Nexion Reviews

(49 reviews)
6225 N State Hwy 161, Ste. 450
Irving, TX 75038
800.747.6813
sales@nexion.com
"Our site is a free resource intended to help agents find a host agency. If we helped out, please pass along the kindness and let host agencies know our site helped in your decision making process." - Steph

Host Agency Details

Affiliations:
Travel Leaders, Tzell, Vacation.com
2013 Sales:
$100 million+
Host Type:
Host Only
Accepting:
Beginner Agents, Experienced Agents
Members Of:
ARC, ASTA, CLIA, IATA, NACTA, OSSN, PATH
# of Contractors:
1000+
GDS:
Apollo, Galileo, Sabre, Worldspan

About Nexion

The industry’s most dependable full-service host agency since 1995, Nexion provides independent, U.S.-based travel professionals of all experience levels with the tools, education and support they need to reach their full potential.

NEXceed All Expectations – As a member of the Nexion family, you will earn what a passionate travel professional should earn: up to 90% of commissions with more than 140+ air, cruise and land preferred suppliers.

NEXpand Your Network – Through Nexion, you will work with some of the most supportive people and suppliers in the industry. These partnerships will help give you the confidence and connections you need to succeed on your own terms.

NEXplore New Opportunities – Nexion provides you with resources, tools and guidance to help you develop professionally and personally, including virtual classroom training, a program for new agents that lets you earn commission while you learn, and mentorship programs.

NEXperience a Better Way – Nexion will support you with technology tools and other resources that help you manage your business and simplify the booking process. These include access to multiple booking, reporting and administrative tools; your choice of GDS; a point-and-click, Web-based air, car and hotel booking tool for agents who don’t have a GDS; and more.

NEXite Your Clients – Nexion gives you the marketing muscle to consistently showcase the latest travel offers along with your value as a travel professional, keeping your agency top-of-mind throughout the year.

Be NEXceptional. Be NEX! Discover more at nexion.com.

Learn More

Nexion Reviews

49 Reviews for “Nexion”

  1. Rhonda Hines, CTA
    November 21, 2014 at 12:52 pm #
    Rating

    I had been in the corporate world for 20+ years, I finally decided I had enough and needed a career change. Being a former flight attendant reinventing myself as a travel agent was a good fit. After doing extensive research, Nexion was exactly what I was looking for and I joined in 2012.

    Starting without any travel agent experience Nexion offered what I needed, with very little out of pocket cost compared to what the other host agencies required.

    Another plus, is their strong relationships with suppliers. Meeting other agents not with Nexion, I found out Nexion agents are sometimes paid higher commissions.

    What else makes Nexion great is the employees, especially Jackie Freedman, President, & Kim Sherret, Dir of Business Development. They have created an environment that makes you feel like you are part of a family. The Member Service team is also quick respond.

    It’s a great place to be and I personally could not be happier!

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  2. Sarah Krafty
    June 20, 2014 at 9:47 am #
    24 / 24 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I joined Nexion in 2012 after listening to a podcast about how to “earn while you learn.” I was not a travel agent, nor had I any experience in the travel industry, other than going on a destination wedding that got me thinking about it. I was just in the beginning research phase, wondering if it could even be done.

    After listening to the podcast I contacted Nexion and signed up for the Power Up program. Wendy Graziano was very kind and helped me get started. Soon after that I attended boot camp training to get a jump start.

    Nexion and their membership with the consortia Vacation.com has been huge in my start up success. There are many tools available that helped me to show a professional image to my contacts from the very beginning.

    Their preferred relationship with suppliers has given me access to many tools at a discounted cost, CLIA membership, NACTA membership, my website, my CRM, Travel 42 and others. Also the relationship with vendors is invaluable (top commission brackets and strong support.) Recently the most exciting thing has been their social media tool. I love it, it saves me so much time.

    Owning and operating your own business can be very overwhelming. You wear a lot of hats. With Nexion, I don’t have to be all things, I have people for that!

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  3. Deborah Fogarty
    April 16, 2014 at 3:05 am #
    10 / 11 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been a travel agent for almost 7 years. In my opinion (after trying a few different avenues in the travel industry to find my exact fit) THERE IS ONLY ONE HOST – and it’s Nexion – I love their new Tag line “Be Nex” and all there is available through them.

    I recently attended their boot camp – held for 3 days near their home office – there is no comparison to the incredible training we all received. With Nexion you have your own independence to the public but behind the scenes you don’t feel “hosted” you are part of a Family and every single member of their team is there to help you with any question/problem large or small – you never get the feeling that you are bothering anyone or they are doing you a favor to help – and to have the support and the whole team in my corner (and all of the other agents) is PRICELESS – I am NEX – I’m home Host-wise and could not be happier.

