Academy Travel Inc Reviews

(20 reviews)
297 Route 72 West, Suite 35, No. 336
Manahawkin, NJ 08050
609.978.0740
academytravel@comcast.net
"Our site is a free resource intended to help agents find a host agency. If we helped out, please pass along the kindness and let host agencies know our site helped in your decision making process." - Steph

Host Agency Details

Affiliations:
unavailable
2013 Sales:
$5-9.9 million
Host Type:
Hybrid (Host & Travel Agency)
Accepting:
Beginner Agents, Experienced Agents
Members Of:
CLIA
# of Contractors:
250-499
GDS:
Not Offered

About Academy Travel Inc

Academy Travel was founded over 10 years ago and focuses exclusively on selling Disney travel.  Home based agents in the Academy Travel program do not have to have experience and will have access into training, marketing materials, and support through a Sales and Marketing Manager.

Leads are available through their website but are based on availability.

All Disney bookings are commissionable at 60% commission.  Agents under the Academy Travel umbrella are also able to sell Universal Studios, Sea World, and Florida vacations, and cruise vacations for 50% commission.

Academy Travel Inc3.5657894736819

Academy Travel Inc Reviews

20 Reviews for “Academy Travel Inc”

  1. R. Ashley Wyatt
    October 19, 2014 at 12:56 pm #
    Rating

    I just want to say I LOVE this agency! I have always had help when I needed it and Jayne is always there and answers emails within the first few hours. I seriously do not have one bad thing to say. My commission always comes on time and is correct also. I looked for years for the right place to call home and with Academy I have found it. I see myself with them for a long time!

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  2. Jennifer P
    October 17, 2014 at 9:16 pm #
    Rating

    Hi ya’ll … Just wanted to add my two cents about Academy Travel. I have been working with them for awhile now and love it! I have a wonderful job making people’s dreams come true.
    I get great support and numerous on-site training opportunities.
    If you want a fun rewarding job with a great company this is the place!!!

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  3. Candice
    September 30, 2014 at 9:48 am #
    2 / 2 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I’ve signed on with this agency 6 months ago and I am doing great!
    I love everything Disney and am thankful for this opportunity.
    The office staff couldn’t be nicer and are always very helpful.
    As others have said…. this is my dream job and I love it!!

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  4. Cris
    September 11, 2014 at 12:10 pm #
    4 / 4 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been with Academy for two years and attending my second onsite training this year. Jayne and Lisa are fantastic to meet with and learn from, expecially in person! When i was loking around there are so many small agencies out there that are new and inexperienced and promise you the world. It seems for the smaller agency more of a competition. This is a real company. Academy Travel has been around for almost 20 years and it shows! They have an awesome support team for any agent who needs help or support. They do not charge a single fee (As a matter of fact the owner Lisa believes and publicly speaks about cost effective ways to run your business). They have a webpage for agents with all the information needed, but if you want more they have it! You can call or e-mail them any time and even meet with them a few times a year, they do webinars with Disney sales reps, send out e-mails and information. ve learned so much, my business has grown to a great place. I love this company, team and job!!! Thank you Academy!

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  5. Erica L
    July 8, 2014 at 7:42 pm #
    6 / 7 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Academy Travel is a great Agency to work with! I always get the support I need and all my questions answered immediately and Jayne is amazing!! Looking forward to many, many years as an agent with Academy!!

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  6. John
    June 6, 2014 at 1:42 am #
    7 / 8 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Great Company to work for!!
    Highly recommend this agency ..

    Industry Experience: I have less than 1 year industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  7. Kim
    May 27, 2014 at 8:30 pm #
    10 / 10 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I came across this site and felt the need to express my thoughts on Academy Travel. This agency is wonderful and Jayne is so helpful and always gets back to me within minutes!

    This agency does not charge any fees and all of their materials are optional and not necessary to succeed in this business.
    They are ALWAYS there to help and answer any questions at pretty much any time of day!! Maybe those who are being so negative just couldn’t succeed and need someone to blame it on…

    Don’t think twice about this agency.. they are amazing to work for and a great group of people!! I love Academy Travel and my job!!

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  8. Michele P
    May 23, 2014 at 2:01 pm #
    7 / 8 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    This agency is AWESOME!!! I have always been able to get answers without delay! Commissions are correct and on time sometimes early!
    Those stating that their were discrepancies probably didn’t read their materials. Had they read them, they would know that $5.00 is taken our for shipping of packages. No problems with this Company, they are a joy to work with!! Thank you for a job of a lifetime!!

