Cruises Inc. Reviews

(19 reviews)
1201 W Cypress Creek Road, Ste. 100
Ft Lauderdale, FL 33309
888.400.8794
[email protected]
"Our site is a free resource intended to help agents find a host agency. If we helped out, please pass along the kindness and let host agencies know our site helped in your decision making process." - Steph

Host Agency Details

Affiliations:
World Travel Holdings
2015 Sales:
$50-99.9 million
Host Type:
unavailable
Accepting:
Beginner Agents, Experienced Agents
Members Of:
ASTA, CLIA, IATA, OSSN
# of Contractors:
500-999
GDS:
Not Offered

About Cruises Inc.

Cruises Inc. host agency is a part of World Travel Holdings (WTH), the largest distributor of cruise vacations. Cruises Inc. offers their home based travel agents Cruise Control, a reservation system that is a customer relationship management (CRM) tool, booking engine, and financial management tool all-in-one.

A staff of nearly 100 employees offers support to the Cruise Inc. network of home based agents. That team includes an Agent Support Team as well as a Business Development Team.

Cruises Inc.4.2236842105319

Cruises Inc. Reviews

19 Reviews for “Cruises Inc.”

  1. Diane Mendoza
    January 30, 2017 at 7:05 pm #
    6 / 8 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Cruises Inc. provides me the opportunity to work in the “happy” business.

    Though the years, it has been such a thrill to help existing and new clients with their travel needs. To this day, I still enjoy researching the best value, experiences while respecting a travel budget for my clients.

    Cruises Inc. provides a wonderful platform for me to provide my clients a professional experience.

    It’s all about providing “good ole fashioned” service and doing the work to provide a memorable vacation for my clients.

    Over the years, I have witnesses Cruises Inc’s innovation which keeps as fresh and increases all of our businesses.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  2. Anonymous
    December 17, 2015 at 8:44 am #
    98 / 102 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I write this feeling a bit sad and disappointed. Although I am currently hosted by Cruises Inc, I am actively looking for a new host. When I first chose Cruises Inc, it seemed like the perfect choice. I wanted to focus on Cruises but be able to book all travel. They explained that they have a staff to support me, great technology, access to great rates and group space through WTH, included great website and client emailing, etc. It sounded great. Then, I had the “training.” In a word, it was terrible. It was a 2 day live, online training that was a complete waste of time. I don’t need to learn how to record a voicemail message, how to talk to people, which category the various cruise lines belong to, etc. I honestly felt like I didn’t learn a single useful thing. They barely touched how to make an actual booking! This is particularly important because their software is the worst program I have seen and feels like I stepped back to 1995. I am highly tech savvy and it took my hours of trial and error, on my own, to figure it out. Support services is the department you call with any needs. This is like roulette. If you get one of the nice and helpful ones, they walk you through the system and tell you how to enter in the information that you need to enter in. More often than not, however, you get one of the rude ones who rush you and make you feel badly for not knowing something you were never trained in. Booking land vacations in the system is particularly difficult. The monthly fee ($39), coupled with only receiving 60% of commissions earned makes it hard to make a profit and justify sticking with Cruises Inc. Additionally, for most cruise lines, they direct you to an in-house BDM and have no BDM representation with the cruise line itself. I don’t understand why this is the case and feel like Cruises Inc perhaps doesn’t trust its agents or wants to control their interactions with the cruise lines. They provide a nice website and weekly emails generated by them. Beyond that, I am left feeling very disappointed. It has been a year and a half, I feel like I have given it enough time and it is time to move on.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  3. Jo Ann Williams
    September 9, 2015 at 12:44 pm #
    16 / 23 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I never thought I would become a travel agent…I was an accountant for over 35 years and assumed I would retire as an accountant. However, when I was a little girl, my dream was to become an airline stewardess. I knew I wanted to travel the world and I knew this would give me the opportunity to do so. I went to college, fell in love, got married and immediately started raising a family. I became an accountant and had a successful career. Eventually, I rose to the vice president level and was fairly content. As I was busy with many facets of my life, I realized that I was rapidly approaching becoming an empty-nester. I was thinking, now I can think about what I want to do with the rest of my life. Also during this time, my job ended due to a company merger and I would soon be out of a job. Though I no longer wanted to be an airline stewardess, I decided I would love to become a travel agent. I enjoyed helping friends and family with their travel plans and loved planning my own travel adventures. Luckily for me I found my true calling and I am extremely happy and enjoying every minute of being it!

