First Class

Outside Agents

275 reviews
Send Message Bookmark Share Copied page’s address to clipboard!
Send Message Bookmark Share Copied page’s address to clipboard!

All Reviews

275 reviews
  • 5 stars
  • 4 stars
  • 3 stars
  • 2 stars
  • 1 star

Top Review

January 15, 2017
After decades in the travel industry, I left to pursue other interests, but continued to have former clients ask me advice. I decided to go back into travel on a very part time basis, and help a few of my clients who couldn't get the service they were used to, when planning their complex custom trips. I signed with another agency who charged a hefty monthly fee, and were difficult to reach. After about a year, I left that host agency and signed with Outside Agents. There are a few cons, but having been in the business for as long as I have, they're not out of the ordinary. The requirement to change the Revelex password every so often (I rarely use it, so it turns out I need to change it every time I log in, at which time I've forgotten it anyway), that time my account was suspended accidentally because I was mistaken for someone else (it was reinstated immediately when I emailed to ask why), and when you work for yourself, your only coworker is the cat (and she is never going to grab lunch for me). The pros, however, are countless. When I have an issue, I can look on the website and find the person who can help me. They email me back within the hour (during business hours), and after hours, the owners give their cell phone numbers, so help is available virtually any time. Who does that? I don't even give my cell phone number to my own family! That accessibility is everything. Then, the commission structure. I am no longer a high volume agent, since I now do this very part time. They don't care how much business I do, and treat me like I'm the most important agent in the company. In spite of this, I get the benefit of the override commissions of the agency as a whole. A small brick and mortar might get 10% with a vendor, yet a home agent with a low volume could get 16% or 18% with that same vendor. The E&O insurance is included with the lower priced premium package. That's a big deal. When I need access to a vendor booking system that I haven't used before (that doesn't have self registration), I get a login super fast (during business hours). Even when I worked IN a travel office, I would often have to ask repeatedly for logins before the right person would be found, promising to do it "after lunch" and I'd end up spending a week on the phone with the vendor, booking and altering that reservation, and playing phone tag with the client. Outside Agents really gets it. They know how agents work, and they want to make sure we can function in the ways that make sense. Commissions are paid twice monthly, and are easy to track with the new system. I can see what vendor has paid, which ones haven't, and then I know which ones to shake down for payment. My client management system is easy to use (with provided training) and I'm not using my rolodex anymore. The start up fee was low (and refunded after my first booking, a single hotel night) and the monthly is so low, compared to other host agencies. On demand training, recorded webinars, and continuing education. They really do have it all.
May 16, 2012

Look no further for a host. No fees, great commissions and lots of support!

May 16, 2012

I can honestly say that Chad and Steve do all in their power to train and mentor agents in this industry. Their agency is second to none considering there are no monthly fees to be paid. They are great!

May 16, 2012

I have been with the host since November of 2011 and am very satisfied with them. They respond to inquiries quickly and accurately, always friendly and very informative. They offer education and assistance with bookings whenever needed.

May 16, 2012

I have just entered into this industry and Outside Agents have been invaluable. Not just the company but all of the other travel consultants who have helped me out. i would recommend Outside Agents to anyone who is interested in getting into the industry.

May 16, 2012

I have been with this host since November of 2011 and am completely satisfied with there services. The staff is knowledgeable and friendly, they respond quickly and do there best to answer all inquiries quickly and correctly.

May 16, 2012

With over thirty years in the travel industry I can say with authority that Outside Agents is all about their agents in every way. From access to training to the highest commissions paid in the industry with no fees! The experience they have as agents and hosts goes back over twenty years! With a solid retail based history they understand what agents need and how to deliver it efficiently and honestly.You will NEVER be without support with cell phone access to the owners at any time of day or night if the need arises (which in this industry tends to be the case). When issues come up clients want fast resolution that you can deliver with Outside Agents.com this will help you by supplying what clients want and need, fast and accurate information and assistance. this will help you retain and expand your client base which is what its all about as an independent agent

May 16, 2012

This is my fifth host agency over the years and in many ways, by far the best. I am receiving an 80% commission on my travel sales, and that makes me want to sell more. I am paid on a monthly basis for each month that I have sales. No more calling and asking where my commission check is, no more getting shorted on my checks. Questions are easily answered, either by other TAs in our forum, or by the folks who head up the agency. If I have a problem, they get to it immediately and help me resolve it. Very patient people! There are no fees to join, and as I increase my sales volume, my commission can increase to 90%. For my own travel, I receive 100% of the commission, less a small service fee. I call that a great deal. I can track my commissions, find links to all the vendors, and in many cases, earn a higher commission from vendors than I was achieving with my old host agency. I can also have them create a web site for me if I wish, and obtain E&O Insurance for a nominal fee. It's working out very well for me.

May 16, 2012

I am a full service travel agency accredited with ARC and IATA. I had my own office for over 15 years and moved home base apx 6 years ago. At that time, I felt I wanted to team up with a host agency and decided to go with Cruises & Tours unlimited. A choice I've never regretted. They really do care about their agencies and offer great training. It has been a pleasure to be associated with Cruises & Tours Unlimited. Wonderful people and wonderful support! Oh and yes, they do pay their commissions on time :-)

May 16, 2012

This is a great way to get started in the Travel Industry. With Outside Agents, there are no upfront fees, and the support you receive is first rate. Outside agents will always answer your questions within 24hours and help you succeed with your business. I highly reccomend Outside Agents!

May 16, 2012

I knew nothing about the travel industry except that I love to travel. I actually just wanted to monetize one of my websites that was offering some travel information, so I called different agencies for help. After several machines and recordings or 'online forms' with other places, I was able to talk to a real person at Outside Agents. In fact, I ended up talking for a long-time to one of the owners, Chad about how the business and industry worked. I signed up that afternoon, even though I had heard about all the scams, and didn't have high expectations, I figured, "What the heck, it's free."

Fast-forward 9 months later:
I have almost finished my CLIA ACC,
I have access to all the training I could ask for, plus some,
I have a great support team at Outside Agents,
I have 3 cruise GROUPS scheduled this year,
the other OA Agents don't feel like competitors, in fact we are always on the forum helping each other with tips, hints about great locations, and questions our clients have about locations that we don't know the answer to, PLUS
I know if I have any questions, the staff and owners, Steve and Chad, are only a phone call away;
and better yet, I don't pay a dime if I don't make money since they only get a small percent of our commission.

I am thrilled I stumbled into this career and working with Outside Agents. It is like any other business, you get out of it what you put into it, but I would recommend OA if you want to really get into the travel industry.

Host Agency Response
May 23, 2012

can you join without having passed the tap test?

Review Outside Agents

Sign up for a free account to submit reviews.