Dugan’s Travels LLC Reviews

(59 reviews)
212 Aldaba Circle
Rio Rancho, NM 87124
505.672.0777
travel@duganstravels.net
"Our site is a free resource intended to help agents find a host agency. If we helped out, please pass along the kindness and let host agencies know our site helped in your decision making process." - Steph

Host Agency Details

Affiliations:
Vacation.com
2013 Sales:
$25-49.9 million
Host Type:
Hybrid (Host & Travel Agency)
Accepting:
Beginner Agents, Experienced Agents
Members Of:
ARC, CLIA, IATA, NACTA, OSSN
# of Contractors:
500-999
GDS:
Sabre

About Dugan’s Travels LLC

Dugan’s Travels is a family feel agency. We know that inquiring agents want to be their own bosses and have a flexible schedule.  Mothers and fathers want to raise their own children instead of missing out on their children growing up.  Regardless of the reason you want to start your business, we can help.  You can start your business part-time, full-time or somewhere in between.  It is up to you what you want to do with YOUR business.

Starting a home business is the wave of the future, and selecting a host agency is a very important step in the process. Why choose Dugan’s Travels?

We encourage our agents to reach out to suppliers and work with them one on one, we support agents using marketing dollars, our agents can earn rewards with programs such as Sandals sell-n-go nights, Apple Royalties and Funjet For Life bonus points, just to name a few! We really do let agents run their own businesses and give you all the benefits of being INDEPENDENT.

Our team will virtually take you thru the steps of joining and succeeding.  We offer free marketing, seminar training, online training, one-on-one help either by phone or online.

We have website recommendations and options depending on level of expertise.

Our agents have access to our Dugan’s Agents only website where you can communicate with our 650+ agents. We give you the resources, tools and support to be successful.

Visit www.travelathome.com to get familiar with our host agency then schedule a call to talk to one of our staff members.  Appointments are most beneficial when prospective agents have had the opportunity to learn about Dugan’s Travels and compile a list of questions to ask a staff member.

Dugan’s Travels LLC Reviews

59 Reviews for “Dugan’s Travels LLC”

  1. Dahlia Greene
    August 19, 2013 at 1:52 pm #
    7 / 8 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Awesome team! I am patting myself on the back for choosing Jennifer Dugan’s team as my host agency and glad they took me under their wings. Keep the wonderful work you are doing guys.

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  2. Kayce
    March 19, 2013 at 2:57 pm #
    6 / 8 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Very warm and welcoming. Quick with responding to any questions. Training info, easy to use & understand.

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  3. Karen Pattison
    March 11, 2013 at 12:30 pm #
    18 / 18 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I started out with another host agency which claimed to offer great commissions, a 24 hour helpline, online training, and a family like atmosphere. These were only a few of the highlights they offered. It turned out to be anything but…more of a pyramid scheme. I loved helping clients plan their perfect vacations, but became discouraged with the search process of a host agency – until I found Dugan’s!

    The thought of someone willing to share what they had learned from trial and error to others who wanted to work from home, at an affordable cost seemed to good to be true.

    Because of the low start up cost and monthly fees, I thought it would be worth a try, 3 years later I wouldn’t think of going anywhere else.

    It is what you want to make it, you must be self-motivated and willing to learn. The wonderful thing about Dugan’s is they give you all the tools. My favorite being the forum board on Clientease, where agents share there knowledge and expertise on any supplier, destination or business related topic. As others have mentioned, for a large agent base, it does feel like a small close knit family.

    Oh…and I can’t forget to mention the wonderful annual conferences! Not only held at a great location, but the planning team fills each moment with exactly what is needed to help make successful agents.
    This agency works for its agents, I have always felt like we come first!

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  4. Winona
    March 4, 2013 at 10:14 pm #
    10 / 10 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I joined Dugans in September of 2012. I had no experience as a travel agent prior. I am very appreciative of the opportunity given to me to start up my travel agency with Dugans support with very little start up costs. All the agents in the Forum are very helpful and we support each other. I found that a huge plus. I am pleased with the decision I have made with this Host Agency.

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  5. T Cancienne
    November 7, 2012 at 8:57 am #
    15 / 15 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been with Dugan’s for only a few months, and I am returning to the travel industry after many years. I wanted to work from home, so when I began my search for a host agency, my main goals were to have low start -up costs, great training opportunities, support from host agency, and highest commission possible. Dugan’s offers all these things. Anytime that I have a question or concern, it is always answered or addressed quickly. Communication from the agency is daily, and they do a great job of keeping agents updated on current promotions, changes, etc. As with any home business, you will only grow if you put your time and energy into growing your business. Dugan’s will give you all the tools to do so. I am very happy with Dugan’s and would recommend them as a host agency.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  6. Amber Benson
    September 7, 2012 at 9:52 pm #
    11 / 11 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I’ve been with Dugan’s since January 2008. Everyone else who has posted has covered the specifics of working through Dugan’s as an independent contractor under their host agency. I have zero complaints about Dugan’s as a whole and Jennifer as an owner. She does a great job with managing the agency and works hard to support all of us. She provides the tools that help us succeed as agents and training is always available for those who need/want it. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Dugan’s Travels for a host agency!

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  7. Craig B
    August 23, 2012 at 9:04 am #
    19 / 19 found this review helpful.

    I searched for several months looking for a host agency. I’m only doing this as a side job so I didn’t want to pay large fees and basically lose money from day 1.
    Dugan’s fees are low – support is very high and the commission split is very competitive. This is the only agency with this combination.
    Dugan’s is more like a partner than a host (they succeed only if I succeed – their fees are too low to make a business out of). Everyone is free to do as much as they want. No pressure at all.
    I tried inteletravel but Dugan’s puts them to shame – fees, personalized service, access to travel (especially Canadian sites), support getting started.
    I started March 2012 and it’s been great working with Dugan’s (exact opposite of my experience with Inteletravel). Dugan’s treats me like a person, not a number.

    I highly recommend Dugan’s as a host agent.

