Expedia CruiseShipCenters Reviews

(41 reviews)
900-1066 West Hastings Street
Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 3X1
888.224.2643
"Our site is a free resource intended to help agents find a host agency. If we helped out, please pass along the kindness and let host agencies know our site helped in your decision making process." - Steph

Host Agency Details

Affiliations:
Expedia
2015 Sales:
$100 million+
Host Type:
Hybrid (Host & Travel Agency)
Accepting:
Experienced Agents
Members Of:
CLIA, IATA, OSSN
# of Contractors:
1000+
GDS:
Not Offered

About Expedia CruiseShipCenters

Owned by Expedia Inc., Expedia CruiseShipCenters offers an expansive array of tools for home based travel agents looking for a host agency for booking cruises as well as other types of vacation travel.  Both experienced travel agents and those new to the travel industry will benefit from the training opportunities, technology, and marketing programs available to them.

Expedia CruiseShipCenters CruiseDesk system allows home based agents to work from anywhere and have all the tools you need to make a booking. Ongoing education and new travel agent education are core components of the Expedia CruiseShipCenters franchise and host agency program.

Please note: Expedia CruiseShipCenters has two hosting programs for travel agents:  home-based and retail.

Expedia CruiseShipCenters4.1710526315838

Expedia CruiseShipCenters Reviews

41 Reviews for “Expedia CruiseShipCenters”

  1. Duke Joseph
    June 12, 2017 at 11:23 am #
    Rating

    ECSC North Bay…….. Do not Host Agent for this agency. I worked for this location for 3 years and all they have done for me is help me lose clients! When you are a host agent the first thing you should never do is give them your client’s phone numbers and email address to them to get paid (why is that needed? To steal your client’s). Over the years, I came in with a great client base and this host agency only assisted in helping me lose client’s. This agency should have opened an McDonald’s franchise instead of a travel agency. All they assisted with doing is helping me lose client’s and they are very inexperienced at supporting travel agent’s. Also, don’t ever call Expedia Cruise Ship Centers corporate offices in Canada. I called them several time to try and resolve issues, they will listen, but will never call you back. I have 4 different situations where I contacted the corporate office and they never called me back with a solution. Get your own CLIA number (which will cost you less money), but never become a home based agent with this company, especially with this location. Their booking engines are horrible and you have NO agent support system what so ever. Do yourself a favor and go with AMEX travel, at least they give you possible leads without trying to steal your clients……. And, I dare any person from Expedia corporate office to comment on this post!!!!!!!!! I have names and dates of the people that ignored my issues several times.

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I was previously hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  2. Stacy Olney
    March 15, 2017 at 9:26 am #
    8 / 9 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I currently work for Expedia CruiseShipCenters – Venice, Punta Gorda, and The Villages, Florida

    I’ve been working with Tracey Codd in the travel industry since 1999. It has been 18 wonderful years together. Tracey Codd along with Dan Ganter became a franchise owner in 2015 opening the Venice office and it is the best company I have worked for yet in my 18 years experience. They have now expanded into Punta Gorda and now the Villages too!

    Expedia Cruise Ship centers has a wealth of options to offer with their brand recognition, their ongoing marketing and support, state of the art technology, having your own personal website and e- marketing on a weekly basis, exclusive staterooms and groups and so much more…the list is endless!

    I am truly blessed to work With Tracey Codd and Dan Ganter and the entire ECSC family. It is a dream job and I would not trade my position with Expedia Cruise Ship Centers for anything!

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  3. Bonnie Bruce
    March 14, 2017 at 11:12 am #
    4 / 5 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Expedia CruiseShipCenters – Venice, Punta Gorda, and The Villages, Florida

    I’ve been in the travel industry since 1991 and have had the pleasure of working with Tracey Codd and the same awesome team of fun and caring professionals for the past 16 years.

    Her decision to affiliate with Expedia CruiseShipCenters 7 years ago was the best decision ever! ECSC has it all! Brand recognition, exceptional training, support, technology, marketing, personal websites, exclusive groups and sales promotions, Expedia Extras (and so much more!) – all tied up in one neat little package – providing us all the tools to we need to make our client’s vacation dreams come true!

    Whether you are an experienced agent, new to the business, want to work full time, part time, from home or office – the opportunities are endless. Being a part of the ECSC family with a supportive team and great management – has made all the difference in the world to my career. Check us out and join the best of the best!

