Brownell Travel Reviews

(9 reviews)
216 Summit Blvd., Ste. 220
Birmingham, AL 35243
855.737.7504
"Our site is a free resource intended to help agents find a host agency. If we helped out, please pass along the kindness and let host agencies know our site helped in your decision making process." - Steph

Host Agency Details

Affiliations:
Virtuoso
Previous Year's Sales:
$50-99.9 million
Host Type:
Hybrid (Host & Travel Agency)
Accepting:
Beginner Agents, Experienced Agents
Members Of:
ARC, ASTA, CLIA, IATA, NACTA
# of Contractors:
50-99
GDS:
Sabre, Worldspan

About Brownell Travel

Brownell Hosting is a branch of Brownell Travel, the oldest travel agency in the country. A member of Virtuoso, Brownell Hosting is a host agency that focuses on luxury travel.

All agents that are accepted into the program attend a 2-day workshop in Birmingham. This training helps to famliarize Brown Travel home based travel agents with the handbook and technology available to them.

A one-year structured mentoring program is available for home based agents with no prior experience in the travel industry.

If you’re new to the travel industry, make sure to take a look at our resources page for loads of information on joining the industry!

Brownell Travel4.944444444449

Brownell Travel Reviews

9 Reviews for “Brownell Travel”

  1. Catherine Parkin
    October 16, 2017 at 11:24 am #
    1 / 1 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    What can I say…I found my family when I found Brownell. As a 17 year financial services professional I knew I would need some training when it came to starting my second career. After extensive research I discovered that Brownell was the ONLY answer for me. I was lucky to be accepted into their mentoring program which could be considered more of business consulting/training relationship. They spent and enormous amount of time with me to bring me up to speed not only on the industry but also on how to establish and excel at running my own business. They still operate in that capacity for me as I am learning new things everyday in this role.

    I don’t have a benchmark for comparison but I know that I couldn’t do it without Brownell. Just having their name behind me brings enthusiastic greetings (and even hugs sometimes) from vendors, hoteliers, etc when I first meet a new partner. My clients are spoiled because I am part of Brownell.

    The support and values are truly outstanding and I couldn’t imagine being with another host agency.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  2. Louisa Gehring
    August 31, 2017 at 8:51 am #
    2 / 2 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Almost 5 years ago, I timidly took the plunge into the world of luxury travel. Coming off of my first business (an online care package company), my ego could not support pouring my heart and soul into another business with a short life span due to poor support. From the start, Brownell’s Hosting team assured me that that would not be the case. They were right, and I have never looked back! The positive attitude, support, and family atmosphere of Brownell is what brings me to the office (my home office, but it feels like they are here with me!) every day. When the going gets tough and I have an issue with a supplier or a client, they have my back. They keep me in line from an Accounting/Commissions standpoint with reports, and support from a Marketing perspective. From a business standpoint, suppliers are willing to work with me due to the high volume of business we together as a team bring in, giving me much more “service buying power” for my clients. The only gripe I have is that the extended family I have received through the Brownell Hosting Agency is all over the country, and not in my own town! If only we could have weekly dinners together, it would be the icing on the cake. For now, I’ll settle for get togethers a couple times each year :).

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  3. Amanda Watkins
    August 11, 2017 at 10:27 am #
    4 / 4 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Brownell Travel rests firmly in the upper echelon of travel professionals. They are very deliberate and discerning when selecting people for their hosting program. It was a huge honor and privilege to be chosen. The hosting program at Brownell is second to none in terms of the resources provided, assistance given and the collaborative relationship among the advisors. And the hosting team members are simply the nicest group of people!

    Brownell has a reputation as being a professional and friendly group of advisors. Suppliers love working with Brownell advisors. In all honestly, I do not think I would have entered the travel industry if I wasn’t chosen to be a part of Brownell’s team.

