Montrose Travel Reviews

(52 reviews)
2349 Honolulu Ave.
Montrose, CA 91020
800.870.5799
mmorgan@montrosetravel.com
"Our site is a free resource intended to help agents find a host agency. If we helped out, please pass along the kindness and let host agencies know our site helped in your decision making process." - Steph

Host Agency Details

Affiliations:
Virtuoso
2015 Sales:
$100 million+
Host Type:
Hybrid (Host & Travel Agency)
Accepting:
Beginner Agents, Experienced Agents
Members Of:
ARC, ASTA, BBB, CLIA, IATA, NACTA, OSSN, PATH
# of Contractors:
250-499
GDS:
Apollo

About Montrose Travel

Our History

Established as a small storefront travel agency in 1956, Leora and Joe McClure, Sr. bought Montrose Travel in 1972 as their retirement career. They raised their children, Andi and Joe, Jr., in the industry, exposing them to many jobs ranging from working in the brochure room to becoming front line agents and account executives.

In 1990, Andi, Joe and Joe’s wife Julie purchased Montrose Travel from their parents. Together the trio grew Montrose Travel even throughout multiple recessions, turning their parents’ small-town agency to a $300 million company by 2015. In 2016, we became part of the Corporate Travel Management (CTM) family, significantly increasing our buying power and clout in the travel industry. Today, we remain 100% debt-free and proudly family-operated.

 

Our Programs

We offer four program levels depending on a person’s experience, including:

  • Core business development/sales support team to provide personalized mentoring and support
  • Up to 90% commission
  • Award-winning live training program
  • Our industry leading Private Labeled Consumer Website with online booking and customizable features
  • Agent Connex back-office portal
  • Errors & Omissions insurance
  • Client Connex powered by ClientBase e-marketing tool
  • Direct deposit
  • Access to leisure, corporate and group products/programs as well as significant airline contracts
  • One low annual fee with no required monthly fees – no nickel-and-diming

Our Difference

Our company culture is devoted to a deeply supportive, family-focused environment. As both a host and retail travel agency, we have 6 in-house divisions to provide expert support. We can even provide back-up for you if you’re out sick, on vacation, or handling a large account.

Each program and service we create is designed chiefly on the feedback we receive from our agents. This allows us to provide a truly unique, progressive hosting program for agents of all experience levels. We are wholly committed to developing personal relationships with our agents, and many have been with us for over 25 years.

 

Join the Montrose Travel Family

With zero debt on our balance sheet, Montrose Travel remains one of the healthiest and most respected travel companies in the country today. We are reputable, financially stable and in it for the long haul. Whether you’re brand new or an experienced agent, we welcome any passionate, serious travel entrepreneur to join our family and partake in our shared success.

Montrose Travel4.813725490251

Learn More

Montrose Travel Reviews

52 Reviews for “Montrose Travel”

  1. Cindi Hanson
    December 9, 2016 at 8:35 am #
    5 / 5 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been with MTravel for almost 5 years. I chose them as a hosting agency because of their reputation in the industry. Montrose Travel is a solvent, family owned company that is deeply invested in their hosting program. Their support agents are awesome and very helpful. They offer unlimited training on our preferred suppliers. I have been in the travel industry over 20 years doing both leisure and corporate travel. When I signed on with MTravel I focused on the leisure side and have since added corporate travel management to my business. I have full support from MTravel and their help has been amazing! They offer the most current technology so we run our businesses smoothly. We have amazing consortium parthers with Ensemble Travel and Radius Travel. MTravel has yearly conferences and the training is phenomenal! We go to different destinations every year so we can see for ourselves what there is to offer. I cannot say enough good things about MTravel. I look forward to many more years of working with them.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  2. Renae Whitt
    August 5, 2016 at 12:05 am #
    20 / 20 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I decided to join Montrose Travel as an agent based on what I had read about the company however, I was not completely sure of what I was getting myself into. After three months as an agent hosted by Montrose Travel, I feel they have exceeded my expectations of quality support, training and service. The staff is friendly and eager to help me succeed. I highly recommend Montrose Travel to anyone interested in becoming a travel professional.

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  3. Phyllis Kenton Brown
    June 3, 2016 at 1:34 pm #
    7 / 7 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Support……….SUPPORT! This is a major reason to consider Montrose Travel as your host agency. I recently suffered through a one year plan and execute group departure to Europe. Jinxed from the start, I have never had to depend on a support team as I did this time. Even on the trip there were issues in which I had to have help. Thank you from the heart Montrose Travel Support Team you were there for me. As a 35-year full-time agent, I must say KUDOS to all of you…….GOOD JOB!

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  4. Lisa Violette
    April 8, 2016 at 9:31 am #
    22 / 22 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I am brand new to the travel industry other than the traveling that I have done or booked in the last 25 years. I am so very pleased with my decision to become part of the Motrose Travel family. I did a lot of research to see which of the host companies fit my personality best. I have finished my Jump Start program and Montrose has been with me every step of the way. At the drop of a hat I can call and get the the information that I need or the help that I need. If you are thinking about going into the travel business I highly recommend Montrose Travel!!!