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  4. Barbara Dumitru
    March 14, 2017 at 9:56 am #
    3 / 4 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    It is a great pleasure to be affiliated with Expedia CruiseShipCenters Venice, Punta Gorda and The Villages. The support received, especially from our Franchise owners Tracy Codd and Dan Ganter is amazing and has helped me to become more knowledgeable and successful in the travel industry!! The booking engine is very simple to use and Cruise Desk has a wealth of information to help you to assist your clients. There are great promotions, marketing, group space exclusive to ECSC and many other Expedia Extras! I highly recommend ECSC if you are looking for a fun, rewarding career!! http://www.cruiseshipcenters.com/en-US/venice/home

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  5. Maggie
    March 14, 2017 at 5:58 am #
    1 / 2 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been with ExpediaCruiseShipCenters Punta Gorda, Venice and The Villages Florida for 11 months coming from a banking background . What a great team led by Tracey and Dan. From the moment I entered I felt welcomed. All the staff was helpful and encouraging, celebrating in each other’s bookings. The excitement is palpable. The main thing that has impressed me more than that, is that each agent truly cares about their clients. They work hard to make sure that they have an adventure of a lifetime. They celebrate personal experiences with clients such as weddings, births of new grandchildren and major life events.
    It is positively the best place to go every day, and it is all due to caring, family environment created by ALL who work there. I feel blessed.

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  6. stephanie
    March 13, 2017 at 9:11 pm #
    1 / 3 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I really enjoy working with Expedia cruisesehipcenters, especially my franchise owner Rob. From the moment I joined the team, he has made sure to help me and answer any and all questions that I might have. The system was easy to learn, and I have enjoyed many of the seminars and webinars that I have sat through. I think this is a great company to be part of!

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  7. Pamela Yutz
    March 13, 2017 at 8:30 pm #
    2 / 3 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    My love for cruising led to do research on what I could do as an agent working both at home and in the office. ECSC was the perfect choice for me. I have been doing it less than a year but enjoy what I do. Our franchise has a great group of people working for it. Our franchise manager, Rob has been the greatest when I needed help or just ask about a cruise or other items. He always supports me in improving my goals and building my business. Also the technology available is great to work with once you have trained to use it. Also the advertising available is great to use and Dean supports our advertising needs. They both are great to work for and look forward to continued success with our team.

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  8. Caitlin Linder
    March 13, 2017 at 7:08 pm #
    2 / 3 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    As a recent college grad, I put a lot of thought and research into where I wanted to start my career in the travel industry. Its since been nearly two years since I joined Expedia CruiseShipCenters Venice, Punta Gorda and The Villages working alongside our franchise partners Tracey Codd and Dan Ganter. Our franchise partners are always present, hands on, and committed to cultivating the growth of each individual consultant to their fullest potential. The corporate office shares in that commitment to the consultant, and provides top in class tools, marketing, resources, systems, and support to make maximum success possible. The technology is ever evolving, user-friendly and often “wow- worthy”. I have seen first hand both the corporate office and our franchise partners ask consultants what they need to better their business. They then practice their investment in the consultant by taking action from the feedback and bring new ideas to life, further shaping success. This is a FUN industry to call a career, and I don’t know of another host agency or owners that incorporate the high level of FUN into every day like they do!

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  9. Debbie Andersch
    March 13, 2017 at 5:06 pm #
    1 / 2 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I LOVE Expedia CruiseShipCenters (ECSC)! I have been in the business for about 40 years and with ECSC for about 7 years. I am sorry to hear some of the above comments, because my centers (Venice, Punta Gorda and The Village, FL) and boss are second to none. We have a fun and fantastic working environment and family (co-workers). And to complain that ECSC hounds you to contact your clients is only making you a better consultant. Clients have so many options when it comes to making their arrangements, and staying in touch is one way they are going to remember you. ECSC gives you all the tools you need to be a successful consultant. Not only does the brand name sell itself, you have promotions, advertising, your own website, pricing advantages, Expedia extras, rallies, incentives, help and so much more to keep you at the top of your A game. What is better than enjoying what you do and working from home and making money? It doesn’t get any better than that!