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  4. Katie Diekhaus
    May 8, 2015 at 8:37 am #
    20 / 21 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I first learned about Cruises Inc. from my mother-in-law, Cheri who is a Cruises Inc. vacation specialist as well. Honestly, I was referring so many people to Cheri and answering questions about travel for them, it only made sense to become an agent myself. I work full time as a 9-1-1 dispatcher, and work my Cruises Inc. business during my days off, but I became an agent in hopes of working from home full time one day and having more flexibility with my schedule. I get a lot of help from Support Services – they are great! I knew the company had been around for a really long time, and that meant stability to me, not to mention the relationships the company has developed with suppliers – it is all relative.

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  5. Amy Fasbinder
    May 8, 2015 at 8:37 am #
    11 / 11 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I come from a healthcare background and I wanted more flexibility with my schedule and more family time. My deciding factor was the connection I felt with Cruises Inc., they are truly there to support me. We are a big network of agents, but we have a tight-knit family feel. I felt like I could make a career out of this almost immediately and that’s because of the people surrounding me, I don’t think I could ever do this on m my own. I realized early on that I had the tools around me to do this long term. The technology provided is great, I have everything needed to be professional, prepared and be valuable to my clients. They truly are there every step of the way, from phone calls, webinars, and more. I’m not a sales person, but I’m a people person – that comes easily to me. Cruises Inc. provides training on products so that when I have a conversation with my clients I understand which is the perfect cruise line or resort vacation for them.

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  6. Anonymous
    April 7, 2015 at 1:23 pm #
    77 / 80 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I am extremely frustrated by my experience. As a newbie, I was excited by this opportunity to live out my dream. The training was nothing short of dismal. The modules provided were insufficient and they suggested we refer to a website or resource which was never provided during training. The 2-day seminar was so fast-paced and barely touched on how to enter data into, what appears to be, a complicated system. With only one brief review of how to enter cruise vacations into the system there was no mention or introduction on how to enter land-based vacations or even what land-based vacations are available. We were referred to a training module online. And when asked specific questions, we were consistently told to contact support services. And when I contacted them, I was told to contact tech support services at an email that bounced back to me. Seems no one has an answer. I also got the runaround, after speaking to two different people, about ordering marketing material and the final result of that was to consult an online write-up about the material (which I had a question about, but no one could answer me).

    I feel like I’ve been thrown to the wolves and I am actively seeking out a new agency. I am just sad that I’m out the $250 I really didn’t have in the first place.

    I am not simple minded, in fact I actually have a brain. I’m also not afraid of hard work. The lack of support has been mind boggling and frustrating.

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  7. Alan
    November 11, 2014 at 12:13 am #
    74 / 76 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    When I first started with Cruises Inc I was happy. This year my business started to grow and Cruises Inc started restructuring. First, the technology is outdated and getting worse. Second, support services provides little assistance. Everyone says it’s someone else’s job. Third, you have to compete with the parent company who has multiple websites that undercut the prices you can offer. Fourth, feedback isn’t welcome and the top leaders are guarded by assistants.

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  8. Vivian Webb
    December 4, 2013 at 4:33 pm #
    27 / 30 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I decided to join Cruises Inc, because out of all the business opportunities I researched, the owner was able to speak personally with me. He told me we were a family! He told me he would show me what not to do, so I wouldn’t repeat mistakes. I focus on selling, and back office does the rest of the work including customer service. Am I glad I chose Cruises Inc over other companies? Yes! Agent support helps in several ways and customer service is the biggest support to my clients, freeing me up to handle customer needs that only I can help them with.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  9. Carla Beddome
    November 25, 2013 at 4:01 pm #
    15 / 19 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    After 35 years as a high school teacher, I needed a second career. Being a Home-based Cruise & Vacation Specialist fits my retired lifestyle and allows me to interact with clients across the nation. The support and continuing education offered through Cruises Inc. headquarters keeps me motivated and up-to-date. Cruises Inc. continues to offer innovative marketing opportunities to help me grow my business. Weekly team meetings along with the regional and national conventions provide invaluable education. This is my eighth year with Cruises Inc., and each time I receive a call from a client, I’m excited to be able to make their travel dreams a reality.

