Expedia CruiseShipCenters Reviews

(18 reviews)
400-1055 West Hastings Street
Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 2E9
888.224.2643
host@cruiseshipcenters.com
"Our site is a free resource intended to help agents find a host agency. If we helped out, please pass along the kindness and let host agencies know our site helped in your decision making process." - Steph

Host Agency Details

Affiliations:
Expedia
2013 Sales:
$100 million+
Host Type:
Hybrid (Host & Travel Agency)
Accepting:
Experienced Agents
Members Of:
CLIA, IATA, OSSN
# of Contractors:
1000+
GDS:
Not Offered

About Expedia CruiseShipCenters

Owned by Expedia Inc., Expedia CruiseShipCenters offers an expansive array of tools for home based travel agents looking for a host agency for booking cruises as well as other types of vacation travel.  Both experienced travel agents and those new to the travel industry will benefit from the training opportunities, technology, and marketing programs available to them.

Expedia CruiseShipCenters CruiseDesk system allows home based agents to work from anywhere and have all the tools you need to make a booking. Ongoing education and new travel agent education are core components of the Expedia CruiseShipCenters franchise and host agency program.

Please note: Expedia CruiseShipCenters has two hosting programs for travel agents:  home-based and retail.

Expedia CruiseShipCenters4.0882352941217

Expedia CruiseShipCenters Reviews

18 Reviews for “Expedia CruiseShipCenters”

  1. Natasha Nester
    July 10, 2014 at 2:34 pm #
    7 / 7 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I was disappointed with my experience. There is no follow up on hotel/car/air commissions. The network is really convoluted- for example- if I were to book a Hilton hotel that had a commissionable fare, I am booking it on the Expedia website to earn commission. BUT if my statement post and it’s not there, I as an individual am supposed to call the Hilton property, explain I’m from Expedia Cruise Ship Centers and try to hunt down a commission that is under their booking.

    I have worked for a total of three agencies and I am presently extremely happy where I am, but the Expedia model is hard to get paid (successfully) under unless you are selling strictly cruises. The cruise payments somehow work seamlessly (likely because the accounting is better managed at an agency level) versus through the Expedia umbrella which is big and ineffective. Their commission levels are paltry on flights, which feels like you are being stolen from when you book lengthy international trips like I did (booked business/first class flights for a family of four that was over $15,000 and made pretty much nothing on it). If you’re selling strictly cruises, this might be a good avenue. Otherwise, you can do better for yourself.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I was previously hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  2. Kim
    November 18, 2013 at 2:27 pm #
    13 / 22 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have wanted to be a travel agent/consultant for as long as I can remember. I researched and researched ways I could become and agent/consultant and found ECSC. The training and support I have gotten so far has been wonderful. I have only been at it for a few weeks. No sales yet. Just focused on completing all of my training. The training is easy to understand. I highly recommend Expedia Cruise Ship Centers.

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  3. Angela Gracia Smith
    September 10, 2013 at 3:06 pm #
    12 / 16 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    My love for travel led me to look for opportunities to include selling travel as part of my business model. I researched various methods to achieve the desired outcome.

    After visiting with the team from Expedia CruiseShipCenters, Fort Lauderdale, I realized I would get the support that I needed. I have never worked in the travel industry, but my own travel experiences along with their confidence and generous willingness to assist me, made me completely confidently that I could in fact include the sales of travel as a successful part of my business.

    The most challenging aspect is the self-discipline. Along with my family, we have determined set times when I study the great resources provided by Expedia CruiseShipCenters as part of their International Cruise Academy Consultant Certification. I even call my host agency with questions and they are lovely.

    When I am not traveling for the business (in another industry) that I already have, I am making a point to drive to the ESCS, Fort Lauderdale office so that I can really concentrate and be around those that are already successful at what they do. Their love for booking cruises and land travel is simply contagious!

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  4. Barbara Kantor
    September 8, 2013 at 1:09 pm #
    11 / 17 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Joining Fort Lauderdale ECSC as a center based agent was the best decision! I joined August 2012 and never had worked in the travel industry before. The owner & manager are both wonderful women who are more than willing to help in any way possible. I feel extremely fortunate to have found my way to this office.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  5. Lenneice Lanier
    September 3, 2013 at 10:32 pm #
    13 / 16 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    The best business decision I’ve made was when I decided to switch host agencies and join ECSC. The training, the support, the website, the customer service is superb. Help is a phone call away and I love all the avenues and information that is at my fingertips. My work is minimal – invoicing, emails, newsletters, etc. – everything is done for you which allows me to concentrate on serving my customers with a personal touch. I’m really loving working with ECSCs. The support is tremendous. Love you ECSC.

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  6. Kale Wright
    August 28, 2013 at 8:01 pm #
    39 / 46 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    My travel agent career began with ECSC’s Fort Lauderdale franchise in November 2012. After discussing my background & the goals with the franchise owner, I signed the paperwork & paid the processing fee. I received logins for supplier websites & a few things in the mail, including a “Consultant Certification Manual” & workbook. And that’s pretty much where the support I received would end.