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  5. Zena Randolph
    March 31, 2016 at 4:06 pm #
    7 / 7 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I joined the Montrose Family through my sister Jamie Carroll about a year ago. I came with nearly 5 years of travel experience and a sincere passion for the industry. The Montrose team is extremely supportive, energetic, responsive and professional. It has been a real pleasure to be a part of this family. The staff at Montrose are extremely caring and want to see you succeed! This is a superb host agency and I highly recommend them. You’ll receive the tools, resources, training opportunities, phone support just to name a few benefits. Try them, you love them.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  6. Kris A. Johnson
    March 31, 2016 at 10:56 am #
    9 / 9 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I joined Montrose Travel about 5 months ago after having been with another Host for about a year. Montrose has been amazing in their support of this “Newbie”. They answer all my questions without hesitation. Their guidance for someone who has very little experience in the Travel Industry is unsurpassed. I cannot thank everyone at Montrose Travel enough for all they have done, and continue to do for me; especially their patience with me as I make my way through all this learning. My confidence in selling travel has greatly increased since joining the MT Team. I wish I had come to Montrose Travel as my Host first, but we learn by the mistakes we make.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  7. Laurie Jelinek
    March 29, 2016 at 6:35 pm #
    10 / 10 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been a home based agent with Montrose for over 4 years. I was with another host agency before, and am really glad I made the change. Montrose is super to work with…they are always willing to help with any questions, large or small. Their training is wonderful, and I’ve learned so much from their expertise! So many doors are opened because you work with Montrose. This last September, I was honored with a Fam Trip to England. This was all made possible by being affiliated with Montrose Travel. They are very well respected in the Travel Industry. If you are thinking of becoming a travel agent, I highly recommend using them for your Host Company. I don’t plan on ever looking elsewhere!

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  8. Mary Smithmyer
    March 29, 2016 at 1:06 pm #
    6 / 6 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been working with Montrose for about 3 years in a part time capacity. This year I had the opportunity for a group traveling to Australia, which I thought was WAY beyond my capabilities, but with the help of the Montrose support team and Andi herself we were able to get everything done. I am especially impressed with how quickly they respond to questions and the personal attention that they give. I am so glad I found them.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  9. Cheryl Greene-Cohen
    March 28, 2016 at 11:21 am #
    5 / 5 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Hi, I’ve been with Montrose Travel since September 2014. It has been an amazing experience working with them thus far. I was completely new to the world of being a travel agent. Their archived trainings are comprehensive and the support team is incredible. I call and email often for assistance in so many areas. They always work hard to help in any way possible. I’ve attended many local supplier events with the support team and have gotten to know them well. They will give as much or as little assistance as needed. They are truly highly respected by all the suppliers and you are personally treated well as a result. Montrose Travel treats you like family. I could not of asked for a better Host agency!!! I highly recommend giving them a whirl. I LOVE my new career thanks to Montrose.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  10. Dianne W
    March 24, 2016 at 11:15 am #
    10 / 10 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been a home based agent with Montrose Travel for two and a half years now. My first career is in the legal profession. Researching and planning travel for myself and my friends and relatives was what I did in my spare time for fun. When I first joined MTravel, I was hoping it would give me some discounts and opportunities for travel for myself and my friends and relatives who travel. It provided those things and so much more. MTravel provided the training and support I needed to grow my travel business beyond my wildest dreams. Attending the Montrose Annual Training Conferences was very beneficial. I met some of the greatest people I have ever known…people who work for Montrose support and supplier representatives and fellow home based agents. I feel honored and privileged to be a part of the Montrose Travel Family.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  11. Kathleen Campbell
    June 1, 2015 at 1:08 pm #
    24 / 25 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    If you are serious about being in the Travel Industry, MTravel/Montrose is the host for you.

    We became affiliates of Montrose Travel in January 2009 and have never looked back. Montrose provides its home based agents with a seamless shadow infrastructure that make you look like a star and allows you to compete with the biggies. With MT you get the best training, the best support, the best peer-to-peer communication, the best suppliers…and more. If you are an new aspiring Travel Agent, they have the most informed and reliable support staff to assist with your business development every step of the way. This same staff is equaly ready and prepared to come to the aid of the more experienced agents should the need arise. If you a are super experienced TA, Mtravel does not get in your way with needless bureaucracy.

    Yes, Mtravel is the ultimate end-to-end solution for anyone who either has or is aspiring to have his/her own travel business. Montrose differentiates themselves because they not only provide hosting services flawlessly they do it in a personal and caring way. When you call, you get a person on the phone, a person who is knowledgeable and responsive. When you reach out there is always a hand to reach back. No hosting agency compares; you will never regret the decision to partner with MTravel.

    When, not if, you join the Montrose family, make attending the annual conference your first priority—it will be your second best decision.

