Travel Troops Reviews

(8 reviews)
125 7th Ave SE
Waseca, MN 56093
1-800-313-6010
"Our site is a free resource intended to help agents find a host agency. If we helped out, please pass along the kindness and let host agencies know our site helped in your decision making process." - Steph

Host Agency Details

Affiliations:
Ensemble
Previous Year's Sales:
$5-9.9 million
Host Type:
unavailable
Accepting:
unavailable
Members Of:
CLIA, IATA
# of Contractors:
Less than 50
GDS:
Not Offered

About Travel Troops

Travel Troops is a Minnesota-based host agency that specializes in Mexico and the Caribbean. Its custom monthly fees include CRM software, mentoring, marketing support and more. Commissions and monthly fees are not disclosed.  

Travel Troops2.333333333336

Travel Troops Reviews

8 Reviews for “Travel Troops”

  1. Kristie Catchings
    August 3, 2017 at 2:47 pm #
    1 / 2 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been with Travel Troops for almost a year and have found it to be the best decision I have ever made with my business. Matt is one of the most caring and attentive leaders I have seen. He is very available to me and has helped me enormously. My sales have doubled since I have teamed up with Travel Troops and the entire organization is like one big family. The amount of fam trips and resort tours I have had access to has increased my basket of offerings 3 fold, as evidenced by my sales. The contacts I have made through him has really helped me in learning the brands better and keeping happy clients. I rebranded in January and didn’t submit my new bank account until several months into it, but still am having no problem in getting my commissions updated-the couple that are behind are my own fault for having submitted late. If you submit on time and document correctly all needed information, you get them just fine..I don’t understand either where the good reviews are that once appeared here. Very Interesting! What I have is a strong team to work with led by strong leadership…Oh- I am still officially connected with a large host as well as I complete my rebranding and in one year had to chase down about 13k in missing commissions with my old host.Having one number wrong in a res number can hold the whole thing up! ..I’m not blasting them though as I wasn’t paying attention close enough…Lesson learned… So sometimes those that have the issues may have a part to play as well…
    I think all new organizations (like new resorts) have to go through system changes as they grow and develop. I was a school administrator for years and lived the world of a new program every year and constant change. Travel Troops is no different but compared what I am used to adjustments have been super mild and only to provide more enhancements . Travel Troops is really great for the agent who wants to learn, grow, connect, travel, teach others, etc..and to do so in an environment of high ethics…

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    • Mary Stein
      August 3, 2017 at 2:56 pm #
      2 / 2 found this review helpful.

      Hey Kristie!

      We’ve posted all reviews (from agents and former agents) that have come in for Travel Troops and all other host agencies. If you know of someone who is missing a review, they are welcome to reach out to us directly to troubleshoot.

      Thanks for posting your review!

      Mary, HAR Editor

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  2. Carrie Peterson
    May 25, 2017 at 8:34 pm #
    4 / 6 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    What this site doesn’t show is the good reviews that were sent in. For some reason they are no longer on this site.
    I have worked with Travel Troops since the beginning and have only had positive experiences with them. Matt is extremly passionate in what he does and does it well. I have never had any issues at all.
    I have full confidence and trust in Matt and Travel Troops as a host agency.
    Who ever is reading these reviews please know that there are always two sides to the story.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    • Mary Stein
      May 30, 2017 at 11:11 am #
      5 / 5 found this review helpful.

      Hey Carrie!

      This is Mary from HAR! Just wanted to drop a line to let you (and all) know that we’ve posted all reviews that have come in for Travel Troops and all hosts. Travel Troops is a newer host listing on our site, so it’s possible you may be thinking of a different site!

      Thanks for posting your review!

      Mary, HAR Editor

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  3. Anna Goldshteyn
    May 18, 2017 at 5:52 pm #
    20 / 22 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I worked with Travel Troops for a little over a year. Unfortunately, this was not a good experience at all. After broken promises, unreturned calls or emails, and dishonesty, I wanted to part ways. My major concern was the non-payment of my commission. I wouldn’t get paid for months and at first, I gave the benefit of the doubt, listened to the many excuses, was extremely professional with the owner, but did not get paid.

    After begging and pleading, then threatening, I received partial commission check, but I am still owed commission for travelers that returned in January. I have confirmations from the Tour Operators that they paid and checks were cashed. That’s almost 6 months of without payment.

    I have since moved to a different host agency due to non-payment of Travel Troops.

