All Reviews

28 reviews
  • 5 stars
  • 4 stars
  • 3 stars
  • 2 stars
  • 1 star

Top Review

December 20, 2012
The training and hosting programs at Brownell Travel are so unique and a testament to Brownell's commitment to a successful future for the travel industry as a whole. I am so proud to be a part of this "family" and I can say, without a doubt, that my business owes its success to the daily support and assistance from the Brownell hosting team. In addition to hosting support, Brownell also provides an outlet for peer collaboration. While I may not know 100% about every destination in the world, my clients know that I have access to over 100 other amazing luxury travel advisors. I use this network on a daily basis to get the best expert tips and fresh insight on my clients' next destinations.
October 11, 2020

I started in the travel industry 30 years prior to joining Brownell Travel as an IC. I worked my way up from a receptionist, eventually becoming a leisure travel consultant. After working in several brick and mortar travel agency over the years, I have been to many travel conventions/Virtuoso Travel Weeks and I had noticed Brownell from afar. To say that there was a higher amount of energy and buzz by vendors towards Brownell is an understatement. And after joining the hosting program I now know why.

From the moment I signed on with Brownell I noticed a level of expertise I was not accustomed to and I felt a sense of camaraderie from the whole team from the top down. The Hosting Team at Brownell provided a sense of calm stewardship through the transition. I came to Brownell with plenty of experience booking travel and providing customer service, but zero experience owning my own small business. This is where the Hosting Team held my hand and taught me how to be my own boss and set realistic, yet lofty expectations. Their support has gotten my business off the ground and thriving. Add to this their knowledgeable air and insurance desks, manned by industry veterans, and I feel fully supported and cared for by them. They are truly what makes Brownell so special.

That team mentality is present in every single employee and IC associated with Brownell. The internal social network among the Brownell team helps me answers queries about destinations and sticky situations and keeps us all connected. This has made me feel that we are all in this together.
Additionally, Brownell places high value on educational travel many being Brownell exclusive trips. Traveling with ICs from around the country has provided insight and made my experiences that much better. Our vendors trip over themselves to welcome us and ensure that we have intimate knowledge about their properties and staff, which translates into our guests receiving a VIP welcome that is second to none.

But I think that that buzz that vendors tend to have towards Brownell is what pays the biggest dividends when it comes to providing my clients top-notch service. I have been told by numerous vendors that Brownell is the cream of the crop and I can attest to the fact that I have been extended that extra attention by them whenever I have reached out for an inquiry.

Being a part of the Brownell family has been a blessing in my life. I have felt at home from the moment I joined Brownell and would recommend anyone looking for a hosting agency to give them serious consideration. You will not regret it.

September 29, 2020

One of the most impactful qualities of Brownell Travel and one that makes them so outstanding is their commitment. Their commitment to their advisors, to the entire Brownell community and to the travel industry as a whole. The Brownell community truly offers so much more than what I thought I would be receiving when I started this journey at the end of 2018. It was an honor to be accepted into their exclusive mentor program.

The Brownell team and our network of independent advisors honestly feels like a family and each and every one of them is a wealth of knowledge – knowledge they are willing to share to make us all stronger. Our hosting, marketing and operational teams are constantly providing us with needed support, learning opportunities and real-time industry updates. There’s great solace that comes from knowing someone is always there for you (even for a laugh or a cry)! I can’t say enough about the collaborative, gracious and supportive community that is Brownell. There is a reason they have such respect across our industry.

I’m beyond grateful to be included with this motivated, inspiring and intelligent community whom all share the same deep passion for travel and whom all carry a deep respect for our industry and our peers. There’s a tremendous sense of pride that comes from being a part of the Brownell family.

September 13, 2020

I became part of the Brownell family in 2018 after being out of the "work force" while I raised my family. The fears I had about not being equipped to launch a successful travel business were soon quelled by the amazing support and guidance of the team at Brownell. Every step of the way, no question was too dumb, and they gave me tools to be immediately successful. From the hosting team to the marketing and IT support, Brownell has been incredible. I was amazed at how well the team fit their role perfectly and if they didn't have the answer, they would find it out! To me, what spoke to the reputation of Brownell was my first times to travel and work with properties as a Brownell advisor. Immediately every property contact or onsight that spoke to the excellent reputation and admiration for Brownell in the business. I cannot say enough good things about the team at Brownell, they are FIRST CLASS!