    Knowing that the workbook takes some people a year or more to work through, I balanced my time between it, supplier training, and destination training. I booked a trip in my first month and was still looking for my check a month after the sailing date. I contacted them and was told I had to submit an invoice to get paid. Eventually I found the same wording on page 61 (of 64) of the manual, but, as I said, it would have been months before I got to that page. All the I was told, and all the workbook says, is that I must “provide an invoice to the Center.” I emailed back to ask if I was supposed to create this “invoice” in QuickBooks and was told that a report I’d never seen was the elusive ‘invoice,’ and I should pull it and email it to them. The tone was pretty clear that I should have somehow known this. They included a handout with outdated screenshots, and at the end it said “If you have any questions give me a call!” I looked EVERYWHERE in the handout and there was not a name to be found anywhere. Who is this “me” I’m supposed to call???

    After that pre-registration call, I received only 2 communications from the franchise owner – and neither were pleasant. The first one came after I sent an email inquiring about a supplier registration. My email had a standard signature, with my information and links to supplier description pages *within* my ECSC website. The response I got back touched on my question for 2 sentences & then launched into a diatribe about how I should be promoting THEM and not myself, and that I shouldn’t be sending clients to supplier’s websites. Had she taken the time to click either link, she would have seen that NOTHING left my ECSC website. I was told that I shouldn’t be using my own email address or website domain, but rather should direct everyone to the long & cumbersome ECSC email address & 40-character long website because these two things belonged to ECSC and they could “track” my emails.

    A few weeks later I was booking my own household on a cruise through a colleague so we could be part of their scheduled group. Rather than typing or calling credit card, passport, and contact info, I clicked the handy link they provided, sending the contact records for the 2 of us through the ECSC system. She immediately sent an email to me, forwarding the system’s alert about my communication with another consultant, and demanding to know why I was sending Josh a contact record. The alert even identified the name of the person whose record was exchanged, so one of them *clearly* had MY OWN NAME in the email. Apparently she thought I was getting ready to bail & stupidly sending referral contacts through the system they monitor.

    After the last exchange, I realized that I’d been there for 3 months and the ONLY times she contacted me were in chastisement. She hadn’t once picked up the phone or sent a “Is there anything I can help you with” note or a “Do you have any questions about what we sent you?” touch. When my commission check finally arrived, I sent in the required 30-day termination notice. Suddenly she was interested in me and wanted to know what they could do. The 30 days ended March 20th, 2013 and ECSC has **continued** to bill my credit card $29 PER MONTH for the past FIVE MONTHS – despite my repeated calls to ECSC Headquarters. Each time I’d been assured they would take care of it. In today’s call I was informed that they would ‘discuss it’ with partner support and “decide if a refund is warranted.” I did everything I was supposed to do, was locked out of the system at the end of my 30 days and now they’re going to DECIDE whether or not to give my money back?!?! Based on what I’ve seen on travel agency discussion forums (Disclaimer: These posts were from people I don’t know and I HAVE NOT personally verified their claims), this “OOPS! We forgot to stop taking your money!” ploy happens relatively frequently with them. If you DO affiliate with ECSC and decide to leave, I would suggest you IMMEDIATELY call your credit card issuer and report the card they’d been billing as “Lost/Stolen.” Otherwise, you’ll likely get “Lost” in the system and have YOUR money “Stolen.”

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I was previously hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  7. David Clark
    June 26, 2013 at 9:49 am #
    35 / 38 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Do your due diligence with this company. All offices are run differently and commissions are very low(40 %). Lots of head office expenses passed on to sub-contractor usually leaving pennies for bookings. I was working for the previous owner with no problems or concerns for many years. Franchise was sold and the new owner is not the person to run the business. First she said meetings are mandatory (in fact they are not for a home based agent) and wanted my assurance that I would attend meetings before renewing my contract. She then said that I was giving special prices to family and friends and was felt I joined only for the travel perks. Not true. Now she has cut me off from the booking site and has not complied with my request to forward as copy of my contract to me.
    All office are different and some are run like this one and some are much better.
    I just wanted to work from home and not be bothered with going to the storefront as frankly it is an embarrassment to be there (messy and unorganized and not client friendly ).
    Now I am looking for another host agency as I have more bookings to make.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I was previously hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  8. Mark Houck
    April 26, 2013 at 1:32 pm #
    11 / 21 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    “TRAVEL” – What A Wonderful Business” – I’m with and have been with another Host Agency For Some Time Now, Which is Very Good To Me – BUT – With all the advantages offered at ECSC – I truly need to think what’s best for my Clients and Business! PLUS: With the Setup Fee reduced from $499. To $299. Why wouldn’t I Make The Move To ECSC – ALSO: The Helping Kindness I’ve Found In The ECSC’S Teams I’ve Talked With (Howard, Pat and the others) and The Support and Some Much More for $29. I’m afraid the say what I’m paying here at my other Host Agency .. (I love You Guy’s – But)
    “Make Way, Im Coming Aboard – ECSC”

    Mark Houck …

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  9. Dawn Rettinger
    January 17, 2013 at 4:50 pm #
    26 / 31 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I was in a unique situation when I joined ECSC. After becoming an Independent Consultant, I also went to work part time for a local ECSC brick and mortar agency. I learned the ins and outs of the back office as well as working as an inside agent part time and kept my own sales as an outside agent. I grew disappointed in the commission structure and vendor commission rates compared to KHM and Outside Agents.