    Please do your research before you sign up with Matt’s host agency, Travel Troops. While he is a personable and cordial, good luck getting any help from this individual when you want to get paid.

    In the three years that I’ve been part of the travel industry, never have I been so disappointed as I was with Travel Troops. This company is deceitful, unprofessional, and in no shape to run a business.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  4. Stacey Ray
    May 18, 2017 at 7:55 am #
    26 / 29 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Unfortunately, after over a year with Travel Troops, I am still owed approximately $20,000 in commissions despite repeated attempts to be paid via email, phone, inbox messages, text messages, and even communications through my attorney. I tried to be understanding when the owner of the host agency told me he was investigating where the commissions were month after month. However, I stopped being understanding and patient when I started receiving copies of the cancelled checks from the suppliers proving he had been paid long before he told me he had NOT received it. If this were the case only for me – I might see where you could think perhaps that is is a review of sour grapes – but sadly, this is the case for many of his current and previous agents. Begging for your commissions and waiting, waiting, waiting, only to never receive your money is the norm for Travel Troops.

    Aside from the commission issues, there are no real systems in place for agents, the owner withholds information that you need to do your job, such as who your BDM is (he prefers to make an “introduction” as a means of control), what the true commission rates are for suppliers, how to register for suppliers and somehow suppliers are frequently missing his W-9 form which also delays payments. He makes promises he cannot keep such as co-op marketing funds and “free” trips that you can use as part of your marketing, does not follow-up on requests, and cherry-picks whose emails and phone calls he will answer. If you are hoping for accurate, timely reporting of the commissions due you and what you will be paid on the next pay day (which is often late), you will be sorely disappointed because again, you can wish for it and beg for it – but you likely will not receive it.

    I left this host agency at the beginning of January 2017 and frankly, I rue the day I ever signed on with them. If you are searching for a host agency, I hope you will heed the warnings of others who have had the same experience with Travel Troops and that you will see that this is a pattern of behavior and not an exception. There is a reason that so many agents have chosen to leave and work with other, more reputable hosts. Speak to BDMs in the industry, speak to former agents, and do your research – you will find that associating yourself with Travel Troops can be a true liability to your reputation and your business.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  5. Colleen Renner
    March 28, 2017 at 12:16 am #
    30 / 34 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    If there would have been a zero stars for this Host Agency, that’s what I would have put. I was with this Host for only 6 months and in that time, I was lied to, my commissions have never been paid, numerous phone calls – emails – FB PM’s have not and were not answered and promises were never kept. I signed a contract and lived up to my side, but Host has not and did not live up to their side of the contract. I am not the only agent that is having problems with this Host with getting paid for the work that I did on travel. After I left this Host, I still have been billed my monthly fee and I have turned that over to my bank.

    I did my research on my Host Agency that I have now and wished I would have researched Travel Troops before joining them.

    I welcome feedback.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  6. Robin isquith
    March 25, 2017 at 7:34 pm #
    32 / 36 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Dishonorable Discharge: I joined Travel Troops a year a half ago when it was very hands on and the leader was truly a leader, caring about his troops with weekly calls, follow ups, and instantly returning messages. Even though many of my commissions were not paid on time, I stuck with them believing the excuses. The one excuse that made me rethink this agency was,” Your bank kicked back the deposit.” Imagine my banker’s face when I inquired. Not possible they would or could do that. Imagine my face when another agent reached out to me to tell me that she was given the exact same excuse as to why she want’s paid. I believed and trusted that Travel Troops just needed to work out some kinks. I do not believe that anymore. My trust was shattered when I had to send messages and emails just to get a small $35 commission, which was not even direct deposited in my account, as per company policy, but rather paid by Western Union. Frankly, I find it exhausting to have to chase my commissions that I’ve earned and sit on pins and needles hoping I will get them on time. As with most host agencies, if not all, you sign a contract. In my opinion, I feel Travel Troops did not live up to their contract regarding payment. One thing that is very important to know for your bookkeeping purposes is their contract states that the IC will get a statement of commission earned and paid to Travel Troops in the previous month. Personally, I’ve only gotten a few, and that was after constantly asking for them so I know what I was paid for. After working so hard selling travel, you shouldn’t have to work so hard to reap the rewards. It’s all fun and games until someone doesn’t pay commissions on time or send reports with them. I’ve dishonorably discharged Travel Troops.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

Review this Host Agency

Click stars below to rate.
Rating

Help us get rid of spam by filling out our Captcha! *

2 Shares
Share2
+1
Tweet
Share