September 10, 2020

Coming from teaching at a university and having personally traveled much of the world, I was looking for a way to continue doing something I loved and working with people I admired and trusted. Because of the long productive history of Brownell (continuously operating since 1887 the oldest travel agency in the US), and because of their forward looking and sound business model and their incredible positive reputation in the travel world, I decided they were the perfect fit for me. The company offers invaluable training, incredible support (day to day and long term), excellent travel opportunities, and a work environment that is both highly professsional and gracious. The owners, the administrative staff, the other travel advisors..all are the best of the best. And being part of VIRTUOSO consortium also puts me in constant contact with the best of the best hotels, cruise lines, air lines, land and tour operators. Working for Brownell has been the best employment situation I have ever experienced. Like working with a beloved family but learning from the best experts in the business. A winning combination. The perfect place for first or second or third careers. Highly recommended.

August 7, 2020

I have been with Brownell for over 5 years and they have been an immense resource to furthering my business and supporting my growth when I started my company, The Travel Maestro. Their hosting support team is top notch and they are always quick and responsive to any requests or questions that I have. They also provide all accounting services for my business handling all commission processing, wire transfers and processing of credit cards which is a huge benefit too.

July 30, 2020

As a recent graduate of Brownell's Mentorship Program, reflecting on the past year, it is more clear than ever that deciding to join Brownell was the absolute best decision I could have made for my career and company.

The immediate respect and attention I receive from suppliers when I say I am affiliated with Brownell is truly remarkable. Brownell's stellar reputation within the industry, and many preferred partnerships, allows me to engage with suppliers confidently knowing I will be placing my clients in the best hands possible.

The care and thought that goes into bringing on new advisors into the Brownell family really does mean an incredible network of advisors who are known for their gratitude, passion and expertise. The support I receive from the hosting team, Brownell leadership and fellow advisors is unlike any previous work environment I have been a part of. Everyone is truly a united front and there to help each other out every step of the way. I absolutely would not have been able to navigate the coronavirus nightmare without the Brownell network's constant support.

As a former management consultant with an MBA, I felt confident in starting my own business, however the Mentorship Program was crucial for bringing me up to speed on industry knowledge and providing me with the connections needed to start. Even better, our small class became an incredible support group of like minded solopreneurs building new ventures together that I can heavily rely on. I could have never built my business up as fast as I did without having joined the program, and highly recommend the program to anyone who is seriously looking to start a new successful business in the travel world.

July 29, 2020

Having spent 25 years in the hotel business, it was quite daunting for me to even consider changing careers. However, I had a dream for many years of owning my own luxury travel planning firm. Finding Brownell and being accepted into their mentoring program literally changed the course of my life in so many wonderful ways! The mentoring program was exactly what I needed to transition into business ownership while learning the luxury travel business. This one year program jump started my business and set me on a path to success.

Brownell operates like a family and the Hosting Team truly cares about us as people. The support that we receive as Independent Contractors is hands down the best in the industry. I cannot recall one time in 9 years that I had to wait longer than a few minutes to get support when I needed it. The Hosting Team provides so many tools that I use every day in my business such as administrative support, marketing services and even commission collection assistance. Brownell's reputation in the luxury market is outstanding, making it so much easier for me to be successful. The deep supplier relationships help me in my sales process time and time again. Their Marketing Team is so creative, offering a wonderful menu of services to the Independent Contractor at affordable prices.

My dream of owning my own luxury travel firm became a wonderful reality thanks to the amazing support of the Brownell Travel Mentoring Program and the Hosting Team. Thank you Brownell for all you do each and every day for us!

