Your Travel Center, Inc. Reviews

(24 reviews)
3329 State Street
Santa Barbara, CA 93105
805.456.2545
[email protected]
"Our site is a free resource intended to help agents find a host agency. If we helped out, please pass along the kindness and let host agencies know our site helped in your decision making process." - Steph

Host Agency Details

Affiliations:
Frosch Travel Group, Virtuoso
2015 Sales:
$50-99.9 million
Host Type:
Hybrid (Host & Travel Agency)
Accepting:
Experienced Agents
Members Of:
ARC, ASTA, CLIA, IATA, PATH
# of Contractors:
100-249
GDS:
Amadeus, Apollo, Sabre, Worldspan

About Your Travel Center, Inc.

Your Travel Center host agency has been in the travel industry for over 40 years. They offer multiple GDSs for their homed based travel agents as well as upfront commissions with many airlines.

Agents joining Your Travel Center, Inc. have the unique opportunity to have access to Your Travel Center’s sister company, Montecito Village Travel and their benefits.

There is a start up fee of $125 that is refundable after certain sales goals are met. Home based agents will have access into co-op marketing dollars, exclusive vendor pricing, and cutting edge technology such as QC programs, corporate reporting, online booking engine, and Clientbase Plus.

Your Travel Center host agency brings added value in their multiple affiliations: Frosch Travel Group and Virtuoso

Your Travel Center, Inc.4.7916666666724

Learn More

Your Travel Center, Inc. Reviews

24 Reviews for “Your Travel Center, Inc.”

  1. Elizabeth Johnsen
    February 2, 2017 at 1:49 pm #
    5 / 5 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have over 35 years of travel industry experience. I’ve spent most of my tenure working for major suppliers. Travel agents were my bread and butter. 14 months ago, I filled a lifelong dream to open my own travel company after years of guiding friends and family with their travel. I have never looked back. I worked closely with the Montecito Village Travel executives throughout much of my career and so it was a very natural fit for me to become an IC with MVT. When a long time travel agency owner, friend and colleague realized I was 100% serious about my business, she suggested I speak with MVT about joining the MVT Host family. It was seamless. My strengths are in building relationships, selling and creative marketing. My skills were not on the inner working of a travel agency. Back-office and procedures did not come easy. The MVT team from the top down are incredibly supportive. I can pick up the phone or send an email and no question is too small. I get to contribute. I learn, I ask questions and I receive top commissions and access to new suppliers and promotions. I feel as if I have the Fast Pass at Disneyland! I have learned so much this past year and I am so motivated to be the BEST with the incentives in place. I recommend MVT as a natural choice to other suppliers thinking about making the cross over that I did. I never even thought about looking at another affiliation (even though I know most of them). For me, MVT is my best choice. I am supported with Training, Technology, Marketing, Networking with piers, and Accounting. MVT cares about my success and they rally me on with support and equal excitement. I am grateful!

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  2. Lisa Gilliatt, Elite Travel
    January 13, 2016 at 2:39 pm #
    4 / 4 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    After working in a brick and mortar agency for 25+ years, YTC made the transition to becoming a home based agent extremely easy. I appreciate the learning opportunities, availability of technology, and the ability to reach out with questions and for support.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  3. Sue Doyle
    January 8, 2016 at 2:57 pm #
    4 / 4 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been a travel agent for 30 plus years and the last ten with Your Travel Center. The contracts they offer are spectacular and the support from owners and staff is unparalleled. I wouldn’t want to be anywhere else.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  4. David Kohl
    January 7, 2016 at 2:48 pm #
    6 / 7 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    YTC is the third agency that I have been associated with and have been working as an independent/home based agent for over 10 years. The friendliness, support and commission level is unsurpassed in the travel business. While home based, my home is less than ten miles from the retail agency and I will often stop by just to say hello and occasionally to back up one of the office agents. I am officially known as the kibbitzer in chief. Not only is the support for independents 5*****, but in addition the knowledge of the travel industry by other agents is outstanding and they are always willing to share that knowledge with others. The management team is supportive and the technical assistance is incredibly strong as well.

    I would be more than happy to speak with anyone who is considering joining the YTC team.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  5. Carol Kirby
    January 7, 2016 at 12:39 am #
    7 / 8 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I appreciate YTC FOR SO MANY REASONS. MOST OF ALL THE KNOWLEDGE OF OUR TEAM, THE PATIENCE THEY EXHIBIT, THE RESOURCES
    THAT ARE AVAILABLE TO US. THIS IS THE BEST HOST AGENCY IN THE
    INDUSTRY. AND I AM PROUD TO BE A INDEPENDENT CONTRACTOR
    WITH YTC. THANK YOU, THANK YOU.

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  6. KAREN ENSIGN
    January 6, 2016 at 7:42 pm #
    4 / 4 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Your Travel Center provides superb accounting and technical assistance, always in a timely and friendly manner. This host agency also encourages agents to continue to improve their skills by providing in-house webinars and training.

