Cruise Brothers Reviews

(16 reviews)
950 Wellington Avenue
Cranston, RI 02910
800.827.7779
steve@cruisebrothers.com
"Our site is a free resource intended to help agents find a host agency. If we helped out, please pass along the kindness and let host agencies know our site helped in your decision making process." - Steph

Host Agency Details

Affiliations:
Cruise Holidays
2013 Sales:
unavailable
Host Type:
Hybrid (Host & Travel Agency)
Accepting:
Beginner Agents, Experienced Agents
Members Of:
CLIA
# of Contractors:
1000+
GDS:
Not Offered

About Cruise Brothers

Cruise Brothers’ Cruising Free host agency program sell both cruise and land vacation packages. Starting in 1972, Cruise Brothers is one of the largest family owned cruise host agencies in the United States.

Home based travel agents using Cruise Brothers’ Cruising Free as their host agency will be able to attend trainings such as an online presentation from the CEO of Cruise Brothers as well as ship inspections, FAM trips, and seminars.

Cruising Free agents also receive a branded website for their travel agency and support from homecruiseagent.com.

 If you are interested in a cruise host agency, you may also like: Cruise PlannersExpedia CruiseShipCentersCruises Inc.  >> View complete host agency list

 

Cruise Brothers3.2514

Cruise Brothers Reviews

16 Reviews for “Cruise Brothers”

  1. Susan Zuckernick
    December 29, 2013 at 9:45 pm #
    15 / 16 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been signed up with Cruise Brothers for almost a year. I signed up because it was free and I was not sure if I could make a living as a travel agent. I love to travel and now I get paid to travel.
    Two minor annoyances:
    1. I did purchase the website but honestly, I have found many errors on it so I don’t really use it anymore.
    2. I don’t like the procedure of guiding people to my website and when they put their information in under the “Sign up for deal alerts!” that this request for information is not redirected to me, nor and I given any feedback that someone signed up off my website. I suspect it is because the website does not have that capability.
    I have signed up with all the vendors and have completed most or some of all the training provided: for example, NCLU, Carnival & travel agent university. Best reward so far for completing training: The Princess Commodore training(I was able to utilize the reward for completion and sailed 10 days to the Panama Canal in October). I also got some cool pins from Disney–my husband wants to trade them but we are not allowed–nor do I want to–they are neat.
    My team leader always gets me an answer when I have questions and has provided some useful tips. If I never sell anything to anyone but myself, it is still a good deal…it was free and I am having fun.
    The commission is fair, commission rate is based on agency sales…so it is higher than It would be(% wise)if I was on my own.
    I am registered and working towards my CILA certification and will be going to Cruise 3sixty in April to complete the rest of the classes and ship tours. Then all I have to do is sell some cabins..and poof…I have a card, lots of knowledge and this will make me a better travel agent.

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  2. Barbara
    December 28, 2013 at 11:37 pm #
    11 / 11 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I booked a cruise with Cruise Brother’s back in November of 2012 with no intention of ever working for them or even in the travel industry, I was a retail woman, through and through. Well, shortly after booking my cruise I had questions about quite a few things, and after talking to my agent on the phone, he was so knowledgeable that I began asking him about his training, and how he knew so much about where we were going, he told me that since working there he had been on a cruise to the same destination and he went for nothing! That was when I first heard of the program but still hadn’t actually considered participating in it. It wasn’t until about 3 months after my cruise that my brother and his family were considering booking a cruise and asked my advice. I recommended using Cruise Brother’s service and remembered what my agent told me. I was able to book my brother’s cruise myself and even discounted it for him through my commission. It was the best feeling in the world telling him I could get him a deal! I have been working for Cruise Brother’s ever since. I have made plenty of extra money and I’ve been on one free cruise already! I can’t believe I almost passed up this opportunity!

    I HIGHLY recommend Cruise Brother’s for anything travel related. They were great before I worked for them, and extremely helpful. That same service only got better with time!

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  3. Pam
    December 11, 2013 at 3:31 pm #
    8 / 13 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I don’t feel there is a huge support system at CB. Yes the person that is my mentor responds to my emails but I feel the information is somewhat lacking in the response. When I call him I always have to leave a message and he gets back within a few hours usually. (Again not real friendly and almost makes you feel dumb)

    I have only been with them since Oct. And I feel already that they do not trust their home based agents. Everything has to go through them especially payments. The training is a 2 hour phone call and then all webinars. I was told you learn best by doing it. And the site they offer for info is way outdated and hard to manipulate!