May 1, 2020

Brownell Travel is simply one of the finest hosting agencies in the travel industry and I feel incredibly grateful to be a part of this stellar team. Brownell has been in business since 1887 and it’s easy to see why - they are exceptional in all ways. Their commitment to kindness and graciousness have made Brownell one of the most well-respected agencies in the industry. The comment I hear most when working with hoteliers is “We love working with Brownell.”

Their comprehensive year-long Mentoring Program provided me with the tools, training, knowledge, and support to confidently enter the travel industry with no prior work experience in this field. They are committed to the long-term success of their advisors by providing countless learning opportunities (supplier webinars, professional development conferences, educational trips, and more), exceptional ongoing marketing efforts and resources, and a collaborative advisor community. Finally, their super responsive Hosting team provides the back-office support and operations assistance that are truly invaluable to the success of my business.

May 1, 2020

My background is in business and my passion is travel. Owning my own company in the travel industry was a perfect fit. I get to be entrepreneurial, focus on marketing and serving clients all in an area I love.

I believe everyone has a different set of circumstances and finding a host that fits well with who you are is an important decision.

Brownell is the perfect fit for me. I am a relentless researcher and value education a great deal. As I evaluated host agencies, I came up with a list of criteria that were important to me. They included – boutique size, progressive implementation of technology, priority on internal IC communication, a collaborative working relationship with colleagues, Virtuoso affiliation and at the top of the list was a strong mentor program. I have an MBA from a strong business school and know the value of getting a robust educational foundation when starting out in a new endeavor.

Given all my criteria, Brownell was the natural choice.

I have been impressed with the curriculum in the mentor program and the tight-knit relationships within Brownell and with our partners. The gracious and collegial atmosphere that pervades Brownell and their relationships in the industry are unparalleled. We have access to and learn from the absolute best in their field. The mentor program is top notch – thoughtful, comprehensive, dynamic. I am so happy I joined their team and encourage any of you who have similar criteria to learn more to see if they are the right fit for you.

April 27, 2020

I joined Brownell Travel in August of last year, as a mentee in their highly respected and acclaimed Hosting Program and feel extremely lucky to be part of the Brownell family, as one of their Independent Associates.

Their year-long mentee program begins with five days of intensive training at Brownell headquarters in Birmingham, AL, where we meet with the entire team, and dive into an all-encompassing curriculum. This comprehensive program is followed by a full year of structured homework calls, webinars, podcasts, Virtuoso and Sabre trainings, and a variety of additional educational resources in all areas of our industry. In addition, we are provided with valuable guidance and expertise on our branding, marketing, sales, communications, connections and supplier relationships.

Brownell has extensive and deep relationships with thousands of suppliers around the world and are a very well-connected and well-respected organization in our industry. Every supplier I have communicated with, shares how much they value their relationship with Brownell and how much they truly enjoy working with and developing connections with Brownell Advisors.

There is such a positive energy and vibe in everything Brownell does. Our hosting mentors are experts in their field, they guide us every step of the way, and are incredibly supportive from the moment we join the hosting program. The mentee program is structured in a way where we all succeed, as we are learning from the best in our industry. There is no competitiveness within the company, everyone is extremely helpful and lends a hand, everyone shares their ideas, their stories, their connections, and the relationships within the organization are genuine and kind.

Brownell is cutting edge, they do not miss a beat, they are constantly updating and introducing the latest and greatest systems to make all of our work more efficient, productive and fun. Brownell Travel, is the epitome of true professionalism, combined with Southern graciousness, kindness and warmth.

I worked in the Incentive Travel Business for 14 years in New York City, became a stay at home mom and “volunteer extraordinaire” for 15 years. I missed the travel industry and decided to go back to work in the field I am deeply passionate about. Whenever I say to anyone that I work under the umbrella of Brownell, I feel a sense of pride and success to have encountered and joined this wonderful company.

Although our industry, and many others, are going through a very rough road right now, I feel extremely lucky to be under Brownell’s wings, as I know they will do everything in a thoughtful, productive, efficient way, and will do it while caring and thinking about all of their employees and Associates. It is a privilege to work with Brownell, they are a phenomenal agency.

Sign up for a free account to submit reviews.