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  10. Sharon Wilt
    March 13, 2017 at 4:56 pm #
    1 / 2 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have just started on this journey of exceptional vacations at the Punta Gorda, Venice, and Villages, FL centers. Tracey Codd and Dan Ganter and the entire staff I have met at these centers are not only knowledgeable they are fun and caring people. With all the years they have been helping people to have great vacations I know that my future in this business is going to be fantastic.

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  11. Jodi McCandless
    March 13, 2017 at 4:50 pm #
    1 / 2 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Locations: Expedia CruiseShipCenters – Venice, Punta Gorda, and The Villages.
    I have been in the business for 19 years and Expedia CruiseShipCenters has offered the best of everything. Technology, exclusive stateroom groups, training, support, marketing, exclusive sales, and the list goes on…everything is top notch.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish when you love what you do everyday!

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  12. Nikki Crawford Hiestand
    March 13, 2017 at 4:35 pm #
    2 / 3 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    When I decided to come back into the Travel Industry after a 10 year hiatus I sure did my homework! I am thrilled that I came back and Expedia CruiseShipCenters made it easy!!! The booking system is a breeze and the support you get is second to none! Having the opportunity to work with a Great Team makes all the difference! Venice – Punta Gorda – The Villages – wherever you decide – will be the right choice!

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  13. Ann Soltis
    March 13, 2017 at 4:30 pm #
    1 / 2 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been in the Travel Industry for 20 years and have worked for the same person for the entire time. When we changed to be Expedia Cruise Ship Centers a few years ago was one of the best things we ever did. We now have 3 locations Venice, Punta Gorda and The Villages in Florida to serve you, not just cruises, we do land, sea and hotels. We are a full service agency. My job is never boring and and everyday you feel like you concurred the World literally! One of the best parts of being with Expedia Cruise Ship Centers is all of the groups and promotions we offer which allows us to give our clients more bang for their buck with a great experience. I love being in this industry and having all the wonderful tools that Expedia Cruise Ship offers to help us help our clients.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  14. Karen Harsley
    March 13, 2017 at 4:26 pm #
    1 / 2 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I work for Expedia CruiseShipCenters Venice & Punta Gorda I have been with Expedia over 10 years and find it a very professional travel agency to work for. My clients have access to the best travel information and group rates. They are very happy with our service. I am very proud to be a part of Expedia Cruiseshipcenters.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  15. Melanie Criswell-Hill
    March 13, 2017 at 4:19 pm #
    1 / 2 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I work for Expedia CruiseShipCenters Venice & Punta Gorda. I have had the pleasure of working for Tracey Codd for over 18 years. She is an amazing mentor and agency owner. I have also had the pleasure of being on conferences and meeting many of the corporate team as well. I always enjoy this. I could not be happier to work for such an amazing group of people. I would recommend this for everyone interested in this industry. They all strive to make this better everyday.

    I forgot to mention The Villages. I am so excited to see what comes next and could not love my Expedia CruisesShipCenters Family more. It has been an amazing journey. What I love best is Our Promise and how it is truly important how we are treated as well as the clients.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  16. Brad
    March 13, 2017 at 4:16 pm #
    1 / 2 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I work with ECSC Venice, Punta Gorda, Villages, FL

    Great owners and some of the most seasoned agents out there. Best of the best and all of us help each other and support each other. Come join us! http://www.joinecsc.com/venice

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  17. Christina Meloche
    March 13, 2017 at 2:45 pm #
    Rating

    Joining Rob Steinfeld’s team has been a blast.
    We’ve been creating wonderful experiences for our clients.

    Rob is helpful, friendly and always takes the time to help all the customers AND consultants.

    He is incredibly supportive to help us grow our individual businesses also.
    The relationships he has built with the brand development managers have led to us creating numerous group bookings and promotions.

