All Reviews

33 reviews
  • 5 stars
  • 4 stars
  • 3 stars
  • 2 stars
  • 1 star

Top Review

March 21, 2022
When I was curious about moving into the travel industry ten years ago, a trusted friend told me that Brownell was the way to go, and they were absolutely right! I found the mentoring program and was lucky enough to be selected for the exclusive class. I was properly trained, and was able to learn as I built my business in the first year. After graduating from the mentoring year, I have always been very pleased with Brownell. Not only am I surrounded by some of the top advisors in the business, I feel constantly supported by the hosting team and my colleagues. Especially in the early years when I ran into bumps, or had issues come up, the hosting team always reassured me, pointed me in the right direction, and had my back. I am grateful they are always there for the little and big questions. I'm also grateful for their support with all of my accounting, helping me develop my relationships within the business, and nurture clients. The marketing is also extremely helpful, I would love to do more of this but I just don't have the time, so I'm glad they are able to help me out. Overall, I couldn't be happier with Brownell and am grateful to be a part of their wonderful family!
October 18, 2022

Brownell is the place to be if you want an incredible support team, excellent industry connections and surrounded by high level advisors who are well respected in the industry. I have really loved my time at Brownell and my business is thriving because Brownell supports me so I have time to go and sell travel!

October 17, 2022

When I decided to retire from an executive role corporate America and pursue a 2nd career in luxury travel, I spent a lot of time researching my options as I wanted to go with the best! As part of my research process, I utilized Host Agency Reviews. HAR was a great resource and I evaluated every host agency listed on HAR that met my requirements of belonging to the Virtuoso consortium and that accepted beginner IC advisors. I soon narrowed the list down to four potential host agencies, with Brownell being at the very top.

I heard that Brownell was the Ivy League of host agencies, and I found out it’s true! Their mentoring program is very thoughtfully designed to provide new advisors with a robust and logical curriculum to go from a travel newbie to expert advisor within their first year. And Brownell’s support and IC focused resources are industry leading. Their Air Desk and Insurance Desk are topnotch and I’m happy to outsource these more complex travel components to the experts (which makes me look even better in the eyes of my clients). Their Hosting Support and Sales Support teams are a godsend when I need assistance and want to outsource hotel research, Axus itinerary creation or even the monotonous data entry requirements of CB+. And I can’t say enough about their Marketing team. From the monthly programs of white label newsletters and social media content to the broad list of custom marketing materials they can create for me, my marketing program is leaps and bounds better thanks to their assistance.

The size of the host agency I was choosing was also very important. Going with a large company that had 1,400 advisors was not an option – I did not want to be just a number. A much smaller agency with around 15 – 20 was not a good fit for me either. The sweet spot was to go with a company that hosted between 100 – 200 advisors which is exactly what Brownell’s host community has. My first opportunity to meet a good portion of the Brownell community in-person was Virtuoso Week 2022 and I instantaneously bonded with my new travel family members. I am blessed to be part of this community and amazed at the amount of time Brownell ICs devote to helping their community members with all sorts of travel questions. This network of experienced advisors supporting each other with their collective knowledgebase is a key reason Brownell advisors are so successful.

I am only 6 months into launching my new travel business and halfway through my mentoring year, but I am already building a strong list of clients and book of business. Brownell is continuing to support me through this growth to ensure both my current and future success, and I know I couldn’t have made a better choice for my host agency.

April 14, 2022

I could not imagine working with another host agency. I started my business and my year of mentoring with Brownell in early March 2020 before the world shut down and could have never known what would lie ahead for the industry. 2020 was a tough year for everyone, but Brownell remained vigilantly committed to its mentees and its hosting community, adapting and evolving with the ever-changing landscape while keeping its advisors top of mind. Brownell quickly became my virtual travel family.

Coming from a completely different background (accounting), the Brownell's mentee program was exactly what I needed - training, support, encouragement and a mentee family (during a tough 2020). Not only have the appointed mentors have fine-tuned this program to set its mentees up for success, but the rest of the Brownell community also provides an incredible support system during that first year and thereafter.

With Brownell, I always feel supported and encouraged by a leadership team who truly cares about its advisors. I highly recommend Brownell as a host agency for anyone looking to start a career in travel or change host agencies .

March 30, 2022

I started my travel business in 2018 after being home to raise my kids for many years. I could never have done it without Brownell! Nor would I want to. They are a top-notch host agency with some of the nicest most genuine people you will ever encounter. Brownell has an amazing reputation in the travel business which gives my business immediate credibility I would have to work years to earn. I started in their mentoring program in early 2018 and have never regretted it for a moment. The program is rigorous and teaches you everything you need to know to launch a successful travel business. Another great benefit of being in the mentoring program is that you are being trained with a small select group of people that have the same goal in mind. It's a great bonding experience and I have had my "classmates" to lean on. I will forever be grateful that I chose Brownell and they chose me! You will not find a better more supportive community anywhere!

March 21, 2022

When I was curious about moving into the travel industry ten years ago, a trusted friend told me that Brownell was the way to go, and they were absolutely right! I found the mentoring program and was lucky enough to be selected for the exclusive class. I was properly trained, and was able to learn as I built my business in the first year. After graduating from the mentoring year, I have always been very pleased with Brownell.

Not only am I surrounded by some of the top advisors in the business, I feel constantly supported by the hosting team and my colleagues. Especially in the early years when I ran into bumps, or had issues come up, the hosting team always reassured me, pointed me in the right direction, and had my back. I am grateful they are always there for the little and big questions.