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  12. Quinda Mann
    April 16, 2015 at 1:04 pm #
    18 / 19 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have just celebrated my one year anniversary as an HBA with Montrose. I am so pleased I chose them as my host agency. I researched for a while and asked questions before I made my decision. Montrose provides awesome training for all of us to take advantage of. The staff responds back quickly with answers to questions. look forward to many years with them.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  13. Judy
    April 14, 2015 at 6:18 pm #
    16 / 16 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I spent many years as a corporate agent before taking some time away from the industry to do other things. When I decided I wanted to get back into travel, the independent contractor model really appealed to me – no more working for someone else! I signed on initially with another host, based on the recommendation of someone I knew who had been with them for years. I quickly realized that they were not a good fit for me, so I ended my relationship with them and started over again. Montrose kept coming up to the top of the list as I researched, and when I had my initial chat with Andi I knew I had found the right place. I have now been with Montrose for more than 5 years, and have been extremely happy with all aspects: the people, the support, the technology, and the training. The one thing I worried about, going into business for myself, was that I would feel isolated, but that has most definitely not been the case. From day 1 I have totally felt like a member of the Montrose family, and I have a fabulous group of colleagues in both the Montrose staff and my fellow ICs who are always there to give advice, high fives, and support. The annual training conference is always incredibly motivating, as well as being a lot of fun! All in all, it has been a great choice for me.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  14. Elaine Zervos
    April 14, 2015 at 4:51 pm #
    9 / 10 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I am about to celebrate my 6th year with Montrose Travel! Back in 2009 I was looking for a new host agency that could offer more than my previous one did. I wanted more technology, more training and I wanted to make more commission, From just one phone call with Andi I knew I had made the right decision.

    The only issue I thought I would have as a home based agent in NJ (MT is based in CA) was long delays with receiving travel documents. Truth is I receive my travel documents almost a month ahead of schedule and the last host agency was based in NJ and I was lucky if I received my docs a week before they traveled. Over the years they have tweaked their business hours so I have not had any issues with being on the East Coast.

    Since day one Montrose has always looked to make improvements, and they really want to give you the tools to help you succeed, you can’t really ask for more than that.

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  15. Jackie S
    April 14, 2015 at 2:39 pm #
    8 / 8 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Couldn’t be happier with the support provided by Montrose. They are diligent about answering questions and making sure training is available. I also love that they belong to Ensemble. Provides larger commission for me and great amenities for my clients. That is a win-win! The split is generous and fare for the amount of support you get. Professional and cheerful staff too.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  16. Wendy Cannarile
    April 14, 2015 at 2:10 pm #
    4 / 4 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I am starting my 6th year with Montrose Travel. I did a lot of research before joining Montrose Travel and have always thought I made the best decision. Their support, resources and relationship with top travel suppliers is fantastic! I received top notch training either via live webinars or in their vast archives library which made it easy for me to view at my convenience. Every year we fill out surveys where we are encouraged to give suggestions on what more they could do to help us make our agencies a success. Montrose Travel really listens and cares about their HBA’s. In my opinion, Montrose Travel is hands down, a 5 star host agency!

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  17. Rosemary Yaw
    April 14, 2015 at 11:27 am #
    5 / 5 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been with Montrose Travel since 2010 and have enjoyed their valuable help and knowledge with the travel field.

    They are a very informative agency, the training and knowledge of all the agents that help the home based agents is incredible. I have learned a lot from them and continue to learn everyday.

    I would definitely encourage anyone that is looking for a host agency to join Montrose Travel, you will not regret your decision to do so.

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  18. Margie
    December 12, 2014 at 10:05 pm #
    56 / 56 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Finding a host was very difficult. This comprehensive review site helped me a lot while doing research. I have never been a travel agent so lacking experience in this field, it was confusing to find the right agency. I finally chose Montrose because of the booking engine with really competitive prices located on the Website. I’ve only been here a month, but the training (free) is good, and the marketing program (free) seems to be superior. I like the fact that there are no additional fees for Website or marketing. Whenever I call in, the support team is great and helpful. I’ve only scratched the surface but I feel I made the right decision.

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  19. DeJa K. Johnson
    October 18, 2013 at 3:19 pm #
    39 / 42 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    It has only been a week since I joined the Montrose host agency and I already feel like a part of the family. Like many others before me on this site, I researched my other options thoroughly before deciding on Montrose. It was my encounters with Emily, even before I joined, that made me feel like I could trust what Montrose was telling me. For every question, there was an answer. For every answer, there was evidence that showed that what Montrose claims on their website is accurate. They have been extremely helpful to me, thus far. Not only are they professional, prompt and patient, but they ALL are really nice! You can tell, just from the sound of their voices, that they LOVE what they do. I look forward to being in partnership with Montrose for years to come. And I would encourage anyone who is trying to make a decision today, to definately consider and then CHOOSE Montrose Travel.