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  18. Bill Jenkins
    March 13, 2017 at 11:15 am #
    3 / 5 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    When I joined ECSC, I was told that I would be able to work at my own pace and would not be “hounded” to call prospects on an ongoing basis. However, with the system ECSC has in place (which is confusing and hard to work with, I might add), the proprietor of the business can see everything you are doing, and if you have a few prospects in your queue that you have not contacted yet for whatever reason you may see the need to or not to, they will constantly remind you. And if you still don’t follow through, it can work against you when your contract comes up for renewal at the end of the year. As an independent contractor, this sounds more like a job to me, and if you have a “boss” telling you what to do, then it also qualifies as a job, and therefore would fall under US labor laws. As a Canadian company, ECSC may want to reconsider how they do things, especially in the US.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I was previously hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  19. George Leppla
    March 13, 2017 at 10:48 am #
    27 / 33 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    UPDATE 3/13/2017:

    This is an update of a review I posted in 2012. I have now been with ECSC for over 6 years… and I have almost 25 years in the travel agency business. FOr the past 5 years, I have been working with the ECSC in Venice, FL but they also have offices in Punta Gorda and The Villages, FL. A lot of how I feel about this affiliation has to do with the management of the franchise center I work with… because they are the best. I’m not the type of agent who needs a lot of help but I would recommend this organization to new agents who do need the help and support. The Basic ECSC back-office system is very good overall. Marketing, name brand recognition and the availability of group rates and amenities on thousands of sailings helps me close sales that I might have lost as an independent and shows improvement on the bottom line immensely. Is being a travel agent a bed of roses? Heck no. This is not a job where you are going to get rich overnight. But if you are a newbie and want to learn, this is a good program. If you are an experienced agent with a good customer base, ECSC can help you become more profitable. The bottom line for me is that my business and profits have grown every year I have been with ECSC and especially in the past 5 years with the Venice, FL office capably owned and operated by Tracey Codd. Do your homework about ECSC, then do your homework about the people who own/manage the center you will be affiliated with. Then, if you are willing to put in the time and effort, this program will be a good fit for you.
    _________________________________________________________________________
    I have beeen selling cruises for close to 20 years and became affiliated with ExpediaCruiseShipCenters 18 months ago. It was the best business decision I have made in a long time. The back ofice software and support is second to none and the email and print marketing programs are among the best I have ever seen. For new people into the industry, the training is excellent and for veterans with an established following, the commission split can be very profitable across all cruise lines. The number of special promotions or sailings with group rates or special amenities is amazing. This is a great tool when trying to compete in a tough market. It was a huge step for me to become affiliated with a host agency after being independent for so many years but with every marketing campaign and every sale, I am convinced it was the right decision for me.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  20. Andrew Solli
    February 23, 2017 at 7:51 pm #
    1 / 3 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Don’t pay a franchise fee to Cruiseship centers….The one at “the villages” and Clearwater….owned by Greg took my money of 495 and then when I told his manager they were incompetent, he got back from Alaska then canceled my contract without ever meeting me. THIS COMPANY IS A RIPPOFF…..Stay away from them

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I was previously hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  21. Julia Thorman
    August 4, 2015 at 9:14 am #
    35 / 35 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I love working for Expedia Cruise Ship Centers. They take care of my website and I love booking cruises and other vacations for my friends and family and others that I meet. I wish the commission structure was a little better but I am making money. They provide me with so much and if I need help it is just a phone call or e-mail away. I did have a rough start with first centers that I was assigned to but then was moved to the corporate office for awhile then to another local center. It was the difference of night and day between the two local centers. I plan to stay for a long time now.

    The only reason I gave them a 4.5 rating was that I did most of my training with the first center but never received recognition for my completion of my training. But so what it is just a piece of paper. I am getting to do what I love to do plus can sometimes get great rates on personal travel.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  22. Jeff
    October 25, 2014 at 8:47 am #
    92 / 106 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Do not waste your time or money with this host agency. The system is terrible and the only one making any money at all is the “center” to which you are assigned. The CRM system is absolutely the worst. It requires many, many steps to complete a sale and the systems seems to be archaic by modern standards. Most importantly, the system does not allow cross functional coordination and is usually not up to date. Finally, if you “question” anything within this organization they ostracize you.

    I sent a very professional letter to a Vice President of Expedia for the Cruise Ship Centers expressing my concerns and asking for some relief and never received an acknowledgment of receipt (even though I tracked the letter) or a response of any kind. I highly recommend not falling for the slick “sales presentation” when you are recruited and recommend searching out host agencies that actually provide support and extensive backend services. While the sales presentation to recruit you is very slick, the rest of the hosting program is terrible and support is basically nonexistent. Run and run very fast!

