Academy Travel Inc Reviews

(14 reviews)
297 Rt 72 West, Suite 35
Manahawkin, NJ 08050
609.978.0740
[email protected]
"Our site is a free resource intended to help agents find a host agency. If we helped out, please pass along the kindness and let host agencies know our site helped in your decision making process." - Steph

Host Agency Details

Affiliations:
unavailable, Vacation.com
2015 Sales:
unavailable
Host Type:
Hybrid (Host & Travel Agency)
Accepting:
Beginner Agents, Experienced Agents
Members Of:
ACTA, ARC, ASTA, CLIA, IATA, NACTA
# of Contractors:
500-999
GDS:
Sabre

About Academy Travel Inc

Academy Travel was founded in 1996 and focuses exclusively on selling Disney travel. Home based agents in the Academy Travel program do not have to have experience and will have access into training, marketing materials, and support through a Sales and Marketing Manager.

Agents under the Academy Travel umbrella are also able to sell all other vendors. Academy Travel offers commission splits of up to 90% and there are no program fees. 

Academy Travel Inc2.3846153846213

Academy Travel Inc Reviews

14 Reviews for “Academy Travel Inc”

  1. Eve
    December 9, 2016 at 4:35 pm #
    7 / 15 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I started off with this host agency a couple years and they just did Disney vacations. It was really good for that (Jayne is top of the line great), but when they expanded to “the rest of the world”… it got to where there was little to no support with it. I loves a group who wanted to cruise for a reunion, as well as a home school group because of the lack of communication with that part of the agency. I switched at that point.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I was previously hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  2. Don't wish to provide
    July 8, 2015 at 3:31 pm #
    26 / 53 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    My only explanation of satisfactory reviews is that the company is asking current employees to write them.
    No agent of experience would write a reputable review for this company.
    There is zero communication with Jayne. And Lisa never once made contact with me during my entire employment with them.
    They charge fees to book other vendors- and don’t expect to receive this information in any timely fashion.

    You’re nickel and dimed for documents and mailings.
    There are many other agencies that will provide you with the support you need to get started in a professional manner.

    I ran from this company as quickly as I could.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I was previously hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  3. Anonymous
    April 8, 2015 at 7:45 pm #
    19 / 48 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I was with Academy Travel for over 2 years and that was long enough! Anyone that says they are a great agency has clearly been drinking the “kool-aid”. They live in the dark ages with no direct deposit, fax in commission trackers, trying to use a blog for agents to ask questions and meet each other, making you pay for a book to book things other than Disney, and on top of it all they give you a terrible commission % on Disney . Jayne may say that she has experience but if you ask her a question 9/10 times her answer will be “call the supplier”. I ask a question once which took over a week to get a reply and by then I had gotten an answer elsewhere, she answered it wrong and when I questioned her on it she said she was glad I found the answer. I should have trusted my gut that an agency that doesn’t charge a fee to start up would be bad news. I waited 2 months for commissions that I should have received a month earlier. They warn you before you go on AEPs that are not hosted by them that to watch what other people say/do and now I know why, they don’t want you learning how many great agencies are out there that give you great support, know you by name and appreciate you no matter if you are the top booking agent in the agency or just getting started. Many times after an agent goes to an AEP, they leave Academy Travel. Which is why they have resulted in doing more AEPs that are strictly for their agency and not allowing agents the opportunity to do the other ones to meet agents from other agencies. Do you research before joining this agency!

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I was previously hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  4. Amy
    March 21, 2015 at 11:28 am #
    16 / 18 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been with Academy Travel for just under two years now and I love it! I looked around at several other agencies before I chose which agency I was most interested in and Academy was my top choice by far! And, I am so glad that I made that choice. Jayne is wonderful! If you need anything, she will do everything she can to help you. And the team is very friendly! We have multiple resources for training including on site trainings (which have been at least twice a year since I joined) and they are very reasonably priced. I am looking forward to many more years with the Academy Travel family!

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  5. April
    November 12, 2014 at 10:33 pm #
    13 / 15 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I am so happy with Academy Travel and have been with them for quite some time.
    All I have to say is if you’re looking for A great company that offers a legitimate job, great support and
    Friendly people to work with this is the place!!

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  6. R. Ashley Wyatt
    October 19, 2014 at 12:56 pm #
    15 / 17 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I just want to say I LOVE this agency! I have always had help when I needed it and Jayne is always there and answers emails within the first few hours. I seriously do not have one bad thing to say. My commission always comes on time and is correct also. I looked for years for the right place to call home and with Academy I have found it. I see myself with them for a long time!

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  7. Dana
    May 20, 2014 at 9:37 am #
    15 / 32 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Got my start with this agency, and then left and got my REAL start with another FAR BETTER organization. Start-up manual is basic start up for any home based business. It is not travel specific. There is no training aside from College of Disney Knowledge. If you call or email with a question, the response is, “just call the supplier.” Commission checks always seemed to be ‘off’. When I was with them, their instructions were that you could NOT have an email with the company name in it, which made it impossible to use some of the Disney tools. Have had others contact me to hear if my exeprience was the same as theirs. Sadly, it wasn’t a good experience. This MAY be a good host for a seasoned agent, but for someone starting out, it’s a non-supportive money pit of stress.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I was previously hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  8. Amy
    April 29, 2014 at 4:46 pm #
    28 / 45 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I am definitely not looking to slander Academy Travel for any reason, I just wanted to provide honest feedback about my personal experience with the agency. Of course, other peoples’ experiences are different. Academy Travel was the first agency I worked with, and I got my first booking while affiliated with them.
    The pros:
    -They host regular webinars which were extremely educational and helpful! I enjoyed the Q&A after the actual webinar, because people asked great questions and I learned a lot just from that part of the webinar!
    -During my time with them, they were working on making improvements to provide more resources and opportunities to agents
    -You could have your name listed on their website with contact information for potential clients
    -Jayne was very responsive any time I emailed her with a question
    The cons:
    -like other reviews have said, there really wasn’t a lot of opportunity for training, outside of obtaining access to the Disney Travel Agents website and the training on there. As someone brand new to the industry, I got “hired” and then basically left alone
    -again, as others have said, they did have a book available that seemed helpful, but they charged $100 for it, which presented a barrier to learning instead of providing a boost
    -if you had any questions about anything, you had to send individual emails, or comment on the only blog post in their blog, and hope someone would answer it and that you would be able to find the answer among all the other comments from agents doing the exact same thing
    -you had to pay to have your name listed on the website, or to have them create you an extremely generic website of your own.
    Overall, my impression was that the agency was so big that they didn’t really have to care if any one agent succeeded or failed because they had so many other successful agents… Not to mention revenue from all the products they were selling to agents themselves. It’s probably a great agency to work with if you are already experienced and have your own clients already, but maybe not the best to start out with. Just my opinion!