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  8. Mariana Smith
    July 16, 2012 at 3:37 pm #
    12 / 12 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been an agent of Dugans Travels for almost 3 years. I have been very pleased with their services and would and have highly recommended them to people who are interested in pursuing a career or passion for travel planning. They have always been very quick with returning my emails and answering any questions or problems I may have had. I love the fact that they do not Micro-Manage you and allow you to build your business the way that you want. They have recently upgraded all of their systems and processes that make everything work even smoother and quicker and they are always open to suggestions on how to make things better. I have no plans on leaving Dugans Travels and anyone that is considering this host agency won’t regret it.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  9. Jamie Keeler
    June 26, 2012 at 4:57 pm #
    6 / 6 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been with the agency for almost 2 years now and have had nothing but wonderful experiences. The owner is very honest and straight forward to do business with. Any negatives that I have noticed with other agents is usually because they don’t follow simple instructions. Everything you need to start and keep going is available and if I was not able to find something, I only had to ask for assistance and it was at my fingertips. I have gone to one of the agency hosted seminars and my general impression was that many top notch suppliers are very happy with Dugan’s agents and do thier best to get and keep our business. That alone says the most about any agency. I heard glowing review after glowing review about our agency from suppliers in the cruise industry, top of the line all inclusives and even the travel insurance reps that came as well. The thing that stands out about this agency is that the owner started this to help others succeed and she still strives to do just that. The other agencies charge higher fees, higher commission split and I assume in the larger agencies you may not direct access to the owner. With our agency you have the opposite. Very low fees, very reasonable commission split and open communitcation with not only the owner, but the rest of the management team as well. And every single person that I have come in contact with that is a part of the agency is a travel agent, including the management team, so they know the ins and outs as well as the challenges that we face. They want to help. I have never been a part of another host agency and never have any desire to either. I researched quite a lot before deciding and Dugan’s Travels is the best for someone that wants to be a part of a positive growing agency that will help you to succeed.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  10. Rebecca Johnston
    June 1, 2012 at 6:51 pm #
    8 / 8 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I am new to the professional travel industry and have been with this agency for 11 months. I can’t speak to other host agencies, but this is the one I chose. I looked around online and just couldn’t find anything that made me feel like it was the right fit until I found Dugans.

    I am still learning the ropes and growing my business but I feel like I get my questions and requests responded to promptly with a lot of support and help from the staff. I’m starting to sell more and that is exciting. It is extremely easy to track in the system that is offered to us and many tools, helps and training opportunities are offered. There is enough available that I often feel unable to keep up because I am also working my ‘real’ job.

    I just made my payments for my E&O insurance so I plan on keeping at this with Dugans and only Dugans for at least another year.

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  11. Mary Vizzi
    May 23, 2012 at 11:19 pm #
    12 / 12 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Before I joined Dugan’s in 2009, I spent weeks researching host agencies and sending emails to the owners. I researched blogs by industry experts, and checked out current status with such agencies as CLIA.I even went to a live presentation by one agency who turned out to be a “card mill” agency–very scary. I had done lots of on-line travel booking for me for years, but had never been a travel agent. Dugan’s was very welcoming, and didn’t cost several thousand dollars to start up, like some of the other host agencies. I faithfully read all of the teaching materials, and had help from Angela and Barb when I got stuck. I followed the good advice that Jennifer shared for new agents. Without spending too much money, I was ready to get started.

    I have never regretted my choice. Dugan’s has a wonderful staff of very caring people. They are regular people, many are moms raising children and working for Dugan’s on the side. All of them put in long hours and are very dedicated and patient. This April, I was finally able to get time off to attend the annual Dugan’s seminar. It was a fabulous week packed with learning, and I had a chance to meet many of the staff and other agents in person. There were multiple of the Dugan’s managers in attendance. They organized the event and spoiled us with all kinds of goodies. We inspected ships and spent long hours into the night in our lounge. Some people needed a little help with one-on-one coaching, and others such as me just enjoyed talking and sharing a bit of wine.

    One thing that’s very important to me about Dugan’s is the flexibility. You can work one hour a week or 10 hours a day. They don’t push anyone– you are in charge of your own travel business.
    Many of us have full time jobs, and do our travel business on the side. Others do travel full time. There is no stress, and it’s up to you what you do.

    Dugan’s has an excellent website for all of us with a library of reference materials, and a social networking site, among other things. ClientEase is the system we are currently using to track our bookings and information. It also has marketing tools, and many features. These two items make it so easy to run a business. Jennifer, who is a busy mom herself, somehow manages to find time to look out for her agents, and is constantly coming up with new helpful tools and advice for us.

    I’m so glad that I picked Dugan’s. I feel that I’m part of a big family, and I really enjoy my work as a travel agent.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  12. Michael Reagan
    May 22, 2012 at 6:48 pm #
    8 / 8 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Found the training to be very good and the personal support is more than I expected. The new ClientEase booking site is fantastic and makes record keeping a very simple task.

    Dugans is always trying out new ideas to help agents. Since I have gotten active two years ago, I am impressed with their professionalism.

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  13. Sandy Lober
    May 20, 2012 at 5:30 pm #
    4 / 4 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been with Dugan’s Travels since November of 2007. I am very happy with Agency. I really had very little experience when I started and found the training to be wonderful. Also, the support was always there whether is was management or other agents, you always get an answer to your question. More recently I did a large destination wedding and had some problems with the supplier, Angela Brown was there to help me through the whole process. With the addition of Clientease and a private agency website things just continue to improve. I highly recommend this Agency.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  14. Mary Trask
    May 19, 2012 at 2:45 pm #
    3 / 3 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Dugan’s has allowed hundreds of agents to follow their passion by selling travel from home. I have been with them for nearly four years and have seen a huge improvement in the past year. Jennifer has invested in this company because she takes pride in it and wants her agents to be successful. With Angela on board(as well as other employees)I think this company is outstanding and would be hard to beat. I want to work for a company that stands for integrity, knowledgable agents and access to good products. I have found that here. The information we have access to from other agents through our chat rooms and conventions is outstanding. Training is available from many sources.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  15. Carol Shaddix
    May 18, 2012 at 12:45 pm #
    9 / 9 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I’ve really appreciated my association with Dugan’s Travels for several reasons. First of all, the monthly fees are very reasonable, and can be waived if you’ve had even a minimally productive month of bookings – and I love having E&O insurance available so economically as well. Second, I thought their training manual was great – and wish I had had something like that when I first started out. Third, their new ClientEase system is efficient and allows me to keep the details of each client in a secure and mobile location. Fourth, payments are predictably on-time. And fifth – and I may like this one the best – they leave you alone to run your own business, but are there to help (promptly) if needed.