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I was previously hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  23. Natasha Nester
    July 10, 2014 at 2:34 pm #
    90 / 96 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I was disappointed with my experience. There is no follow up on hotel/car/air commissions. The network is really convoluted- for example- if I were to book a Hilton hotel that had a commissionable fare, I am booking it on the Expedia website to earn commission. BUT if my statement post and it’s not there, I as an individual am supposed to call the Hilton property, explain I’m from Expedia Cruise Ship Centers and try to hunt down a commission that is under their booking.

    I have worked for a total of three agencies and I am presently extremely happy where I am, but the Expedia model is hard to get paid (successfully) under unless you are selling strictly cruises. The cruise payments somehow work seamlessly (likely because the accounting is better managed at an agency level) versus through the Expedia umbrella which is big and ineffective. Their commission levels are paltry on flights, which feels like you are being stolen from when you book lengthy international trips like I did (booked business/first class flights for a family of four that was over $15,000 and made pretty much nothing on it). If you’re selling strictly cruises, this might be a good avenue. Otherwise, you can do better for yourself.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I was previously hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  24. Kim
    November 18, 2013 at 2:27 pm #
    27 / 49 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have wanted to be a travel agent/consultant for as long as I can remember. I researched and researched ways I could become and agent/consultant and found ECSC. The training and support I have gotten so far has been wonderful. I have only been at it for a few weeks. No sales yet. Just focused on completing all of my training. The training is easy to understand. I highly recommend Expedia Cruise Ship Centers.

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  25. Angela Gracia Smith
    September 10, 2013 at 3:06 pm #
    32 / 42 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    My love for travel led me to look for opportunities to include selling travel as part of my business model. I researched various methods to achieve the desired outcome.

    After visiting with the team from Expedia CruiseShipCenters, Fort Lauderdale, I realized I would get the support that I needed. I have never worked in the travel industry, but my own travel experiences along with their confidence and generous willingness to assist me, made me completely confidently that I could in fact include the sales of travel as a successful part of my business.

    The most challenging aspect is the self-discipline. Along with my family, we have determined set times when I study the great resources provided by Expedia CruiseShipCenters as part of their International Cruise Academy Consultant Certification. I even call my host agency with questions and they are lovely.

    When I am not traveling for the business (in another industry) that I already have, I am making a point to drive to the ESCS, Fort Lauderdale office so that I can really concentrate and be around those that are already successful at what they do. Their love for booking cruises and land travel is simply contagious!

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  26. Barbara Kantor
    September 8, 2013 at 1:09 pm #
    18 / 28 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Joining Fort Lauderdale ECSC as a center based agent was the best decision! I joined August 2012 and never had worked in the travel industry before. The owner & manager are both wonderful women who are more than willing to help in any way possible. I feel extremely fortunate to have found my way to this office.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  27. Lenneice Lanier
    September 3, 2013 at 10:32 pm #
    26 / 31 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    The best business decision I’ve made was when I decided to switch host agencies and join ECSC. The training, the support, the website, the customer service is superb. Help is a phone call away and I love all the avenues and information that is at my fingertips. My work is minimal – invoicing, emails, newsletters, etc. – everything is done for you which allows me to concentrate on serving my customers with a personal touch. I’m really loving working with ECSCs. The support is tremendous. Love you ECSC.

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  28. Kale Wright
    August 28, 2013 at 8:01 pm #
    99 / 109 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    My travel agent career began with ECSC’s Fort Lauderdale franchise in November 2012. After discussing my background & the goals with the franchise owner, I signed the paperwork & paid the processing fee. I received logins for supplier websites & a few things in the mail, including a “Consultant Certification Manual” & workbook. And that’s pretty much where the support I received would end.

    Knowing that the workbook takes some people a year or more to work through, I balanced my time between it, supplier training, and destination training. I booked a trip in my first month and was still looking for my check a month after the sailing date. I contacted them and was told I had to submit an invoice to get paid. Eventually I found the same wording on page 61 (of 64) of the manual, but, as I said, it would have been months before I got to that page. All the I was told, and all the workbook says, is that I must “provide an invoice to the Center.” I emailed back to ask if I was supposed to create this “invoice” in QuickBooks and was told that a report I’d never seen was the elusive ‘invoice,’ and I should pull it and email it to them. The tone was pretty clear that I should have somehow known this. They included a handout with outdated screenshots, and at the end it said “If you have any questions give me a call!” I looked EVERYWHERE in the handout and there was not a name to be found anywhere. Who is this “me” I’m supposed to call???

