Academy Travel Inc Reviews

(9 reviews)
297 Route 72 West, Suite 35, No. 336
Manahawkin, NJ 08050
609.978.0740
academytravel@comcast.net
"Our site is a free resource intended to help agents find a host agency. If we helped out, please pass along the kindness and let host agencies know our site helped in your decision making process." - Steph

Host Agency Details

Affiliations:
unavailable
2013 Sales:
$5-9.9 million
Host Type:
Hybrid (Host & Travel Agency)
Accepting:
Beginner Agents, Experienced Agents
Members Of:
CLIA
# of Contractors:
250-499
GDS:
Not Offered

About Academy Travel Inc

Academy Travel was founded over 10 years ago and focuses exclusively on selling Disney travel.  Home based agents in the Academy Travel program do not have to have experience and will have access into training, marketing materials, and support through a Sales and Marketing Manager.

Leads are available through their website but are based on availability.

All Disney bookings are commissionable at 60% commission.  Agents under the Academy Travel umbrella are also able to sell Universal Studios, Sea World, and Florida vacations, and cruise vacations for 50% commission.

Academy Travel Inc38

Academy Travel Inc Reviews

9 Reviews for “Academy Travel Inc”

  1. Barbara S
    April 14, 2014 at 2:39 pm #
    1 / 1 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been with this Agency for 2 1/2 years and have nothing but good things to say!! Jayne answers my phone calls and emails immediately even on the weekends and goes above and beyond to support, train and help me with anything I need. I am in contact with many agents from this company and we all couldn’t be happier!!
    Thank you Academy Travel for my dream job!!!!

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  2. Nancy
    April 10, 2014 at 11:28 am #
    2 / 2 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    This team of Agency owners is the most educated and helpful group of individuals I have come across in the Travel Industry. They provide all the information needed to help my business grow, they make a point to stay in touch, keep me updated and are always there to support!

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  3. Catherine
    April 3, 2014 at 11:48 am #
    1 / 1 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have worked with Academy Travel for 3 years now and have to say that I am proud and thankful to be a part of this amazing company!!
    They are by far the MOST respected people in the industry!!

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  4. Dayle
    April 2, 2014 at 12:00 pm #
    6 / 6 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I cannot say enough! This agency has been around for almost 20 years. I was with 2 other agencys who are no longer in business. They seem to copy and then disappear. The training and support at Academy Travel is excellent. The staff is down to earth, friendly and fun. (The owner even gave out her private cell phone number at a conference that ran short on time to answer any additional questions we may have had!)Most importantly they have helped my business grow each year. And I love my job!!!

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  5. Anonymous
    November 6, 2013 at 12:25 pm #
    5 / 10 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I was with Academy for a little less than a year…I am very thankful they gave me my start as Disney Vacation specialist, but it didn’t take me long to realize that this was not the agency for me. The communication was horrible, it would take days and sometimes over a week for Jayne to call you back if you had a question. There were was no support or training other than some books that you had to purchase. I also learned very quickly that their percntage to agents was extremely low….I also had asked if I could book other than disney and their answer was we would rather you didn’t but if you feel you need to then purchase the book to tell you how…Commission payment was very slow in coming…it was usually 2 months behind…I am thankful that I found an agency that I LOVE…I know at least 6 agents that have left Academy to pursue another agency, most of us ended up together and are so happy!!

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I was previously hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    • Jayne
      April 2, 2014 at 6:40 pm #
      4 / 4 found this review helpful.

      It is very unfortunate that a group of 4 agents left us with such negative feedback, and at the very beginning of our joining Host Agency Reviews. And that negative posts are used on this site in an attempt to slander agencies by badmouthing their competition. All I can say is I am so proud of the almost 1000 Independent, home based travel agents I have spent the last 15 years training with the Academy Travel team as well as other companies including AAA Travel WCNY. Academy Travel is a company with tremendous growth and loyal agents. We work very hard together and with the Walt Disney Travel Company to give our agents the best possible training, support and experiences. And to correct the negative posts, we are proud to be Disney’s top affiliate for 17 years, a company with 14 employees and hundreds of happy, successful home based travel agents. We do not charge a fee, we offer an agent only website with all the information a new travel consultant needs, and the option to purchase further educational guides as well as onsite trainings at the lowest costs possible. One thing I’ve learned, you can’t always make everyone happy. However this is one company and team that works at it daily! Our success and growth speaks volumes… If you need references from our dedicated staff, Travel Agents or The Walt Disney Travel Company feel free to contact us at anytime.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  6. Anonymous
    November 6, 2013 at 8:04 am #
    6 / 10 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I was with AT for long enough trying to “give them a chance” but in the end I learned I am way too nice and should have left long ago.
    Pros- No Monthly Fees to get started which is why I chose them to begin with
    Cons- Horrible Communication, they charge you for EVERYTHING! They have 3 different Guide books that cost money, to get your bio on their website it costs $40. They pay a extremely low percentage and make it extremely hard to increase that. In my 3 years with them I never got a higher commission percentage even though my sales went up by quite a bit. No support but very controlling, and Jayne is not knowledgeable about things that she should be as a manager.

    To top all of this off, they offered to make agent websites (and bios) which would have been great. Pay a little extra and have someone work with each of us to design what we want(if we are only doing Disney or if we want to concentrate on cruises, etc.) so it would be personalized to each individual agent and not worry about if the pictures are legal. Nope, It was $400 and everyone had the SAME page, the only difference was your name picture and bio at the top. Oh, and it was Lisa Givas’s (Owner) Husband making the pages. I was able to get a friend of mine to build a very personalized page for half that and I can change things on it, add things to it as I grow in the business, and it can be moved with me if I ever decide to change agencies again.

    I would do your research before joining with AT, there are so many great Host Agencies out there than are much more supportive, have better communication, and pay higher commissions.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I was previously hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  7. Ashley
    November 5, 2013 at 9:56 pm #
    7 / 10 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I was excited to being working with this host agency that specialized in Disney Destinations. I’m still thankful that this agency got me started as a Travel Agent, but as a host agency – they are nothing but lacking. I had no support, no training, no nothing. Anytime I did have a question I was told to contact Disney directly – not my host agency. The only payment I received was months late, and less than I expected it to be. I did not have a good experience with this agency.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I was previously hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  8. Sandy
    May 4, 2013 at 1:15 pm #
    10 / 14 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    No training provided, with the exception of the self-guided Disney College of Knowledge course online. No support. No communication. Avoid them.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I was previously hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

Review this Host Agency

Click stars below to rate.
Rating