    After all, there’s a reason you’re called an “independent agent,” and that’s just the way I like it!

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  16. Bobby woody
    May 17, 2012 at 9:55 pm #
    3 / 3 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Jennifer runs a very classy host agency. I was able to start my agency specks ing in Disney travel with her help. All of the support people at Dugans are very knowledgeable and helpful. While my business hasn’t taken off like I wanted I know it’s just a matter of time. It’s all possible because of Jennifer. Thanks

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  17. Jonathan D
    May 17, 2012 at 8:19 pm #
    3 / 3 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Dugans was fabulous with the training and support through the start up. There is alot of information out there and dugans helps filter through it all. They are always quick to answer all my questions and very helpful.
    For someone who is looking to start an independent business, I would highly recommend them. This isn’t an easy industry and Dugans help make sense of it all.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  18. Mubaraka Jafferji
    May 17, 2012 at 6:28 pm #
    4 / 4 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I am with their agency for more than 5 years now i love the support and all that Dugans agents do and help and support each other a lot this is my second job but either way i love it over here
    thanks Jennifer and all the team

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  19. Brenda Kettlewell
    May 17, 2012 at 1:40 pm #
    4 / 4 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have nothing bad to say about Dugans Travels and feel very lucky to have found them. I was new to the travel industry and Dugans has made it very easy for me to learn and grow my business. I feel that the $10 monthly fee is very reasonable if you don’t meet quota – several other host agenices I looked into charged a lot more. I have never had a problem getting any of my questions answered or help with any thing I needed. Jennifer, Angela and Barb are all wonderful to work with and are quick at getting back to me. It helps so much to be able to ask other agents questions on destination and suppliers and I have never gotten any bad advice. The Clientease website is great – very easy to use and a great way to track commissions – I love that I can print out very professional invoices for my clients with my business logo on them. It is also a great experience to go to the yearly meetings – not only does it give you a chance to meet everyone in person but the training is amazing. I highly recommend Dugans to anyone looking at becoming a home based travel agent. Thanks to everyone at Dugans both staff and all the other agents!!

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  20. Cindy Murray
    May 17, 2012 at 10:07 am #
    4 / 4 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been with Dugan’s for a little over a year. As a complete novice to the travel industry, I can say that Dugan’s has been VERY helpful in helping me learn the ropes and get established as an agent. Over the past year, I have seen tremendous changes in technology and organization of the company — all for the better. The agency staff are friendly and helpful, and I have even received assistance from Jennifer herself from time to time (how many companies with 500-600 people can say that?). Everything is very well organized and commissions are paid in a timely manner. I most definitely would recommend Dugans to other home-based agents!

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    • Cindy Murray
      May 17, 2012 at 10:10 am #
      2 / 3 found this review helpful.

      I forgot to mention that the agent network set up by Dugans is EXCELLENT. She has really fostered a helping-hands kind of atmosphere with her agents and everyone is quick to help each other with tips and information on destinations, itineraries, suppliers and just growing our business in general.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  21. Melissa Kemp
    May 17, 2012 at 8:56 am #
    4 / 4 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been with Dugan’s Travels for three years and have loved it. The training provided gives you everything you need to succeed in the business. The upgrades implemented recently dealing with commissions and chat etc. have made a big difference and helped a lot. With so many agents available in which to chat, there is always someone available to answer any questions you may have, whether it is about a destination you do not know or about a supplier. The commission and fees are very fair and reasonable. I feel this agency allows you to work your business to the level you wish; full time to just booking your own travel. I have had only one issue with a missed commission in my three years and Jennifer and her staff corrected this within two business days. I would recommend this agency to anyone who wishes to start their travel business.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  22. Amy Franco
    May 17, 2012 at 1:31 am #
    5 / 5 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I started with Dugans about 3 1/2 years ago. I was new to the travel industry, but had the desire and determination to succeed. I wanted to learn at my own pace and Dugans gave me all the materials to do this along with a vast amount of experienced agents who were ready and willing to assist and answer questions. You get back what you put in. I researched many agencies before choosing Dugans. Dugans charges only $10 if you do not make $3000 in sales monthly. I believe I paid a $125 fee to start. What I got in return far out-weighed the low investment I made. One of the things I found is that Dugans really cares about its agents. There has never been a time that I have not had a question answered. I can also say that I hae been fortunate to meet my quota about 70% of the time since starting. How would I be able to do that unless I received some great training. Dugans provides resources to many webinars and seminars. I was also fortunate to attend a RCCL seminar at sea thru Dugans. Don’t get me wrong, you have to do the work. No one is going to hold your hand, but if you are a self-employed person…who does?? Recently my father passed away, and Jennifer and the mgmt team took the time from their busy day to send me a personal card. I was really touched that with over 600 agents they took the time to send me the card. Making 80% commission split after 3 years with Dugans is also a great reason to work with this host company. I am very happy to be affiliated with Dugans and highly recommend this host agency to anyone new or experienced.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  23. Carolyn Orf
    May 16, 2012 at 10:44 pm #
    4 / 5 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been with Dugan’s almost 5 years. When I decided to enter this business, I did my research. I ended up deciding to join Dugan’s because of the initial training, low fees,commission percentages. All of this remains true to this day.

    The efficiency of the agency has only improved over the years. From the new website and agent forum to the client database (that I don’t have to pay for), my business has only grown. Even in this difficult economy.

    Between the agents helping one another, the close relationships we have with some of the industries top suppliers, and the product training available by all of the suppliers I feel knowledgeable and empowered.