    After that pre-registration call, I received only 2 communications from the franchise owner – and neither were pleasant. The first one came after I sent an email inquiring about a supplier registration. My email had a standard signature, with my information and links to supplier description pages *within* my ECSC website. The response I got back touched on my question for 2 sentences & then launched into a diatribe about how I should be promoting THEM and not myself, and that I shouldn’t be sending clients to supplier’s websites. Had she taken the time to click either link, she would have seen that NOTHING left my ECSC website. I was told that I shouldn’t be using my own email address or website domain, but rather should direct everyone to the long & cumbersome ECSC email address & 40-character long website because these two things belonged to ECSC and they could “track” my emails.

    A few weeks later I was booking my own household on a cruise through a colleague so we could be part of their scheduled group. Rather than typing or calling credit card, passport, and contact info, I clicked the handy link they provided, sending the contact records for the 2 of us through the ECSC system. She immediately sent an email to me, forwarding the system’s alert about my communication with another consultant, and demanding to know why I was sending Josh a contact record. The alert even identified the name of the person whose record was exchanged, so one of them *clearly* had MY OWN NAME in the email. Apparently she thought I was getting ready to bail & stupidly sending referral contacts through the system they monitor.

    After the last exchange, I realized that I’d been there for 3 months and the ONLY times she contacted me were in chastisement. She hadn’t once picked up the phone or sent a “Is there anything I can help you with” note or a “Do you have any questions about what we sent you?” touch. When my commission check finally arrived, I sent in the required 30-day termination notice. Suddenly she was interested in me and wanted to know what they could do. The 30 days ended March 20th, 2013 and ECSC has **continued** to bill my credit card $29 PER MONTH for the past FIVE MONTHS – despite my repeated calls to ECSC Headquarters. Each time I’d been assured they would take care of it. In today’s call I was informed that they would ‘discuss it’ with partner support and “decide if a refund is warranted.” I did everything I was supposed to do, was locked out of the system at the end of my 30 days and now they’re going to DECIDE whether or not to give my money back?!?! Based on what I’ve seen on travel agency discussion forums (Disclaimer: These posts were from people I don’t know and I HAVE NOT personally verified their claims), this “OOPS! We forgot to stop taking your money!” ploy happens relatively frequently with them. If you DO affiliate with ECSC and decide to leave, I would suggest you IMMEDIATELY call your credit card issuer and report the card they’d been billing as “Lost/Stolen.” Otherwise, you’ll likely get “Lost” in the system and have YOUR money “Stolen.”

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I was previously hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  29. David Clark
    June 26, 2013 at 9:49 am #
    68 / 72 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Do your due diligence with this company. All offices are run differently and commissions are very low(40 %). Lots of head office expenses passed on to sub-contractor usually leaving pennies for bookings. I was working for the previous owner with no problems or concerns for many years. Franchise was sold and the new owner is not the person to run the business. First she said meetings are mandatory (in fact they are not for a home based agent) and wanted my assurance that I would attend meetings before renewing my contract. She then said that I was giving special prices to family and friends and was felt I joined only for the travel perks. Not true. Now she has cut me off from the booking site and has not complied with my request to forward as copy of my contract to me.
    All office are different and some are run like this one and some are much better.
    I just wanted to work from home and not be bothered with going to the storefront as frankly it is an embarrassment to be there (messy and unorganized and not client friendly ).
    Now I am looking for another host agency as I have more bookings to make.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I was previously hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  30. Mark Houck
    April 26, 2013 at 1:32 pm #
    22 / 41 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    “TRAVEL” – What A Wonderful Business” – I’m with and have been with another Host Agency For Some Time Now, Which is Very Good To Me – BUT – With all the advantages offered at ECSC – I truly need to think what’s best for my Clients and Business! PLUS: With the Setup Fee reduced from $499. To $299. Why wouldn’t I Make The Move To ECSC – ALSO: The Helping Kindness I’ve Found In The ECSC’S Teams I’ve Talked With (Howard, Pat and the others) and The Support and Some Much More for $29. I’m afraid the say what I’m paying here at my other Host Agency .. (I love You Guy’s – But)
    “Make Way, Im Coming Aboard – ECSC”

    Mark Houck …

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  31. Dawn Rettinger
    January 17, 2013 at 4:50 pm #
    49 / 54 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I was in a unique situation when I joined ECSC. After becoming an Independent Consultant, I also went to work part time for a local ECSC brick and mortar agency. I learned the ins and outs of the back office as well as working as an inside agent part time and kept my own sales as an outside agent. I grew disappointed in the commission structure and vendor commission rates compared to KHM and Outside Agents.