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  20. Caren
    October 16, 2013 at 9:07 am #
    17 / 18 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I attended my very first annual educational conference with Montrose and it was amazing! There were times I felt overwhelmed but I took away key tips that I could actually implement on how to build my clientele. It was also an opportunity to meet the wonderful support staff at Montrose who aids you every day. The teaching format was both classroom style and round table giving you an opportunity to have some personal quality time with travel partners.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  21. ronald reeker
    October 16, 2013 at 5:25 am #
    14 / 14 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I am a new agent with Montrose Travel and have been very happy with the company since I joined this exceptional organization. Everyone throughout the entire company has assisted me in one of the best training programs in the travel industry. Their attention to details and answering my questions are outstanding. They treat you like family and are always there when you need them. I recently went to my first conference with Montrose and had the opportunity to meet some of our fellow agents and also to the company support team, and was very impressed with how well run this company really is. This is reflected a thousand times over not only in the company’s success over the past 50 plus years, but especially in the people who are associated with Montrose.
    I would highly recommend this company to anyone who wants to make the travel business their career.
    You can not go wrong with the number one travel agency in the United States MONTROSE.

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  22. Juli
    October 15, 2013 at 7:06 pm #
    11 / 11 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been with Montrose for 5 years now, and one can absolutely NOT find a better, more caring Host Agency on the planet!

    I am still somewhat part-time, and we all know how life can get in the way, but every step of the way, the Montrose Family (including all the other Home Based Agents), are there for you, 110%. The support they offer is beyond exceptional, and when you might bump into a small issue or you are frustrated with something, Andi’s door is ALWAYS open, it’s not just a saying for her.

    We look forward to many years to come with our family!

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  23. Nicole Ott-Yunis
    October 15, 2013 at 6:52 pm #
    19 / 20 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    In my life I have worked in Hotels, all inclusive resorts and now since 2010 I have my “home base Travel agency”.
    I chose Montrose travel as my host travel agency after several months of asking questions and doing research of many Host agencies.
    I couldn’t be happier with my choice, I have seen my business grow and for years They have trained me, taught me, have had a loooot of patience with me. Always there for me with a smile, a kind word and their experience to help me out. Every time after speaking to one of the Home base agents at MT I felt that they had given me their full atention, we found the best alternative, we had solved the situation and I could go ahead and move on and get the booking!
    From Marketing training and tips to supplier training, to finding my niche, my strenghts and my place.

    Today after returning from our Conference in Los Angeles I can only say “WOW”.

    I met 100+ of my fellow agents and their spouses, we had intense training, we met our reps. and suppliers and shared information with them. while sailing onboard the Fabulous Golden Princess.

    Every detail was perfectly timed and organized. Social events were a lot of fun and trainig was rewarding, interesting, and there were a lot of diferent topics and presentations.

    Now we have a LOT of homework and we know whatever happens with our business our Montrose FAMILY will be there with us and for us.

    All the Best!
    Happy Travels
    Nicole

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  24. Litaun Lewis
    July 8, 2013 at 11:37 pm #
    16 / 18 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been with Montrose Travel for 5 years now and I love every moment of being a Home-Based Agent. When I first came onboard, I was welcomed with open arms and have always felt the love that Montrose gives. Montrose truly takes care of their employees, their very family oriented and are just great people to work with. They are very patient and understanding to meeting your needs and getting you familiarized with the procedures and training. If you are looking a winning team, Montrose Travel is the team you want to be on. You all are truly the best and I mean that from bottom of my heart.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  25. Beverly Colar-Credelle
    July 6, 2013 at 12:14 pm #
    38 / 40 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    For over five years I had enjoyed researching and assisting friends and family with booking their travel needs. At that time I had no direct affiliation with the travel industry. In February 2006 it was recommended by a friend that I become a travel agent. Excited to do that I joined the company she was with, which was a network marketing company. I stayed with them for two years and then I switched to another network marketing company that was leading the pack within the multi level marketing travel companies. When that company suffered some harsh legal problems I began to search for host companies that were truly travel agencies. I loved what I learned in the travel industry for the few years I was with the network marketing companies. Although the mlm travel industry is highly frowned upon, I was a member who actually did book travel for clients. I was having fun in the travel industry so I wanted to stick with it. In my search for a new company, Montrose Travel stood out for me. Over the course of six months I researched host agencies and Montrose Travel offered what I was looking for with a home based program for travel agents through their MTravel division. I liked the MTravel tiered commission structure, their extensive training modules, their high recognition in the travel industry, their support to their field agents and their sense of belonging to a family as one of their agents. I became a home based travel agent with Montrose Travel in mid 2011. I have not regretted my decision to affiliate with Montrose Travel for one second. Each time I have needed some assistance they have been available and willing to support me. Just recently I was on vacation and I was contacted by one of my top travel clients, who was in a crisis with travel arrangements I had booked for her. There was a problem with her flights due to the airlines having major delays stemmed from bad weather the night before. I was on the road and not near my files. I placed a called to the support staff, of their MTravel division, and I was immediately assisted. Over the course of a few hours the support staff stuck it out and did all they could to get my client booked with a new flight itinerary while I remotely worked on her other travel arrangements. The support the staff was able to give myself and my client cannot be measured in words. In the end I maintained a happy client and I am forever grateful to Montrose Travel. Although I continue to work my travel business part time, I absolutely love being affiliated with Montrose Travel. I am so very happy that I made the switch for Montrose Travel to be my host company.