    I have also been told and read their website you pay for is not worth having. I am looking into finding another host agency. I am not experienced and need friendlier and more helpful information.

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    • Brandi
      January 8, 2014 at 9:29 am #
      11 / 11 found this review helpful.

      Pam,

      My suggestion to you is that it may not be so much the company as it is your mentor. My mentor is fantastic. He calls me right back, even if we have to play phone tag (which has happened). He is very helpful, knowledgeable and tells me where I can find whatever information I need. He even tells me where to find better information I didn’t even know I needed.
      I was a travel agent years ago and I am so glad I found Cruise Brothers. I’m looking forward to getting back in the business and so far they’ve been very supportive and helpful.

      Also just FYI, be happy they are the ones dealing with the money matters. Without serious insurance you could get in huge trouble if an error came up. By doing the payments and paperwork they are protecting you as much as themselves.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  4. StenaP
    October 8, 2013 at 9:19 pm #
    11 / 11 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been with Cruise Brothers since 7/2013. I have signed up for the website, but have had only one hit. Still I think it is worth having. My clientel are used to me having one. I have booked several group cruises. I am really satisfied with this company. I was signed up with another host agency that charged me $499 to start and $50 per month, so Cruise Brothers is a wonder compared. It also gives you access to lots of training and my team leader John has been very supportive and gets back to me with my many questions in a timely manner. I am very happy with this company.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  5. Jan R
    September 12, 2013 at 3:08 pm #
    12 / 13 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    For the most part, Cruise Brothers has been a good place to learn all about selling cruises. I did pay for the website, but honestly no one has ever booked a cruise with me using their booking engine. If you want a website, I recommend starting with a free blog-type, like WordPress. I built up a website from there, and after two years, purchased my own domain. With your own domain, you have the freedom to advertise on it, right reviews, post photos, and customize it any way you like. It turned out to be much more useful than the CB website.

    Then, the best way to book cruises is to learn and use the booking tools of the various cruise agent booking sites. Cruise Brothers provides all the links to the cruise and land companies, hotel booking site, their insurance booking tool, and everything else you need. My sales manager has always been good about answering my questions in a timely manner. Many webinars and audio-recorded meetings are available all the time, are good learning tools, and agents are encouraged to use them.

    On the downside, their website and booking engine is a little archaic compared to most and could use some updating. I wish their outside agent commission was higher, as I feel I am not adequately compensated for the amount of time I spend researching, booking and following up regularly with my clients. Lastly, while I like to make final payment myself directly to the cruiseline, CB is adamant that agents make payment directly with their accounting department. It sometimes takes a week or longer for CB to get a simple credit card payment to the vendor, whereas when I call the vendor myself, payment is made within 24 hours.

    Nevertheless, your experience and success with any host agency really does depend on how hard you are willing to work. It takes a long time to build up a client base, so give it time.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  6. Ashlee
    September 6, 2013 at 11:42 pm #
    14 / 15 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have had nothing but an amazing experience since I starting working as an at home agent with Cruise Brothers. David has answered both my questions and phone calls right away. You definitatly do not need to purchase a website. You can book cruises through the home agent sight. I am now starting to sell lots more after i started exploring the tools and signed up for the passwords for the different links on the home cruise site. You can sell tons of packages to Hawaii, Mexico, Europe ect. I was told I will get a free Princess cruise from Princess Cruises as soon as I finish my online classes on their site. Register with Princess as a Cruise Brothers agent and you are on your way. I’m finishing my classes this weekend. I am also register to be a Disney agent. There are a ton of tools and opportunities if you ask. Disney offers discounts and a free Disneyland ticket after you complete your online classes on the Disney travel agent site. A great big thumbs up from me for Cruise Brothers!
    Ashlee Dasilva
    Cruise Brothers
    Ashlee. Cruisebrothers.com

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  7. Sara
    April 12, 2013 at 5:57 pm #
    11 / 11 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been with Cruise Brothers for about a year now. I have the best team leader you could ask for. She provided me with the best training. She and the people at Cruise Brothers Headquarters have helped me tremendously with my decision to start a new career ti become a travel agent. They are great.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  8. Sara Rodriguez
    December 21, 2012 at 8:36 am #
    6 / 12 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I am gaining a great deal of knowledge about the agencies and travel partners that they represent. I haven’t sold a thing. I signed up in September of 2012 and it’s now the end of December 2012.

