The Travel Agent Next Door Reviews

(11 reviews)
403-55 York Street
Toronto, Ontario M5J 1R7
416.367.8263
[email protected]
"Our site is a free resource intended to help agents find a host agency. If we helped out, please pass along the kindness and let host agencies know our site helped in your decision making process." - Steph

Host Agency Details

Affiliations:
TravelSavers
2015 Sales:
$50-99.9 million
Host Type:
Host Only
Accepting:
Experienced Agents
Members Of:
ACTA, CLIA, IATA, TICO
# of Contractors:
250-499
GDS:
Apollo, Sabre

About The Travel Agent Next Door

The Travel Agent Next Door is based in Canada. They offer three main programs: 1) Supporting Store Front locations 2) Supporting Independent Contractors 3) Training new agents to become Travel Professionals.

Travel agents working with The Travel Agent Next Door can expect to earn between 65% – 100% of the commission. TTAND has a tiered approach to supplier’s commissions, a little different than most host agencies. They have 3 supplier levels: Preferred, Approved and all others. For example, when selling Preferred suppliers you will earn at a minimum of 85% – 100% commission. Depending on the program and what you produce, there could be no annual fees up to an annual fee of $499, and monthly fees range from $19-$69/month. The contract term is 1 years.

If you want to BECOME a travel agent (so have never been a travel agent before), they offer 3 programs: Gold, Silver, and Bronze. Independent contractors in this program earn between 50-95% commission and for those in the Silver and Bronze program up to 300 client leads are included. The contract term is two years. The Travel Agent Next Door program fees for new agents (which are paid prior to starting the program) begin at $1,699 for the bronze plan and jump to $7,499 and $12,499 for the silver and gold plan, respectively. Payment plans are available (12-months and includes some interest).

For information on programs for agency owners, we recommend touching base with The Travel Agent Next door host agency staff.

The Travel Agent Next Door4.8636363636411

The Travel Agent Next Door Reviews

11 Reviews for “The Travel Agent Next Door”

  1. Jenn
    February 12, 2016 at 11:24 am #
    9 / 11 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I am new to The Travel Industry and so I don’t have anything to really compare this company with but I feel very strongly that choosing The Travel Agent Next Door as a Host was a good decision. After completing my Travel Agency Operations Certification from Humber College I found that the only jobs I could get with no experience where at Bricks and Mortar agencies. I have young children and live far from any Travel agencies, I didn’t want to work for a Bricks and Mortar agency. I choose to join the Travel Agent Next Doors New Agent Program. I was hesitant at first. There were many agencies to choose from. The new agent program was a large investment for me and Travel Agent Next Door a relatively new company (founded by trusted and experienced members of the travel industry). It’s been almost 5 months and my business is doing fantastic. The Travel agent Next Door has fantastic and knowledgeable support, a marketing department has your best interests at heart, a fully bookable website included in your monthly fee and an unbeatable commission structure. If you are a new agent and considering training with a Host agency then you will not be disappointed with The Travel Agent Next Door.

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  2. Janice Gross
    September 10, 2015 at 7:05 am #
    11 / 11 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    The Travel Agent Next Door is my 4th travel agency since making the move into travel sales in 2004. From 1997 to 2003, I was the National Network Implementation Manager for a company that designed and installed computer networks into travel agencies throughout Canada. So when I say that I’ve had exposure to a great many travel agencies across Canada, you can be sure that I’ve seen a lot over the past 18 years.

    The Travel Agent Next Door is different from any travel agency I have ever experienced. Foremost in their business operations is the agent comes first, and that trickles down to the support and service we can offer our clients. The TTAND team is all about helping agents grow their business. Our opinions are asked when making decisions that directly impact our ability to grow and service clients. We’re treated as one big family, and never feel that top management is unapproachable. To the contrary, management gets excited when we come to them for help, advise, support, concerns or complaints.

    TTAND is an encouraging atmosphere of mutual respect. As agents, I have witnessed an entire room stand up and applaud management for their tireless and kind dedication to their team. I’ve known what its like to feel continuous frustration with your host agency, and now, 100%, I know what it’s like to feel important and appreciated. The Travel Agent Next Door is one host agency that is doing EVERYTHING RIGHT!

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  3. Coreen Doucett #CoreenTravels
    August 21, 2015 at 12:57 pm #
    6 / 6 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I’ve been a business owner over 30 years and in the Travel Industry over 10 years. The support and encouragement I receive from #TheTravelAgentNextDoor is beyond any support I’ve received before. My business is growing and will continue to. Problems/Issues with suppliers are handled immediately and I become the hero to my clients. TTAND asks for feedback and implements our ideas and everyone wins. We share amongst each other.

    This is the Agency to be with… The Travel Agent Next Door provides me with all the tools necessary for success. I strongly recommend our company where you want outstanding support, better commissions thereby making a change that would positively impact your career and the vacation dreams of your clients….

