Cruise Brothers Reviews

(24 reviews)
950 Wellington Avenue
Cranston, RI 02910
800.827.7779
[email protected]
"Our site is a free resource intended to help agents find a host agency. If we helped out, please pass along the kindness and let host agencies know our site helped in your decision making process." - Steph

Host Agency Details

Affiliations:
Cruise Holidays
2015 Sales:
unavailable
Host Type:
Hybrid (Host & Travel Agency)
Accepting:
Beginner Agents, Experienced Agents
Members Of:
CLIA
# of Contractors:
1000+
GDS:
Not Offered

About Cruise Brothers

Cruise Brothers’ Cruising Free host agency program sell both cruise and land vacation packages. Starting in 1972, Cruise Brothers is one of the largest family owned cruise host agencies in the United States.

Home based travel agents using Cruise Brothers’ Cruising Free as their host agency will be able to attend trainings such as an online presentation from the CEO of Cruise Brothers as well as ship inspections, FAM trips, and seminars.

Cruising Free agents also receive a branded website for their travel agency and support from homecruiseagent.com.

 If you are interested in a cruise host agency, you may also like: Cruise PlannersExpedia CruiseShipCentersCruises Inc.  >> View complete host agency list

 

Cruise Brothers3.4166666666721

Cruise Brothers Reviews

24 Reviews for “Cruise Brothers”

  1. BF Fielder
    August 7, 2016 at 10:39 pm #
    10 / 11 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    After booking many cruises with Cruise Brothers, I inquired about their home based program so that I could begin to sell cruise travel myself as a way to learn the industry, build a clientele for when I retire, as well as travel at discounted rates. I new to stay away from any scam company that tries to push an expensive website, charge fees to “open your company”, or any of those other fee based approaches.

    With Cruise Brothers, you are an agent / employee of the company, working from the comfort of your own home. There is no gimmick, no pushy sales people telling you that you need a useless website, and no one breathing down your neck saying “make more sales.” you work at your own pace and are backed by them.

    With the best commission structure in the industry, as well as volume pricing, i have never lost a sale due to pricing. I do not have a sales website as I do all sales directly with clients, and there are a ton of reasons why this approach works much better – to many to list.

    Training in plentiful, both with the team at CB, as well as all cruise lines and resorts. I even have the Disney certification. Daily emails and messages from my team lead, who is incredibly knowledgable and helps if anything arises.

    I have been very successful due to word of mouth, repeat customers, and ability to build groups, with over $150K booked and/or sailed (and another $15K in cancelled trips) in just over 16 months. Yes, I have hustled and continuously hand out cards and talk up the products.

    I can not speak about the 1 star, old reviews other then it appears to be from people who expected an easy gig where people would line up to buy from them – this is sales, you must get out there and work it yourself. Start with friends and family, and word will travel fast. No need to pay a dime out of pocket and get the useless site. Believe it when I say it, this is the program you want.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  2. Timothy Hickey
    August 2, 2016 at 7:52 pm #
    7 / 8 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I started with Cruise Brothers a few years ago but had to stop because I was relocating. I have began again with them about 3 weeks ago. My BDM is awesome and constantly sends me emails of all the promos the various cruise lines are running. With that said, I have to laugh at the posts that give low stars when the majority of the complaints are about not being able to make bookings. Well, guess what, in the last 3 weeks I have made two bookings! Why, because I network myself. I have a Facebook page, a Facebook Group and Cruise Brothers has just released their new agent web sites that are 90% customizable and allow you to enter pics or even videos. You don’t have to live in a big town to sell cruises. You just have to invite your friends to your social pages and let them share your pages and deals. The online training at the different cruise line websites geared towards agents is excellent and gives you the knowledge to sell their brand. If you want to succeed you have to “put it out there”. If you want to succeed you have to invest time for training and dedicate time but NO money! Don’t expect CB to hold your hand every step of the way because YOU have to sell the product. Free to join, no monthly fees and consistent support from your BDM! What more do you want?