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  4. Sarah Nelson
    March 14, 2014 at 8:43 am #
    13 / 13 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been in the travel industry for over 30 years. I have been working with a host agency for the past 11 years. We are relatively new to Nexion. The set up was smooth and we had no problems transitioning to Nexion. They were there every step of the way.
    I can say without any hesitation that the level of service we receive through Nexion is unparalled. Their staff readily helps us even when we can’t see the solution that is staring us in the face. If we run into difficulty there is always someone who can help or knows who to contact to get answers. The Nexion staff goes out of their way to make our job easier for us.
    Their status in the industry has increased our commissions significantly. Tracking the comissions is made simple by the reports that they provide and the comissions are promplty paid.
    All in all I can’t imagine not having the Nexion staff on our team.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  5. Karen Druffel
    March 1, 2014 at 7:39 am #
    21 / 21 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Nexion has been great for me as an independent travel agent. I left my previous host agency because of the high monthly fees that were killing my profits, especially when getting started in the business. I LOVE the fact that Nexion has an option where there are no monthly fees, granted I take a bit lower commission for that option. Even so, my commission is still MUCH higher than I was getting at the last host agency and higher than others I looked into. It works perfectly for me. Payment is on time. Support has been good when I needed it, both through email and phone. No pressure to meet minimums – I can drive my business at my pace.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  6. Greg Reese, ACC
    February 27, 2014 at 3:31 pm #
    13 / 13 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    We are extremely happy with Nexion and recommend them to anyone who is looking for a host agency. We were able to increase our commission earnings to 90% without having to pay additional fees. As an LLC, we were able to use our EIN for tax reporting purposes for the business versus individual 1099s for ourselves.

    The training and customer service support we get from Nexion is amazing and we are always able to talk to a live person versus having to email our questions/issue in and waiting for someone to respond. They offer a basic web site, at no additional expense for the website, which is a plus as we don’t have to worry about maintaining a web page and can focus on selling. Nexion’s relationship with Vacation.com provides us the ability to market to our clients, again at no additional cost. This is a huge time and money saving tool as all we have to do is approve whether we want the marketing material to go out or not.

    We attended our first Co-Nexion last year and were blown away with the amount of training we received. You also get the opportunity to meet other Nexion agents and develop a working relationship with them as well as friendship.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  7. Georgia Joyner
    February 27, 2014 at 9:04 am #
    4 / 4 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I hav been a travel professional since 1982 in many different working enviornments. I signed up with Nexion five years ago and have never doubted for a moment that I had signed up with the BEST host agency in existence. I would highly recommend Nexion to any agent seeking the best partnership with a host agency.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  8. Karen Walworth
    February 26, 2014 at 5:01 pm #
    7 / 7 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I joined Nexion 3.5 years ago new to the travel industry. I did a great deal of research before making my decision on which host agency to choose. Training, support, reputation, integrity and strong presence in the industry were all important to me. I came from corporate America and needed a fit with a strong company culture.

    I have been THRILLED with Nexion. They are motivating and thrive on the success of the Agent. The resources and training are all there. It is up to you on your level of success.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  9. Cindy Campbell
    February 26, 2014 at 4:05 pm #
    5 / 5 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been in the travel industry for over 35 years, the last 8 years I have been with Nexion. Having been with another host agency inside I can say I am very happy with Nexion and recommend them to everyone new to the industry or with experience like me. They are very professional, their events and help desks are without a doubt top of the line, I enjoy Co-Nexion and all the opportunities that are presented working with this top notch agency!!!

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  10. Vicki Scheck
    February 25, 2014 at 4:27 pm #
    25 / 25 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I began with a small host agency 3-1/2 years ago. Not only was it not nearly as large/successful as he let on, but no commissions (that I know of) were over 10%. We had a 70/30 split, and there were renewal fees every year. But at least this got me started so I could learn who the most respectable players were. In less than a year, after doing a lot of research, I joined Nexion. It’s a decision I’ve never regretted.

    For one thing, there’s the little matter of money. With about 3,000 members, Nexion has some of the highest commissions in the industry. So why should I make 10% on a cruise, when I can make percentages in the teens with Nexion? After earning $5,000 in commissions, I was able to switch from a 70/30 split to a 90/10 split for a monthly fee of $20/month. I like it a lot better now when I see my commission deposits! I also save money because there are no annual fees for renewal. I do need to provide my own E&O insurance as Nexion’s only covers for their own mistakes, not the agent’s (but frankly, I’m not convinced that it wasn’t the same way with my previous host and I just wasn’t notified of it).

    Coming in as a newbie, Nexion’s training was hugely helpful. For any newbies who join Nexion, I highly recommend their Boot Camp!