    If you are a self starter, willing to learn with the help of others and on your own this is a great place to start your business. Every year brings more positive changes and even though there are 600+ agents it has always felt like a small family to me.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  24. Don Pryde
    May 16, 2012 at 10:07 pm #
    4 / 4 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I started with Dugan’s two years ago. I was a brand new agent and the low start up fees made it possible to handle the cost while I was learning and my income was very low. I attended Dugan’s seminar in L.A. last year and it was like “one-on-one” training from a ton of major suppliers plus we had a couple of ship inspections available. What more could one ask. Angela and Barb ran the conference because Jennifer was confined to home/bed, her twins were about to be born, but that did not mean the quality suffered. Jennifer has a well qualified staff. The addition of clientease, at no cost to the agents, was a major improvement, this past year, for the agency and the agents. The cost to the agency I’m sure was no small undertaking. Getting everyone train on the new system was no small job either. If you are looking for problems I’m sure you can find them but I’m very satisfied and I would recommend Dugan’s to the others in the travel industry

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  25. Suzan Martinez
    May 16, 2012 at 8:48 pm #
    3 / 3 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    When I first joined I had tons of questions and someone has always helped me quickly. I went to my first seminar, and learned so much! Plus made a lot of new friends. I also am able to learn a lot from the forms that is there for all of us to use. Several questions were answered before I needed to ask. If you are looking fro a great group to be involved with I would highly recommend.

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  26. Dawn Celiberti
    May 16, 2012 at 8:20 pm #
    2 / 2 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    For many years I really wanted to work in the travel industry. I researched, got information on travels schools, programs and host agencys. I never really felt that any of them were for me, and even felt leary of many of them, but then I found Dugans Travels and after doing some research I knew that it was the right fit for me. The training was good, the requirements “made” you stay on track and schedule, which can be hard to do working from home and if you aren’t the most disciplined (i.e., there is always laundry to do, cleaning, working out, etc.).

    Since I joined Dugans, Jennifer has purchased the Clientease program which is a really great way to keep track of your bookings, commission and clients, I love it. Along with Jennifer, Barb and Angela have worked very hard and patiently (I know they have been patient with me for sure)to get us all up and running with the new system, and I truly appreciate it, plus they always get back to me very shortly with answers or help I may need & Virginia has been right on with getting me the logins I need. I love the company website for its agents, especially the forums which have been a tremendous help. Not only have I have asked for help and unselfishly received it, but I also subscribed to the forums which go to my email, I have read and learned soo so much from questions and answers on topics I may or may not need but what an education!

    I am a newbie and have much to learn but already in the 14 months I have been with Dugans I have come so far!! I am so happy to finally be doing what I have dreamed of and am excited about my future in this industry.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  27. Dillon Pyron
    May 16, 2012 at 8:00 pm #
    2 / 2 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I’ve been with Dugan’s Travels since I started out in 2004. The agency clearly evolved over the time. In reality, it took Jennifer a little while to “get into the 21st century”. But she’s done it full on. I started out as a naive noobie who didn’t understand how the business worked and, thanks to the support of many of the other agents as well as Jennifer and her staff, I’m now very happy with where I’m going.

    You can get as much or as little support as you want/need. There are several offerings for website set up and hosting, plenty of agents to answer questions, a pretty good back office and a nice new agents only site for communication, support and just comradeship. Over the last few years we’ve had a seminar where different suppliers have given tips on how (and why) to sell their products.

    I’ve always been confused/upset when someone posts an anonymous review that criticizes someone. And even more so when the poster is no longer associated with (in this case) the agency.

    Knowing what I now know about the travel industry, Dugan’s wouldn’t have been attractive to me in 2004. But knowing what I know about the business now, Dugan’s is definitely where I enjoy working and where I plan on staying.

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  28. Gail Sotrines
    May 16, 2012 at 6:54 pm #
    1 / 1 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have had the pleasure of working for Dugan’s Travels for four years. I had taught for 33 years and was looking to retire and try my hand at something else while I was still able to. I spent many months researching the opportunities out there and kept coming back to Dugan’s. I’ve never been sorry that I did.

    Not only has the agency grown and gotten better, so have I. Each year my sales have increased as has my knowledge. I feel the training I received and the continuous support I’ve been given by the management as well as the other agents is responsible for this growth.

    This year we got a new, modern website as well as Clientease which has made record keeping so much more efficient. None of this was of cost to the agents. If we have a question or need help, we simply ask and get very swift responses and assistance. Jennifer has selected excellent people to assist with the operations of Dugan’s Travels as well.

    I couldn’t be happier that I made the choice of joining Dugan’s Travels.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  29. Michelle Flickinger
    May 16, 2012 at 6:44 pm #
    Rating

    After a frustrating experience with a host agency who stole my commissions & then filed bankruptcy protection so I couldn’t sue, I found Dugans Travels. DO NOT believe the bad reviews. This agency is reputable, fair, friendly, & I am extremely happy I signed on with them. Training was extensive, commissions are paid timely, questions /emails are answered quickly, & fees are very low. I have been a part of Dugans for over 4 years, & I am extremely happy with everyone who works for Dugans, as well as Jennifer Dugan, the owner. Feel free to contact me if you have questions or concerns. I would be more than happy to answer/address them.

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  30. Susan Napier
    May 16, 2012 at 5:22 pm #
    Rating

    As many of my fellow Dugan’s agents have said, Dugan’s gives us an opportunity to work from home (whether full time or part time) at our own pace doing what all of us love…selling travel.

    Before joining Dugan’s, I, too, researched several other host agencies who all required higher start up fees and higher monthly fees. I am so glad I chose Dugan’s!

    Jennifer, Barb, Angela have always been available to answer questions and give guidance when asked. And where else can you get advice from over 600 agents from all over the country on any destination you are researching.

    My only regret is that I did not find Dungan’s earlier!

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  31. Tina Becker
    May 16, 2012 at 4:45 pm #
    3 / 3 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been a home-based agent with Dugan’s for several years now and have built a very successful business.

    I always get unlimited support from Jennifer, Barb & Angela, no matter what. I never felt like I’m bothering them with a question or a concern that I may have. They are very supportive when you need their assistance.

    This is my business and Dugan’s Travels is the vessel I use. I do not expect to have someone hold my hand and walk me through every aspect of the travel business. I read, I educate & I attend many trade shows and FAMS myself so that I can gain more and more knowledge about the travel industry. It’s my responsibility to make my business grow, not theirs.

    That is one of the reasons that I love working within Dugan’s Travels, it really is my own business & because of this I have been able to prosper as a travel agent.

    I read a few of the reviews complaining about the monthly fees and the termination of those who do not comply with the procedures.

    If you can pay your mortgage, car payment, house utilities, etc. on the payment due date then why is it so difficult to pay the $10 monthly fee, if applicable? I just don’t get it.