    I was offered a full time position with another Leisure agency that included much needed insurance benefits. Upon giving notice re: the Inside agent position, all access to my Independent Consultant site was ceased. I paid for a year of hosting and although I quit the part time inside job, I should have been able to keep the services I paid for.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I was previously hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    • Expedia CruiseShipCenters
      January 31, 2013 at 7:45 pm #
      28 / 42 found this review helpful.

      Hi Dawn,

      We were sorry to see you go but understand that you need to make the business and career decisions that suit you best.

      To avoid situations such as the above, we’ve since moved to a monthly payment starting at just $15/month for our CruiseDesk CRM, personal website, unlimited email marketing and business email account.

      More information is available on our website, including a schedule for our weekly information webinars.

      – The Expedia CruiseShipCenters Team

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  32. Carolyn Mayfield
    January 17, 2013 at 11:25 am #
    14 / 20 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have nothing but great things to say about Expedia CruiseShipCenters,OVC. The staff cares about me and my business and gives terrific support. I especially love their free marketing programs and am thankful for all the leads that their marketing generates for me.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  33. Maria Koulouriotis
    January 16, 2013 at 5:41 pm #
    20 / 26 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I was one of the first agents at ECSC, OVC. I rely on them to provide the up to date technology, websites, and advertising back office functionality. Their package gives me the business tools I need to keep growing and prospering. It’s good to know that their only business is hosting agents and that they do not compete with me. When I do well, they do well, we’re in it together. They provide suggestions and offer a high level of support. They are friendly and professional at the same time. Suffice to say I profit by and enjoy my affiliation with them.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  34. Marie Smith
    January 16, 2013 at 8:16 am #
    16 / 24 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Being an independent agent with Expedia CruiseShipCenters OVC is the best of both worlds. Working when I want while being part of a Host agency that supports and helps grow my business, is the perfect blend for success!
    In todays competitive market, “Expedia’s Exclusive Staterooms” give me the edge for better prices and amenities to close that sale.
    ECSC OVC provides leads,advertising,a personalized website and an EXCELLENT support staff and Management Team.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  35. Jill S
    January 16, 2013 at 6:16 am #
    6 / 14 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Expedia CruiseShipCenters, OVC is top notch in technology and marketing. The leads I received are strong, quality leads that often times lead to sales. The office support is wonderful and questions or requests are answered immediately. This is a great company to be affiliated with.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  36. Lorraine Pacione
    January 15, 2013 at 6:42 pm #
    18 / 26 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been with ExpediaCruiseShipCenters, OVC, Plantation Fl since they started Sept/2010. Before this I owned my own agency and with that all the responsibilites that came with it. Now I just have to do what I love best, plan vacations and they do the rest. They have a great support team. They are constantly updating and making sure my website looks good. Training is always available. Wheather you are new or a veteran there’s alway room to learn more. You can track your own commissions online and see past, present and future amounts. You can check detailed list of what you were paid on.
    In a nut shell, I can say I am very satisfied working for and with the team at Expedia CruiseShipCenters, OVC, Plantation, FL.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  37. Nancy Morales
    January 15, 2013 at 6:12 pm #
    7 / 16 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    The team at ECSC, OVC really supports my efforts to grow my travel business with timely marketing messages, access to leads, a great support team and powerful, easy to use technology. They provide thousands of block group dates with Expedia Extras and that’s a big help in this competitive market.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  38. Vince Difabio
    January 14, 2013 at 1:58 pm #
    8 / 19 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Expedia CruiseShipCenters, OVC is a great company to work with. I’ve been with them since they started. They have wonderful booking technology, effective advertising and lead generation programs and they pay top commissions. The support staff at the office is top notch and always available when I need them. I could think of no better place to be.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

Review this Host Agency

Click stars below to rate.
Rating
 
 

Help us get rid of spam by filling out our Captcha! *

5 Shares
Share4
+11
Tweet
Share