    Perhaps best of all—well, other than the money part– is the clout Nexion has. I once booked a morning flight for a client, and it was supposed to be an evening flight. I stood to lose $300 on two change fees, but one call to Nexion’s airline Star Desk was all it took: the airline changed it free of charge for me! Another time my clients were the victims of what I felt was an unfair cruise line policy. I wrote several emails to the cruise line. The bottom line was that our BDM got my clients upgraded from window cabins to concierge-level veranda cabins, plus threw in some bonus shipboard credit. When I asked the BDM what I could do for her in return, all she wanted was for me to let Nexion’s president, Jackie Friedman, know that she’d helped out. (That tells you that she was interested in keeping Nexion’s good favor.) When I did as she requested, Jackie wrote to her to thank her and let her know how much she appreciates her taking care of Nexion agents. That type of involvement helps so much to keep the relationships strong!

    The two things Nexion doesn’t have, which would be nice, would be (1) longer hours (I’m on the West Coast and they’re in Texas), and (2) back-up when we’re traveling. But the latter is a different business model that some hosts provide when they also have an inside sales team (i.e., they’re both a travel agency themselves and a host agency). Nexion is just a host agency, and we agents are truly independent contractors. I have my own identity, my own business card design, stationery, etc., and we’re free to book with whomever we wish (or even be with additional host agencies, if we wish). As an independent contractor, it’s my responsibility to trade off with someone to provide my own back-up when traveling, if needed, just as it would be if I were totally independent. Nexion is there to help in those areas that I would not be as equipped to handle.

    With Nexion’s back-up and training, I had a record week last week as far as individual bookings (over $27,000 in travel). I don’t think that would have happened had I stayed where I was initially. I’m very happy with them.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  11. Beth Foss, MCC/LCC
    January 13, 2014 at 4:43 pm #
    9 / 9 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    When my local host agency informed me that my success was causing them too much work, I was signed up with Nexion within 4 hours. That was nearly 5 years ago, and I’ve never looked back. The Nexion staff is professional, efficient and friendly… to the point that I really do consider many of them to be personal friends now. The agent resources and amazing training programs can’t be beat, and the Nexion association with Vacation.com gives even the smallest agency the opportunity to compete with the online giants. I have over 30 years in the industry and truly feel that I’m with the best host in the marketplace.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  12. Devora Tweedell
    November 19, 2013 at 1:03 am #
    16 / 16 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    First I would like to say I agree with all reviews to the excellent training,service and support that Nexion gives you. Their staff is the best I have ever dealt with.

    I was in real estate for 17 yrs. and did very well before being introduced to the cruise industry. Having ran an agency with another person in Miami, worked with a large new company that played host to others that turned out not be very honest and more, I learned a lot from the experience.

    I must say that with my real estate and other business/sales experience, I knew what was important in a host, especially from a business point of view for my clients and myself and Nexion gave me it all.

    I looked at quite a few hosts and spoke to the powers that be from them, and only Nexion truly made me feel so comfortable with their professionalism, training and packages offered that were explained to me in great detail, so there were no surprises.

    I will say to anyone looking for a host, it is the quality not the best deal so to speak, and you would never regret joining Nexion for a good income program but most important the support and training you get to increase your earnings is the best.

    With their member only site I have a chance to ask and share about various suppliers, places etc. which is such a valuable tool and allows me to feel part of a very large family with other agents ( well over 3000).

    Everything they offer has allowed me to work to the best of my ability and I so appreciate the fact I found them. They are there for me, respond to questions and concerns in a timely manner and that is service! If you are in sales at all, you will see the signs of a sales pitch from some hosts, as in free leads. Nothing is free in this world. Nexion advertises what they are and what they give in an honest way I have found and live up to it plus plus plus!

    After over 8 years with Nexion, I will never look to be anywhere else for Nexion gives me all I need to be as successful as possible. I would highly recommend this host agency to new and old agents. Great top suppliers,high commission levels and the training, especially when you are new, will take you on a great path I feel with Nexion and make you the best you can be! I am very blessed to have found them I feel.

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  13. Dawn Levy Vance
    November 11, 2013 at 6:04 pm #
    8 / 8 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Time is money and with Nexion I have more to both!

    I have been a corporate travel advisor since 1989, and a Nexion affiliate since 2004. With Nexion, I get all the support, tools and technology I need to be successful including such time savers as corporate reports online, commission tracking, on demand webinars, online classes, industry updates and a networking site.

    My affiliation also provides for other things I couldn’t get on my own, like mega agency commission levels on air and packages, negotiated hotel rates, an amazing luxury hotel program, special car rental programs, top account supplier relationships and so much more.

    I get to run my own business, but never feel like I’m on my own. I get more time to spend with my clients and family and earn more money. What could be better than that!? Thank YOU Nexion!

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  14. Stacy Sobo
    November 11, 2013 at 7:15 am #
    7 / 8 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Nexion is by far the BEST host agency!
    I’ve been an agent for 15+ years and have always worked for someone or a large travel company. Opening my own agency and having Nexion be my HOST AGENCY was THE BEST DECISION I could have ever made for myself and my family! I have the ability to work from home now, give my clients 24/7 service and determine how much income I will bring into our home.

