Academy Travel Inc

16 reviews
Send Message Bookmark Share Copied page’s address to clipboard!
Send Message Bookmark Share Copied page’s address to clipboard!

All Reviews

16 reviews
  • 5 stars
  • 4 stars
  • 3 stars
  • 2 stars
  • 1 star

Top Review

March 21, 2015
I have been with Academy Travel for just under two years now and I love it! I looked around at several other agencies before I chose which agency I was most interested in and Academy was my top choice by far! And, I am so glad that I made that choice. Jayne is wonderful! If you need anything, she will do everything she can to help you. And the team is very friendly! We have multiple resources for training including on site trainings (which have been at least twice a year since I joined) and they are very reasonably priced. I am looking forward to many more years with the Academy Travel family!
August 17, 2018

I can not say enough wonderful things about Academy Travel Lisa and Jayne are amazing. The support is outstanding. Love working for Academy.

July 25, 2018

I love love love Lisa and the team at Academy and that makes me very suspicious of the negative reviews here. Lisa and Jayne are like family and have really taken the time to take me under their wings and truly train me. My previous agency did no such thing.

December 9, 2016

I started off with this host agency a couple years and they just did Disney vacations. It was really good for that (Jayne is top of the line great), but when they expanded to "the rest of the world"... it got to where there was little to no support with it. I loves a group who wanted to cruise for a reunion, as well as a home school group because of the lack of communication with that part of the agency. I switched at that point.

July 8, 2015

My only explanation of satisfactory reviews is that the company is asking current employees to write them.
No agent of experience would write a reputable review for this company.
There is zero communication with Jayne. And Lisa never once made contact with me during my entire employment with them.
They charge fees to book other vendors- and don't expect to receive this information in any timely fashion.

You're nickel and dimed for documents and mailings.
There are many other agencies that will provide you with the support you need to get started in a professional manner.

I ran from this company as quickly as I could.

April 9, 2015

I was with Academy Travel for over 2 years and that was long enough! Anyone that says they are a great agency has clearly been drinking the "kool-aid". They live in the dark ages with no direct deposit, fax in commission trackers, trying to use a blog for agents to ask questions and meet each other, making you pay for a book to book things other than Disney, and on top of it all they give you a terrible commission % on Disney . Jayne may say that she has experience but if you ask her a question 9/10 times her answer will be "call the supplier". I ask a question once which took over a week to get a reply and by then I had gotten an answer elsewhere, she answered it wrong and when I questioned her on it she said she was glad I found the answer. I should have trusted my gut that an agency that doesn't charge a fee to start up would be bad news. I waited 2 months for commissions that I should have received a month earlier. They warn you before you go on AEPs that are not hosted by them that to watch what other people say/do and now I know why, they don't want you learning how many great agencies are out there that give you great support, know you by name and appreciate you no matter if you are the top booking agent in the agency or just getting started. Many times after an agent goes to an AEP, they leave Academy Travel. Which is why they have resulted in doing more AEPs that are strictly for their agency and not allowing agents the opportunity to do the other ones to meet agents from other agencies. Do you research before joining this agency!

March 21, 2015

I have been with Academy Travel for just under two years now and I love it! I looked around at several other agencies before I chose which agency I was most interested in and Academy was my top choice by far! And, I am so glad that I made that choice. Jayne is wonderful! If you need anything, she will do everything she can to help you. And the team is very friendly! We have multiple resources for training including on site trainings (which have been at least twice a year since I joined) and they are very reasonably priced. I am looking forward to many more years with the Academy Travel family!

November 13, 2014

I am so happy with Academy Travel and have been with them for quite some time.
All I have to say is if you're looking for A great company that offers a legitimate job, great support and
Friendly people to work with this is the place!!

October 19, 2014

I just want to say I LOVE this agency! I have always had help when I needed it and Jayne is always there and answers emails within the first few hours. I seriously do not have one bad thing to say. My commission always comes on time and is correct also. I looked for years for the right place to call home and with Academy I have found it. I see myself with them for a long time!

May 20, 2014

Got my start with this agency, and then left and got my REAL start with another FAR BETTER organization. Start-up manual is basic start up for any home based business. It is not travel specific. There is no training aside from College of Disney Knowledge. If you call or email with a question, the response is, "just call the supplier." Commission checks always seemed to be 'off'. When I was with them, their instructions were that you could NOT have an email with the company name in it, which made it impossible to use some of the Disney tools. Have had others contact me to hear if my exeprience was the same as theirs. Sadly, it wasn't a good experience. This MAY be a good host for a seasoned agent, but for someone starting out, it's a non-supportive money pit of stress.

April 29, 2014

I am definitely not looking to slander Academy Travel for any reason, I just wanted to provide honest feedback about my personal experience with the agency. Of course, other peoples' experiences are different. Academy Travel was the first agency I worked with, and I got my first booking while affiliated with them.
The pros:
-They host regular webinars which were extremely educational and helpful! I enjoyed the Q&A after the actual webinar, because people asked great questions and I learned a lot just from that part of the webinar!
-During my time with them, they were working on making improvements to provide more resources and opportunities to agents
-You could have your name listed on their website with contact information for potential clients
-Jayne was very responsive any time I emailed her with a question
The cons:
-like other reviews have said, there really wasn't a lot of opportunity for training, outside of obtaining access to the Disney Travel Agents website and the training on there. As someone brand new to the industry, I got "hired" and then basically left alone
-again, as others have said, they did have a book available that seemed helpful, but they charged $100 for it, which presented a barrier to learning instead of providing a boost
-if you had any questions about anything, you had to send individual emails, or comment on the only blog post in their blog, and hope someone would answer it and that you would be able to find the answer among all the other comments from agents doing the exact same thing
-you had to pay to have your name listed on the website, or to have them create you an extremely generic website of your own.
Overall, my impression was that the agency was so big that they didn't really have to care if any one agent succeeded or failed because they had so many other successful agents... Not to mention revenue from all the products they were selling to agents themselves. It's probably a great agency to work with if you are already experienced and have your own clients already, but maybe not the best to start out with. Just my opinion!

Review Academy Travel Inc

Sign up for a free account to submit reviews.