All Reviews

52 reviews
  • 5 stars
  • 4 stars
  • 3 stars
  • 2 stars
  • 1 star

Top Review

December 23, 2020
After 26 years in the business working for Liberty Travel, I was hesitant to start something new. The very thought of learning new systems and not being in complete control overwhelmed me. From the moment I signed on, I was reassured that everyone at Independent was there to assist in our success. Well they were right. The support we receive is second to none. Any question is always answered and they never make you feel like you are a bother. They keep us informed and updated on all the information we need to sell. The GOGO team is also very responsive and helpful. Made the right decision going with Independent by Liberty Travel. You won't be disappointed.
June 8, 2021

For over 15 years I worked as an outside agent for a local travel agency. I met an agent who went on her own several years ago and she suggested I get my own CLIA number to set up a home based independent agency. It worked but I really needed someone who would be able to help me with support and research. In 2018 that same person told me about Independent and I immediately got on board with them.
It's nice to be able to speak with a knowledgeable person who makes me feel secure in what I'm doing. Alicia is available to me whenever I have an issue, problem or just a question. She always gives me the direction and support I need. The entire staff is knowledgeable and friendly.
Their fees are acceptable. Their commission rate is good and payments are always made in a timely manner.
If you aren't sure if this is the right move for you, just give them a call. I'm sure they will prove to you it's the way to go. I'm happy I did!

June 8, 2021

After working for a large company for 19 years I made the decision to transition to independent. The thought of doing so was scary and after shopping around for host agencies I realized that ILT had the best opportunities for me and my business. I'm so happy to be working independently.
When I have an idea for marketing or events, I can always call the ILT operations team for advice and guidance. They also work hard to bring us new and updated systems to make our jobs easier, SABRE being my favorite.
Most importantly, the membership fees are fair and the commission structure is great!

June 7, 2021

ILT made the transition from working in a store front for a corporation to working at home for myself seamless. Andrea, Alicia, and Stacy (and so many others) have been there since day one to guide me and answer all of my questions - and there have been many questions. The relationships forged through ILT, whether they be with other agents or our amazing support team, are empowering. The industry relationships through ILT and Flight Centre make booking a breeze; from cruises, to escorted tours, to FITS - we have contacts in all facets of the business. I highly recommend working with Independent by Liberty Travel.

June 4, 2021

After nearly a decade of working in the retail travel space, I was presented with the opportunity to join the independent, home-based side of the business this past winter. After some initial hesitation, I decided to take the plunge and could not be happier with my decision. Independent by Liberty Travel is an incredible host agency with so much to offer. I have never felt more supported and empowered than I do with ILT! Owning a business is challenging, but the members and support team are here to help every step of the way. If you are self-motivated, hard working, and love selling travel on your own schedule, this is the place for you! Thank you Gloria, Alicia, Andrea and Stacy! -EB

May 28, 2021

After working outside sales for over 15 years connected to a local store front agency I found out about ILT. Going with them was a great move. Their partnership with brand name suppliers helps with offers and commissions. I never have to wait for my commission check, their turn around time is great.
I got a little rusty but Alicia has patiently guided me through all steps needed and always has a smile in her voice. If you are thinking of joining the travel industry, ILT is the way to go!

May 23, 2021

After working 31 years for Liberty Travel I never thought working independently from home was something I would ever consider. Well I decided to give it a try and so glad I did. The transition was easier than I could have imagined and I thank the great staff at Independent by Liberty Travel for that. Alicia,Stacy,Andrea and Gloria are always there to assist with anything you may need help with. I would highly recommend to anyone prior or wanting to get into the travel industry Independent by Liberty Travel is a great opportunity. Go for it !!
Is the way to go.

May 21, 2021

The team is super helpful and advocate for you. There are a lot of opportunities to learn more & payments are always timely. A great commission split as well. Low costs for systems uses and support.

May 21, 2021

I have been working / advising in independent travel for years, but have only officially been a travel agent for about a year. ILT has been fantastic in answering all my "newbie" questions as I learn to navigate the travel agent landscape. The ILT support network is almost always easy to get ahold of, and everyone has had endless patience with me as I learn the ropes (and as I ask the same question for the tenth time). The only negative for me has been inventory: The GOGO (ILT's in-house wholesaler) inventory is very strong for Caribbean, pre-planned tours, and cruises, but has been limited for continental US, long-haul, and independent itinerary building. Take that last note with a grain of salt -- as a newbie, I have no idea if this is just a reality of the American structure of the travel industry. But since off-the-beaten path, immersive, affordable family travel is central to our brand, I do continue to charge up-front advisor fees to make up for the longer time it takes me to hunt down inventory, and so I don't have to be dependent on commissions. But let's be clear: I still find value with ILT, despite the somewhat "round peg in a square hole" nature of our two businesses -- this is a testament to the excellent member services they offer. Alicia in particular has been great at suggesting booking portals, accommodations, destinations, etc that I wouldn't have thought of, and she understands and supports our company's "brand". And having just upgraded to the Jetsetter membership level, I am beginning to get to know Gloria as well, who has already been an asset for me in business coaching as I take the agency portion of our business to the next level. If you choose a more "anti-establishment" form of travel services as I do, you'll want to weigh the pros and cons for yourself -- for me, the partnership has been worth it. If Caribbean, cruises, and tours are your passion, ILT will NO DOUBT be a superb fit for you!

May 21, 2021

After working for Liberty Travel for 29 years I made the decision to move over to Independent By Liberty. I like that I can sell what I love "travel" from anywhere, visiting family and from home. The support from the ILT team is amazing! They are quick to respond and always willing to help. Thank you Andrea, Alicia, Stacy and Gloria.

May 20, 2021

Independent provides great resources, support and software to help me accel. The best part is the responsiveness. Working with the ILT team is always a pleasure and they have real helpful advice experience and solutions.

Sign up for a free account to submit reviews.