    I can’t tell you enough about Nexion but I can tell you this…if you are an agent who is working for a large travel company and your daily goal is to provide numbers to your boss (and number of transactions you’ve done for the day), ask yourself if you are TRULY happy – – – NEXION can make you the happiest Agent on Earth!

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  15. Steve Rice, ECC;LCS
    October 29, 2013 at 9:13 pm #
    9 / 9 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been in the travel business since 1996. After spending 9 years at a brick and mortar and being under-paid, and under-appreciated I tried in on my own using my own CLIA card and then later on joined 3 different host agencies. I could never achieve the higher commission levels on my own. And with the other host agencies I was just a small fish in their big pond getting no recognition for what I was bringing to the table. So I heard about Nexion and joined them.

    I have now been with Nexion for about 2.5 years and love it. Jackie, our President knows who I am. I have developed relationships with the folks at the head office and have met many other agents nationwide. I have also achieved the Circle of Excellence (Top agents of Nexion) for each year that I have been associated with Nexion and get rewarded for my hard work with a nice all-expense paid trip each year. And this year I have the honor of serving on the Nexion Agent Advisory Board.

    Even though there are over 3,200 Nexion agents nationwide your individual efforts do get noticed and rewarded.

    Recently I just attended CoNexion which is our annual national meeting. Nexion puts forth a lot of effort to bring in all the top suppliers and puts on a great trade show with roundtables, seminars, and meet and greets for all the agents.

    Everyone I have dealt with at Nexion always go out of their way to help you. They also have programs in place such as commission tracking, invoicing, personal website, tons of group space with added amenities, high-end commission levels, affiliations with Vacation.com with even more benefits and so much more.

    I would highly recommend Nexion when choosing a host agency.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  16. Barbara Wilks CTC
    October 25, 2013 at 10:35 am #
    10 / 10 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been a Travel Agent for 37 years, owning a brick and morter agency for 18. Eleven years ago, my partner and I decided to give up the office and ARC and started using Host agencies.
    All of our experiences with our other hosts were good, but the money making potential of Nexion came to our attention 3 years ago and we made Nexion our Host. I have not looked back.
    Their support is tremendous. Questions are answered promptly and when I do have a problem, they have stepped in to assist.
    As an experienced agent, I appreciate the autonomy I am given.

    I can definitely see how a new agent could grow and flourish using Nexion as their host.
    Nexion keeps us updated on changes with our vendors and continually offer webinars and other educationsl opportunities.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  17. Tracey Younes
    October 24, 2013 at 5:50 pm #
    20 / 20 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    This host agency review website is such a wonderful idea.

    I’ve been in just about every set up possible since becoming independent in 1996, after having worked in a couple of travel agencies (both leisure and corporate) for 7 years prior. My first set-up was through a local agency, renting office space from them, and running everything through them for a split percentage. That was great until I saw what kind of commissions I was missing out on with the larger host agencies. I was taking a cut of 10-12%, but the larger host agencies are more like 12-18%. And I didn’t get any service for my customers when I was out, so there was no added plus for working with this set-up when I no longer needed the office space and decided to work from home.

    So my first large host agency back in about 98′ had to be a strong corporate Sabre focus, since I was about 90% corporate at the time. And I still got to take advantage of the larger commissions on leisure travel. After 9-11-01 events, and then having a child and not wanting to travel myself with my large groups and meetings, I decided to completely relaunch my business, with a strong leisure focus on marketing. So I decided to try being true independent with a TRUE number through OSSN, my own set-ups with vendors like Funjet, etc. But I was back to low commissions.

    I went through a 2-year period of only having enough clients to sustain part-time hours, so I tried a host agency with a focus on Disney. Didn’t care for their continued persistence that I book ALL my clients through them (I was very protective of my upscale client base that I did have).

    Then I decided to try another host because of their leads program, so it would help fill in those gaps of my slower times. I could take calls. Well, if you don’t have certain closure rates or productivity, you are not getting the best leads.

    I stuck with this for a couple years, trying to make it work as best I could, but there were a few different reasons I decided this wouldn’t work any longer. 1) I didn’t have the time to take their leads full-time 2) I found the closure rate on the leads provided were hard to get above 25-30% 3) I was making too small of a commission split for those leads they provided 4) Their efficient database and marketing system made me question as to whether my personal client information was still my property.

    My own closing rate on customer referrals is 90%, so I decided to mine-my-database and really work at building my business through asking clients for referrals, meeting people at my son’s school, sports games, etc. So I made Nexion my choice over 7 years ago, and haven’t looked back since.

    I enjoy the Sabre system for my 50% small corporate clients (which I kept, because I get major referrals from these executives, and luxury vacations for the executives themselves), and I enjoy the high commissions because we are part of the Travel Leaders group, including on many of my business class airline tickets, and they have great discount hotel programs. You can sign-up with the level of service and commission split that works for you, and as you build your business, change it if necessary.