    Long story short, I always wanted to be a travel agent and Dugan’s Travels helped me achieve this goal. Thanks Jennifer, Barb & Angela.

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  32. Brenda Fredrick
    May 16, 2012 at 4:23 pm #
    1 / 2 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have very poxitive things to say about this agency. They offer an inexpensive way for agents to have their own travel business. If you are not an experienced agent it is not the responsibility of the host agency to train you how to be an agent. That is YOUR responsibility. Dugans points out numerous training opportunities, seminars, webinars and opportunities to expand knowledge. I have been with them for about 5 years and things have changed greatly since then. The new commission process is wonderful- the new chatlist is professional and easy to use. Everything that is needed for an agent to run a successful business is available. This agency charges one of the lowest fees I have ever seen and to say that the owner is just in it for the money is not fair. $10 a month is not going to make or break her- however, I think she is more concerned about the professionalism that is portrayed. If you are not even paying your host agency on time- what are you doing with vendors that she has established a long relationship with, and what about your customers?? Nothing is free- everything has a price, and sometimes that price is taking responsibility. Dugans offers a great opportunity for even part time and non-experienced agents. I came in with about 17 years experience and I think they do a great job. If you want extensive training, and step by step lessons on how to be an agent then perhaps you should consider investing the time needed in classes and lessons. It is not Dugans agents to teach you everything- they offer you all the tools that you need.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  33. Rita Hamilton
    May 16, 2012 at 3:18 pm #
    1 / 1 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I signed up with Dugan’s a few months ago. I found them to be extremely helpful. After the initial training there numerous opportunities for more education. It all depends on what you want to put into it and what niche you need more information for. If you have questions there is a forum where you can get advice and answers from other agents. I have learned a lot from this forum. It is great to have access to the knowledge of agents who have been doing this for quite awhile. Anytime that I have had a question for someone at the agency it has been answered very quickly.
    I would definitely recommend Dugan’s to anyone who is looking for a host agency.

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  34. Kerry Henderson
    May 16, 2012 at 3:06 pm #
    5 / 5 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    When I joined 9 years ago, Dugan’s had less than 300 agents. Now it’s over double that. The owner really worries (maybe too much) about pleasing the agents. She always tries to keep our costs as low as possible, so it is up to us to succeed or not. We had several chances to upgrade from the overworked yahoo & excel processes, but the response always seemed we didn’t want to spend more money, so it took a while to get done.

    Support:
    I’ve explored other hosts — even joined a couple & never found the support I get here. I haven’t done Dugan’s training in years, so I can’t remember initial training, but it taught me the business. Occasionally I come across a new situation & have to dig a little, or ask someone what to do, but it’s no big deal.

    My #1 business asset is the experience of 600+ agents, many of whom are more than willing to offer advice on destinations, suppliers, client issues, business concerns, etc. I haven’t been everywhere & neither have they. But we help each other.

    The Management team has grown, for the better. I have gotten to know a couple of them thru emails, & feel I can ask them whatever I need.

    There is an annual seminar arranged by Dugan’s for all agents who want to/can participate at a very minimal cost. There are always many supplier reps there, and usually a ship inspection or 2.

    Technology:
    As mentioned, we use Clientease to manage bookings & commissions. They have worked with us to customize our product to make things easier, and assure we are trained.

    We also have a terrific new message board and networking website. This is my favorite upgrade! We have a section where we can get to know each other, and a section to help each other. There is also a ‘library’ for research & training opportunities.

    Clientease has a terrific marketing app, and we also have access to vacation.com’s Engagement program.

    I did not purchase a clamshell website, so I can’t comment on that, but it is offered.

    Commissions:
    Dugan’s Travels gets among the best commissions in the business. We are in the top tier of many, if not all, major suppliers. After 3 years, the split is 80/20, or you can pay a one-time fee for 100%.

    Fees/Requirements:
    The cost of doing business with this agency is so minimal, it is amazing we can’t pay on time (but I have been guilty as well).
    - I think there is a sign-up fee, but not sure how much.
    - $10/month — waived if you make $3,000 in sales.
    - $50/yr E&O unless you provide proof you have your own.
    - Any shipping fees incurred with mailing ID cards, checks, documents, etc.

    The only other requirement is to not go 6 months without a booking. Any agent around long enough to remember YTB’s downfall can understand that.

    Violating any of these requirements is cause for termination (including not paying within 20 days of receiving your invoice – the same dates every month).

    Conclusion:
    This agency isn’t perfect, but it’s the best place I’ve ever worked. There used to be messages on the yahoo group that annoyed me, but it has been a long time since we had that issue. What Dugan’s really is, is a group of real people working together, all trying to build their own businesses. I have done favors for some & have asked favors of some. I hit snags along the way, but they got resolved. If there are personality problems, I attribute it to not being able to understand tone thru emails, & people taking things too personally, not unlike any real-life office. If you are respectful of others & really want an opportunity to grow a Travel business, I think Dugan’s is the perfect place for you.

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  35. Edith Wynn
    May 16, 2012 at 2:20 pm #
    1 / 1 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Since being with Jennifer (Dugan’s Travels) I have been aloud to work from home at my own pace and earn money doing what I LOVE to do. The training and help that I get from all employees under Jennifer has been wonderful! Of course there were some bumps in the road at the beginning but it looks as if she’s taking the time to try to make things much easier on all of us! I have not booked allot of travel for others, just a few clients in the almost 3 years being with her, but I have enjoyed that I don’t need to work 40 hours or have to check in with them every second of the day! I would recommend this host to anyone that is looking to book travel, having a great agency with well over 700 agents that will continue to give wonderful ideas to help build your business, and also a wonderful owner that has took her time to make up a wonderful training book and things for you to learn this industry! Jennifer to me is a wonderful host!!!

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  36. Judi Beaubien
    May 16, 2012 at 2:09 pm #
    1 / 1 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I spent a lot of times researching host agencies when I decided to get into the business. I found that Dugans was a very good fit for me. It was reasonable, they have a very extensive learners manual, and everyone I have come in contact with has been more than willing to help. I don’t have a problem paying my monthly fee on time because I expect my commission on time. Granit Dugans doesn’t have control when they receive commissions but I
    look at it as mutal respect.
    As you can tell from the new changes that have taken place over the past year our technical achievements have been outstanding. I will be starting my third year with Dugans and I am very happy that I choose them for a host.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  37. Virginia Ann Busceme
    May 16, 2012 at 2:05 pm #
    2 / 2 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Dugan’s Travels has grown from a small host agency with fewer than 25 agents to a wonderful opportunity for +600 agents to work at home doing something they love. Dugan’s works for me . . . I been with Jennifer since 1999 when there was only a handful of us. I wouldn’t consider going any place else.