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  9. Dana
    May 20, 2014 at 9:37 am #
    1 / 6 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    Got my start with this agency, and then left and got my REAL start with another FAR BETTER organization. Start-up manual is basic start up for any home based business. It is not travel specific. There is no training aside from College of Disney Knowledge. If you call or email with a question, the response is, “just call the supplier.” Commission checks always seemed to be ‘off’. When I was with them, their instructions were that you could NOT have an email with the company name in it, which made it impossible to use some of the Disney tools. Have had others contact me to hear if my exeprience was the same as theirs. Sadly, it wasn’t a good experience. This MAY be a good host for a seasoned agent, but for someone starting out, it’s a non-supportive money pit of stress.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I was previously hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  10. Amy
    April 29, 2014 at 4:46 pm #
    9 / 16 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I am definitely not looking to slander Academy Travel for any reason, I just wanted to provide honest feedback about my personal experience with the agency. Of course, other peoples’ experiences are different. Academy Travel was the first agency I worked with, and I got my first booking while affiliated with them.
    The pros:
    -They host regular webinars which were extremely educational and helpful! I enjoyed the Q&A after the actual webinar, because people asked great questions and I learned a lot just from that part of the webinar!
    -During my time with them, they were working on making improvements to provide more resources and opportunities to agents
    -You could have your name listed on their website with contact information for potential clients
    -Jayne was very responsive any time I emailed her with a question
    The cons:
    -like other reviews have said, there really wasn’t a lot of opportunity for training, outside of obtaining access to the Disney Travel Agents website and the training on there. As someone brand new to the industry, I got “hired” and then basically left alone
    -again, as others have said, they did have a book available that seemed helpful, but they charged $100 for it, which presented a barrier to learning instead of providing a boost
    -if you had any questions about anything, you had to send individual emails, or comment on the only blog post in their blog, and hope someone would answer it and that you would be able to find the answer among all the other comments from agents doing the exact same thing
    -you had to pay to have your name listed on the website, or to have them create you an extremely generic website of your own.
    Overall, my impression was that the agency was so big that they didn’t really have to care if any one agent succeeded or failed because they had so many other successful agents… Not to mention revenue from all the products they were selling to agents themselves. It’s probably a great agency to work with if you are already experienced and have your own clients already, but maybe not the best to start out with. Just my opinion!

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I was previously hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  11. Melissa Jean
    April 25, 2014 at 9:34 pm #
    3 / 8 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I really wanted to love this agency. But nothing made it easy. While they don’t charge a startup fee, they nickel and dime you for business cards, guide books, and any additional support you’d like to promote your business.
    Commission checks were always late- and some not accurate.
    Communication was often slow, incomplete, and not answered properly.
    You also never received an ounce of recognition unless you were a part of the “in crowd”
    This is the puppy mill of Disney travel agencies.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I was previously hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  12. Barbara S
    April 14, 2014 at 2:39 pm #
    6 / 7 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have been with this Agency for 2 1/2 years and have nothing but good things to say!! Jayne answers my phone calls and emails immediately even on the weekends and goes above and beyond to support, train and help me with anything I need. I am in contact with many agents from this company and we all couldn’t be happier!!
    Thank you Academy Travel for my dream job!!!!

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  13. Nancy
    April 10, 2014 at 11:28 am #
    6 / 7 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    This team of Agency owners is the most educated and helpful group of individuals I have come across in the Travel Industry. They provide all the information needed to help my business grow, they make a point to stay in touch, keep me updated and are always there to support!

    Industry Experience: I have 6-10 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  14. Catherine
    April 3, 2014 at 11:48 am #
    5 / 5 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I have worked with Academy Travel for 3 years now and have to say that I am proud and thankful to be a part of this amazing company!!
    They are by far the MOST respected people in the industry!!

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  15. Dayle
    April 2, 2014 at 12:00 pm #
    9 / 9 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I cannot say enough! This agency has been around for almost 20 years. I was with 2 other agencys who are no longer in business. They seem to copy and then disappear. The training and support at Academy Travel is excellent. The staff is down to earth, friendly and fun. (The owner even gave out her private cell phone number at a conference that ran short on time to answer any additional questions we may have had!)Most importantly they have helped my business grow each year. And I love my job!!!