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  26. Trudi Frank
    July 5, 2013 at 9:13 am #
    19 / 21 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I joined Montose Travel in 9/2012, when joining you become part of a family, not only is MT here to help but also the independent agents that are apart of this family. I have been in the Travel business 90 & in 93 had a store front, in 96 to cut cost took my business into my home & ran a home office. Now since 2012 & joining MT I have been running my business as a full time RV’er on the road traveling to different states for my husbands work. I have become a true traveling agent, my laptop, IPad & iPhone go everywhere. It is a new world for travel & you can run your business from anywhere & MT is with you at all times.

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  27. Lori Berberian Pelentay
    May 5, 2013 at 8:38 pm #
    20 / 22 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been with Montrose Travel for over five years. I give it my full 5 star approval! I have over 29 years experience in the travel industry, working for a major cruise line, then selling travel through different agencies throughout the years. In 2000 I started my own agency, Kensington Cruises, and tried to do everything myself. When Mtravel started, I became one of their first agents to sign with them and I haven’t regretted it for a minute. Mtravel is there for you every step of the way! Whether you are a beginning travel agent, or experienced travel professional, they have something to offer you. Their training is superb, and support is unmatched. Montrose Travel is one of the most respected travel agencies in the country, and they have exceptional relationships with all of their preferred suppliers, including all of the major cruise lines. Their commissions are top tier, and you have the opportunity to earn the highest commissions in the industry through them. It was more profitable for me to take a commission split with Montrose Travel than it was for me to try and earn the entire commission by myself.

    It feels great knowing you are in business for yourself but not BY yourself; one summer when I was on a cruise, a client had a big problem on a trip they were on. I was unable to be reached, so Montrose Travel handled the problem beautifully for me, rather than let the client suffer. You have a team of professionals behind you, supporting you, recognizing you, training you and inspiring you. As long as I’m in the travel industry, I will be partnering with Montrose Travel!

    Questions? You can reach me through my website, howtosellcruises.com, or cruisewithlori.com.

    Montrose is the host agency of choice for me!

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  28. RONALD REEKER
    May 5, 2013 at 3:47 pm #
    11 / 12 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have recently started a business and partnership with Montrose Travel. I have had a career in the business management, ownership, retail, and marketing fileds for the past 45 years.
    Montrose Travel stands out as one of the best in the travel industry after researching the company during their past over 50 years of successful business operations and debit free status.
    The company’s concentration on customer service, training associates, and striving always to be the best in the travel industry is second to none.
    i would advise anyone who want to make a career in the travel industry to definitely choose Montrose Travel.
    Montrose Travel is “ABOVE AND BEYOND THE REST” without a doubt.
    I look forward many years of successful business association ,since i know they have our best business interest at heart.

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  29. Trisha May
    March 26, 2013 at 2:47 pm #
    25 / 27 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I started with MTravel a little over a year ago with no previous professional experience in the travel industry. After researching for a few months on what the host agencies have to offer, I settled on MTravel, and I have been quite happy with my decision.

    Starting your own business and working from home is difficult, but the support staff at MTravel will help you with every step. They provide training on a wide range of topics to help you get started and to continue the growth of your business. I especially appreciate the Annual Education Conference not only for the learning opportunities and the chance to meet and speak with the suppliers, but also to network with other MTravel home-based agents.

    The relationship they have with many suppliers makes me feel confident in my decision to be an affiliate with MTravel. Knowing I was choosing a host agency with a good reputation and stable business made my decision much easier.
    I think anyone looking for a host agency would find MTravel a welcome place to call home.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  30. Norm
    January 28, 2013 at 12:51 pm #
    5 / 7 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been with Montrose Travel for only a few years and have had a wonderful experience working with this organization. They have always been there for me whenever I had a travel question. Great support team and Montrose provide valuable tools for the home-based travel agent to make use of. Their training program is also an important asset to have as well. If you are considering a host agency for your travel business, I highly recommend MTravel.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  31. Scott
    November 25, 2012 at 8:34 pm #
    10 / 11 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been with Montrose for just short of 4 years and am thoroughly impressed still with the way that Andi Mysza conducts herself, and thus the entire organization with a fantastic blend of professionalism and fun. This is an organization that not only is well respected and does a great job for their ICs, but also fosters a real sense of belonging – truly like a family.

    Above all, they keep it real.