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  3. Eidi
    May 31, 2016 at 12:45 pm #
    7 / 8 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been working for them. One of the things that attracted me to the Cruise Brothers, is that they are a family owned business. I did not want to work for a big corporation or a franchise. Also their extensive training menu. I like to educate myself so, this was a big plus. I like that the sales managers and team leaders are always available by phone or email. You can make as much money as you want or as little as you want. I am in this to make a living and because i LOVE IT! i am not playing “travel agent”. So for me growing my sales every year is a most. If you by any reason have a team leader who is less than helpful, you need to contact Jim, He will help you and switch you to another team leader if need be. I would recommend this place. I would recommend that aside from their training you put in your time to learn everything about the cruise and vacation industry they can help you up to a point and the rest its on you. If you love travel and are great with people in person and the phone, then this might be for you. Sales is not everyone, in my opinion. But if you are selling to friends and family then you might be okay, this takes time, practice and building your clientele def takes patience. Signing up with Cruise Brothers is free, but for sure i can tell you that making money at this it is up to you 100%.

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  4. Mary Barrett
    April 12, 2016 at 7:28 pm #
    7 / 8 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I havent had any problem with this agency since I signed up with them, my BDM is very helpful and always quick to respond. She even sent me some documents she made herself to help me when I am qualifying clients. I haven’t got any bookings yet, but I have only been with them for about a month. It may take a little longer because I live in a rural area with only small towns around, and it could be the economy as well. But I am not giving up. The sales and marketing training was awesome and really helped me. I am still trying to get the word out and network, the best I can. I am moving shortly to a larger town with more people so there will be more opportunities to network, other than that, I am very pleased with this agency. You definitely have to work and put something in to your career to get something out. I try to do something for my business everyday.

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  5. Joseph
    June 9, 2015 at 9:36 am #
    36 / 38 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I am happy with Cruise Brothers as a host agency. Like others have said the website is not the best but was not pushed on me either. Team leader actually told me he prefers that I learn the cruise line agent portals as the training is excellent and the group rates are published there. The Cruise Brothers site is more for an internet presence than anything. What I love about this company is 3 things.
    It does not cost anything and they are actually a reputable company
    There group rates are lower than anything I can find online
    My team leader Mike is very knowledgeable and is prompt answering my emails and phone calls even after hours.
    The service has surprised me the most since they are free. I would recommend this agency

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  6. kristina
    May 22, 2015 at 4:17 pm #
    10 / 32 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been working very hard to book trips for several months now and nothing. It would be very helpful for a user-friendly booking site to provide to us as so many clients use the Internet to book their own trips. I have pretty much given up trying to find clients as they do it themselves.

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  7. Phil Arons
    January 25, 2015 at 8:59 pm #
    26 / 45 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I signed up with cruise brothers because it was free. I saw an ad on craigslist and answered it . Not knowing how far I could take it and go. I started to look at this as a career and was trying to build it up. Their training sucked. It was 45 minutes with mt team leader over the phone where he talked me through their little system. I had gotten my training form Cruise lines but their marketing was not good. All their marketing plans were basically the same 30 minute webinar. With them it is sink or swim. They do not put any marketing toward their agents. I didn’t buy the website because after i talked to a couple other agents it really did nothing for them. When I went to cancel my contract with them i was contacted and asked why. I told him greener pastures and when he asked me if there were fees involved I said yes. He then told me to watch out for agencies like that and i am I am watching the money build in my bank account. To me Cruise Brothers is just a place to start off and learn.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I was previously hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    • Diane fish
      December 23, 2015 at 3:15 pm #
      11 / 12 found this review helpful.

      Hi Phil,
      I started with Cruise Brothers in January this year and have many years experience in the travel business as an agent and owner of an agency. As a BDM (Business Development Manager) I am very excited to share what I do with the general public that have no access to our rates and suppliers that can not be shopped. Most people book online and direct with the Cruise Lines or properties. We are really in need of great people to help others buy travel that can not be shopped to provide great pricing and sound advice. Will your friends and family support your travel business?
      We are looking for people who are tired of trading hours for (not enough) dollars at a J.O.B. and want to invest in themselves buy training in this great career. (Invest=spend time, study your craft and read, read, read). Like every thing what you put into it you will get out of it.
      I challenge you to reach out to me directly and lets see if we can put a plan of action together for you to be a successful travel professional remember we do not charge monthly fees or for our time and training. To have our BDM as your trained partner you have a free partner in business with a vested interest in your success. That is worth it’s weight in gold.
      Regards, Diane Fish. (https://dianefish.cruisingfree.com)