    I love working with the people at Nexion. They are continually striving to make their host agency better and better. Their Advisory Board helps contribute ideas based on agent needs from the corporate/leisure/luxury/groups/meetings aspects of the business, to help Nexion implement ideas based on real feedback, etc.

    They have BootCamp Training, a new Mentorship Program, free or paid website options, free On Target marketing services, CoNexion Conference with opportunities to meet suppliers and other agents.

    I love Nexion, and have enjoyed growing with them. I would highly recommend them to agents looking for the right host agency.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  18. Amy
    October 23, 2013 at 10:38 am #
    21 / 34 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Backup support is very limited, Your out of luck if need any help after hours. Travel doesn’t stop at 6pm, Neither should support. I had a issue with a download, with a link Nexion sent me, and didn’t work, after I emailed and questioned them, I was told not to contact them any longer. I am now looking at other host agencies

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  19. Clay Saunders
    March 13, 2013 at 2:01 pm #
    28 / 28 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I Joined Nexion 3 years ago after my previous host agency was bought out and the culture changed. I initially found Nexion to be a good host agency. They pay on time, the systems are easy to use, and commission levels are great. – the basic nuts and bolts of what I was looking for.

    What started out as a good host is becoming a great one. They are constantly delivering improvements in their online tools and my interactions with the staff have gone from just efficient to also being friendly. Nexion seems to understand that helping their agents obtain more sales and higher commissions is a win / win – a simple principle that is too often forgotten.

    They offer an air tool with an amazing support staff that allows me to earn commission on air without having a GDS. 5 years ago I hated dealing with air only. Now it’s a major part of my revenue stream.

    Nexion isn’t perfect, but they seem to be striving for perfection.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  20. Cindy Bonadio
    March 10, 2013 at 1:15 pm #
    12 / 12 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I was with a different host agency when I attended a conference and stopped by the Nexion booth. I was very impressed and decided to go home and take a look at what they had to offer. Even the signing up process wowed me…very professional. I am totally satisfied with Nexion as a host agency. I love their “hands on” approach and I have been in the company of Jackie Friedman many times, many independent contractors have never met the folks in charge of their host agency. If one is seeking to obtain a host agency Nexion definitely is worth joining as the training is awesome; I have my ACC and CTA and I know if there is a problem with a client, supplier, commission or just exploring I have Nexion Town to assist me. Nexion is the best!

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  21. Nancy Cox
    March 7, 2013 at 6:35 pm #
    13 / 13 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been in the Travel Industry since before 911. I started out in a bad situation with a multi-level company that went under. I then went with two other agencies before I became a “Nexionite” four years ago. I can’t say enough good things about Nexion. One of your main concerns when you go with a host is will I get my commission? You never have to worry with Nexion. They have been around a long time and we are backed with good solid leadership and so many benefits. VCOM membership was so important for me. It gives you so many great opportunities and great tools.
    They have great training and really helpful support people. You will not be sorry choosing Nexion.

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  22. Mike Edic
    January 7, 2013 at 11:10 pm #
    15 / 15 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I started with Nexion in April 2012, not knowing what I was getting myself into. I had worked with the major agencies, after being swallowed up by mergers and aquisitions, and was tired of the rewards not being filtered down to the front line employees. Plenty of blame, but not a lot of praise.

    My clients loved working with me, so when I left, they came with me, and I can honestly say it has been the best decision other than marrying my wife and my children, I could have made. I am so much happier now, making more money than I did in the larger agencies, and my clients are loving the customer service I can provide for them through Nexion.

    If you are even on the fence about using a host agency, I would highly recommend Nexion for all that they can offer you, at a fraction of the price! I can’t wait to meet some of the other Nexionites at the next function, face-to-face!

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  23. Harris Friedberg, ACC
    October 31, 2012 at 8:40 am #
    10 / 11 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I reveiwed many Host Agencies when making my decision and Nexion was by far the best fit. Commission levels, pricing, education and support are all top notch. I have loved working wtih Nexion to make my business run smoothly so i can concentrate on providing the best service for my customers!

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  24. Dan Burnett, CTC
    October 28, 2012 at 11:44 pm #
    7 / 7 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    With over 11 years experience with Nexion, I couldn’t be more pleased. I operate the only Brick and Mortar agency in a smaller community. Nexion enables me to offer my clients virtually everything (including air) that is available in the largest metropolitan agencies. The staff is top-notch and there are a wealth of tools and resources available–most included in the standard membership plan.
    Their training offerings and annual conference gets better every year. If you’re looking for the benefits of a host agency, be sure to include Nexion in your comparison.

    Dan Burnett, CTC

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  25. Judy LaMance
    October 26, 2012 at 10:28 am #
    17 / 17 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I just reentered the travel business after a 13 year hiatus to stay home with my daughter. The industry has changed so much it is like starting over in many ways. Joining Nexion has allowed me to do so with confidence. I joined their PowerUp program for new agents. Between that program and their Boot Camp training, I have a good foundation to begin building my home based business.