    If you could use sound advice and help along the way from a host agency then I highly recommend Montrose & the MTravel family.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  32. Kerry Mooneyham
    November 24, 2012 at 7:36 am #
    12 / 13 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I just celebrated my first anniversary of my second career with Montrose; I spent 6 months researching my options and in the end it came down to two choices, on paper the other agency was a little more appealing plus they offered a free fam to explore the world every year. It was that undeniable warm and fuzzy “feeling” that has no place on a balance sheet that made choose Montrose Travel. A decision I am grateful for every day of the year. They are highly skilled and knowledgeable and more importantly never hesitate to share that knowledge, the support is fantastic, they answer even the stupidest of questions with grace. They are professional and perhaps most important they exhibit integrity in all business dealings. All the while being more than just a company they are a family without the obnoxious aunt.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  33. Ron Beeman
    November 22, 2012 at 11:49 am #
    9 / 10 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I’ve been in the travel business for 18 months now, though I traveled for business for over 30 years. When I decided to become a travel professional, I did a considerable amount of research about Host Agencies, and Montrose kept coming up with high marks. I decide to join them and am glad I did. Their support is outstanding, and they treat everyone as part of their extended family. I’ve been to 2 of their conferences, and both have been outstanding. Their training is very good, and they have great relationships with all of the major travel industry suppliers, so the pricing and commission structure is very good. I am very happy to be part of the Montrose family as they are committed to my success.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  34. Marlaine
    November 22, 2012 at 2:14 am #
    11 / 12 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I love my job because the walls of my office aren’t windowless off-white pegboard walls. Montrose Travel has allowed me to pursue a career path as a travel professional even though I had no previous experience. They offer technical and educational support, as well as opportunites to learn first-hand. I’ve found that it takes a few years to build repeat and referral client base. But each year adds a stronger sense of confidence in my abilities, thanks to the support I receive from the staff at Montrose.

    It goes without saying that every day is different in travel, but being a travel agent is more than just being able to research a trip and book it online. With Montrose, I have access to preferred suppliers and a consortium that allows me to offer my clients competitve pricing, often with amenities that aren’t available to individuals booking their own trips. I enjoy the challenge of busy days and challenging myself on the slow ones. Montrose Travel makes available a wealth of product and destination knowledge. Knowledge is power, and I love speaking to my clients from firsthand experience,as well as from Montrose’s own training programs. Life is too short not to enjoy what you do…and who you do it with! Montrose is a “family” you can trust with your business.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  35. Liz Russell
    November 21, 2012 at 4:29 pm #
    6 / 7 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been with Montrose for just over 2 years now and I love them! I started with them when I started in the industry but have had such a great experience with them I can’t imagine doing this without them. They are always there when I need support, whether it’s something complicated or a simple request.
    I also really value all of the training opportunities that are provided to us and feel that it has really helped me grow as an agent and increase my sales.
    One of my favorite things about Montrose is the support team. I am very big on customer service and I love how friendly all of them all. They truly care about my success and do everything in their power to help me succeed.
    I love Montrose and am looking forward to a long career with them!

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  36. Marc Rich
    October 22, 2012 at 1:46 pm #
    14 / 15 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    When looking for a host agency for your Home Based business there should be a number factors that come into the equation in your decision making process.

    When I shifted to Montrose a number of years back the things that were at the top of my list were technology, customer service, accountability, and professionalism. From my very first conversations with Andi Myza McClure I realized there was something else that one could expect from Mtravel/Montrose which is caring and considerate humans to interact with. Andi exemplifies what a caring, considerate business owner can be.

    Montose is a second generation organization built by a family and run with good family values. As a result of the way the Joe and Julie Mclure and Andi Myza McClure run their organization, there is a great camaraderie among all the people you come into contact with.

    Montrose has all the major affiliations in the industry and a sterling reputation. The company has many divisions besides the home based travel agent product which gives the home based agent a wealth of resources to help build and run their business including Romance/Honeymoon and corporate.

    Because of the volume of business that Mtravel/Montrose does with the suppliers and providers the pricing to your clients and the commission paid on those sales are some of the best in the industry.

    The technology running both to the consumer and the back office is continually being advanced and this year the company rolled out a proprietary CRM system for client management that is truly amazing.

    If you might be looking toward a career in the industry or perhaps a new host I recommend giving the Mtravel Montrose Travel team a call.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  37. Diane Ross
    October 15, 2012 at 2:02 pm #
    8 / 9 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I’ve been with Montrose for a year and a half. I worked for a “brick and mortar” store a number of years ago and wanted to get back into the industry. My husband and I researched the host agencies thoroughly before selecting Montrose. We’re thrilled with our choice. Montrose is never content to rest on its laurels. Andi and her team are constantly updating technology and training. It’s the best of both worlds. We have the advantage and power of a huge company, but the personal attention one would only expect of a small company. I highly recommend Montrose as a host agency.

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  38. Thelma Pruitt
    October 12, 2012 at 10:28 am #
    13 / 14 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been with Montrose since March. I am new to the industry and honestly say that Montrose has great training and are very supportive.

    I would recommend Montrose to anyone interested in a new host agency. They are very helpful, supportive and responsive to questions.