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  8. Susan Zuckernick
    December 29, 2013 at 9:45 pm #
    46 / 49 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been signed up with Cruise Brothers for almost a year. I signed up because it was free and I was not sure if I could make a living as a travel agent. I love to travel and now I get paid to travel.
    Two minor annoyances:
    1. I did purchase the website but honestly, I have found many errors on it so I don’t really use it anymore.
    2. I don’t like the procedure of guiding people to my website and when they put their information in under the “Sign up for deal alerts!” that this request for information is not redirected to me, nor and I given any feedback that someone signed up off my website. I suspect it is because the website does not have that capability.
    I have signed up with all the vendors and have completed most or some of all the training provided: for example, NCLU, Carnival & travel agent university. Best reward so far for completing training: The Princess Commodore training(I was able to utilize the reward for completion and sailed 10 days to the Panama Canal in October). I also got some cool pins from Disney–my husband wants to trade them but we are not allowed–nor do I want to–they are neat.
    My team leader always gets me an answer when I have questions and has provided some useful tips. If I never sell anything to anyone but myself, it is still a good deal…it was free and I am having fun.
    The commission is fair, commission rate is based on agency sales…so it is higher than It would be(% wise)if I was on my own.
    I am registered and working towards my CILA certification and will be going to Cruise 3sixty in April to complete the rest of the classes and ship tours. Then all I have to do is sell some cabins..and poof…I have a card, lots of knowledge and this will make me a better travel agent.

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  9. Barbara
    December 28, 2013 at 11:37 pm #
    34 / 35 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I booked a cruise with Cruise Brother’s back in November of 2012 with no intention of ever working for them or even in the travel industry, I was a retail woman, through and through. Well, shortly after booking my cruise I had questions about quite a few things, and after talking to my agent on the phone, he was so knowledgeable that I began asking him about his training, and how he knew so much about where we were going, he told me that since working there he had been on a cruise to the same destination and he went for nothing! That was when I first heard of the program but still hadn’t actually considered participating in it. It wasn’t until about 3 months after my cruise that my brother and his family were considering booking a cruise and asked my advice. I recommended using Cruise Brother’s service and remembered what my agent told me. I was able to book my brother’s cruise myself and even discounted it for him through my commission. It was the best feeling in the world telling him I could get him a deal! I have been working for Cruise Brother’s ever since. I have made plenty of extra money and I’ve been on one free cruise already! I can’t believe I almost passed up this opportunity!

    I HIGHLY recommend Cruise Brother’s for anything travel related. They were great before I worked for them, and extremely helpful. That same service only got better with time!

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  10. Pam
    December 11, 2013 at 3:31 pm #
    25 / 36 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I don’t feel there is a huge support system at CB. Yes the person that is my mentor responds to my emails but I feel the information is somewhat lacking in the response. When I call him I always have to leave a message and he gets back within a few hours usually. (Again not real friendly and almost makes you feel dumb)

    I have only been with them since Oct. And I feel already that they do not trust their home based agents. Everything has to go through them especially payments. The training is a 2 hour phone call and then all webinars. I was told you learn best by doing it. And the site they offer for info is way outdated and hard to manipulate!

    I have also been told and read their website you pay for is not worth having. I am looking into finding another host agency. I am not experienced and need friendlier and more helpful information.

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    • Brandi
      January 8, 2014 at 9:29 am #
      25 / 26 found this review helpful.

      Pam,

      My suggestion to you is that it may not be so much the company as it is your mentor. My mentor is fantastic. He calls me right back, even if we have to play phone tag (which has happened). He is very helpful, knowledgeable and tells me where I can find whatever information I need. He even tells me where to find better information I didn’t even know I needed.
      I was a travel agent years ago and I am so glad I found Cruise Brothers. I’m looking forward to getting back in the business and so far they’ve been very supportive and helpful.