    The staff are very welcoming, knowledgable, helpful and patient. The tools are easy to work with and there is support every step along the way. They won’t book your client’s travel for you, but they will help you do it professionally. I am very happy with my choice, I interviewed several host agencies and Nexion really fit my needs best, offering the right mix of support, tools and strong commission levels!

    Thank you!

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  26. Lori Iannuzzo
    October 26, 2012 at 10:12 am #
    5 / 5 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I reviewed many Host Agencies before opening my business and I’ve been with Nexion for over 4 years. Preferred Suppliers, commission plans, training opportunities, assistance in answering my many questions, so far I couldn’t be more pleased of the choice I made.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  27. Steve Brown
    October 26, 2012 at 8:16 am #
    5 / 5 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    It is hard to compare Nexion with other hosts when I have absolutely no reason to look elsewhere. When I went from working with a brick and mortar to my own agency, I looked at some of the other hosts and chose Nexion based on commission levels and administrative ease. In the 6 years since, Nexion has always been ahead of me in providing state of the art programs, has responded with outstanding services, and has given me no reason to investigate other opportunities. The grass is always greener on my side of the road.
    I particularly enjoy the camaraderie that flows from the top down. When I sit in my home-based office, it is so nice to know there is someone else out there to talk to and advise me on those unique requests or just to bounce ideas off of. If you are looking for a host that truly focuses on your interests, future, success, and sanity … partner with Nexion. If you join Nexion, I look forward to seeing you around “Town”, our online community. Stop by Nexion Town and say “hi”.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  28. Randy Thompson
    October 26, 2012 at 4:29 am #
    8 / 8 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been in travel for over 20 years. I started my own agency back in 2009. My research of host companies brought me to many different agencies. Nexion was actually my first choice but I felt the prices were a little high. I quickly realized after going through a few host agencies, Nexion was clearly the best.

    The tools and technology are far superior to anybody I had worked with. There are a few minor issues and I do mean minor. If anybody in travel thinks there is a perfect agency out there, they are wrong.

    My time with Nexion has now coming up on two years. The ticketing team is exceptional. I recommend everybody do your homework and look at all host agencies and see what works best for you.

    I would be very surprised if you didn’t end up with Nexion.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  29. Paul Cunningham
    October 25, 2012 at 8:43 pm #
    7 / 7 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I already had 2 host agencies and my TRUE number when I discovered Nexion. They have everything that an independent agent could want including high commissions, great tools and helpfull staff. I have dropped my other hosts and TRUE code and am now booking everything, including air, through Nexion. I highly recommend them.

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  30. JIM HYDE
    October 25, 2012 at 12:53 pm #
    4 / 7 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    OUTSTANDING. THEY WORK REAL HARD TO HELP YOU IN ALL PHASES OF TRAVEL.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  31. Clarissa Streetman
    October 25, 2012 at 10:42 am #
    8 / 8 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    WOW! Working with Nexion has been wonderful! I joined with Nexion a year ago and it has been a great experience. Boot Camp was fantastic–it gave me the ability and confidence to step out in the travel industry. The round table discussions with the many suppliers that Nexion provides has been such an asset to my business. Nexion also has provided so many training opportunities to help you succeed!
    Thanks Nexion!

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  32. Anne Tuthill
    October 25, 2012 at 10:18 am #
    8 / 8 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    In 2002 I bought the established agency at which I had worked for a year and did not want the trouble of dealing with the ARC forms. I immediately joined Nexion to reduce the burden of all the back office work. I have been pleased with the many contracts with vendors which offer us a higher rate of commission.

    The airline contracts are especially helpful.

    Most of my dealings go very smoothly. There have been a few hiccups but every one of them was resolved. The ticketing department is phenomenal.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  33. Stacey Gross
    July 30, 2012 at 4:26 pm #
    12 / 12 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been with Nexion for over 2 years and I love everything about this organization. I was new to the travel industry, but always wanted to break into it. Nexion has provided me with training, a web community of seasoned professionals, trusted suppliers and resources that I never could have found on my own. Every time I call, I get more useful information than I could have hoped for. Every time I think “boy, I wish Nexion had this or that…”. I get an email shortly after announcing a new service or product they are offering. They are in touch with the needs of their agents and the industry. I am so thankful to Nexion for providing me with a gateway to this new career path!

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  34. Jean Grice
    July 25, 2012 at 11:58 am #
    3 / 3 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have enjoyed working with the Nexion staff for the past 7 years and having nothing but good things to say about all of them. When I first started with the company I am presently employed with I had a lot of airline industry experience(34 years) but little to no travel agency experience. With the help of many extremely professional and very patient people at Nexion I have grown to be a very capable travel agent. My most sincere thanks to all of the Nexion employees!!!

