!

July 13, 2012

Affiliating with Avoya Travel is the best thing I have ever done in my 25 years of being a travel agent. I joined 6 years ago and I can never see myself anywhere else.

Being able to work when you want or can work is the best part, of course the money comes in handy too.....

The management and staff are outstanding and always there when you need them.

There are numerous classes every week to help better our knowledge of the business and keep up with the vendors.

No one should hesitate in joining Avoya Travel, do it, you won't regret it.

July 13, 2012

I've been with Avoya since 2006 - it was the best decision I ever made! I work hard but I make good money. I get all the support, training and backup I need. I get free live leads from clientele that I would never have found on my own. Avoya being an AX agency gives me instant credibility. Avoya's technology is so good that I can work from my office or when I'm traveling. If you are looking for a great host - look no further.

July 13, 2012

I joined Avoya Travel in Nov 06' because I wanted a host agency who valued Independent Affiliates such as me. I could not think of another host agency that has been so supportive of their affiliates goals and ambitions.

Thanks in part to Avoya's 24/7 Live Lead Program, state of the art booking engine, back office systems, ongoing training and support...I have been able to really excel in the travel industry.

I have been recognized as being the "Best of the Best" 3 years running and with the support of this host agency -the sky is the limit.

If you are seriously looking to generate a livable income and maintain a very flexible work/life balance. This is an agency you will want to affiliate with!

July 13, 2012

I've been affiliated with Avoya Travel since 2004. The free lead program is on the top of the list of what makes Avoya, in my opinion, the best host agency around. My overhead is minimal because Avoya does all the advertising. My entire client base is from Avoya leads. It's a perfect situation. I can work from home, I don't have to spend money or time advertising for clients, and there is plenty of vendor training to keep me up to date on what's going on in the industry. Also, it's a 24 hour operation. I can work from any where, at any time of the day.

July 13, 2012

I have been an independent affiliate with Avoya Travel (Americas's Vacation Center) for 5 years now. How often do you hear someone raving about what they do or more importantly the place they work in? I have grown to love this company and the wonderful team/family that are such an important part of it.

Avoya Travel provides travel agents with the necessary tools, leads and information you need to become as successful as you choose in selling travel.

Avoya is consistently keeping up with the every changing technical trends to ensure their agents remain in the mainstream of technology and continue to develop and nurture our preferred partnerships with vendors.

Every since joining the company, my business and travel experience has increased over 100%.

July 13, 2012

For the past few years I have continuously been amazed at the advances and sophistication Avoya Trave/American Express has made. Not to mention the excellent support staff and really great family feeling of Avoya. Want to make money? Avoya is a perfect place to hang your hat.
I am incidentally, an 11 year agent and have only been with Avoya for the past two years. Paying my bills for sure. I encourage other agents to hop on board.
Kind regards to all,
Andrew

Review Avoya Travel, an American Express Travel Representative

Sign up for a free account to submit reviews.