      Also just FYI, be happy they are the ones dealing with the money matters. Without serious insurance you could get in huge trouble if an error came up. By doing the payments and paperwork they are protecting you as much as themselves.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  11. StenaP
    October 8, 2013 at 9:19 pm #
    26 / 26 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been with Cruise Brothers since 7/2013. I have signed up for the website, but have had only one hit. Still I think it is worth having. My clientel are used to me having one. I have booked several group cruises. I am really satisfied with this company. I was signed up with another host agency that charged me $499 to start and $50 per month, so Cruise Brothers is a wonder compared. It also gives you access to lots of training and my team leader John has been very supportive and gets back to me with my many questions in a timely manner. I am very happy with this company.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  12. Jan R
    September 12, 2013 at 3:08 pm #
    24 / 25 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    For the most part, Cruise Brothers has been a good place to learn all about selling cruises. I did pay for the website, but honestly no one has ever booked a cruise with me using their booking engine. If you want a website, I recommend starting with a free blog-type, like WordPress. I built up a website from there, and after two years, purchased my own domain. With your own domain, you have the freedom to advertise on it, right reviews, post photos, and customize it any way you like. It turned out to be much more useful than the CB website.

    Then, the best way to book cruises is to learn and use the booking tools of the various cruise agent booking sites. Cruise Brothers provides all the links to the cruise and land companies, hotel booking site, their insurance booking tool, and everything else you need. My sales manager has always been good about answering my questions in a timely manner. Many webinars and audio-recorded meetings are available all the time, are good learning tools, and agents are encouraged to use them.

    On the downside, their website and booking engine is a little archaic compared to most and could use some updating. I wish their outside agent commission was higher, as I feel I am not adequately compensated for the amount of time I spend researching, booking and following up regularly with my clients. Lastly, while I like to make final payment myself directly to the cruiseline, CB is adamant that agents make payment directly with their accounting department. It sometimes takes a week or longer for CB to get a simple credit card payment to the vendor, whereas when I call the vendor myself, payment is made within 24 hours.

    Nevertheless, your experience and success with any host agency really does depend on how hard you are willing to work. It takes a long time to build up a client base, so give it time.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  13. Ashlee
    September 6, 2013 at 11:42 pm #
    33 / 35 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have had nothing but an amazing experience since I starting working as an at home agent with Cruise Brothers. David has answered both my questions and phone calls right away. You definitatly do not need to purchase a website. You can book cruises through the home agent sight. I am now starting to sell lots more after i started exploring the tools and signed up for the passwords for the different links on the home cruise site. You can sell tons of packages to Hawaii, Mexico, Europe ect. I was told I will get a free Princess cruise from Princess Cruises as soon as I finish my online classes on their site. Register with Princess as a Cruise Brothers agent and you are on your way. I’m finishing my classes this weekend. I am also register to be a Disney agent. There are a ton of tools and opportunities if you ask. Disney offers discounts and a free Disneyland ticket after you complete your online classes on the Disney travel agent site. A great big thumbs up from me for Cruise Brothers!
    Ashlee Dasilva
    Cruise Brothers
    Ashlee. Cruisebrothers.com

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  14. Sara
    April 12, 2013 at 5:57 pm #
    16 / 16 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been with Cruise Brothers for about a year now. I have the best team leader you could ask for. She provided me with the best training. She and the people at Cruise Brothers Headquarters have helped me tremendously with my decision to start a new career ti become a travel agent. They are great.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  15. Sara Rodriguez
    December 21, 2012 at 8:36 am #
    10 / 21 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I am gaining a great deal of knowledge about the agencies and travel partners that they represent. I haven’t sold a thing. I signed up in September of 2012 and it’s now the end of December 2012.

    My ability to pay $50 to the State of Florida to sign up as a “seller of travel” as the DBPR agent that spoke to me on the phone insisted has been restricted through no effort of my own.
    I do not understand how nor why I have been restricted in this manner, but really would appreciate having the light shined on this ghost.

    If you have other questions, please let me know. I am open to communication and still kicking in the ocean of would be travel agents.