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I was previously hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  9. Melissa Jean
    April 25, 2014 at 9:34 pm #
    15 / 32 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I really wanted to love this agency. But nothing made it easy. While they don’t charge a startup fee, they nickel and dime you for business cards, guide books, and any additional support you’d like to promote your business.
    Commission checks were always late- and some not accurate.
    Communication was often slow, incomplete, and not answered properly.
    You also never received an ounce of recognition unless you were a part of the “in crowd”
    This is the puppy mill of Disney travel agencies.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I was previously hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  10. Nancy
    April 10, 2014 at 11:28 am #
    16 / 19 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    This team of Agency owners is the most educated and helpful group of individuals I have come across in the Travel Industry. They provide all the information needed to help my business grow, they make a point to stay in touch, keep me updated and are always there to support!

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  11. Anonymous
    November 6, 2013 at 12:25 pm #
    22 / 40 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I was with Academy for a little less than a year…I am very thankful they gave me my start as Disney Vacation specialist, but it didn’t take me long to realize that this was not the agency for me. The communication was horrible, it would take days and sometimes over a week for Jayne to call you back if you had a question. There were was no support or training other than some books that you had to purchase. I also learned very quickly that their percntage to agents was extremely low….I also had asked if I could book other than disney and their answer was we would rather you didn’t but if you feel you need to then purchase the book to tell you how…Commission payment was very slow in coming…it was usually 2 months behind…I am thankful that I found an agency that I LOVE…I know at least 6 agents that have left Academy to pursue another agency, most of us ended up together and are so happy!!

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I was previously hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    • Jayne
      April 2, 2014 at 6:40 pm #
      30 / 43 found this review helpful.

      It is very unfortunate that a group of 4 agents left us with such negative feedback, and at the very beginning of our joining Host Agency Reviews. And that negative posts are used on this site in an attempt to slander agencies by badmouthing their competition. All I can say is I am so proud of the almost 1000 Independent, home based travel agents I have spent the last 15 years training with the Academy Travel team as well as other companies including AAA Travel WCNY. Academy Travel is a company with tremendous growth and loyal agents. We work very hard together and with the Walt Disney Travel Company to give our agents the best possible training, support and experiences. And to correct the negative posts, we are proud to be Disney’s top affiliate for 17 years, a company with 14 employees and hundreds of happy, successful home based travel agents. We do not charge a fee, we offer an agent only website with all the information a new travel consultant needs, and the option to purchase further educational guides as well as onsite trainings at the lowest costs possible. One thing I’ve learned, you can’t always make everyone happy. However this is one company and team that works at it daily! Our success and growth speaks volumes… If you need references from our dedicated staff, Travel Agents or The Walt Disney Travel Company feel free to contact us at anytime.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  12. Anonymous
    November 6, 2013 at 8:04 am #
    23 / 42 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I was with AT for long enough trying to “give them a chance” but in the end I learned I am way too nice and should have left long ago.
    Pros- No Monthly Fees to get started which is why I chose them to begin with
    Cons- Horrible Communication, they charge you for EVERYTHING! They have 3 different Guide books that cost money, to get your bio on their website it costs $40. They pay a extremely low percentage and make it extremely hard to increase that. In my 3 years with them I never got a higher commission percentage even though my sales went up by quite a bit. No support but very controlling, and Jayne is not knowledgeable about things that she should be as a manager.

    To top all of this off, they offered to make agent websites (and bios) which would have been great. Pay a little extra and have someone work with each of us to design what we want(if we are only doing Disney or if we want to concentrate on cruises, etc.) so it would be personalized to each individual agent and not worry about if the pictures are legal. Nope, It was $400 and everyone had the SAME page, the only difference was your name picture and bio at the top. Oh, and it was Lisa Givas’s (Owner) Husband making the pages. I was able to get a friend of mine to build a very personalized page for half that and I can change things on it, add things to it as I grow in the business, and it can be moved with me if I ever decide to change agencies again.

    I would do your research before joining with AT, there are so many great Host Agencies out there than are much more supportive, have better communication, and pay higher commissions.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I was previously hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  13. Ashley
    November 5, 2013 at 9:56 pm #
    23 / 39 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I was excited to being working with this host agency that specialized in Disney Destinations. I’m still thankful that this agency got me started as a Travel Agent, but as a host agency – they are nothing but lacking. I had no support, no training, no nothing. Anytime I did have a question I was told to contact Disney directly – not my host agency. The only payment I received was months late, and less than I expected it to be. I did not have a good experience with this agency.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I was previously hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

Review this Host Agency

Click stars below to rate.
Rating
 
 

Help us get rid of spam by filling out our Captcha! *

11 Shares
Share11
Tweet
Share
+1