    I was offered a full time position with another Leisure agency that included much needed insurance benefits. Upon giving notice re: the Inside agent position, all access to my Independent Consultant site was ceased. I paid for a year of hosting and although I quit the part time inside job, I should have been able to keep the services I paid for.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I was previously hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    • Expedia CruiseShipCenters
      January 31, 2013 at 7:45 pm #
      18 / 24 found this review helpful.

      Hi Dawn,

      We were sorry to see you go but understand that you need to make the business and career decisions that suit you best.

      To avoid situations such as the above, we’ve since moved to a monthly payment starting at just $15/month for our CruiseDesk CRM, personal website, unlimited email marketing and business email account.

      More information is available on our website, including a schedule for our weekly information webinars.

      - The Expedia CruiseShipCenters Team

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  10. Carolyn Mayfield
    January 17, 2013 at 11:25 am #
    9 / 14 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have nothing but great things to say about Expedia CruiseShipCenters,OVC. The staff cares about me and my business and gives terrific support. I especially love their free marketing programs and am thankful for all the leads that their marketing generates for me.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  11. Maria Koulouriotis
    January 16, 2013 at 5:41 pm #
    13 / 17 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I was one of the first agents at ECSC, OVC. I rely on them to provide the up to date technology, websites, and advertising back office functionality. Their package gives me the business tools I need to keep growing and prospering. It’s good to know that their only business is hosting agents and that they do not compete with me. When I do well, they do well, we’re in it together. They provide suggestions and offer a high level of support. They are friendly and professional at the same time. Suffice to say I profit by and enjoy my affiliation with them.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  12. Marie Smith
    January 16, 2013 at 8:16 am #
    7 / 13 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Being an independent agent with Expedia CruiseShipCenters OVC is the best of both worlds. Working when I want while being part of a Host agency that supports and helps grow my business, is the perfect blend for success!
    In todays competitive market, “Expedia’s Exclusive Staterooms” give me the edge for better prices and amenities to close that sale.
    ECSC OVC provides leads,advertising,a personalized website and an EXCELLENT support staff and Management Team.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  13. Jill S
    January 16, 2013 at 6:16 am #
    4 / 9 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Expedia CruiseShipCenters, OVC is top notch in technology and marketing. The leads I received are strong, quality leads that often times lead to sales. The office support is wonderful and questions or requests are answered immediately. This is a great company to be affiliated with.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  14. Lorraine Pacione
    January 15, 2013 at 6:42 pm #
    11 / 18 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been with ExpediaCruiseShipCenters, OVC, Plantation Fl since they started Sept/2010. Before this I owned my own agency and with that all the responsibilites that came with it. Now I just have to do what I love best, plan vacations and they do the rest. They have a great support team. They are constantly updating and making sure my website looks good. Training is always available. Wheather you are new or a veteran there’s alway room to learn more. You can track your own commissions online and see past, present and future amounts. You can check detailed list of what you were paid on.
    In a nut shell, I can say I am very satisfied working for and with the team at Expedia CruiseShipCenters, OVC, Plantation, FL.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  15. Nancy Morales
    January 15, 2013 at 6:12 pm #
    5 / 12 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    The team at ECSC, OVC really supports my efforts to grow my travel business with timely marketing messages, access to leads, a great support team and powerful, easy to use technology. They provide thousands of block group dates with Expedia Extras and that’s a big help in this competitive market.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  16. Vince Difabio
    January 14, 2013 at 1:58 pm #
    6 / 14 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Expedia CruiseShipCenters, OVC is a great company to work with. I’ve been with them since they started. They have wonderful booking technology, effective advertising and lead generation programs and they pay top commissions. The support staff at the office is top notch and always available when I need them. I could think of no better place to be.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  17. George Leppla
    June 13, 2012 at 10:48 am #
    22 / 26 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have beeen selling cruises for close to 20 years and became affiliated with ExpediaCruiseShipCenters 18 months ago. It was the best business decision I have made in a long time. The back ofice software and support is second to none and the email and print marketing programs are among the best I have ever seen. For new people into the industry, the training is excellent and for veterans with an established following, the commission split can be very profitable across all cruise lines. The number of special promotions or sailings with group rates or special amenities is amazing. This is a great tool when trying to compete in a tough market. It was a huge step for me to become affiliated with a host agency after being independent for so many years but with every marketing campaign and every sale, I am convinced it was the right decision for me.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

Review this Host Agency

Click stars below to rate.
Rating