    Jennifer pays her agents 75-100% of the total commissions they earn; start-up and monthly fees are very low. Travel was my retirement career dream job and Dugan’s has allowed me to realize that dream.

    Operating a home-based business means you have to be a self-starter. It’s not for everyone. It’s up to you to do what it takes to make your business profitable. I’ve spent many hours doing online training and have attended 3 week long Dugan’s Seminars. All of this training is there for each and every agent. It’s up to the agent to make it happen.

    On the comments by Anonymous #1 and #2, technology doesn’t sell travel. Agents sell travel. All the technology in the world cannot make you successful. It’s the hard work that does it.

    Dugan’s works for me and +600 other agents. And Dugan’s may very well for you too!

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  38. Richard Skinner
    May 16, 2012 at 1:50 pm #
    2 / 3 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been with Dugan’s Agennts for 3 and a half years and have seen lots of changes, the new system they have is great, I would definitely recommend them to anyone that wanted to become an agent. The new forums allow questions to be asked and posted very easy and responses are very fast. the support team we have here is very good, everyone seems to want to help everyone succeed. Angela has really been a blessing for me, helping me with questions and problems I have had in the past. I enjoy cruising and have been going for over 10 years, and now I even enjoy it more as I can help others on their journeys as well. Thank you Dugans for being there for me and helping my business grow.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  39. Greg Gordon
    May 16, 2012 at 1:44 pm #
    4 / 4 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Before signing up with a host agency, I researched most all of them (Montrose, Nexion, AMEX, CruiseOne, and others). I had read the reviews in Agent@Home magazine, and wanted a balance of a host that was big enough to earn higher commissions, but not too big where you were just a number. Dugans fit that description. First, their fees are much lower than a lot of other host agencies – $10/month – waived if you make a quota and they cover your E&O insurance for only $90/year (it would be ~$1000/yr to have my own policy). Then what they pay out is better than most hosts, too. 75% of commission, and 80% after you work with them for 3 years (or 100% if you pay them a one time fee.) Yes, there are agencies that pay more, but then they charge more for monthly fees. I’ve received every commission that I’ve been entitled to and it is direct deposited into my bank account.

    I’ve worked with them for over four years, after having registered my own corporation, CR Surf Travel Company. There are 600 other agents with Dugans in the U.S. and Canada, and it is easy to communicate ideas and concerns between them using our agent-only online forum (which can email me updates to questions I’ve asked). I would not expect the owner to have time to address every agent concern, but when I send an email asking for help her assistants reply within 24 hours. As for training, I can get access to every supplier training program I want – insurance, cruises, by country, gogo, vacation.com, all for free.

    I’m not adding this review to help Dugans, but to help other agents looking for a good host agency. Look for one where the agents can easily interact, you are getting good commissions for low fees, and get good customer service from your host agency.

    I’ve missed a couple of monthly fee payments myself and received a warning email, but I would expect it from any host agency who is trying to run a professional operation. These actions ensure that those working with Dugans Travels are serious about selling travel and not just getting TA discounts.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  40. Karlene Penick
    May 16, 2012 at 1:41 pm #
    2 / 2 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been with Jennifer/Dugan’s Travels since 2003 and have been very pleased since the beginning. When I started I knew nothing about travel. I researched many host agencies and the others wanted a lot more money to start if they would even accept someone with no experience. Dugan’s was a way to get into the business without spending a lot of money. Jennifer accepted newbies; gave us a manual and support we needed to get started. Dugan’s Travels has evolved a ton in the past year with the introduction of ClientEase and the new Agents website that are provided to all the agents. Jennifer is an amazing, honest person that has lead a great agency, without question! Unfortunately Dugan’s has had run-ins with some not so pleasant people that have tried to give the agency a bad reputation but my experience with the agency has been perfect for all 9 1/2 years.

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  41. Christie W.
    May 16, 2012 at 1:25 pm #
    2 / 2 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I’ve been with Dugan’s since 2005. There have been a lot of changes since I started. I think they have all been positive. We have an amazing commission system and client database that Jennifer doesn’t charge us for. There is a $10/monthly fee, but it is waived if you make $3000 in sales each month. It’s extremely fair and if you prepay for the year, it’s only $90. We no longer use Yahoo groups. We have a private message board. This is all fairly new, so it takes some getting use to. I did my research when I started and Dugan’s was the best fit for me. I wanted to be able to work from home and be flexible with my hours. It is a dream job for me. I get to do something I love and stay at home with my kids! I’ve always gotten help quickly when I needed it. The support staff is great!

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  42. Courtney O'Hara
    May 16, 2012 at 1:17 pm #
    4 / 4 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I started with Dugans when they used the “old” systems referenced in earlier reviews and have enjoyed the transition to a more automated system. While it does take a fair amount of training and continual education to stay current, it’s like any other industry; you either work towards the future or get left in the past. I have had several issues with commissions/bookings and all were handled swiftly and professionally. No system is perfect but Dugans works hard to make sure their agents are supported and informed. I have found the office staff to be professional, courteous and helpful. The only suggestion I could make is to make the staff more accessible via phone communication vs email but with this large of an agency that would probably be ineffective for the staff. Although I prefer phone communication my emails have always been answered quickly.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  43. Stephanie
    May 16, 2012 at 1:16 pm #
    1 / 1 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I highly recommend Dugan’s as a host agency. I have been with them for about three years now and have no complaints. What I love the most is the support from jennier, the mgmt. staff and the other agents. They are always happy to help out. So far my commissions have always been paid accurately and timely.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  44. Joanne Telfer
    May 16, 2012 at 1:14 pm #
    2 / 2 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Dugan’s Travels is a great host agency. I have been with them almost 3 years now. I find that they are not babysitters, but I appreciate that! When I have had a concern or a question, I have been given the guidance I need to get the answer I need…not always do they just “offer” the answer, but how else does one learn? Jennifer is in contact with agents. Sure, she wants to make money, but so do the rest of us! If we aren’t happy, she won’t be happy, so she truly DOES work WITH us, not against us! The rest of the admin group (especially Angela in my case) is always willing and ABLE to answer questions and offer guidance. The new system and website hold so many resources…much better than the one used prior. There is adequate training (much better than when I first joined) and always someone to talk with if the answer just can’t be found. I find their commission structure fair, and payment is always timely.
    I also find the other agents to be top notch professionals, enjoy their job, and are good at their work! It’s an honor to be associated with these people and with Dugan’s.
    I love to travel and I love booking travel, and I think that Dugan’s offers me what I need to do what I love.