    My ability to pay $50 to the State of Florida to sign up as a “seller of travel” as the DBPR agent that spoke to me on the phone insisted has been restricted through no effort of my own.
    I do not understand how nor why I have been restricted in this manner, but really would appreciate having the light shined on this ghost.

    If you have other questions, please let me know. I am open to communication and still kicking in the ocean of would be travel agents.

    Sincerely,

    Sara Rodriguez

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  9. Bruce Porter
    December 14, 2012 at 6:03 pm #
    9 / 9 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I’ve been very fortunate with the assistance that I’ve received with The Cruise Brothers. I attend the weekly classes online and have done a LOT of studying through the use of their resources.
    My team leader has been very helpful any time I’ve had questions with timely responses and assisting me as needed. Not sure what other reviewers were expecting, but if you develop a good foundation and gain experience slowly, I see good success as a very realistic outcome of YOUR work and their expertise. Anything worthwhile takes work, study and time. You can work as little or as hard as your time allows, and reap the rewards accordingly.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  10. FL Agent
    October 11, 2012 at 8:56 am #
    11 / 11 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    We signed up with CB in the Spring and so far have had a good experience. We paid for the website, but don’t use it that much. Our contact person has been a great help and anytime we’ve had questions or needed help, he has given an immediate response and the matter handled right away.
    The initial training webinar was informative and did not seem like a sales pitch at all, as others have mentioned.
    This is our second experience with a hosting agency. First time turned out to be mostly an MLM program. So far we are happy doing our own marketing and booking, just using the host agency to gain access to the booking sites with no monthly fee. Has worked well so far and CB has been supportive to us.
    Some things in the agent resource site and the main CB website seem rather “clunky.” I wish there was some sort of online access to your current sales account so you could see what you have pending. There may be, but I have not yet found it and plan to ask about this. I think other host agencies may organize this better, but again… it’s what you get for free.
    I would recommend this host agency if you’re looking for a “free” experience to get started.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  11. Jacqueline Rocco
    October 1, 2012 at 7:42 am #
    9 / 11 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I just joined with Cruise Brothers and so far I have been having the opposite experience from what everyone here has had. The gentleman whom I speak with is doing a training session with me this Wednesday and he responds to me right away either by phone or email even on weekends. Now I have paid for the site yet but I’m going to give it a little time. I just don’t want to pay $100 for a site until I see how things go. I was told I don’t have to have the site in order to book. I haven’t paid for a site yet. But, I plan to depending on how training goes and other things. He didn’t push it. My rating is based on my experience so far. I have my contract at home that says what they charge for the website so they can’t do something else. If things don’t go we’ll with training on Wednesday or something comes up that I don’t like then ill be back to change my review. But, so far everything has been fine- very helpful quick replies. Good luck to everyone. I know their customers/clients give them great reviews

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  12. genia
    June 10, 2012 at 8:01 pm #
    15 / 22 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    get no help at all..stranded . i had some Spanish speaking clients,so i ask could some one help me book and i will share the commission,they were rude told me i am on my own,and so i turned the client to someone there who spoke Spanish..she never thanked me,or anything..

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  13. Erik Bauman
    May 31, 2012 at 10:14 pm #
    12 / 23 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I signed up with Cruise Brothers because there was no initial sign-up fee. Other than that… nothing good to say.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I was previously hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  14. Steve Barone
    May 15, 2012 at 3:09 am #
    26 / 32 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    This host was a waste of time and energy. It took so long to get signed up only because everyone there could not get organized enough. They gave me a number to call and told me to call and “inside manager” and when I called asking for that, they didn’t even know what that was. There was no training on how to work with them. The online seminar was just a sales pitch. They claimed to have an agent forum, but it was closed and they had no plans to open it to agents. They said you can get a website for a certain price, but when you try to get it the price was at a higher price. They said they would fix that, but after 1 month of no training, not being to get a hold of anyone, and complete frustration. I just went somewhere else. I would avoid them, there are so many more hosts out there that really provide for you.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I was previously hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    • Ronda
      July 26, 2012 at 2:08 pm #
      18 / 22 found this review helpful.

      Thanks for the review. I saw their ad posted on CL and called them, and now the rep has called and emailed me every day since. But my gut was telling me to wait. I am so glad I did. Out of all the hosts I have reviewed so far on this site, they are the only one with one star…

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

Review this Host Agency

Click stars below to rate.
Rating