    I’ve been a travel agent since 1985 and with YTC since 1999, as an agent, a manager and an independent contractor. Throughout that time I’ve always felt that YTC had my best interests at heart and has wanted my success almost as much as I want it myself!

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  7. Sandy Thomas
    January 6, 2016 at 5:35 pm #
    2 / 2 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Having been in travel for over 20 years (and always as an independent agent) has given me a chance to work with a few agencies in the same capacity. MVT/YVT has the best vendor and air contracts of any, which has provided me with the highest commissions as well a depth of choice. They also have a great support staff which is immediately there when needed.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  8. Mary C. Kramer Ph.D.
    January 6, 2016 at 4:37 pm #
    3 / 3 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    My experience in working with Montecito Village Travel my Host agency, under the umbrella of Your Travel Center has been very positive and productive.
    All do, is a family owned company, each member of the family conduct business very professional; and work diligently on attaining an array of Premium vendors and services to help us grow our business.
    We are provided with a numerous amount of training to educate us on all aspects of this industry, so that we can sell our clients any or all travel products with confidence and successfully.
    The internal support of this agency is one of the best I have ever experienced –but most importantly to me, is the exact and timely accountability of commissions and expenses pertinent to the Independent Contractor.
    And as a bonus to all this –is to be able to work as a TEAM with a group of Inside Agents and Independent Contractors that cares about you.
    Thanks for allowing me to write this review – great company to be affiliated with!
    Mary C. Kramer Ph.D.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  9. Dianne Herschelman
    January 6, 2016 at 3:41 pm #
    Rating

    I am associated with both YTC and MVT and appreciate the support. YTC purchased the Arizona offices in Tempe and Sun City West that I had previously been associated with and it was beneficial to me. Having someone negotiate contracts is helpful both to me as an agent and to my clients. The accounting department is extremely efficient in posting commissions and monthly payments and giving timely answers to inquiries.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  10. LINDA KAVANAGH
    January 6, 2016 at 3:25 pm #
    Rating

    This host agency I find very progressive in commission contracts, proactive in ongoing education and the accounting department is spot on and very easy to work with. Support staff is amazing.
    I have worked as an independent with this agency since 1994 when the concept first started emerging from 5 retail offices within the city and designing procedures for agents to work remotely. I have been satisfied through out the years with the results. My previous career entailed manager of travel offices and director of travel school so I have had plenty of experience dealing with the industry changes and this host seems to keep abreast of future trends.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  11. Julieanne Kohn
    January 6, 2016 at 3:10 pm #
    Rating

    I have been an agent since 1970 and have worked for some huge firms. I have also owned my own agency with 9 -10 employees for about 10 years. I have only been affiliated with this host for a short time. Every time I need any help on the way they do things, it is always given promptly. This allows me a wide selection of companies to use for my client’s needs.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  12. Susan Boehnstedt
    January 6, 2016 at 3:01 pm #
    Rating

    I am affiliated with YTC now since 2006, but not hosted by them. That was one of the main reasons I joined, to keep my own agency independent but be able to take advantage of many of the wonderful perks I don’t have access to as a small business owner. The team is great, response time generally very quick, everyone on the team is friendly and easy to work with, passionate about what they do and super hard working. Commissions are great, marketing tools excellent and overall a very professional and fun organization to be a part of. My business has grown substantially by many of the tools and benefits I get through my affiliation with YTC! I highly recommend them and am happy to share more in detail via phone or email.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  13. Deb Shilaos
    January 6, 2016 at 2:28 pm #
    Rating

    I have been in the travel industry as a travel advisor for 32 years! Your Travel Center is my 4th host agency and I’ve been with them for over 10 years. YTC lets me run my own business and offers wonderful support when I need it. They are friendly and fun! Their supplier contacts and contracts are second to none. I am very happy with YTC and highly recommend YTC as a host agency.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  14. Elizabeth Johnsen
    January 6, 2016 at 2:21 pm #
    1 / 1 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    i recently joined Montecito Village Travel as an Independent Contractor after 36 years in the travel Industry. I primarily served in management positions with a range of Suppliers and travel agents were my world. Well, now I am filling a dream and becoming my own business as a travel advisor. Travel is a passion and helping people fill their dreams is rewarding.

    I am appreciate of the initial outreach and support by the entire team. Thank you!

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  15. Tressa Alioth
    January 6, 2016 at 2:18 pm #
    Rating

    I love the travel industry but work full time, so I love the flexibility that I have working as an independent contractor for Travel Leaders. Anytime I need support I receive an email back immediately. This has been the best part time job I have ever held with a company.