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  10. Terry Jones
    November 25, 2013 at 3:59 pm #
    11 / 11 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been with Cruises Inc. for nearly seven years and I have to say it was the best decision I have made in business. I began working in the travel industry at an airline 20 years ago and have worked at several small and large agencies over the years. There were several parts of me that did not like working for another company; the first being flexibility. I have growing children and aging parents and over the years, it was tough to get time off to take care of my personal needs. Also, the financial struggle that came as a woman in sales was a tough uphill battle. So, I began searching for a way to combine my love for travel with a flexible business endeavor and found Cruises Inc. Here, I can build my own clientele

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  11. Mike Cohen
    November 25, 2013 at 3:57 pm #
    12 / 15 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I was looking forward to retiring for a long time, but I have nothing interesting to do. My one passion is cruising, so I researched opportunities in the cruise industry. I learned about Cruises Inc. and joined in July 2010. I have learned so much from the training team and customer care and have found this to be so much fun. I have been impressed with how many people have trusted me with their cruise vacations. I do not have a single negative thing to say about the corporate headquarters staff.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  12. Vicki Hayes
    November 25, 2013 at 3:55 pm #
    7 / 7 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Cruises Inc. has been absolutely incredible in their support of me in growing my business and I can’t say enough about it. They are a very large family of agents and a corporate headquarters but yet it’s like we are run like a small family business because there is a connection between the staff, the agents and everyone involved.

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  13. Priscilla
    December 31, 2012 at 8:58 am #
    17 / 18 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    The training and support at Cruises Inc. is wonderful. I was new to the industry and have learned so much and continue to do so. It’s very comforting to know I can call in to receive support if I have any questions along the way. The website is great for my clients to begin their research. I typically finish the booking personally; however, I have had a few book from my site.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  14. Bob Nussbaum
    December 28, 2012 at 9:25 pm #
    10 / 12 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Cruises Inc. offers great back office support allowing me to focus on sales. Many corporately sponsored specials offered through out the year.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  15. Gregg
    December 26, 2012 at 5:51 am #
    14 / 15 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    What helps me the most is the cutting edge technology platform that is not only a complete booking engine, but also a robust customer management program. Nothing makes a client happier than an agent who is on the ball with all the items necessary to ensure a complete vacation experience, both before and after the sale.

    Cruises Inc. allows me to earn additional commissions on shore excursions and travel insurance, as well as all the standard components of a total vacation.

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  16. Claudia J
    December 21, 2012 at 2:55 pm #
    23 / 23 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    This is my second host agency relationship. Over the years, I’ve talked with just about all of them at conferences. I love the way I’m treated by Cruises Inc. WE have the ability to chat with other agents and they all seem happy to help with my questions. Our websites give us the ability to have our clients research and book online if they want to. I’m notified right away if someone books one of my sites and can contact my clients to give them that TLC they want. I am not charged extra for my websites, for support or for my E&O insurance. The suppliers are eager to take care of me and my clients – I think that’s because of the Cruises Inc name. Some suppliers, like RCCL and NCL even have special desks to take care of Cruises Inc agents. Boy, does that cut down on the waiting time. Best of all, not once in the five years I’ve been with them has my commission been late! Not once.

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  17. Amber S
    December 21, 2012 at 9:46 am #
    19 / 19 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I’m pretty new to travel but have been in sales and have taken advantage of more than one opportunity to be home-based. I did a lot of research before choosing Cruises Inc. They had a clearly developed training program and I thought that would be important because I was new. They delivered in spades! I received plenty of support when I finished training and they helped me get my marketing started right away. They even sent me ideas to jump start my business BEFORE I started training! I would also give high marks to their technology. The reservation system is fast and easy to use and the websites I have are spectacular.

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  18. Jamie
    November 21, 2012 at 8:14 pm #
    45 / 47 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    The people are great and helpful, and there is real potential for them to be the perfect host agency, but things are lacking. My biggest issues with them are the current business model (there are 2, some agents are still on the Classic model which was a WHOLE lot better), the lead program and the lack of nationwide advertising. With the current model, no matter how much training I do with the cruise lines, I will never be able to receive leads via the cruise line’s “Find an Agent” database because no one will be able to find me. The lack of nationwide advertising (it’s limited to southern Florida and has just been scalled back even more) produces very little calls or web leads. And now the lead programs have been resticted to invited agents only. I’m finding it hard to succeed as it is, now I feel like my host agency is against me. I want to love them and I’m so hoping things change for the better really soon, but for now I’m searching for a new host.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  19. Kathy
    September 5, 2012 at 12:19 pm #
    12 / 12 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Cruises Inc. has been absolutely incredible in their support of me in growing my business. The support i receive is the best, it helps me grow my business and my clients. Being a part of Cruises inc feels like being a part of a family.

    Cruises Inc. continues to offer innovative marketing opportunities to help me grow my business. Weekly team meetings and training along with the regional and national conventions provide invaluable education.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

Review this Host Agency

Click stars below to rate.
Rating
 
 

Help us get rid of spam by filling out our Captcha! *

7 Shares
Share7
+1
Tweet
Share