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  4. Irene Quisenberry
    February 11, 2016 at 3:37 pm #
    2 / 2 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Brownell Hosting is the gold standard in host agency programs. From the onboard training to the day-to-day support, the hosting team offers best practice strategies and industry insight to ensure I stand apart in the marketplace. They keep me well-informed on industry news, supplier promotions, and quickly answer my administrative questions. Even as a home-based advisor, I feel incredibly connected with not just the hosting team but the entire Brownell Family. There is a collaborative and supportive environment among the advisors which truly gives me an advantage in designing client travel experiences. I am so proud to be affiliated with such a prestigious agency. The sky is the limit here!

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  5. Carrie Mahoney
    February 10, 2016 at 6:15 pm #
    Rating

    I was so thrilled to be accepted into Brownell’s mentoring program. I knew I wanted to be with a Virtuoso agency, but I also knew I wanted excellent training as I got started. It was incredibly helpful.

    Now that I am more established, the hosting program continues to support me in every way. My colleagues there make sure everything I need behind the scenes goes smoothly, and helps point me in the right direction when I need advice. I haven’t stumped them yet! And, everything is done quickly, correctly, and with a smile. The hosting program definitely embodies Brownell’s key traits: passion, integrity, excellence, graciousness, and innovation. I’m successful, but more importantly, I work with smart, FUN, dedicated people. I am so proud to introduce myself to suppliers as a member of Brownell.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  6. Jessica Ourisman
    December 20, 2012 at 8:57 pm #
    6 / 6 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    The training and hosting programs at Brownell Travel are so unique and a testament to Brownell’s commitment to a successful future for the travel industry as a whole. I am so proud to be a part of this “family” and I can say, without a doubt, that my business owes its success to the daily support and assistance from the Brownell hosting team. In addition to hosting support, Brownell also provides an outlet for peer collaboration. While I may not know 100% about every destination in the world, my clients know that I have access to over 100 other amazing luxury travel advisors. I use this network on a daily basis to get the best expert tips and fresh insight on my clients’ next destinations.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  7. Caroline Wallace
    October 3, 2012 at 8:38 am #
    5 / 5 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Brownell Travel’s hosting department is an important part of my success. Being an independent consultant with Brownell and working from home, it would be easy to feel isolated. Nevertheless, my assistant and I feel completely connected and love the communal support that we receive from Brownell Travel.

    There are no questions left unanswered, and if more than 3 minutes elapse with an unanswered question then we worry that hosting has left for the day!! The hosting program is a true partnership and just another way of showing that we are part of the Brownell “family”. They are as passionate for our work as we are.

    Their support and responsiveness shows they have a true stake in our success. I cannot imagine a greater agency or support team and am lucky to be part of such an organization. Thanks!

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  8. Kelly Millington
    October 1, 2012 at 11:12 am #
    5 / 5 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been with Brownell Travel for just over 1 year and cannot say enough good things about it! I love everything about this company. I had always wanted to be a travel agent but really wanted to be qualified as a luxury travel advisor and it was very important to me to be a member of a Virtuoso host agency. Brownell Travel’s mentoring program has provided me with training, an outstanding community of seasoned professionals and access to the best suppliers and resources that I never could have found on my own. In the world of booking travel, Brownell Travel has a stellar reputation with all suppliers and my clients receive incredible upgrades, personalized attention and wonderful amenities. I never feel “alone” working from home because I know there is always someone available at Brownell to help me out and they are very in tune with the needs of all of their advisors. I am so thankful I found Brownell and am ecstatic about my new career!

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  9. Martha Rhodes
    September 27, 2012 at 10:18 am #
    5 / 5 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have started my travel career by making one the best decisions–and that was to join Brownell’s mentoring program and graduate as an independent agent. Not only have they provided me with excellent training, they continue to support me as I learn and grow my business. The hosting support staff is professional, positive, responsive, and always cheerful and eager to help me. I have found that my personal desire to be a top-notch travel professional with high expectations for customer service, integrity, and commitment to excellent results have made possible by my affiliation with Brownell. What they deliver to me allows me to deliver the very best to my clients.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

Review this Host Agency

Click stars below to rate.
Rating
 
 

Help us get rid of spam by filling out our Captcha! *

0 Shares
Share
+1
Share
Tweet