I'm also grateful for their support with all of my accounting, helping me develop my relationships within the business, and nurture clients. The marketing is also extremely helpful, I would love to do more of this but I just don't have the time, so I'm glad they are able to help me out.

Overall, I couldn't be happier with Brownell and am grateful to be a part of their wonderful family!

October 12, 2020
Old Review

I started in the travel industry 30 years prior to joining Brownell Travel as an IC. I worked my way up from a receptionist, eventually becoming a leisure travel consultant. After working in several brick and mortar travel agency over the years, I have been to many travel conventions/Virtuoso Travel Weeks and I had noticed Brownell from afar. To say that there was a higher amount of energy and buzz by vendors towards Brownell is an understatement. And after joining the hosting program I now know why.

From the moment I signed on with Brownell I noticed a level of expertise I was not accustomed to and I felt a sense of camaraderie from the whole team from the top down. The Hosting Team at Brownell provided a sense of calm stewardship through the transition. I came to Brownell with plenty of experience booking travel and providing customer service, but zero experience owning my own small business. This is where the Hosting Team held my hand and taught me how to be my own boss and set realistic, yet lofty expectations. Their support has gotten my business off the ground and thriving. Add to this their knowledgeable air and insurance desks, manned by industry veterans, and I feel fully supported and cared for by them. They are truly what makes Brownell so special.

That team mentality is present in every single employee and IC associated with Brownell. The internal social network among the Brownell team helps me answers queries about destinations and sticky situations and keeps us all connected. This has made me feel that we are all in this together.
Additionally, Brownell places high value on educational travel many being Brownell exclusive trips. Traveling with ICs from around the country has provided insight and made my experiences that much better. Our vendors trip over themselves to welcome us and ensure that we have intimate knowledge about their properties and staff, which translates into our guests receiving a VIP welcome that is second to none.

But I think that that buzz that vendors tend to have towards Brownell is what pays the biggest dividends when it comes to providing my clients top-notch service. I have been told by numerous vendors that Brownell is the cream of the crop and I can attest to the fact that I have been extended that extra attention by them whenever I have reached out for an inquiry.

Being a part of the Brownell family has been a blessing in my life. I have felt at home from the moment I joined Brownell and would recommend anyone looking for a hosting agency to give them serious consideration. You will not regret it.

September 29, 2020
Old Review

One of the most impactful qualities of Brownell Travel and one that makes them so outstanding is their commitment. Their commitment to their advisors, to the entire Brownell community and to the travel industry as a whole. The Brownell community truly offers so much more than what I thought I would be receiving when I started this journey at the end of 2018. It was an honor to be accepted into their exclusive mentor program.

The Brownell team and our network of independent advisors honestly feels like a family and each and every one of them is a wealth of knowledge – knowledge they are willing to share to make us all stronger. Our hosting, marketing and operational teams are constantly providing us with needed support, learning opportunities and real-time industry updates. There’s great solace that comes from knowing someone is always there for you (even for a laugh or a cry)! I can’t say enough about the collaborative, gracious and supportive community that is Brownell. There is a reason they have such respect across our industry.

I’m beyond grateful to be included with this motivated, inspiring and intelligent community whom all share the same deep passion for travel and whom all carry a deep respect for our industry and our peers. There’s a tremendous sense of pride that comes from being a part of the Brownell family.

September 13, 2020
Old Review

I became part of the Brownell family in 2018 after being out of the "work force" while I raised my family. The fears I had about not being equipped to launch a successful travel business were soon quelled by the amazing support and guidance of the team at Brownell. Every step of the way, no question was too dumb, and they gave me tools to be immediately successful. From the hosting team to the marketing and IT support, Brownell has been incredible. I was amazed at how well the team fit their role perfectly and if they didn't have the answer, they would find it out! To me, what spoke to the reputation of Brownell was my first times to travel and work with properties as a Brownell advisor. Immediately every property contact or onsight that spoke to the excellent reputation and admiration for Brownell in the business. I cannot say enough good things about the team at Brownell, they are FIRST CLASS!

September 10, 2020
Old Review

Coming from teaching at a university and having personally traveled much of the world, I was looking for a way to continue doing something I loved and working with people I admired and trusted. Because of the long productive history of Brownell (continuously operating since 1887 the oldest travel agency in the US), and because of their forward looking and sound business model and their incredible positive reputation in the travel world, I decided they were the perfect fit for me. The company offers invaluable training, incredible support (day to day and long term), excellent travel opportunities, and a work environment that is both highly professsional and gracious. The owners, the administrative staff, the other travel advisors..all are the best of the best. And being part of VIRTUOSO consortium also puts me in constant contact with the best of the best hotels, cruise lines, air lines, land and tour operators. Working for Brownell has been the best employment situation I have ever experienced. Like working with a beloved family but learning from the best experts in the business. A winning combination. The perfect place for first or second or third careers. Highly recommended.

August 7, 2020
Old Review

I have been with Brownell for over 5 years and they have been an immense resource to furthering my business and supporting my growth when I started my company, The Travel Maestro. Their hosting support team is top notch and they are always quick and responsive to any requests or questions that I have. They also provide all accounting services for my business handling all commission processing, wire transfers and processing of credit cards which is a huge benefit too.

Sign up for a free account to submit reviews.