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  4. Margarita Montaner
    August 20, 2015 at 1:27 am #
    8 / 8 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I joined the Travel Agent Next Door just about a year ago, prior to this time I had worked as a Senior Travel Consultant and Travel Manager for a few Canadian Travel Companies based in Alberta and after my experience in working independently from home with the support of the Travel Agent Next Door I cannot imagine working in this industry in any other way but on my own. This would have never happened without the invaluable support and care of the team at The Travel Agent Next Door who has provided me with all the tools needed to be successful, I would highly recommend it to anyone in the Travel Industry looking to make a change that would positively impact your lives and the lives of your clients.

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  5. Carol Baldwin
    August 18, 2015 at 10:46 am #
    6 / 6 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    This is my third host agency in less than 5 years and I have finally found a great fit. The support from the team and fellow agents is tremendous, I wish they had been around when I was starting out in my travel entrepreneurship.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  6. Jennifer Whitfield
    August 17, 2015 at 5:26 pm #
    4 / 4 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Having run my own business, I see the value in the tools and support they provide you with. All the comments about the team are spot-on, Flemming and all the staff at The Travel Agent Next Door are so insightful and supportive and the network of fellow agents are always willing to lend an ear and give advice. They give you everything you need to hit the ground running! I highly recommend them.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  7. Sonya Thomas
    August 17, 2015 at 4:15 pm #
    7 / 7 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Having over 34 years experience with wholesale, retail and now home based with a host agency it has taken me to a new level of opportunity. I had been with two other host agencies and my hesitation in joining The Travel Agency Next Door was definitely obvious. But speaking with them and knowing that I could brand myself, yet have their support, made all the difference in the world.

    So with out any hesitation I took the plunge and have now finally found my forever home..I have been with them over a year and to say that it has been awesome is to say the least.

    They have some of the “top industry staff working” and their experience and knowledge has helped in many ways. You are never to old to learn in this business. They are always coming up with innovated ideas to make us up to date in the travel industry and give us the tools to make our businesses flourish.

    They are giving some wonderful add ons like benefits, mentor program and telephone options.

    I truly have to say that this has been one of the most fulfilling business decision I have ever made and I truly feel now that I am NOT ALONE…

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  8. Shalene Dudley
    August 17, 2015 at 12:19 am #
    5 / 5 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    The Travel Agent Next Door is a breath of fresh air! The home office staff is more than just supportive-they are a part of your own team. Everyone is positive, patient, realistic, forward thinking-I could go on and on. My business plans and goals are maturing with their systems in place.

    There is a personal touch that is professional yet familiar. The entire transition was smooth and every one of my needs were important and accounted for.

    The definition of the word host is “a person who receives or entertains other people as guests”. With TTAND I am not a guest-I am a valued member of the team.

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  9. Lana Keyes
    August 16, 2015 at 5:19 pm #
    5 / 5 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    The Travel Agent Next Door is a new Host Agency that is demonstrating innovative support to individual travel agents. There is utmost attention to the agent as “their” key customer and the service/support is fantastic. I have better marketing and social media tools, better invoicing, better technology, a broader support chain in the travel industry and the list goes on than the previous host agency I was with for 10 years. It is a decision I will never regret and I am proud and excited to be a part of this new company.

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  10. Arlene Gibbons
    August 16, 2015 at 9:17 am #
    5 / 5 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have spent over 25 years working in a retail environment both as a travel consultant and branch manager in a “Bricks & Mortar” agency and never did I see myself as a home based agent working for myself. I simply thought that I would be on my Own. This is certainly not the case with The Travel Agent Next Door. They are very supportive to the agents in the field and the agents themselves are also networking amongst each other. It is like One big Happy family working together and this number keeps growing every day. In today’s fast paced world, the travel industry is constanting changing and travel professionals are looking for new ways on how they can deliver the best customer service and to be successful in their career. The Travel Agent Next Door has the tools available to you to be successful at a pace that works for you. You are your own Boss and you set when and how much you want to work! When I receive a personal note or phone call just to touch base or thank me for my support, its makes you feel like you are #1. I truly believe a key component for any success is communication and at The Travel Agent Next Door this is on top of their list. They are always asking for feedback, suggestions & new ideas to look at. We are all working together for one common goal “Success”.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  11. Scott Waldron
    August 15, 2015 at 4:40 pm #
    6 / 6 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I am relatively new comer to this home based agency, all my past history has been with larger consortia’s and start ups. When you join TTAND (The Travel Agent Next Door) its amazing how they do listen to what you have to say.I have heard that other larger home based agencies in Canada, may have more numbers of agents and market what they are offering in a way that you have to asks allot of questions just to get a clear answer. Not with TTAND, it is what it is, straight forward answers and they actually listen! I have had two follow up emails to me in over 3 weeks on items I have suggested and they don’t forget about you. I truly feel that this is why TTAND is growing so fast. Experienced and qualified people working at Head Office, people with experience, not people/family members brought in with no true industry experience like some other agencies, no one telling you what you have to sell and penalizing you for it. Simple fair treatment of all, and did I mention they listen to you? (oops). Oh and did I mention you get commission payments twice a month, not once a month like some others.

    Anyways, the long and the short of it is, you can trust your business to grow when your with TTAND, as the resources are limitless (I am still discovering many new things), you work hard and TTAND works for you.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

Review this Host Agency

Click stars below to rate.
Rating
 
 

Help us get rid of spam by filling out our Captcha! *