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  45. Deborah Georg-Johnson
    May 16, 2012 at 1:10 pm #
    2 / 2 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I would like to thank Jennifer Dugan and her team. I have been in the travel industry a very short time but have learned a lot. When I need assistance they have always been able to either answer my questions or direct me in order to find the answer.

    Thank you for being the down to earth host agency I was looking for. I look forward to growing with Dugans Travels for many years to come.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  46. Jacki York
    May 16, 2012 at 1:10 pm #
    3 / 3 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    First of all, I would not pay much attention to anonymous reviews. How true can they be if they won’t sign their names? Moving on…I have been with Dugan’s for about a year and a half. The training was excellent, and the management, especially Angela Brown, has been extremely responsive and helpful. We have a great new website with a training library and agent forums to ask and answer your questions and network with other agents. Our commissions are no longe paid through Excel spreadsheets. We now have Clientease which pays our commissions automatically and also has a client database feature and a marketing tool. The fees are very reasonable- $10 per month, unless you make $3000 in sales- not commission. I researched several other host agencies before I signed with Dugans and they had the most reasonable fees. My overall experience with Dugans has been wonderful, and I would recommend it to anyone who is serious about starting their own travel business- and it is a business. You get out what you put in.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  47. Ashley Pausma
    May 16, 2012 at 1:09 pm #
    5 / 5 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have really enjoyed being a part of Dugan’s Travels and have been for the past 2.5 years, when I first started my home-based agency. Jennifer and her team are quick to respond to questions and ready to help with urgent client matters. I’ve never felt inhibited by working under Dugan’s Travels’ umbrella.
    I like how all business matters are organized into Clientease, our online database and commission tracking system, as well as with Dugan’s Agents website, where there is a wealth of information and helpful forums.
    I also benefit from their high commission status with preferred suppliers.
    For those stating that they didn’t receive enough training, it would be different if we were in a storefront office building face-to-face. The advantage of working from home is that there is an abundance of training, online classes, and webinars at your fingertips on the internet. I think Dugan’s Travels provides ample training, but the responsibility to learn every facet of the travel business cannot fall entirely on their shoulders, because of the dynamics of working independently from home. What’s great about having your own business is that we have everything we need right here on the internet, which sets us up for success. Dugan’s Travels provides one “stepping stone” so to speak, but cannot be there to hold our hand every step of the way. That’s what makes us independent business owners.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  48. Monica LaBlue
    May 16, 2012 at 1:04 pm #
    1 / 1 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    This is my first host agency and will be my only agency. Everything I need is there for me. Many upgrades have been implemented over the last year and made things easier on us as agents. I do not feel Jennifer is in this for herself only. I receive so much help(if I ask for it) and all of the other agents I have met personally at the annual seminar are absolutely great! This is my second job but it’s one I love doing and am thankful for Dugans giving me the chance to do it!

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  49. Crystal Sutherland
    May 16, 2012 at 12:59 pm #
    4 / 4 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been with Dugan’s Travels for a few years and have nothing bad to say about them.

    As has been mentioned, there have been many changes recently for the better. Dugan’s has grown and now their “system” matches the growth.

    The agent website has many training opportunities, access to forums where the agents can all discuss things and ask questions. It is a very friendly and helpful bunch, my questions have always been answered.

    I find Jennifer (the owner) to be friendly and helpful in resolving any issues that may arise.

    The commission level is one of the better ones I have seen when I was researching host agencies, and their start up cost and monthly fees are very modest. The monthly fees can even be waived if you have enough sales in the previous month.

    I would recommend Dugan’s Travels as a house agency in a heartbeat!

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  50. Carol Walsh
    May 16, 2012 at 12:57 pm #
    6 / 6 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have to say that my experience with Dugan’s has been nothing but positive. They really have it together as far as documentation, training, etc. Clientease has been wonderful and there were no additional charges for this great database. Every single time I have put out a question to the managers and/or Jennifer, I always got an answer quickly. Barb has been absolutely wonderful to work with. Angela has given great webinars. I have been really impressed with this agency. In defense of Jennifer…….she is very busy and she just had twins this past year. It is not realistic that she can communicate with all agents, but her managers handle everything very well. I have recommended people to Dugans and I will continue to do so. Thank you

    Carol

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  51. Anonymous Agent2
    May 16, 2012 at 8:53 am #
    12 / 26 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    This agency has a lot of issues. I would not recommend this agency to anyone. The training was ok, but the support is not there at all. Never do you personally hear from the owner. But she will come into the message board and complain that people are not paying their fees and if this continues she will start cleaning house. This agency is all about how much the owner can make. There is no support, extra training, or help in building your end up. After she makes enough from you she will terminate you unless you are her few choice few. Would I go back to this host? NO! Would I recommend this Host? NO!

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I was previously hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    • Jennifer Dugan
      May 16, 2012 at 11:57 am #
      12 / 14 found this review helpful.

      I am not sure what this person is referring to in not having any interaction with me personally because I am hands on. It sounds to me like a very personal attack on me personally rather than giving a real review of the agency as a host agency. We don’t terminate anyone who shouldn’t be terminated and the reasons for termination are: Not paying what is owed to the agency and no sales at all in a 6 month window.

      As far as support goes, we have a great dedicated team of people who provide support and I am very proud of these people. It is not only me running the agency but several qualified people who help day in and day out with the agency. Anyone who has attended our seminar in Anaheim the past few years knows this.

      I think people are coming to this website to get honest reviews not a personal attack on host agency owners. Giving facts not stating things like you will be terminated whenever I feel like it, that is just untrue.