    Industry Experience: I have 11+ years industry experience
    Affiliation: I am currently hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  16. Anonymous
    November 6, 2013 at 12:25 pm #
    9 / 19 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I was with Academy for a little less than a year…I am very thankful they gave me my start as Disney Vacation specialist, but it didn’t take me long to realize that this was not the agency for me. The communication was horrible, it would take days and sometimes over a week for Jayne to call you back if you had a question. There were was no support or training other than some books that you had to purchase. I also learned very quickly that their percntage to agents was extremely low….I also had asked if I could book other than disney and their answer was we would rather you didn’t but if you feel you need to then purchase the book to tell you how…Commission payment was very slow in coming…it was usually 2 months behind…I am thankful that I found an agency that I LOVE…I know at least 6 agents that have left Academy to pursue another agency, most of us ended up together and are so happy!!

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I was previously hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    • Jayne
      April 2, 2014 at 6:40 pm #
      13 / 14 found this review helpful.

      It is very unfortunate that a group of 4 agents left us with such negative feedback, and at the very beginning of our joining Host Agency Reviews. And that negative posts are used on this site in an attempt to slander agencies by badmouthing their competition. All I can say is I am so proud of the almost 1000 Independent, home based travel agents I have spent the last 15 years training with the Academy Travel team as well as other companies including AAA Travel WCNY. Academy Travel is a company with tremendous growth and loyal agents. We work very hard together and with the Walt Disney Travel Company to give our agents the best possible training, support and experiences. And to correct the negative posts, we are proud to be Disney’s top affiliate for 17 years, a company with 14 employees and hundreds of happy, successful home based travel agents. We do not charge a fee, we offer an agent only website with all the information a new travel consultant needs, and the option to purchase further educational guides as well as onsite trainings at the lowest costs possible. One thing I’ve learned, you can’t always make everyone happy. However this is one company and team that works at it daily! Our success and growth speaks volumes… If you need references from our dedicated staff, Travel Agents or The Walt Disney Travel Company feel free to contact us at anytime.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  17. Anonymous
    November 6, 2013 at 8:04 am #
    10 / 18 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I was with AT for long enough trying to “give them a chance” but in the end I learned I am way too nice and should have left long ago.
    Pros- No Monthly Fees to get started which is why I chose them to begin with
    Cons- Horrible Communication, they charge you for EVERYTHING! They have 3 different Guide books that cost money, to get your bio on their website it costs $40. They pay a extremely low percentage and make it extremely hard to increase that. In my 3 years with them I never got a higher commission percentage even though my sales went up by quite a bit. No support but very controlling, and Jayne is not knowledgeable about things that she should be as a manager.

    To top all of this off, they offered to make agent websites (and bios) which would have been great. Pay a little extra and have someone work with each of us to design what we want(if we are only doing Disney or if we want to concentrate on cruises, etc.) so it would be personalized to each individual agent and not worry about if the pictures are legal. Nope, It was $400 and everyone had the SAME page, the only difference was your name picture and bio at the top. Oh, and it was Lisa Givas’s (Owner) Husband making the pages. I was able to get a friend of mine to build a very personalized page for half that and I can change things on it, add things to it as I grow in the business, and it can be moved with me if I ever decide to change agencies again.

    I would do your research before joining with AT, there are so many great Host Agencies out there than are much more supportive, have better communication, and pay higher commissions.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I was previously hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  18. Ashley
    November 5, 2013 at 9:56 pm #
    10 / 16 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    I was excited to being working with this host agency that specialized in Disney Destinations. I’m still thankful that this agency got me started as a Travel Agent, but as a host agency – they are nothing but lacking. I had no support, no training, no nothing. Anytime I did have a question I was told to contact Disney directly – not my host agency. The only payment I received was months late, and less than I expected it to be. I did not have a good experience with this agency.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I was previously hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  19. Sandy
    May 4, 2013 at 1:15 pm #
    13 / 20 found this review helpful.
    Rating

    No training provided, with the exception of the self-guided Disney College of Knowledge course online. No support. No communication. Avoid them.

    Industry Experience: I have 1-5 years industry experience
    Affiliation: I was previously hosted by this host agency

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

Review this Host Agency

Click stars below to rate.
Rating