    Sincerely,

    Sara Rodriguez

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  16. Bruce Porter
    December 14, 2012 at 6:03 pm #
    15 / 15 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I’ve been very fortunate with the assistance that I’ve received with The Cruise Brothers. I attend the weekly classes online and have done a LOT of studying through the use of their resources.
    My team leader has been very helpful any time I’ve had questions with timely responses and assisting me as needed. Not sure what other reviewers were expecting, but if you develop a good foundation and gain experience slowly, I see good success as a very realistic outcome of YOUR work and their expertise. Anything worthwhile takes work, study and time. You can work as little or as hard as your time allows, and reap the rewards accordingly.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  17. FL Agent
    October 11, 2012 at 8:56 am #
    15 / 16 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    We signed up with CB in the Spring and so far have had a good experience. We paid for the website, but don’t use it that much. Our contact person has been a great help and anytime we’ve had questions or needed help, he has given an immediate response and the matter handled right away.
    The initial training webinar was informative and did not seem like a sales pitch at all, as others have mentioned.
    This is our second experience with a hosting agency. First time turned out to be mostly an MLM program. So far we are happy doing our own marketing and booking, just using the host agency to gain access to the booking sites with no monthly fee. Has worked well so far and CB has been supportive to us.
    Some things in the agent resource site and the main CB website seem rather “clunky.” I wish there was some sort of online access to your current sales account so you could see what you have pending. There may be, but I have not yet found it and plan to ask about this. I think other host agencies may organize this better, but again… it’s what you get for free.
    I would recommend this host agency if you’re looking for a “free” experience to get started.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  18. Jacqueline Rocco
    October 1, 2012 at 7:42 am #
    10 / 12 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I just joined with Cruise Brothers and so far I have been having the opposite experience from what everyone here has had. The gentleman whom I speak with is doing a training session with me this Wednesday and he responds to me right away either by phone or email even on weekends. Now I have paid for the site yet but I’m going to give it a little time. I just don’t want to pay $100 for a site until I see how things go. I was told I don’t have to have the site in order to book. I haven’t paid for a site yet. But, I plan to depending on how training goes and other things. He didn’t push it. My rating is based on my experience so far. I have my contract at home that says what they charge for the website so they can’t do something else. If things don’t go we’ll with training on Wednesday or something comes up that I don’t like then ill be back to change my review. But, so far everything has been fine- very helpful quick replies. Good luck to everyone. I know their customers/clients give them great reviews

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  19. genia
    June 10, 2012 at 8:01 pm #
    17 / 30 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    get no help at all..stranded . i had some Spanish speaking clients,so i ask could some one help me book and i will share the commission,they were rude told me i am on my own,and so i turned the client to someone there who spoke Spanish..she never thanked me,or anything..

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  20. Erik Bauman
    May 31, 2012 at 10:14 pm #
    13 / 31 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I signed up with Cruise Brothers because there was no initial sign-up fee. Other than that… nothing good to say.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I was previously hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  21. Steve Barone
    May 15, 2012 at 3:09 am #
    29 / 42 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    This host was a waste of time and energy. It took so long to get signed up only because everyone there could not get organized enough. They gave me a number to call and told me to call and “inside manager” and when I called asking for that, they didn’t even know what that was. There was no training on how to work with them. The online seminar was just a sales pitch. They claimed to have an agent forum, but it was closed and they had no plans to open it to agents. They said you can get a website for a certain price, but when you try to get it the price was at a higher price. They said they would fix that, but after 1 month of no training, not being to get a hold of anyone, and complete frustration. I just went somewhere else. I would avoid them, there are so many more hosts out there that really provide for you.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I was previously hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    • Ronda
      July 26, 2012 at 2:08 pm #
      22 / 31 found this review helpful.

      Thanks for the review. I saw their ad posted on CL and called them, and now the rep has called and emailed me every day since. But my gut was telling me to wait. I am so glad I did. Out of all the hosts I have reviewed so far on this site, they are the only one with one star…

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

Review this Host Agency

Click stars below to rate.
Rating
 
 

Help us get rid of spam by filling out our Captcha! *