Largay Travel Reviews

(7 reviews)
1525 Hamilton Avenue
Waterbury, CT 06706
203.757.9481
[email protected]
"Our site is a free resource intended to help agents find a host agency. If we helped out, please pass along the kindness and let host agencies know our site helped in your decision making process." - Steph

Host Agency Details

Affiliations:
Tzell, Virtuoso
2015 Sales:
$25-49.9 million
Host Type:
Hybrid (Host & Travel Agency)
Accepting:
Beginner Agents, Experienced Agents
Members Of:
ARC, ASTA, BBB, CLIA, IATA
# of Contractors:
50-99
GDS:
Sabre

About Largay Travel

Largay Travel is a family-owned travel agency with both a storefront and host agency division.  As members of both Virtuoso and Tzell, they extend the perks of dual affiliation to their independent contractors.

For new travel professionals, Largay Travel offers two training options:  (1) Live trainings and (2) Self-paced training.  The live training is a 6-month online class starting every September and ending in March.  The self-paced training for new travel advisors can be started at any time and advisors typically graduate within four and six months.  The cost for either training program is a $1,500 initial fee and $200/month for as long as they are in training.  Bookings made while in training are at a 50/50 commission split.

In addition to one of the above programs, new advisors must also attend a VCTA training (Virtuoso Certified Travel Advisor).  These week-long in-person events are held quarterly in locations across the US.  Cost to attend is $1500.

For experienced travel advisors wishing to join Largay Travel’s host agency division, there are no monthly or signup fees.  The commission split program starts at 70/30 and may be bumped up to 75/25 if certain sales goals are met.

All advisors within the Largay Travel host agency network have backup support when traveling.  Largay Travel provides a full-time staff member that assists their independent contractor’s clients while their advisor is away.

Largay Travel4.857142857147

Largay Travel Reviews

7 Reviews for “Largay Travel”

  1. Jeannine Blythe
    April 19, 2016 at 10:56 am #
    Rating

    After a 15 year hiatus from the travel industry, I returned to my true calling. I spent 25 years working for tour operators, airlines, Corporate and General travel agencies. The support and education is wonderful. I feel that I am quickly getting back on the scene, and know that I have all the resources I need to build my own agency this time. Everyone, and mean everyone, is friendly, thoughtful and helpful. Couldn’t ask for more!

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  2. Marisa L. Cole, CTC
    November 20, 2015 at 7:38 am #
    Rating

    After over 30 years in the travel industry as a leisure travel consultant and having previously been affiliated with another Virtuoso host agency, I have found the best travel host partner.

    Support system staff are professional, helpful and caring with any concerns or problems.

    Consistent training by webinars, video conferences, and on-site retreats featuring all aspects of the travel industry.

    Agency offers free ENewsletters to travel consultants clients with your own branding and contact information.

    Management are striving to find best practices to assist independent contractors (travel consultants) ways to improve their businesses.

    Lastly, no matter where we operate our businesses from California to New York, the feeling is the Largay Travel family is always there for you!

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  3. Amy Rectenwald
    November 17, 2015 at 10:04 am #
    Rating

    After a long hiatus from the Travel Industry, I knew I needed a great host agency to build a successful business and Largay came HIGHLY recommended. I interviewed many and as soon as I met the team from Largay, I knew I was finished with my search. From that day on it has been fantastic. The support and training I have access to is fantastic. Cannot say enough wonderful things about this agency, the mentoring program for those new to the industry and the team environment all make for a wonderful work environment.

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  4. Kathryn Schutz
    November 15, 2015 at 9:06 am #
    1 / 1 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I cannot say enough about Largay Travel. The team is incredible! The mentoring program and support are beyond what I expected. Their reputation in the industry is also impeccable. But most importantly, Largay Travel instills a family atmosphere and FUN into the company. Anyone looking for a host agency could not do better than Largay Travel.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  5. Tricia Wallace
    November 7, 2015 at 9:41 pm #
    Rating

    I am new to the industry as of August 2015. My travel career began when I attended the Virtuoso Difference class that is part of Virtuoso Travel Week in Las Vegas. This experience is one I will never forget! The energy, enthusiasm, willingness to share experience and knowledge that took over my 2 days at the Bellagio was incredible. I can’t simply put into words what takes place, you simply have to experience it! I already can not wait to actually be a part of the real Virtuoso Travel week! The best part about that is that I will be there with the Fabulous Largay Travel Team!!!! WOW! Talk about AWESOME!!! Currently I am in the mentoring program that Largay Travel offers. It is about a 6 month learning adventure. The members that make up Largay Travel, from what I have seen thus far, are shockingly genuine, real and a wealth of knowledge that are ready and able to help a newbie out! I will comment back in a few months and give an update how I am doing then…I can’t wait to experience what is in store!!

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  6. Ellen Goldman
    November 7, 2015 at 8:28 am #
    Rating

    I cannot imagine a better hosting scenario. The folks at Largay Travel are a spirited, unique conglomeration of personalities sharing the common goal of offering the best services to our devoted clientele. The leadership of Largay Travel is always on the prowl for the best technology and practices to increase our visibility on the travel scene, maintain relevance in a constantly changing marketplace and support its personnel to achieve the highest earning potential.

    I love that working with Largay Travel is never static. We are constantly trying new technologies and practices to determine if they help or hinder us. Some things work and others do not. Management does not cling to dysfunctional tools if they serve no purpose. There is an IC Advisory Committee which meets with management several times a year to discuss issues of importance to ICs and ways to improve the IC experience.

    Notice that I say “we” instead of “they.” I feel as much a part of Largay Travel as any of the inside agents and equally invested. I don’t want to gush and say that Largay Travel is perfect. Nothing is. But, doors are always open to discuss and implement change.

    Caveat Emptor….if one is seeking a host to become a hobbyist in the travel industry, Largay Travel may not be for you. The resources at Largay Travel are dedicated to those who are seeing to become professional travel advisors.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  7. Tammy Jones-deem
    November 6, 2015 at 4:19 pm #
    Rating

    Have nothing but love for my Largay family (yes – we all become part). I took months to interview a number of host agencies and although I did find a few that sounded very nice I felt that Largay offered the best support. Now, after 2 1/2 years, I know I made the best decision!

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

Review this Host Agency

Click stars below to rate.
Rating
 
 

Help us get rid of spam by filling out our Captcha! *

0 Shares
+1
Share
Tweet
Share