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  35. Pedro Baez
    July 25, 2012 at 8:03 am #
    7 / 8 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I’ve been with Nexion for less then a year, but the experience has been great. I came over from another Host that I felt was more interested in my money then helping me make money.

    I’ve never since joining Nexion felt that I had to complain about something. I take care of the sales they take care of the office.

    Keep up the great work Nexion!

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  36. Ruth Deelo
    July 24, 2012 at 8:00 pm #
    5 / 5 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been with Nexion for the over 7 years. It is a great organization with wonderful staff members. I have attended boot camp after 2 years of being in business and the intense 3 days was amazing on what we learned about the travel industry. Nexion’s connections with the supplies is past onto us as the agents and we get to meet the sale reps in person if you attend the workshop or the annual conference. Speaking of the annual conference, you have to make time to attend it. The round table talks, the workshops, the trade show, the motivational speakers, the nexion staff available to discuss any questions or problems in person. Can’t stop saying enough about the conference except you must attend. Nexion is a great host company to work with.

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  37. Peggy Petrovich
    July 1, 2012 at 1:46 pm #
    9 / 9 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been a travel consultant for 16 years. I worked for 11 years in a brick and mortar as an outside agent and I have owned my own agency for the past 5 years. Prior to going out on my own I started going to Agent At Home meetings and it was through one of those meetings that I decided to go on my own and I started investigating host agencies. I had Nexion in mind from the beginning, but wanted to make sure they were a good match for me. I am glad that I went with my first thought. I am on the 90% level. With the high commission rates from the suppliers, this has given me greater income than being on my own with 100% commission. I attended a Nexion Boot Camp and would highly recommend this to all agents. It was great to meet the faces behind the names and what a great group of people they are. Nexion is constantly looking into ways to improve, adding new technologies and hotel and air booking systems. My only regret is that I have not been able to attend a Co-Nexion, which I hear is great. The timing has never been good for me to attend, but I need to put this on the priority list for next year.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  38. Arlene Wimp
    June 27, 2012 at 2:30 pm #
    3 / 3 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been with Nexion for 5 years and have enjoyed being a part of this wonderful Host agency. The staff at Nexion are pleasant to work with and are always quick to respond if I have an issue. Nexion is great in keeping me informed of what is going on in the travel industry,they offer great training programs and a great commission structure.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  39. Becky Jones, CTC
    June 27, 2012 at 1:45 pm #
    11 / 11 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    It has been my pleasure to be associated with Nexion as my host agency for the past (almost) 6 years. I have been in the industry for 33 years, most of it in management for large travel companies. I became very frustrated at not being fairly compensated by agency owners and took a leap of faith to start my own business. Nexion was recommended to me and I have nothing but high praise for their staff and for their total dedication to the success of all their members. My loyal clients followed me in my endeavor and now my personal business is made up of 98% repeat clients and their referrals, a perfect business model. When you are home based, and you have a great client base, their friends who they refer do not need face time because they already trust you, based on the referral. To be able to work from your laptop, and leave all the other tools and issues to Nexion is amazing. The networking, training, back-office reporting,GDS support, commission structure and overall support from the Nexion team allowed me to triple my income the first year of business. Now in year six I am pleased to say that I am a part of their Cirlce of Excellence Award for 6 six years running, the highest honor for top sales achievers with Nexion. Thank you to Jackie and her team for always having our back and allowing us the freedom to do what we do best – sell travel and prosper from it!

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    • Joanne Grollman
      July 25, 2012 at 8:50 am #
      2 / 2 found this review helpful.

      I have been with Nexion since December 2012, I had been with brick and mortar agencies for 25 years. I had worked with thru a couple of travel agencies while being on my own. Compensation and the Nexion staff have improved my position as a travel agency owner! So glad I made the switch. The connections Nexion has are wonderful! Becky I would love to make contact with you at some point.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  40. steve lincoln
    June 27, 2012 at 12:40 pm #
    7 / 7 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I’ve been in the travel business for 30 years. The first 21 working for someone else, the last nine within my own agency. When I decided to open my agency I investigated all the viable Host Agency options. Wanting nothing but the best, I decided to join Nexion. The professionalism of the staff, continuous training programs, automation packages, and commission levels made it an easy choice. Through Nexion’s own member only site, Nexion Town, I am easily linked with over 3200 other members. We are all here to help one another succeed and although I work alone I feel part of a much larger entity. The membership is phenomenal. The support I receive from Nexion, and my fellow members, is priceless and cannot be matched by any other Host Agency.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  41. Cindy Rake
    June 27, 2012 at 12:00 pm #
    9 / 9 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I joined Nexion 4 years ago…shortly after opening my own agency…after 12+ years at Brick & Morters. The 90% program works well for me and is a win-win situation. The preferred supplier list is extensive and just the ones I use all the time, with great commissions. Their Member Services Department and Shipping Department are great to work with. Unfortunately, their Tech Desk is not service oriented…a big reason for 4 stars, not 5. Commissions are paid bi-monthly with no problems.
    Although I would love to see some changes made, the bottom line is that Nexion is a great fit for me!