      Jennifer Dugan

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    • Dillon Pyron
      May 16, 2012 at 10:21 pm #
      7 / 7 found this review helpful.

      I’ll address this quickly. Look at the size of the agency. The turnover is there, as at many (most?) hosts. There are agents who find that the travel industry isn’t for them or what they expected; those who thought they could get some free/cheap travel (which isn’t there) or folks who have just had life get in the way of life. I have never depended on anyone to “give” me training. Instead I’ve sought it out. I take classes from CLIA, Sandals, the Hawai’i Visitors Bureau and a few others.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  52. Anonymous Agent
    May 14, 2012 at 7:57 am #
    15 / 20 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    This was my first host agency. The intro training was Ok, I was a complete newbie at the time. So I needed a ton more training.First the bad. They give you the access you need for just about everything but they had nothing to offer in terms of back office or technology. They use yahoo groups and commision claims was an excel spreadsheet. The owner often barked about the monthy fees and would state agents would be terminated if it wasn’t paid on time. This was said so much it became unpleasant. The yahoo agent group was patroled so much that if you forgot to sign your name to the post you got a nasty email and your posting was rejected. I always paid when I had to (they waive the fee if you sell $3000.00 in a month) and felt that was fair. I left for those reasons. The good. They are a very honest host agency, they are not going to take your money and leave you. I found the owner to be very helpful when needed and her support system always handled problems fast. She listens and responds to her agents. They have top level commissions and and will get you access to any supplier you may need. I really feel if they added some tech and offer some tech, dropped the yahoo thing and conversed with difficult agents more privately they would be a top notch outfit. I haven’t been with them for some time, 4 years or so, so much of this may have changed. This was just my experince. Would I join them again? I would if those issues where resolved.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I was previously hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    • Jennifer Dugan
      May 16, 2012 at 9:31 am #
      18 / 19 found this review helpful.

      There have been many changes to Dugan’s Travels host agency program.

      Some top things are:

      Private agency website with message forums. We no longer use Yahoo Groups.

      Clientease is our commission program. No longer using Excel.

      Clamshell Studios offers special websites for our agents. http://www.clamshellstudiosllc.com/affiliates/dugans/

      We have a full management team in place.

      Our sales have been up over 35% the last 2 years in a row. We have close relationships with suppliers and are a member of Vacation.com Inner Circle.

      Many things changed once we began to grow so much and changes needed to be made. Keep in mind when I started the host agency set up, I was just trying to help other moms work at home as travel agents. We grew so much that there were some growing pains.. but it is great now!

      Give us another look if you haven’t recently.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    • Tobi Tuttobene
      May 16, 2012 at 9:36 am #
      9 / 11 found this review helpful.

      Anonymous Agent
      To bad you didn’t list the pros before the cons.

      Just an FYI…Dugan’s has changed and for the good.

      Jennifer implemented a new website for the agents (no longer uses Yahoo) and has ClientEase, an excellent program for commissions and suppliers.

      Regarding the monthly fees…This is fee that the agents agree to pay, unless of course they reach their quota. Maybe Dugan’s should have taken a credit card and charged the fee to each agent; however she trusted the agent to pay their bills on time. Dugan’s also offers a special yearly rate of $90, which was more than fair!

      In regards to your post about the Yahoo Group. The rules were stated in the agent handbook. Unfortunately, the forum had to be moderated, the reason is that some of the agents would be very nasty to other agents and post for all to see. This was very hurtful to the agent trying to help answer questions. You were asked to sign your name to the posts, so the agent reply to your request knew who they were helping. I moderated the group and yes, I rejected the posts along with a reply stating that all posts need to be signed before they can be approved. If that is a nasty reply, I apologize!

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    • Dillon Pyron
      May 16, 2012 at 8:11 pm #
      2 / 4 found this review helpful.

      You say that “The owner often barked about the monthy fees and would state agents would be terminated if it wasn’t paid on time”. Um, she’s not running the agency because it’s fun. Those support fees are part of the agency’s income. You think your phone would keep ringing if you didn’t pay.

      As far as “atroled so much that if you forgot to sign your name to the post you got a nasty email and your posting was rejected”, I can’t say one way or the other about getting a nasty email because I never did. But one good reason to put a .sig on is so that people know who you are, and you don’t become just an anonymous troll. For me it took about 30 seconds to add a default .sig to my mailer and I never had to do it again.

      Take a look at my review. I’m going to agree that Dugan’s four years ago needed some improvement. And that’s been addressed. I’m happier now than I would be had the changes that Jennifer has made not have happened. (Was that really a sentence?)

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    • Anonymous Agent
      May 18, 2012 at 5:30 am #
      15 / 15 found this review helpful.

      I just want to clarify that it was not my intention to put Dugan’s Travel in a bad light. I am simply stating my situation at the time. I want to clarify a few things to all that have responded. I found the $10.00 a month very fair and a good motivational tool to hit that $3000 a month. I felt like I achieved something every time I made it. As far as the Yahoo groups, I did get a very unprofessional email from the moderator for leaving out a signature (I corrected that right away) and there was several times that I asked an important question and the moderator didn’t feel that my question should be asked to the group and it was rejected, not forwarded to some who could help just rejected. I felt that was uncalled for. That is not Dugan’s Travel fault but the moderator’s. I left because there were a lot of not so positive things that I mentioned earlier going on in the yahoo group at that time and that just made me uncomfortable. I have no clue to how the chat group is now only the way it was around 4 years ago so anyone reading this please take that into consideration. Dugan’s is a very honest host agency with a very hardworking owner there is no questioning that. In no way is Dugan’s just looking to make money off you, take a look at some other hosts and you will see who is trying to make money from you. I found them very supportive and at times I wish I didn’t leave. I have just recently looked at the website at Jennifer’s suggestion and all the changes look fantastic and it looks like Dugan’s has positioned itself well as a top host agency. I am happy where I am at now, but I would not hesitate to recommend Dugan’s to anybody especially if they are new. And if I was looking for a host again I would go back, you guys have better tech than I have now. One other point I would like to make is that I posted as Anonymous Agent only because I do like my name all over the place on the internet. I don’t go around posting things like this; I found this site and thought it was interesting and empty of posts, so I thought I would make a post real quick. I hope this clears things up a bit.
      Best wishes.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

Review this Host Agency

Click stars below to rate.
Rating