    I love working with Montrose.

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  39. Michael Figueiredo
    October 11, 2012 at 4:21 pm #
    10 / 11 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I’ve been affiliated with MTravel since April and couldn’t be happier with my decision to join the Montrose Travel family. Their online training, frequent webinars, and support staff have been truly incredible. Whenever I have a question, someone is always available to help me. My home-based travel business continues to flourish and I’m loving my new career helping people find the vacation of their dreams.

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  40. Sandy
    October 11, 2012 at 12:03 pm #
    8 / 9 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been with Montrose for about 6 months coming from another host. I have to say it was a great business decision. The technology Montrose has to run my business is amazing and my clients tell me my consumer booking site is very attractive compared to those “other” sites. The staff is very patient with me when I have to ask the same question twice and they offer tons of training. If you need a refresher, the training is archived for you to view again. They make running a travel business fun. Montrose is a close knit family of travel agents who help each other succeed. No other host agency comes close.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  41. Sherri
    October 11, 2012 at 8:20 am #
    10 / 11 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been an IC with Montrose for almost two months and prior to that I was booking my own travel through online travel sites. I chose Montrose as my Host Agency after reading reviews and having booked business travel through them a few years back.

    As a newbie to booking travel for others I appreciate the training that Montrose offers. If I miss a live session I can easily access training archives. If I have questions I can phone them or email my questions in.

    There is a ton of information available to their agents that it can be a bit overwhelming but Support is available even on Saturdays to answer questions. I am happy I chose Montrose Travel.

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  42. Paula Stelter
    October 10, 2012 at 8:13 pm #
    5 / 6 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have worked for Montrose for only two years. Before that I worked for two of the largest travel companies out there at the time and Montrose is right up top in how well they support me and my business and provide training opportunities. They strive to help their agents become client focused, knowledgeable, organized, and efficient top sellers. They do not stop at ‘good enough’ and continue to accept the challenge of being a top host agency.

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  43. Sue Clark Koenig
    October 10, 2012 at 7:40 pm #
    6 / 7 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    After 7 years in the business with a different host I decided I wanted a host that was moving ahead with current trends and technology. I’ve been with Montrose now for a little over a year and am very happy I made the switch. They really offer pretty much what an agent with any level of experience could want.

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  44. Liz Russell
    October 10, 2012 at 6:38 pm #
    4 / 5 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been with Montrose Travel now for two years and love them. They are always there when I have a question or just need some help. The entire staff is friendly and so supportive. I also feel that their fees are very reasonable for what I get back in return. I couldn’t be happier with my choice!

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  45. Erica James
    October 10, 2012 at 6:35 pm #
    8 / 10 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been with Montrose Travel since I entered into the Travel Industry 4 years ago and I have grown so much because of the attention, support, and confidence that I have gained from being apart of their organization.

    I don’t feel lost within the numbers because I am on the East Coast and they are on the West Coast. I feel so close to them. I have the feeling of being a part of their family.

    They are supportive. They provide excellent training. I don’t think I can ask for anything more. I am happy with my host agency. I love them. They mean so much to me.

    It is more than business, to me, with them….they feel like my family.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  46. Ann Morin
    September 14, 2012 at 4:17 pm #
    16 / 17 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been affiliated with Montrose Travel for six years now. I first received my CTC 20 years ago but opted out of the travel business when my son was born as back then the option to work from home was nonexistent. As my child and the world of technology grew I began to explore the idea of “telecommuting to work” those explorations brought me to Montrose.

    Before signing up I “interviewed” many host agencies and franchises before making my final decision. Probably the defining factor of my selecting MT was Andi. She is direct, upfront and does not try to put a spin on things. I am very comfortable telling her exactly how I feel about situations and don’t feel like she dismisses any of my concerns. Andi is a “hands on” executive who is very approachable which is important to me.

    Working with MT is very easy; they allow you to keep full control of your business while supporting you along the way. Having a strong support system is essential.

    Two recent examples come to mind that exemplify the commitment Montrose has to their outside agents. First,I was recently out of the country and a client of mine needed to be medically evacuated from a cruise ship. I was able to keep in contact with the client while on my vacation as well as with the support team at Montrose. They made sure that she knew they were there for her in the event I could not be reached. Knowing you have coverage is a wonderful thing! The second example was in regards to an issue I had with a supplier. Montrose was able to step in and help resolve it expediently. This included my having a meeting with the CEO of the company which I am certain would never have taken place if I was just a travel agent working on my own. Having a powerhouse behind me helps level the playing field allowing me to “play with the big boys”.