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  16. Julie Welch/Amaze Travel
    October 15, 2014 at 2:27 pm #
    38 / 41 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Being new to the travel industry we interviewed many host agencies and YTC was the clear choice! They are greatly respected throughout the industry and that has earned us legitimacy by affiliation. The operations support is fantastic providing everything from CRM and Accounting to Air-Desk and Insurance and other administrative guidance. YTC’s rare combination of affiliations with both Travel Leaders/Tzell and Virtuoso has allowed us to maximize commissions (even on air) while still providing the luxury amenities our clients expect. Their commission structure is the best I’ve seen out there, and that is on top of their high preferred partner rates. For us it isn’t completely about the dollar signs, we wanted to be sure we paired up with a host that is in line with our vision and mission and supports how we want to present ourselves to the world. With YTC we also feel as if we are part of a family company. The culture is always welcoming and friendly and we are proud to be affiliated with YTC.

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  17. Bonnie Peterson
    March 31, 2014 at 12:36 pm #
    15 / 17 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been in the travel industry for over 25 years having have been employed by several independent agencies as well as one hosted agency.

    I made the decision to go home-based as an Independent Contractor for Your Travel Center about 18 months ago. I was extremely anxious about making such a move but in hind-sight it has been one of the best career decisions I have ever made. The YTC team has been wonderful!

    Not only are the YTC staff members knowledgeable and supportive but the team operates as a family and are so friendly, caring and helpful. The staff had such patience with me while I was learning new procedures and accounting practices.

    The other great advantage of being part of the YTC family team is the fact that they have some of the largest commission structures in the industry as a result of their many contracts and affiliations. I am very pleased with my decision to join YTC as it has been a very positive and profitable experience for me.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  18. Susan Boehnstedt, Critics Choice Vacations
    March 27, 2014 at 10:12 am #
    5 / 7 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been in the travel business for over 25+ years. I have owned my own agency since 2002. I joined YTC in 2007 and have had no regrets. YTC has an excellent in-house support network who really care and are quick to respond. YTC offers a host of value and suppliers/commissions that an “on your own” agency does not have the time or network to set up. It’s been a win-win from the start and I can only recommend becoming an IC with YTC. I look forward to a continued and growing strong relationship in the future.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  19. Craig Buck / Travel Masters
    March 26, 2014 at 9:42 am #
    12 / 12 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I’ve been in travel for over 30 years and previously owned multiple agencies. Having been a high-end, luxury travel independent contractor for 20 years now, I can tell you that YTC has the best host agency program I’ve ever experienced. The range of resources like mulitple GDS platforms, their collection of exclusive lux hotel programs, THE best air commissions in the industry, and Virtuoso membership, – would normally require IC association with several hosts. YTC consolidates the best under one management group. All of this plus a dedicated support staff that is the best I’ve worked with. Having gone through 4 host agencies before coming to YTC, I’ve been a YTC fan now for over 10 years!

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  20. Larry Hauk
    March 26, 2014 at 12:28 am #
    8 / 9 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    They have a tremendous support team in place. This is our second year in the business and feel that it will be tremendous as with the programs and help Your Travel Center. It was a pleasure from the beginning to the present with all encounters. If you are looking for a great Home Based Agency to join then this is the one for you no matter what your experience level is.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  21. Susan "Smitty" Price
    March 25, 2014 at 11:39 pm #
    6 / 6 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been in the travel business since 2006. This is my third agency and I have been with Your Travel Center/Montecito Village Travel since 2007. Since I work from home and the main office is about 100 miles away, its good that I can continue my training through the various webinars available. Since I specialize in cruises only, the commissions paid on those is one of the highest in the industry and our cruise reps are just the BEST! They are always available to me grow MY business. If I have any challenges, the staff is always there to help me out. They make selling travel easy.

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  22. LISA PINCZEWSKI-SWEET
    March 25, 2014 at 5:35 pm #
    4 / 4 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Working with YTC was scary in the beginning as they bought an agency I worked for and we didn’t know what to expect. However, the experience has been a good one. The company’s owner Colin and his wife, Brenda and son, Chris have always treated everyone like family. All the support staff are very reliable, caring and great as they will work with you to help you with whatever you need in a host agency. I have been with YTC for 10yrs now, with the last 9 being home-based with great results. I have nothing but rave reviews about YTC and their lucrative air contracts combined with unparalleled leisure vendors, high commissions and the best support staff in the business! Thank you YTC!!

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  23. Jane Giffin
    September 19, 2012 at 5:28 pm #
    4 / 5 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been associated with YTC for a number of years and have enjoyed
    the experience. The agents are well trained and a joy to work with. I have had a lot of interaction with Colin Weatherhead, owner of YTC and found him to be always caring and concerned for the employees and clients.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  24. Jane Scarcello
    September 19, 2012 at 5:08 pm #
    6 / 7 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have worked for 3 travel agencies throughout my career and this is the first agency that has fantastic air contracts with high commissions combined with unparalleled leisure vendors. This gives me a wide selection of companies to choose from that give a terrific product and pay the travel agent handsomely. Also, the support staff at YTC is very responsive and caring.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

Review this Host Agency

Click stars below to rate.
Rating
 
 

Help us get rid of spam by filling out our Captcha! *

6 Shares
Share6
+1
Tweet
Share