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  42. Laura C. Gidden
    June 18, 2012 at 6:05 pm #
    10 / 10 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been in the travel industry for nearly 22 years. I have owned my own storefront agency, been an outside sales agent and now I have been with Nexion for almost 5 years. I was first introduced to Jackie and the Nexion crew at Trade Show in Vegas and was exstrememly impressed. I signed up with Nexion a few weeks later. I highly recommend the Boot-Camp that Nexion offers even if you have been in the business for a long time. Going through the Boot-Camp will introduce you to the way Nexion does things and will make things even easier for you.
    I can’t say enough good things about the preffered suppliers that Nexion has chosen. I probably book 98% preffered and the commissions are excellent. Nexion also offers an annual conference (Co-Nexion) and that is definitely something you do not want to miss. At Co-Nexion suppliers, vendors, industry speakers and Nexion staff put on a great conference offering an array of workshops and programs.
    If you’re considering a Host Agency…….Nexion is definitely one you should take a look at.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  43. Trish DeDamos
    June 15, 2012 at 10:28 am #
    8 / 8 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been with Nexion for a few months now, wish I had made this switch sooner! My old host of 12 years decided to cut my commission by 20% so I came to Nexion (after looking at many)By switching and getting 90% split I gave mayslef a huge raise and more technology than I know what to do with!
    Attended Nexion boot camp to learn more about what they could offer (they have great oppertunity, if you don’t take advanatage of it that’s just silly!). Boot camp was great experiance, new agents and experianced agents, supplier connections who really want Nexion agent business! I am over all impressed with everything so far!

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  44. Malcolm Potter
    June 14, 2012 at 2:10 pm #
    9 / 9 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have over 20 years in the travel industry. I closed my storefront agency in 2008, when the recession hit, and have been a Nexion member for the last 4 years. It was, in retrospect, a wonderful decision. Nexion provides all the support I need for my mix of corporate and leisure clients. My net income now, is greater than when I had all of the expenses associated with a staff and a storefront location. I have no issues with Nexion. I have been treated as a mutual travel professional. Working with Nexion is a true “partnership”.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  45. Mary Krueger
    June 13, 2012 at 10:26 am #
    7 / 7 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I started completely new to the travel business in 2004 with Nexion as my host agency. It has been through their training programs, business development advise and support network that I have been able to build a successful home based agency. I highly recommend Nexion to all agents. They have the resources you need to be successful on your own.

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  46. 11 / 11 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been in the travel industry for over 14+ years – have always worked for someone. I decided it was time to go out on my own! I shopped around and did extensive research on host agencies – Nexion came through! Nexion is certainly top notch when it comes to service, reliability and accuracy! Commissions are paid promptly twice a month. All questions and concerns are answered within a timely manner and the customer service is superb!

    The preferred suppliers are ones that I have used in the past and have had nothing but wonderful service – IE: RCCL, NCL, GOGO Worldwide Vacations, Brendan Vacations, Abercrombie, etc…the list goes on and on!

    Starting up your own agency is SUPER easy and Nexion is to thank for that! From the beginning – with all the questions and concerns I had, they made the decision easy for me! I am on the 90% commission tier and find it to be quite perfect for my clientele.

    Training is unlimited! There is always a course to sign up for and always new things to learn about selling travel.

    I do 75% corporate and 25% leisure and find that the invoicing part is simple and the monthly corporate reporting to my clients is seamless.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  47. Leah Coker, CTC, DS
    June 4, 2012 at 1:42 pm #
    14 / 15 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I’ve had a good experience with Nexion. They offer a lot of training, the 90% commission for a $20.00 fee per month is reasonable. You get a free website that I’m not excited about but it works as a landing page and you can upgrade. I’ve always been paid promply (twice a month now) and any issues or questions I have had have been answered reasonably quickly. I like their preferred suppliers. There are a few that Virtuoso has that I would like them to add but it’s a good base of suppliers that are offered. They are a large organization now and perhaps not as quick to be back with you as they used to be but if you call them you’ll get an answer. All in all, it’s a good organization. Working from home is much harder than most people realize. You have to do the marketing and take care of your clients and the bookwork end and it’s difficult to get new clients to trust you when they know you don’t have a brick and mortar office. I think this is changing and hopefully won’t be as much of an issues as more brick and mortars close or merge. But I think you need to be professional, earn some certifications and try to present yourself as a professional member of your community if you hope to make it.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Nexion Launches Peer Mentorship Program - October 28, 2012
    1 / 1 found this review helpful.

    […] article is sponsored by Nexion, home of the Nexion […]

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

Review this Host Agency

Click stars below to rate.
Rating