All Reviews

18 reviews
  • 5 stars
  • 4 stars
  • 3 stars
  • 2 stars
  • 1 star

Top Review

September 25, 2013
I have been with this agency for over 2 years now. I was previously 5 years with another Canadian cruise agency listed on here and I am so much happier! I actually earn an income from travel now. Previously I was earning less than minimum wage, despite selling over $400,000 a year in travel. Our commission structure starts at 80% for 6 months and then reverts to a sliding scale based on monthly sales. The lowest is 60% and we only need to generate $500 in commission each month to move to 70%, and up from there. We have agents all across Canada and have a great support system. I highly recommend Flight Centre Associates.
May 5, 2021

I was a new to industry agent and interviewed several host agencies when I was interested in getting into the industry. I felt Independent by Flight Centre not only had some of the best commission rates I had found but also provided a lot more training than other agencies as well. Their new to industry fees were very fair and I was able to setup a payment plan that worked with the growth of my business.

Their support team is top notch and the community that they have built is also very supportive. It's very easy to find an answer to a question when you have one which is very important especially for new to industry agents.

When COVID struck they jumped into action and made sure that all their people were good and helped in any way they could. I have already started to build my own team and their programs allow for me as a business owner to grow my business without having to worry about a lot of the problems you'd have to when going it alone but the flexibility to truly be independent as well.

Highly Recommended.

April 29, 2021

I started with FCI after I left my full-time job in the industry to pursue another career. I wanted to remain in the travel industry part-time, and FCI has been amazing in helping me facilitate running my own part-time travel business. The onboarding process was fantastic - a significant amount of one-to-one time with FCI staff to help me get set up and make sure all my questions/concerns were answered. Since I joined about a year and a half ago, I have had wonderful and enthusiastic support from the FCI team. Support requests are always responded to in a timely fashion, our internal communications system is extremely efficient for getting important news out to us fast (and therefore before our clients :-D), and the support for helping us find innovative ways to market our businesses has exceeded my expectations. I also want to point out the number of times their staff have sat on phone calls exceeding an hour with me to troubleshoot tech issues, counsel me on various aspects of running my business, and just chitchat/catch up all things travel-related. 11/10 would recommend FCI a million times over to anyone looking to start their own travel business, big or small.

April 29, 2021

I have been with Independent by Flight Centre for over 10 years now and with the Flight Centre Travel Group before that since 2000. It is an excellent company to work for and with. As a host agency, you will have the BEST in support! Along with that even though you work as an Independent Agent you will also join the Flight Centre family. There is a lot of connection through online platforms, webinars and conferences.
As the popularity of working from home increases Independent by Flight Centre will continue to grow and it is a great choice if you are looking for a host agency!

April 29, 2021

I joined Independent by Flight Centre as a completely green, new-to-industry agent 2.5 years ago and it was the best decision I could have made. With no knowledge of systems or the ins and outs of the industry, I was supported 100% while I went through my training. Now, as an experienced Travel Agent, I am still supported 100%! Independent by Flight Centre is a host agency that is there for their agents in every way possible. During this last year they worked one-on-one with agents to make sure we still felt secure in our careers. As a whole, the support team and agents are one big supportive family. We all lean on one another for advice and there is no sense of competition. It makes no difference if you are new-to-industry, have been in the industry for 30 years, work part time or full time, we are all treated the same. The compensation is very competitive, the fees are reasonable, and as I have mentioned, the support is incredible. Being part of the Flight Centre Travel Group, we as agents are respected by suppliers worldwide. I am thrilled to be part of this team and can't imagine working for any other agency.

April 28, 2021

I've been in the travel industry for 9 years and with Independent by Flight Centre for 5 years. I love the freedom and flexibility of being a home based agent. Independent by Flight Centre is an amazing host agency to be aligned with! They provide great head office support, commissions are paid on time every month and the team is just a phone call away for assistance. Also, IFC has a lot of agents all across Canada and we are all supportive with each other. There is always another agent who is able to answer questions about a specific destination, system, business strategies, etc. I have enjoyed my time with IFC and know that my business is supported by a great host agency!

April 21, 2021

Independent by Flight Centre is an amazing host agency that prides itself on its sense of community, support, communication and competitive commission structure. It doesn't matter if your business is big or small, Independent by Flight Centre will allow you to thrive and achieve your goals. As an Independent by Flight Centre Agent myself with a large book of business, I couldn't be happier with the level of support and advocacy I have found with this team. There is a true sense of belonging and there is always someone to turn to for help, no matter how big or small. Proud to be a part of this winning team.

April 21, 2021

I am in my 11th year with Independent by Flight Centre. With 30 years in the Travel Industry. I previously worked in a retail agency as well as managing, Teaching College level Travel and Tourism, a Marketing Analyst with a Major Canadian Airline, and in sales and Special Events with a Major Canadian Tour Operator. When I was looking around for a Host Agency I knew this was going to be the perfect match for me. The support is phenomenal and commission structure is one of the best in the business. Flight Centre as well as independent by Flight Centre continue to have great relationships with suppliers. Keeping up to date in this everchanging Industry with in house trainings and annual conferences helps keep my colleagues and myself up to date and current. For the past few years I have had the privilege of holding the shared title with four others as a Regional Leader. I am proud and honoured to work for such a great company where I certainly have gained many friends, that are now like family to me.

April 21, 2021

I've been with Independent by Flight Centre for just over a year and I can't say enough about the amazing experience so far. Right from day one they make you feel like part of the family and support you every step of the way. Everyone goes above and beyond to ensure you can focus on running your business and be successful. If you're looking for a new host agency than you've found it.

April 18, 2021

I have had the privilege of being with Independent by Flight Centre now for almost 4 years. I love so much about this host agency, especially the feeling of really being with a family of people who want you to succeed and provide so much support for us. I think their fee structure is fair and the commission payout percentage is definitely competitive. I would highly recommend anyone that is looking for a host agency to check us out!

April 17, 2021

If you are looking for a host agency you do not need to look any further! Independent by Flight Centre is by far the best. I worked in retail for many years before deciding to work from home. I had briefly signed up with another company and it was not what I wanted. Independent by Flight Centre is an amazing company to work with. I have the flexibility of running my own business with incredible support not only from our head office, but from my fellow colleagues. The opportunity to build your business is unlimited. This IS the company to choose!

Sign up for a free account to submit reviews.