    I am very pleased with my private label website- MT is continually fine tuning and updating it to keep up with the competition. The fees are reasonable and they have an assortment of commission structures to select from. Montrose also has an extensive amount of training available for Novice and Experienced travel professionals with webinars running all time. I am very pleased with my decision to sign with Montrose and expect to be with them for quite a long time.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  47. Barb Lamm
    September 14, 2012 at 12:51 pm #
    3 / 4 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Montrose Travel has been the answer to what I was looking for in a Host Agency about 3 years ago. I can count on them to help me, guide me and teach me. With Montrose I am never alone, but still have complete control over my own “company” When I spoke to Andi the first time I knew I had joined the right “family”

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  48. Susan Davis
    August 2, 2012 at 10:45 pm #
    18 / 19 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    After 26 years in corporate America I “retired” but was not quite ready to be done working being only 50 years old. Having traveled extensively both for business and pleasure and loving planning my travel almost as much as I enjoyed traveling, I decided that starting a home-based travel business would be just the right fit for me. After extensive research on the options out there for me (franchise vs affiliation) I chose Montrose.

    I have been with Montrose for just 3 months, but if things continue as they have been thus far, I expect to be with them for a long time to come. In making my decision to go with Montrose I was impressed with the look and feel of the personalized website and the options provided therein that I get with my affiliation. I was also happy with the low up-front cost for signing on with Montrose with no nickel and diming for additional pieces and parts.

    I realize that I might not be making as much in commissions up front, but it was a great way to get into the business with little up front expenditure, providing me with the opportunity to test the waters, knowing that if I was successful, my commission base would grow with the company. The commission rate is well worth it when you think about what you get in the way of your personalized website as well as the great support and training that Montrose provides.

    I have to say that almost from day one of signing on with Montrose I have felt like a member of the Montrose family. They have a great staff who never make you feel stupid for asking a question and they also provide a great variety of trainings, both live and pre-recorded, to help you learn the business. And, on top of all that, I am very excited to work with the new CRM (customer relationship management) system they have just implemented that will help me market to my client base easily on an ongoing basis.

    What else can I say? If you are new to the industry, you are going to be overwhelmed by the amount of travel options and resources that are out there. If you are looking for a great company to help you work through the process and help you grow your business, Montrose would be a great choice!

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  49. Lisa D Fitzgerald
    August 2, 2012 at 10:27 pm #
    8 / 9 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been a licensed TA for 19 years now & earned my CTA with the Travel Institute so I joined Montrose as an experienced agent. I mostly moved around from retail and call centers due to my husband’s job, he is a Marine and we moved a lot. We retired and moved to New England and I worked for a major travel company. After a few years, I wanted to work from home, be my own boss, do my own thing without the hassle of a very large corporation telling me how to sell. I researched for just under a year before making my decision to move to Montrose. My first interaction was with Andi. My conversations with her were welcoming and inviting and what stood out the most, her sincerity. I instantly felt trust with this company. Through the process I met a lot of wonderful people and my move from a retail store to a host agency became less scary & worrisome because of the strong relationship that was building with the people of Montrose. I had a lot of fears moving and building my own business. My first year, I made a lot of typical new business decisions that now looking back, there is a few things I would do differently in start up but because of the support staffs guidance & direction (& sense of humor) my second full year with Montrose is rocking. All the support staff is amazing. From Dominique who answers their phones, to Support, Accounting, IT, Marketing, Training..they are all great. You start to get to know the people on a first name basis and they know you on a first name basis. They have tools you need to build your business are there for you 24/7. I use GDS and it is simple and easy to remote in to Apollo. Tech support is quick to turn around a problem if there happens to be one. They’ve been around a long, long time and their technology keeps growing stronger and stronger. The tools are there, at your disposal, anytime. The best way to sum this up is that It’s Family. Annual Conference for all agents, if you are on the west coast, they have cool family involved parties because it’s not about the number, its about the person, you will never be a just a number. October will mark my 3rd year and I couldnt be happier. Lisa D Fitzgerald, CTA Mojo Travel

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  50. Lisa
    May 20, 2012 at 2:23 pm #
    8 / 9 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been hosted with MTravel (Montrose) for a little over a year now and highly recommend them – especially if you need a little hand-holding! They do a fantastic job of fostering a “family” feel among all the home-based agents across the country. Support is great…some of the technology-based stuff is a little “off” but they are working on those issues. All-in-all,I am very pleased and enjoy working all the staff – a great, solid and well-run company!

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    • Lisa
      August 2, 2012 at 7:08 pm #
      7 / 7 found this review helpful.

      Since I posted this in May, we have completely updated the CRM system and fixed most of the bugs in the hotel booking engine! Still very happy with Montrose and the great folks at MTravel.com! You guys rock!

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  51. Cindy
    May 14, 2012 at 11:57 pm #
    19 / 19 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been with Mtravel for one year.

    I started with no experience in the travel industry…aside from booking my own family vacations. 🙂

    Mtravel understands that some agents will need more helps then others. You can call or email them with any questions you have. They have online training, which is very convenient. Mtravel also has a yearly training that you can attend. Where you can meet other agents, take classes, and do site tours.

    I love my new career! I enjoy helping people plan their “dream vacations”.

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

Review this Host Agency

Click stars below to rate.
Rating
 
 

Help us get rid of spam by filling out our Captcha! *